Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Taxpayers' paid holiday

Taxpayers' paid holiday PDF Print
Tuesday, 18 November 2008 11:13

Informed sources in Putrajaya told me that the great Pretender to the throne, Najib Tun Razak, accompanied by aspiring ‘First Lady’ Rosmah, are heading for a grand trip abroad the government's VIP Jet to the APEC meeting in Peru on 22-23 November. 

After the two-day meeting they will proceed for a week-long taxpayer-paid holiday in Washington DC, from 24 to 29 November to take advantage of the Thanksgiving holidays. This, as everyone knows, is the peak holiday shopping period in the US! The couple will therefore be making a great contribution to the recession-plagued US economy.

It is also possible that Rosmah may skip Peru altogether and go straight to Washington while Najib travels to Peru.  Sources close to the Rosmah say that she has researched Peru and discovered that there is little by way of shopping as there no big malls -- and hence the preference for Washington and its well-known malls and outlets.

It will be all play and no work for the Finance Minister while he is in Washington, as no meetings or exchanges have been scheduled. Most interesting is that while almost all governments are seeking opportunities to interact with the incoming Obama Administration, Bolehland chooses to ignore the new Government of the most important country. It is also interesting that neither the Finance Minister nor the sidekick Second Minister attended recent IMF and World Bank Meetings.

It seems that these dudes have no time to engage themselves in serious consultations at a time when the Malaysian economy is in deep trouble.  The Treasury's website reports that the MOF Secretary General Tan Sri Dr Wan Abdul Aziz represented Malaysia at this important meeting to discuss the global economic crisis. In contrast, the IMF/World Bank meetings were attended by almost all finance ministers of the world. It also seems that Putrajaya has not concerned itself with coordinating economic policy measures with other nations.

The weeklong stay in Washington for Najib, Rosmah, the aircrew and the entourage would probably cost taxpayers more than a million ringgit if we calculate the cost of hotel rooms, cars and food. Even if the trip requires a stopover, should it be for more than a week when there is a severe economic crisis unfolding in our country for which our citizens have been told to brace themselves?  Should the rakyat be spending millions of ringgit for Najib’s and Rosmah's holidays while the country faces an uncertain future?   

It is time that the engagements of our leaders, in particular their overseas travel, be posted on their website so that the rakyat can know how their money is being spent. We hope that Najib would do this as a new trend under his leadership to prove that the leadership is indeed "prihatin" about the rakyat.

Other khabar …… Ghazali Sheikh is rumoured to be heading for Washington on a private visit in pursuit of his shameless lobbying for the post of Malaysian Ambassador. Question is, will the lame duck Bush Administration agree to accept him or will the Obama Government want a tainted envoy?

Stay tuned !!

Deep Throat in Putrajaya

written by binarytan, November 18, 2008 11:18:00
no problem use to it lah, whatsoever Rosmah going to spend, whether it is worth mullion or billion, the gomen will pay without any noise. this also include the air cargo cost which will also be borne by our gomen.

i just say sorry for those who have voted for BN, particularly UMNO. Your hard earn money will result in paying high income tax, toll rate, high water and electricity bills etc.
written by New Malaysian, November 18, 2008 11:23:15
We can learn from history: Rome burnt while Nero twiddled his thumbs.........
written by IbnAbdHalim, November 18, 2008 11:27:21
As long as UMNO is in power nothing much can be done. Make sure that Najib does not reach Putrajaya.
written by asguard, November 18, 2008 11:37:43
Only knows how to use people's money for almost every expenses ...while tax the public like mad almost on everything ..... price of dining, petrol, food and lists goes on and on... waste public money... on fancy trip like this one trip to US...?
written by DreamLady, November 18, 2008 11:42:01
That might be the last official holiday paid by rakyat for both najib and his wife.

When we give enough rope for anybody who errs intentionally, the rope shall be used to hang himself in the long run!!!
written by kennyeu, November 18, 2008 11:42:55
Poor Najib, imagine having to spend an entire week of 24/7 with Rosmah dragging him everywhere and watching his every move. Hasn't the man suffered enough already? I'm sure it wasn't Najib's idea at all.
written by ahmadneil, November 18, 2008 11:46:01
Aiyah,the Malaysian embassy's officials will be busy carrying her bags.
MAS have already standby a 747-400 cargo plane at her disposal.
The Royal Navy have also sent a fleet of ships to be on the stand by with 5x40ft containners.
All the Washington DC shopping malls will open 24 hours for her to shop at her convinence.
She is also bringing along the Indian carpet man , so he can help her to carry cash and see what Bala needs.
Victoria Secret is making preparations for her to shop all her undies.
De Beers Diamonds have shipped in new stocks ,ready for her.
And she is getting her designer gowns from Christian Dior,ready for Aminah's boyfriend swearing in in March next year.
With all her shopping list done,she will visit Mayo Clinic for a face lift.
Later she will visit Marie France to do some slimming lessons.
WOW,she will come back like Angelina Jolie,Malaysia's copycat
written by Colomboloner, November 18, 2008 11:48:14
Both PeeM and DeePem would be out from the country during same period. Are we expecting same kind of history occured in our neigbour last year! God know!
written by temenggong, November 18, 2008 11:53:52
Have your holidays. You'll be incarcerated when you come back.
written by michael chick, November 18, 2008 12:29:44
Every condom that an UMNO official uses when they FCUK Prostitutes, and their Mistresses is paid by your Tax Money. Yes, it is the fault of the Rakyat, that UMNO has become the bloody monster that they are today. You let them. Repent !!! Take back your Country !!

KICK UMNO today !!!

[Sorry, K***L is a very strong word - MT-LY]
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 18, 2008 12:30:29
This is exactly the reason why the fuel pump price goes down so slowly in Malaysia.
We have to subsidize our ‘beloved’ PM & DPM wives shopping spree, you know!
written by Jeffrey Altamu, November 18, 2008 12:53:09
All ye Malaysians living in the US. Please quip yourselves with Rotten Eggs & paint a picture of Altantuya. If you sight Mama-Bitch (Rosmah) take a smash at her with the rotten egg!!!!!!!

These UMONO Bastards think they are indispensible, for we the Rakyat will prove otherwise.......time is narrowing-in......
written by SCM, November 18, 2008 13:11:01
"It is also possible that Rosmah may skip Peru altogether and go straight to Washington while Najib travels to Peru".

This is highly unlikely as insiders say that fat slob has always fantasized about having sex with a llama and then watching it get blown up with C4.
written by KELLYVILLEACE, November 18, 2008 14:17:21
I think they are there sorting out their citizenship papers or maybe making sure their wire transfers has been credited correctly into their children's account. Maybe they are visiting Diam to ask for private financial advice as to where best to park their money in these countries.

or are they trying to provide an alibi for themselves. I sense something dreadful is going to happen in your country soon.

written by Celestial, November 18, 2008 15:23:56
The Treasury's website reports that the MOF Secretary General Tan Sri Dr Wan Abdul Aziz represented Malaysia at this important meeting to discuss the global economic crisis. In contrast, the IMF/World Bank meetings were attended by almost all finance ministers of the world. It also seems that Putrajaya has not concerned itself with coordinating economic policy measures with other nations.

Be thankful that Malaysia sent some one half competent than the Finance Ministers Wannabes. At least Malaysia won't be totally disgraced. That has to be a small plus. Additionally, let's hope that Anwar delivers the final nail to the coffin while Najib is out of the country.
written by alan cheong, November 18, 2008 17:21:10
Le guillotine!
LE GUILLOTINE!!!
written by Bloodhound, November 18, 2008 19:45:39
What do you expect from finance ministers who lacked knowledge on financial issues? When you lacked knowledge on any areas or issues, the best strategy is to avoid discussing or being questioned on such areas in order not to blow your cover. The very first budget has a RM7 billion hole...and he's off for a holiday without even attempting to plug the big hole in the budget.

You can act and/or behave very intelligently or knowledgeable on any issues but once you open your mouth talking about issues that you are supposed to be good at (when you are not), your game's up - your lack of knowledge will gush out of your mouth unabatedly! Just ask Syed Albar, our Home Minister - he should know better.