Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Systematic Poisoning In Our Homes

Systematic Poisoning In Our Homes PDF Print
Tuesday, 18 November 2008 15:21

By Selvaraja Somiah

Mothers Beware!

Do you know that you are systematically poisoning your homes without even knowing you are doing so?

Hear this, 80 per cent of Malaysian households, particularly women and children, used at least one pesticide indoors, in 2005 according to one survey recently.

Also, the majority of the nearly 2000 pesticide products in the market, in fact all of them, may not be safe to be used at all. Yes, all of the pesticides sold in the market are not safe to be used in our homes.

We tend to believe, and in fact, its our present belief that pesticides will solve all our household problems whenever we have unwelcome guests like spiders, cockroaches, mosquitoes or any crawling creatures visiting our homes or entering our space. We use pesticides for purely aesthetic reasons.

We run to the supermarket or sundry shops and at the shelf just pickup an aerosol insecticide spray whenever mosquitoes or cockroaches invade our space and become irritants to us. Its so easy to kill them all, just like making graffiti on side walls using aerosol spray paints. But they keep coming back with a greater vengeance although we double, triple or multiple the dose thinking we had knock down all of them  by our miracle mist the aerosol insecticide spray.

This aerosol insecticide spray is dangerous stuff. Let me tell you readers why. Okay, take the aerosol insecticide spray canister and have a good look at its label. It will read for example, 
Perawais Aftik ( active ingredient )  - prallethrin    -     0.09% w/w
                                                         -d- phenothrin - 0.05% w/w
                                                                      Total   - 0.14 %            
Perawis Lengai ( inert ingredient )          -                 99.96% w/w

Now see this properly. Although the pesticide contains only 0.14 % of active ingredient it nevertheless contain significantly more inert ingredients i.e 99.96 % of the total contents. This inert ingredient is not at all identified.
All inert ingredients are not at all identified in Malaysia. We are NEVER told what the inerts are made of. This is the case with all pesticides. So, what are inerts and why are they not identified in the labels?  Why the secrecy?

According to the Pesticide Act, active ingredients is the main ingredient in a pesticide which kills, repels or mitigate pests, while inert ingredients are chemicals which simply helps a pesticide to work better.

A strategically inserted inert can enhance a pesticides toxicity by facilitating absorption of the poison through the mouth parts of an insect or the body of the insect. In other words, the inert helps in the process of the poison to be absorbed into the body of the pest or whatever comes in contact with it, including humans.

We can safely say, inerts are actually, biologically, chemically and toxicological active chemicals which are more toxic than the active ingredients itself.

In the US, some chemicals which are regulated as hazardous waste are even used as inerts in some pesticides. Hence, we can safely say that the truth is most "inerts" are not inert.

The combined effect mixing inert and active ingredient is frequently what makes pesticide products so lethal. A study done in a herbicide "ROUNDUP" manufactured by US chemical giant MONSANTO CORPORATION indicates that the addition of the inert ingredient "POLYOXYETHYLENE" to the active ingredient "GLYPHOSATE" substantially increases its toxicity.

Another study done on xylene, a petroleum derived inert used mainly as a solvent in as many as 2000 pesticides shows that xylene may cause memory and hearing loss, liver and kidney damage, inflamed lungs and even foetal deaths.

According to Dr Mohd Isa Abdul Majid, from the Toxicology Laboratory University Sains Malaysia, the effects of xylene includes memory impairments, personality changes, depression, confusion and thought disorders. Even women exposed to xylene may have longer and heavier menstrual period.
So we ask the question, why is the pesticide manufacturer allowed to omit the chemical names of inert ingredients from pesticides labels when the question of safety have not been properly answered?

The answer is because of PROFITS.

Presently, the Pesticide Board of Malaysia which overseas all pesticide sales, distribution and manufacturing only require identification of inert ingredients if it believes that a chemical ingredient might pose a " toxicological concern." Inerts which are " potentially toxic" are therefore allowed to be omitted from labels.

Surely the label on a pesticide should be as informative as the label on a box of washing powder or even a packet of cream crackers or even a pack of cigarette. But the pesticide manufacturers claim otherwise.

They the manufacturers, say inerts are trade secrets and therefore they do not have to release the names of inert ingredients.

Malaysians should have the information necessary to make a reasoned decision about whether to pick a particular can of insect spray or mosquitoes coil. But they dont have it. Malaysians surely will want to see every ingredient listed on every product, especially when so many chemical poison in the market remain untested.

The law currently maintains " use until proven deadly" policy. So in this respect, awareness particularly for women and children on the use and handling of aerosol insecticide spray is necessary and a must. The Government should not hide the facts and cover for the pesticide manufactures to make the profits in the name of trade secrets. Tell us the truth and dont compromise on safety.

Public awareness and action are they key to the drive to prevent systematic poisoning in our homes.

Selvaraja was actively involved in the pesticide industry for 20 years and can be contacted at This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it or http://selvarajasomiah.wordpress.com/

written by michael chick, November 18, 2008 15:23:57
The Biggest Pest in Malaysia is Barisan Nasional !!

Get rid of them, and you will get rid of the Corruption Epidemic which plagues Malaysia
written by cheekymate, November 18, 2008 15:39:43
Reserve the most potent one BAYGON class V poison for Najis. Balance remainder use on other rodents named Syed Botak
written by SamSan, November 18, 2008 15:55:03
I don't think the potent pesticide are potent enough to ward off the UMNO / BN pests. Everytime you apply these pesticides, the UMNO / BN pests get stronger and more immune. So truth seeking malaysians are in a permanent state of delima.
written by DreamLady, November 18, 2008 16:05:29
Of all the pests I encountered so far, the most notorious pests of our Time are those from the UMNO goons who breed nests after nests of corrupted pests and which are highly resistant to latest most poisonous pesticides...

There is, though, a sure way to see their destruction: kill them on sight!!!!
written by borneopeteliew, November 18, 2008 19:11:02
Selvaraja, why dont you recommend us one pesticide which can totally knock down permanently The Pest UMNO and all its running dogs. This will help Malaysians get rid of this notorious pest forever and will free us from this worst menance.
written by sonofmalaysia, November 18, 2008 19:30:12
we need a special and super strong formulation from Monsanto for the very despicable, toxic breed of vermin , pest , maggot, rodents, called UMNO.

These pests have already eaten to the very core of MAlaysia, Malaysians must exterminate these pest with all out efforts to save our homeland !!

written by ahmadneil, November 18, 2008 19:46:39
umno is like termites.This is the worst pest.
written by whlau, November 18, 2008 20:33:40
I really take my hat off to readers of MT! Betul susah lah this UMNO...everytime some issue comes on, even a slight resemblance of the word dirty, UMNO will get the blame! Really, UMNO is on the point of no return...no hope...no amount of antidote can revive UMNO, because the rakyat know how lethal this pesticide is and has been spraying on UMNO since the last election.

So, Selvaraja, yes we know how unsafe this pesticide is, not only in our homes, but in UMNO too!!! Thank you for reminding us.
written by Sabahfan, November 18, 2008 20:59:55
Mr whlau This should be logical articles on dangerous pesticide have to be blamed on UMNO becos of corruption. IF THEY ARENT corrupt, then they would have made good laws to protect us by putting the labels properly on the spray cans. UMNO is in control, so they have to take the blame for any FIASCO in this country. hope that explains it otherwise tell UMNO to go to hell...
written by Dongra Dude, November 18, 2008 21:16:13
Pottassium Cynide is the best pesticide for the persistent rodent! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by budakindia, November 18, 2008 22:24:12
Hey just buy one of those electronic swatters. They are effective against mosquitoes. I have stop using insecticide altogether. smilies/cheesy.gif Cockroaches? You can always try using pandan leaves! smilies/cheesy.gif Now my house is insecticide free!
written by Joe, November 19, 2008 00:19:26
Good article. Good data here. We should lobby our MPs to take a look at this. Of course, PR MPs would be more effective.

written by ROBERTNGTG, November 19, 2008 08:22:00
Systematic Poisoning In Our Homes

CONSIDER THE AMOUNT OF ARSENIC BEING SPEWED MSM/RTM TO POISON THE INNOCENT
AND IGNORANT MINDS FOR THE LAST 20 YEARS. SO MANY HV BECOME ZOMBIES AND CANT
REACT EVEN NOW WITH SO MUCH CORRUPTION IN AMENO AND THE GOMEN.