Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Malaysia's education ratings alarming

Malaysia's education ratings alarming PDF Print
Monday, 17 November 2008 16:58
A leading 'Opposition' veteran and MP has published the claim that Malaysian Universities have fallen way off the the radar of the 2008 international university ratings.

According to the claim, Malaysia has also lost to Thailand, Indonesia and Philippines. For the second consecutive year, the 2008 Times Higher Education Supplement (THES) - Quacquarelli Symonds (QS) World University Ratings indicates that Malaysians universities fell far off the world's top 200 universities.

That also places us nowhere near Singapore, China, Japan, Hong Kong, Taiwan and South Korea.

In response, the public have been reacting to the report, bordering from absolute rubbish to some substance. Along with it we are also getting to read arguments bordering on racial sentiments and party politics.

Our education system given its track record lead in the past and the huge budget allocations these past fifty years, should rightfully be a model for the developing world.

Instead of blaming race and political parties for the decline in our international standing, we need to have the courage, ability and learned disposition to see the problem in the eye. We need to look at this problem by being focused on nation building through the raising of a human capital that serves Malaysia first.

If Malaysia is successful, all Malaysians will be the beneficiaries. Only with such an un-blinkered view can we appraise the problem with a resolute will to effect change. 

Malaysians as a whole have to take the blame. Leaders have to feel the guilt. Leave politicking and race out for the moment.

Malaysians generally are not interested in the pursuit of knowledge. What matters is how much money one can make. How much influence one can have over those that matter. And merely getting A-grades through spotted questions seems to be the only passion.

Listen to how parents parrade about their children having obtained so many "straight A's". No one says my child is pursuing higher education.  

In universities, speculating on what the exam questions are likely to be seem to be the narrow perspective among students.

Reading, research and intelligent debates are not our way of life. Just take a look at the blogs. The content, comments and articles are often so narrow and speaks volumes about our intellectual maturity.

At the workplace too, intelligent articulate reasoning and having a broad knowledge about things around us is often sneered at. To be "pandai" is a sin seemingly.

Take stock of what transpires within Parliament. The exchanges and antics re-affirm our bankrupt state of mental capacities.

Hear what politicians blurt out through the media all so often? It is also void of articulate, intelligent and honorable thoughts most often.

School going children are not taught to think, critically appraise and reflect. Learning by rote and regurgitating in whole is the safe and predominant approach taken by teachers, students and schools. Tuition is a clear benchmark of the state of education in this nation.

Hence, what goes into the university is short of being garbage.

Yes we have many JPA 'scholars' entering institutions of higher learning. But what is their attitude towards learning? "Pass the exams" seems to be their only attention.

There is nothing wrong with wanting to pass exams. One has to be graded at the end of the day to know if he or she qualifies.

But the problem is they do not read and research outside of their study area either. It is not a question of no time; on the contrary it is all about "why waste time".

Pas the exams. Get a job. Earn and enjoy. That is the national mantra.

Then how would you expect better substance to enter universities?

And leaders are not able to revolutionize our education system. We lack courage and will to act decisively in the long term interest of the nation.

Party politics and interest are more important than having a world class education system in place.

And voters patronize anything as long as it meets their immediate selfish personal interest.

Therein lies our dilemma.

Perhaps it would take a miracle for us to pull ourselves out of this rut.

- J. D. Lovrenciear, Semenyih

written by ahmadneil, November 17, 2008 17:03:38
Our universities rating are next to Congo,Papua New Guniea,etc.
written by ctchoolaw, November 17, 2008 17:04:07
Without a sound education there is no knowledge capital and zero human capital. How can Malaysia compete when the oil money runs out? http://ctchoolaw.********.com/...money.html
written by ohuat, November 17, 2008 17:07:52
Every year we have our kids scoring 13A, 14A and so many A's, does it means our kids are smarter? NO! Don't be fooled by this Hisham. The test are either too easy or the scoring marks are so low that anyone can score A1. There is noway to differetiate smart kids & average kids, every kids score A1. Who are they kidding ?
written by ohuat, November 17, 2008 17:15:44
Not good enough to enter university? No problem, can always go backdoor through matriculation. No need to take STPM. Still cannot go in university? No problem, ITM MARA will gaurantee you a place. We have so many public Bumi graduates that will work for clerks or fill up any post in civil service. Where got any extra places left for non-bumi. To those Chinese, Indian, Kadazan and other non-bumi applying to enter civil service, you can day dream..
written by Liberace, November 17, 2008 17:24:45
In Malaysia, politics and education cannot be decoupled, to borrow an overused word of today's financial markets. Education is a major political stage. The government in power has for the last 30 years used it to selectively and discriminately groom a certain race of people. The emphasis on A's is a mindless approach adopted by our less than stellar bureaucrats to award scholarships and places in universities. If Malaysians have no interest in learning, it's because we have been formally advised that knowledge gets you no where. A's, connections and skin color do. You reap what you sow.
written by densemy, November 17, 2008 17:24:57
The only hope for a Post-Oil Malaysia was Education

But the government has frittered that chance away just to seek votes

With less than 20 yrs to go before Crunch Time, its already too late
written by Sinewy, November 17, 2008 17:25:23
I know someone who used to give lectures to the matriculation classes. According to him the standard of the students is very undesirable. When he conducted his exam with the classes, a lot of failures. He was then summoned by the dean about the failure rate. When he told the dean that many students were not good enough, he was warned to make sure that the passing rate was acceptable by lowering his standard. He felt demoralised and resigned.
written by Hirakey, November 17, 2008 17:38:54
Dear Everyone @ Malaysia Today,

Lets not waste time writing some personal comments just as a mean to ventilate your inner frustrations.

All of you are wasting too much of your energy responding to such articles.

Your learned attention should be directed at more important issues which can reshape the future for Malaysia.

Everyone should contribute or brainstorm in a MT Forum focusing just on "How we can create further awareness amongst more Malaysians to Propel CHANGES in Malaysia in Relation to Discrimination, Racism and Politics."

If every reader just focus on this goal, it will snow ball to an enormous energy that will radiate across spectrum to all Malaysians that CHANGE MUST HAPPEN!!

The very same people that post many comments on various articles, it's time you start focusing your energy towards the right direction.

This is not a criticism but a constructive suggestion if we so desire CHANGE to take place!!

Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has!

We hope that this will be the start of the new frontier. Lets work together on this!

written by InEffective, November 17, 2008 17:48:27

The author here assumes there is an incentive to perform in academics of high standards with the aim to developing talent based on merit.

May not be an assumption grounded in reality - as long as massive Oil-Wealth is selectively available for the desirable citizens, there is no real durable incentive to survive and flourish on merit. (ie the dutch-disease with a malaysian flavor)

Why is it that only/mostly non-Malays have issues with the standards of Malaysian Universities ?

I'd like to understand the following :
- do those parents of current students in universities wonder about the quality of education that their kids are receiving ?
- do the professor and lectures care about the quality-of-education they are delivering ?

If both the above queries are happy with the status quo, then where is the problem ?. If any of the above parties are not happy, then only they can seek the change.

Politicians are always happy to get mindless compliant happy graduates - their dependance, obeidiance, and subservience to politicians is now absolute. For a politician, this is nirvana.

But admittedly, if the non-malays are seeking eligibility and admission into local universities, then there is cause for concern about standards. Or if you seek to hire or procure services from these graduates, then there could be issues.

As long as there is the job-guarantor-of-last-resorts - aka the government, there is no incentive for standards to be uplifted.

This is a case of misaligned incentives leading to standards erosion.
(the victims will be the students, and malaysia over the long haul when either the value of oil tanks, or the oil runs-out)

Understand that in a concession-driven economy, there pretty much is no needs for talent, innovations, or entrepreneurship . Licenses which can socialize all costs and risks of any project over the subservient rakyat, is sufficient for politicians to launch any product or service (can always import/buy outside expertise).

You need to decide whether you are on the receiving end of this grand masterplan, or the winning end. (choose wisely)

written by Susanna, November 17, 2008 17:51:05
We can never go back to our glorious days when the education policy is always being changed to accommodate the weak instead of empowering them to do better. Look at the quality of our teachers these days! Except for the small group of committed die hard old teachers who still believe in teaching as a noble profession, the young teachers are just treating it as a job and shying away from doing more for their students. Many have been said to be not in the classroom when they should be there! Therefore there is no way we can change anything except if we root for change. Go for the big picture. Go for change of our political system. Then we can see sanity and sensibility prevailing over our education system.
written by beijing, November 17, 2008 18:04:04
this is all about ketuanan melayu smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif.hidup melayu
written by pjoldtown2008, November 17, 2008 18:47:13
well, to be exact, Petronas CEO, Hassan Merican had indicated that Malaysia would run out of oil in 5 years time. So that's it people. Malaysia does not have the luxury of 10 or 20 years. and Hassan Merican has admitted that half of Malaysia government revenue comes from oil. So what happens when there is no more oil revenue left to Malaysia ? How would the Government , whether Barisan or Pakatan feed the huge 2 million civil servants work force ?!

for those who still don't get it, here is the picture :

Malaysia has a total population of 27 million. 17 million are Bumi Malays. 97 % of the civil servants are Malays. 1 civil Malay servant on average supports up to 5 of their family members. So meaning this group of 2 million civil servants feed roughly 8 to 10 millions of the Bumi Malay population. When the Government has no more oil revenue, what would the Government do to feed their huge civil servants ?

They can either :

1) downsize the civil service by sacking the Malay kakitangan Kerajaan. This is a political disaster.
2) increase both the Corporate and personal income tax. More Companies would fly out of Malaysia to relocate their offices and operations overseas since our tax rate would get increased dramatically over night. Once these companies leave Malaysia, the Government would collect less tax not forgetting that many Malaysians would get retrenched when they exit.
3) Print more money ourselves : Zaman Duit Pisang Jepun Kembali Lagi !!
4) Issue more bonds and get the oil rich Arabs to finance us more.

Option 4 looks the most viable.

Malaysia would sink deep into debt and we WOULD HAVE SERIOUS PROBLEMS PAYING OFF THESE DEBTS / BONDS 10 to 20 years down the road !!
written by talk2stop, November 17, 2008 18:49:56
What happen in Malaysia? All the smarties end up somewhere and 1/2 baked mental person studying in Uni. What did you people do to mess up so bad in your education system?
Something the rest of the world should learn from Malaysia not what to do.
written by JJFoo, November 17, 2008 18:57:31
Surprise??
Here is a good rule of thumb “ANYTHING UMNO/BN TOUCHES, WITHER”.
What to expect from an ideologically bankrupt / obsolete organization.
It is an amazement that Malaysia can withstand such abuses for so long.

written by pjoldtown2008, November 17, 2008 19:06:59
the Government must do everything it can to ensure that both its civil service @ Kakitangan Kerajaan and the Malaysian students ( from all races, color and religions ) get ready for the ultimate test when the oil runs out.

this can get done through trainings and re-education.

Re-engineering the way we do our daily tasks / businesses / operations / job loads / projects etc.

Otherwise the shock would get too great.

written by fireduck, November 17, 2008 19:17:17
Just like in so many sectors, the declining standards of our Institutions of Higher Learning is another proof of negligence on the part of the govt. It obviously is not looking after the betterment of its citizenry by teaching them the proverbial 'how to fish'. Instead, just 'giving them a fish' will eventually produce graduates that will forever remain in a tongkat mentality.

I think it is an insult to me personally, if my professor purposely lowered the standards just to give me a passing grade. How do I know how good I really am when I come out to compete in the real world? Well, I know the answer to that, but for me, it's no go. I will try and try again until I pass at the REAL grade. Otherwise, in effect, it's like giving a Form 5 student the degree. Then, why bother to waste those years. Why bother to wait? Just give them the university degree right after their SPM. Finish secondary school, graduate with UM degree. Sounds like a fly-by-night scam. UM -- sorry, not Universiti Malaya. Just short for UM ....er....NO? smilies/grin.gif
written by Sabahfan, November 17, 2008 19:33:48
Mr Hirakey,....

there is no need for U to preach to the rest of MT fans... We all know Y we visit this site often... I believe the majority of the commenters are graduates of high calibre, including IT experts...

We are writing here because we demands a BIG CHANGE in this country, and we are SICK of BN and UMNO who wants to rule forever with their CORRUPTED minds which has caused all the country's problems including the standards of Universities..

If not giving our opinions or proposal, this is also our medium of sharing FACTS and INFO... those facts that NO one else DARE to publish, because YOU know very well, DICTATORS dont want facts... TRUTH hurts the dictators and the corrupt. THEY like writers who only carry balls and kiss asses...

So if we are not writing at MT, we will write ALL OVER THE WORLD to expose all the FILTHY things that a blooody corrupted govt do. Malazutland Govt for 50 years is no different from the CORRUPTED Junta of Burma , the corrupted Philipines and Indon...

Now back to the UNIVERSITY problems... I have feedbacks from lots of local lecturers in Sabah.. and they know I have time and dedicated writer who will keep on publishing these facts in the net.. cos if we publish at MSM, the ISA awaits you. ISA is presently used to protect the corrupted government...

In every universities in Malaysia, there will be at least ONE UMNO strongman cum spy come manipulator specially station at the JAB HAL EHWAL PELAJAR... where they manipulate the thinking of the students.. encourage them to protest in favor of UMNO only. In fact they have an UMNO special file...

UMNO interest in universities to ensure all Malay students will join Kelab UMNO only and the rest are DISCRIMINATED... thats why the LOW standard.

Member of kelab UMNO, got 45% marks can pass for a degree.

They ensure only UMNOputras can become Deans and research proffessor. The rest can work too but only subordinate post, and thats the reasons the BRAINY academicians will either resign and go elsewhere or just do enough to earn salaries while waiting for greener pastures...

WITH THIS kind of racial discrimination, HOW THE BLOOODY HELL DO YOU EXPECT OUR UNIVERSITIES... TO EXCEL? scholarship, research funds only for the previleged UMNOputras? YOU consider this???
written by sam65, November 17, 2008 19:57:30
How does one expect the standard to get higher when the passing mark keeps going lower year after year?

The syllabus itself is pitiful, for example our kids in secondary only learns about the geography of Malaysia in all their years from Form 1 to 5.

Back in 1980 when I sat for the SRP, our geography syllabus then covered not just Malaysia but also South East Asia, Asia and Australia and New Zealand. Then for SPM, we learnt North & South America/Europe plus Africa. You see we cover the whole world in 5 years but our kids now takes 5 years just to learn about Malaysia!!!!

When I mentioned Lake Titicaca to my colleagues who are now in their 20's, they thought I was pulling their leg - had to do a ****** search to prove to them that Lake Titicaca does exist on earth.

History, here again the entire sysllabus is on Malaysia and Tamandun Islam. World History – well down the drain as far as our Malaysian syllabus are concerned.

English – Our government created SMART schools, know what in this year’s PMR exam, a student from a KL SMART school in the Klang Valley had to check with the invigilating teacher the meaning of "ought to". Lucky for this student, this invigilator in his 50’s studied in the English medium during his school days and could help the student out.

If a kid from a SMART school has limited vocabulary, can you imagine what about the kids from not such a SMART school?
written by HamChak, November 17, 2008 20:13:24
Aiyaa, why you people complain so much.
Just let our Boleh Land education go down hill mah.
Otherwise, how can the BUMs be admitted and get a degree?
Mahathir called it NEP and restructuring the society.
Mahathir kills off the Malay Race by giving every Malay a Clutch.
Call it what you like, be it a clutch or handicap.
How can my Malay brothers ever be able to face the
real world without stigma?
Aiyoo, Really kesian lor, Malu saja.....
written by Forex, November 17, 2008 21:06:05
In Malaysia it does not matter...

Those having 10-A1s no guarantee u can have a good job SALARY.

Those who knows how to Kipas at the back of other people and from a certain race only can have a good job/pay eventhou his education background was only average.

written by sbp boy, November 17, 2008 23:33:10
Lets write something with solid proof.
What's the passing mark of today's school exams in m'sia?
Is it stil 40pts as per 15yrs back? It's ridicouslessly low anyway.
How bout getting an 'A'? (by the way PMR has no A1 or A2, but just 'A' only). 'A' grade sells at 70pts today?
So, what clutches betweeb 40 - 70pts? A,B,C,D,E.
Now you tell me who is really good in exams? (not even talking about real knowlege seekers)
13As straight students?

in a reputatable design engineering firm that I run today, I have no choice but to hire mainly from overseas only to find that local grads, mostly 'tak boleh pakai'... And they (especially the bumis) are too well spoon fed all along since when? birth to be precise and knowing how well they'd fair in the real real world to even dare to apply for a real job due to their inferiority. If you don't belief me, catch a taxi cab in KL driven by a mid or late 20s Malay guy. Ask him, do you have a degree? Very likely yes... And ask him why are you just driving a cab for a full time living?

who should be blamed? Answer is the root cause of the missing core elements: meritrocacy and real credibility inside.

we Malaysians, no race mentioned, we are going way-back.... Losing almost every bit in competancy....

sad real Malaysian

written by miwaki, November 17, 2008 23:50:25
Please abolish moral education in secondary schools,let's BN government sit for the exam instead because they need it more than our kids.Please don't tell us we have 21 A1 in this SPM exam,very shy you know ?
written by kensball, November 18, 2008 02:08:03
Wanna know what standard our education is? Just look at our BN MP & Minister smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by miwaki, November 18, 2008 08:19:09
Especially Bung Moktar and Pandikar Amin.
written by ROBERTNGTG, November 18, 2008 08:26:58
Malaysia's education ratings alarming

BY UMNO STANDARDS, U ONLY NEED TO BE AT PAR WITH THE LIKES OF SAIFUL, EZAM, AHMAD ISMAIL, ETC TO CLIMB THE CORRIDORS OF POWER AND RICHES. NO NEED TO
HV SUCH HIGH STANDARDS LAH. BY ALL MEANS, INCREASE THE BUMI QUOTA TO 100%
AND SEE WHAT HAPPENS 30 YEARS FROM NOW. OOPS FORGOT THEY ONLY SEE CASH$$$.
written by Malaysiaputra, November 18, 2008 16:39:35
A leading 'Opposition' veteran and MP has published the claim that Malaysian Universities have fallen way off the the radar of the 2008 international university ratings.

====

In Malaysia, education = politics = Umno power.

In Malaysia, most of the Unis are paper mills . For political benefit, the govt is even willing to upgrade diplomas into degrees with a stroke of the minister's pen.

Changing the Diplomas for Degrees without increase in knowledge is fool hardy but Mahathir does it.

So in Malaysia, going to Unis, especially for Malays is not getting an education but getting a decorative paper which is a passport to higher pay in the govt dept.

This is the precise reason why Malay graduates are not competitive in the open market. And as usual, the non Malays become the scape goat.