Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow The Malaysian swan song

The Malaysian swan song PDF Print
Monday, 17 November 2008 15:14

Call it what you want, Ketuanan Melayu is racism just like Apartheid. A rose by any other name, as Shakespeare would say. There is no way you can water down Apartheid by calling it Ketuanan Melayu.

First read this news items from the Jakarta Post of 29 October 2008.

Indonesian anti-discrimination law

The House of Representatives has unanimously passed a bill that terms ethnic and racial discrimination as serious crimes.

Deputy Speaker Muhaimin Iskandar, who presided over the House's plenary session to approve the draft law, said Indonesia no longer had any room for any form of racial or ethnic discrimination.

Chairman of the House's special committee deliberating the bill, Murdaya Poo, said the endorsement of the bill should put an end to the long-standing dichotomy between indigenous and non-indigenous people in the country.

"A man cannot choose to be born as part of a certain race or ethnic group, and therefore discrimination must cease to exist," said Murdaya, who is Indonesian-Chinese.

He said the House proposed the bill as part of its effort to ratify the International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination, which has been enacted since 1999.

Under the new law, leaders of public institutions found guilty of adopting discriminatory policies would face jail terms one-third more severe than those stipulated in the Criminal Code.

Citing an example, Murdaya said the governor or government of Aceh could not ban a gathering held by Javanese ethnics in the province.

He said the deliberation process had been delayed by a disagreement on whether imprisonment should be made the minimum punishment.

Jail as a minimum sentence is typically sought for serious crimes, such as corruption, terrorism, money-laundering or drug abuse.

"We decided to set prison as the minimum sentence to deter people from committing racial or ethnic discrimination," said Murdaya, a member of the Indonesian Democratic Party of Struggle (PDI-P).

The bill was passed on the same day Indonesia celebrated the 100th anniversary of Youth Pledge, which Murdaya said should encourage Indonesians to uphold the diverse nature of the nation.

Indonesia used to be the ‘best’ example of a country with one of the poorest human rights record in this region -- alongside Vietnam, Myanmar, the Philippines, etc. Malaysia and Singapore would be considered the ‘better’ countries, though their Prime Ministers then -- Dr Mahathir Mohamad and Lee Kuan Yew respectively -- would always remind their citizens that we do not practice absolute democracy, which is bad, but ‘guided’ democracy, which is better for Asian countries such as Malaysia and Singapore.

Malaysia can’t allow western-style absolute freedom and democracy, argued Dr Mahathir, where people are free to carry guns and shoot each other at will or indulge in gay marriages or sunbath nude on the beaches or have sex on park benches in full view of the public and whatnot. Granted there are some things that should not be allowed but to ban the good so that one can prevent the bad is like throwing the baby out with the bathwater.

Today, Indonesia allows equal airtime on national TV for opposition parties and makes it a mandatory jail sentence for the crime of racial discrimination. How far Indonesia has come since its cowboy days, the image it used to carry for a long, long time.

Malaysia has many Acts. Publishing and Printing Press Act, University and University Colleges Act, Societies Act, Police Act, Sedition Act, Official Secrets Act, Internal Security Act, amongst just some of our draconian laws, and all these Acts were passed by Parliament after Merdeka. Therefore it is not true when our leaders argue that these are old British Laws inherited by our country.

The old British laws are called Ordinances, such as the Emergency Ordinance, which also allows for detention without trial. In fact, Malaysia has many duplicate laws -- Acts and Ordinance -- and both are still being applied. In other words, the Ordinances have not been repealed in spite of the newer Acts that have been passed which should have replaced the old British laws.

As an example, although we have the newer Anti-Corruption Act, Anwar Ibrahim was charged, convicted and sentenced to six years jail under the old British Ordinance in 1998-1999. They chose to charge Anwar under the old Ordinance rather than the newer Act because it was easier to get Anwar convicted. They felt under the newer Act they might have problems convicting Anwar.

There are certain laws still being applied which actually violate the Federal Constitution of Malaysia. But then there is a provision in the Constitution which allows Parliament to pass unconstitutional laws in the event the country is facing an emergency. In other words, if Malaysia were under ‘attack’ it would be legal for Parliament to pass ‘illegal’ laws. This is called the ends justifying the means or matlamat menghalalkan cara.

Emergency was actually declared back in 1962 when Indonesia declared war on Malaysia and we went through a period of Konfrontasi. Though the confrontation with Indonesia ended later on, the emergency was never lifted and when race riots erupted in may 1969 the government just ‘rode on’ the emergency already declared in 1962 and which was never lifted.

Technically, Malaysia is still ‘under emergency’ although Indonesia is now our friend and the May 1969 race riot has ended and the Communist Party of Malaya officially ended the war and signed a peace treaty with Malaysia in Haadyai, Thailand, in 1989.

In other words, Malaysia has ‘officially’ seen peace for almost 20 years now (though unofficially we have had about 40 years of peace) but the emergency still remains and Parliament can still use the ‘special’ provision in the Constitution to legally pass illegal laws that violate the Constitution. Boleh ke macam ni? Mesti boleh because in Malaysia semua boleh.

South Africa too used to be just like Malaysia and at one time Malaysians were banned from travelling to South Africa (plus to Israel, China, Russia, North Korea, North Vietnam, etc.). Today, South Africa no longer has an Internal Security Act and instead has a Bill of Rights. Apartheid ended in South Africa a long time ago and there is no longer any racial discrimination in that country. Lawyers from South Africa, in fact, look down on Malaysia’s laws and judicial system. Is that not an irony of sorts?

The last few months since the recent general election have seen racism on the increase. Barisan Nasional appears totally blur that it did badly in the 8 March 2008 general election because of its racist policy. Instead of toning down racism it is stepping up the race rhetoric. It has not learnt from the election beating that it received at the hands of the voters, 50% who voted for the opposition parties.

Call it what you want, Ketuanan Melayu is racism just like Apartheid. A rose by any other name, as Shakespeare would say. There is no way you can water down Apartheid by calling it Ketuanan Melayu. Ketuanan Melayu is Apartheid by another name but Apartheid just the same. And Barisan Nasional had better get this through its thick head if it knows what’s good for it.

Racism in Malaysia should be made a crime just like in Indonesia and it should attract a mandatory jail sentence also just like in Indonesia. And anything that smacks of racism should be banned and made illegal. And that should include Malaysia’s version of Apartheid going by the name of Ketuanan Melayu.

Anwar Ibrahim has replaced Ketuanan Melayu or Malay Supremacy with Ketuanan Rakyat -- the people are supreme.  This must be our mission and vision statement. And all those who oppose this must be rejected in toto. Let that be the swan song of all Malaysians, irrespective of race. And you are either with us or you are against us, as President Bush would say.

Comments (61)Add Comment
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 17, 2008 15:27:49
"Melayu or Malay Supremacy" lah, or "Ketuanan Rakyat..the people are supreme" lah or whatever!

The fact is, nothing in Malaysia can or will change without a complete revamp of the government, and that means replacing the government COMPLETELY!

DSAI, promising changes is easy enough when you are not the government. The first step should be to change the government and not promise so much that you might be hard pressed to keep those promises. Take one step at a time.

You asked for support to be a MP, and you got that. Now how about taking the next step to being the PM of Malaysia!
Then take the next step by initiating your reforms.
agree 319
written by cheekymate, November 17, 2008 15:35:52
It would certainly be the most beautiful swan song I have ever heard, when we replace Ketuanan Melayu with our Ketuanan Rakyat. We await patiently for the awakening of a new tomorrow, where the air we breathe does not reek of corruption and heinous crimes that threaten to bring our nation down.
agree 157
written by ckone, November 17, 2008 15:37:09
Thanks RPK for this article... we are of the same frequency on this matter and I've been saying all this while that Ketuanan Melayu or Malay Supremacy IS Apartheid. Pointing fingers is wat our BN likes to do esp umnoputras, point at south africa but forget to look at themselves.... and till today still fail to look at themselves and judge themselves objectively.... they say others are pendatang while alot of them are also pendatangs....let the tsunami continue....
agree 150
written by Liberace, November 17, 2008 15:37:56
Thank you Raja Petra Kamarudin, our very own Nelson Mandela. You deserve the highest honor for your integrity and courage. Unlike Mandela, you stand to gain by perpetuating apartheid, but you have transcended above color, creed, and self preservation to fight for those who might stand to gain from your "loss", except that this is really a win-win situation for everyone. It takes absolute honesty to call Ketuanan Melayu what it is, Apartheid. That is to say, institutionalized racism or racism endorsed by the government and built into the official administrative system of the country. Ketuanan Melayu, Malay Supremacy (and it doesn't matter how you try to redefine it), White Supremacy, UMNO, Ku Klux Klan. They all come from the same root.
agree 169
written by Newkidonblog, November 17, 2008 15:39:21
Good citizens of Malaysia vs the organized crime syndicate in Malaysia called UMNO!
written by Hockchew, November 17, 2008 15:49:06
I am a 5th Generation Malaysian of Chinese origin. I considered myself as Bumiputra - Prince of the Earth. Alas the BN government think I am less loyal than the Bangladeshi or Indonesia who are naturalised or illgeally converted Malaysian who instantaneously become bumiputra.

These Indonesian newly minted bumiputra status allowed them to buka gerai at any place they choose and can invest in all industry whereas I cannot do so. The company I setup does not qualify me for bumiputra status and therefore cannot get government tender or support. The Government think that all non-malay are rich and that's why they like to call all chinaman as "Towkay" eventhough many of these towkay earn less than their professional salary.

Despite all these, I have more malay friends than chinese. I speak malay better than most malay. I cannot read & write in Chinese because I choose to go to the national(English medium) school.I treated malay no different as a chinese or indian. I love the malay ladies as much as the indian or chinese ladies. I am colour blind. If I can, I wanna marry one of each races in Malaysia - God Forbid.

Despite all these, the BN politican called me "Pendatang" and asked me to pack my begs and leave if I am not happy with their policies eventhough they knew it is an unfair policy.
agree 393
written by Zorro, November 17, 2008 15:56:35
~~~~Ketuanan Rakyat~~~~

Music to my ears! That's exactly what we need here in Sabah, when citizens shall be rewarded according to their merits and not because they belong to a particular race or religion...and of course fair distribution of wealth.

This article answers the question why our Malaysian universities world ranking has been sliding from bad to worse..human rights issues in countries like Indonesia and Philipines are progressing while Malaysia is regressing...

Shoot, this is just like our football national team!

written by densemy, November 17, 2008 16:04:13
Racism = Power

Power = Democracy can get stuffed
written by ahmadneil, November 17, 2008 16:04:29
South Africa have got rid of apartheid but Malaysia seems to adopt it.
agree 110
written by ahmadneil, November 17, 2008 16:12:35
Boleh ke macam ni? Mesti boleh because in Malaysia semua boleh.

In Malaysia,dia boleh,kita tak boleh.

Better still,In Malaysia,umno semua boleh,kita tak boleh.
written by ahmadneil, November 17, 2008 16:14:48
In Malaysia dia hantam belakang boleh,kita tengok tak boleh.
written by emg385, November 17, 2008 16:17:20
Malaysia will Forever Be In TERMINAL STATE until its 2 cancers have been eradicated ie. UMNO & MAHATHIR. Only when these twin cancers have been eliminated, can Malaysia begin to grow Healthy & Strong again!!
written by ROBERTNGTG, November 17, 2008 16:18:38
NOTE: Shouting comment removed - nk
written by budakindia, November 17, 2008 16:19:53
Apartheid, Nazism, Klu Klax Klan, Ketuanan Melayu are just names. The same racist idea being repackaged into different names. So does SB, Jakim, Al-Qaeda, Osama bin Laden too. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by KotaDamansara73, November 17, 2008 16:21:29
UMNO says:

"Screw you all. We are the master, you are the slaves. We are always right, and you non-UMNO people are always wrong. The Malays who don't join UMNO are traitors to their own race.

We in UMNO are fighting for something good for the Malays and the Malays don't appreciate us. THen screw those useless MAlays who don't support us, UMNO. We UMNO will enjoy all the perks and all the monies and girls that we want. You non-malays UMNO are stupid not to join us.

Ketuanan Melayu is our birth right. We are born superior than others. Our right to collect rent from non-Malays need no shame. We don't have to appologize to other race for collecting rent from the non-Malays. If we want to extort money from the non-malays business, we will do it. Because it is our birth rights.

We, in UMNO are KINGS, GODS and Warlords of the MAlays. We can do whatever we want. If we don't like you, we will bomb you. We will make your life miserable. And we don't have to appologise for it. Because this is our Malay birth rights. Our Ketuanan Melayu allow us to do that.

I don't care what INdonesia is doing. Indonesians Malay are stupid not to defend their Malay rights. The Indonesian Malays are so stupid that they will regret one day when the non-Malays Indonesian take over their place.

We, in UMNO control the Army, police, the judge and everything in Malaysia. You non-malays have no right to question us. We take whatever we want. This is our ketuanan Melayu rights. You non-malays cannot question us. If we confiscate your land, you non-malays cannot question us. Because this is our Malay rights.

comment with vulgar expletives removed - nk
disagree 25
written by mick_err_stan, November 17, 2008 17:14:55
"A man cannot choose to be born as part of a certain race or ethnic group, and therefore discrimination must cease to exist,"

UMNO will never give up on Ketuanan Melayu. This is a ticket for many to money without having to work or sweat for it. They cannot not compete with others in a level playing field therefore Ketuanan Melayu is their meal ticket to demand and take from others who have toiled and worked so hard to achieve.

I had Grade 2 for my MCE and was not promoted to lower 6. My malay friends who scored Grade 3 were all promoted. All of us are Malaysian, same same but different different. Because I was not born into the privileged race therefore I am being ranked as a second class citizen. Ketuanan Melayu is man made and not decree by god. How can a group of people enjoy special privileges at the expense of another. The way I see it, those who support Ketuanan Melayu are racist and I'm sure in heaven God will not let racist in.
written by bikerzon, November 17, 2008 17:23:07
I guess all those non-bumi that thinking of migrating to Australia, New Zealand, Canada etc, now have another good option: Indonesia! I betcha you won't be discriminated there like UMNO Kerismudin and Najis here.

Bali sounds like a good place for me!
written by Mawar Merah, November 17, 2008 17:31:53
Crisis oh crisis!!!

Education - THES reports shows how fast we are going down the slippery slope. Indonesia, Thailand and Phillipines are doing better than MALAYSIA.

Politics - Indonesia is eliminating all forms of discrimination: ethnic and racial!

In this current world one has to sprint just in order to maintain the position.
Instead of moving forward, the UMNOputeras are dragging this beautiful country and its peace loving people into the drains with their KETUANAN MELAYU. Enough is enough we need to progress forward and not fall (walk) headon into the drains.
written by Hirakey, November 17, 2008 17:46:03
Dear Everyone @ Malaysia Today,

Lets not waste time writing some personal comments just as a mean to ventilate your inner frustrations.

All of you are wasting too much of your energy by just merely responding to an articles' content.

Your learned attention should be directed at more important issues which can reshape the future for Malaysia.

Everyone should contribute or brainstorm in a MT Forum focusing just on "How we can create further awareness amongst more Malaysians to Propel CHANGES in Malaysia in Relation to Discrimination, Racism and Politics."

If every reader just focus on this goal only, it will snow ball to an enormous energy that will radiate across spectrum to all Malaysians that CHANGE MUST HAPPEN!!

The very same people that post many comments on various articles, it's time you start focusing your energy towards the right direction.

This is not a criticism but a constructive suggestion if we so desire CHANGE to take place!!

Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has!

We hope that this will be the start of the new frontier. Lets work together on this!

written by malsia1206, November 17, 2008 17:53:52
If anything, Baraisan is tops for 'wayang kulit' year-in, year-out.
1. Best Leading Actor - UMNO
2. Best Supporting Actors - MCA, Gerakan
3. Best Prop - MIC
4. Best Storyline - Boys on 4th Floor
5. Best Villian Role - Mahathir
6. Best Backroom Props - EPF and Petronas
7. Best Theme Song - Negara Ku
Malaysia has all to offer for the above in entertainement. Hollywood pales by comparison.
written by panca, November 17, 2008 17:55:20
For those who think Indonesia, there could be IM2H.

Toyo if he ever returns, he will be charged under racial discrimination!
written by johntyc, November 17, 2008 18:02:12
Apartheid, Communism, Nazism, Racism, Totalitarian and the list goes on...

Whatever Malaysia once opposed/condemn/criticize/denounce etc, Malaysia now seem to embrace/accept/adopt them one by one! It's a shame because we are one of the few moving backwards.
written by aeromaverick, November 17, 2008 18:03:17

First of all, welcome back!! Great to have you back into the realms of freedom again.
Talking about South Africa, when this nation initially gained independence from Apartheid, Malaysian Government send INTAN to propose to the new govt Civil Service training. Eventually it got clear that the method these chaps were proposing were more or less racist to the core. Nelson Mandela always wanted the new South Africa to be sensitive of "Reverse Racism", and make sure the country avoids it.
And here we had Mahathir sending his storm troopers to educate these wise people on how intricacies of the new age racism!
Over the years, South Africa developed a system called "HDI", which stands for Historically Disadvantaged Individuals.
Under this system, akin more towards highly developed preferential system, all blacks, coloured, Indians, and white females were considered to HDI. Hence HDIs were the new drivers of the nation's future.
If you talk to white males, of course they had a lot against it, understandably so. So it seems our govt and ruling party seems to be losing the plot over the years, but keeping quiet on the embarassment of the same.
Once again, welcome back Pete.
written by Lim Lim, November 17, 2008 18:14:12
pete,u are right!hiting straight on the bull's eye,'ketuanan melayu' is a form of apartheid,rose with the different name...apartheid is what umno is practising!!
written by Lim Lim, November 17, 2008 18:24:07
apartheid is also a form of slavery,it is illegal n not acceptable not only with respective to basic humanity right,it is too a sin in the eyes of religion,so does islam allow it ?????
written by Fuminari, November 17, 2008 18:38:30
malaysia is shall be more appropriately called 'boleh tak bolehland',
for umno be end=semuanya boleh,
for rakyat = semuanya tak boleh!! mampuslah kami.
written by fireduck, November 17, 2008 18:59:11
I am very impressed with the Indonesian Government, with their resolve and determination to change, to right what is wrong, and to make the future of their country a much brighter one. In addition to this anti-racism law, I think they have also passed a Right To Information Act (or something similar).

So, why is it sooooo difficult for our BN politicians to change? It is so frustrating to be 'looked down upon' by some nations that were once way behind us in all aspects of human rights and democratic practices. I just hope that we are able to change BEFORE Myanmar decides to ditch their junta and reform to join the world community.

Know what I think? All the best brains and good people (including so many Malays that I know) has left Malaysia for somewhere else. But over in Indonesia, I think the reverse happened. They kept their best brians and exported the rest to Malaysia. Maybe it's time we think differently and export some of our other (eg. Yemeni smilies/wink.gif ), brains out to somewhere else instead.
written by educationist, November 17, 2008 19:01:41
It's reported that RPK has been summoned to the Sentul Police station tomorrow.
Why?
Probably for calling a spade a spade - that ketuanan melayu for all intents and purposes is Apartheid.
The police and the AG are at the beck and call of the UMNOputras so what else can be expected!
written by talk2stop, November 17, 2008 20:03:12
Malaysia can not afford to remove NEP or Ketuanan Melayu at one go but by diluting it. RPK, you need to understand most bumis who has taken advantage of the freebies have forgotten to hunt. It is like releasing a domesticated tiger back into the wild. Others are waiting to eat them alive.
In another words NEP or Ketuanan Melayu is actually killing the Melayu. I am sure RPK knows what he is talking. To be strong and powerful you need competition not assistance.
written by onnetline, November 17, 2008 20:09:09
Does Islam truly profess ' Ketuanan Melayu ' as part of it's teaching ?

Can someone please enlighten me ? With best regards.

written by Motherchell, November 17, 2008 20:21:04

1)Should i laugh or cry for the future generations about our history in Rais Yatim's own book of Records? (His rebuttal to Gerakan Wanita)

2) The issue of the day in Malaysia is equality and justice -- not race , not religion --- how do i demolish upstarts in power who read this backwards or speaking england.

3) Does Rustum know that his Blackberry is a PD and not an Ayam brand fruit jam by saying that he wants to advise the powers to implement the NEP in full .IS he a FOOL OR FULL?? What was he doing all the while ?? Is he suffering memory dysfunction?
4) What does our Cell Physiologist Badawi; who knows more about medicine than Dr Osman doing in UZbekistan dishing out $700 M . He told us that he failed his Economics paper!
5) WHY IS THERE NO FATWAS FOR CORRUPTION ,Racial sentiments and money politics by dear Jack ??

Pete , forgive me for having packed your mind with my troubles. You take care well !! God Bless you my bro!!

PS. Jack is quite busy doing community work now...Tchaikovsky's swans are metamorphosing into ostriches!

http://sjsandteam.*********.com
written by merlin2001, November 17, 2008 20:32:43
Is it true that if one is accorded the title of a TUN one is immune to any form of charge?
If it is so may I humbly beg one of the Royalties to please quickly confer a Tunship on RPK.
He deserves so much more than to keep having to meet the cops.
written by sandokan, November 17, 2008 20:57:14
Viva Raja Petra!!! A beautiful piece of truth. I'm with you. Let's start mobilizing..
written by Jit Dharma, November 17, 2008 21:55:54
Never argue with a kook like Mahathir. He only talks cock because he is arrogant
and bloated with power. He doesn't even try to make sense. Sex in the park and
nudity..etc are moronic examples to bring up to justify one-party rule and tyranny. We don't need their guidance, especially when they need to back it up
with brutality.Bravo to Indonesia, they have raised their standards. The foundation is the most important part of democracy. Liberty and freedom together with compassion and humane treatment of citizens, is that foundation.
Every other type of democracy is a perversion of this ideal and should be called such. We cannot be complicit with nor justify tyranny, it is always
imposed on the people againts their will. That is why it is always wrong.There
is no 'good' one-party rule, since they all prevail by force and violence.Ask
the citizen if he is afraid for his life and if that is why he obeys.Not out of
loyalty but fear.Then you know he is just a slave.Nothing more.You don't need
to ask a slave for his opinion.You give it to him!!!
written by Liberace, November 17, 2008 22:05:00
Hirakey,

Just what are you talking about? You have no specific point and urge us to commit ourselves to brainstorm to bring about change. Isn't this what we are fighting for? If you have some brilliant idea that we're missing, let's hear it. Change, everybody wants change. It's easy to sound grand, but what are the specifics? What's your point?
written by MSIABOLEH, November 17, 2008 22:36:17
"A man cannot choose to be born as part of a certain race or ethnic group, and therefore discrimination must cease to exist," said Murdaya, who is Indonesian-Chinese

Most eloquently spoken.
written by Taiping60, November 17, 2008 23:02:30
It is a shame everyone else is moving forward and in Malaysia we are on a reverse gear. Even Indonesia are doing things right.

When our politicians will ever learn.

We do not get to choose our parent,
We do not get to choose our race,
We do not get to choose our country,

God choose it for us and god wants all of us to be treated equal.

So please do not discriminate on anyone who do not get to choose.
written by tenang, November 17, 2008 23:08:51
One day, may we embrace a time-tested premise of democracy: “Equal opportunity for all and special privileges for none.” This is a simple phrase but powerful enough to ring through the vast land of this nation, one day.
written by mick_err_stan, November 17, 2008 23:31:52
The intelligent, the capable, the visionary, the proud do not need Ketuanan Melayu......only the ignorant and the shallow need Ketuanan Melayuin in order to make themselves feel superior. Respect not earned, but achieved through intimidation and creating fear. Just like Hitler proclaiming the Aryan race being superior to others races, UMNO is no different. Im born in Malaysia and Im a Malaysian first and Race second. Ketuanan Melayu - Race first and being a Malaysian second. UMNO is nothing but a bunch of racist raping the country of it wealth and suffocating the many potential this country has to offer to be the best in the region.
written by DXB2008, November 17, 2008 23:54:48
What left in Malaysia with ketuanan will be those leaders who have tainted lives and ameno goons might vote mat tyson as the new deputy president with politik wang....and they are doomed to hell
http://1426.********.com/2008/...tahun.html
written by mentora, November 18, 2008 00:08:52
"that until the philosophy which holds one race superior and another inferior is finally and permanently discredited and abandoned; that until there is no longer any first-class and second-class citizens of any nation; that until the color of a man's skin is of no more significance than the color of his eyes; that until the basic human rights are equally guaranteed to all, without regard to race -- until that day, the dreams of lasting peace and world citizenship and the rule of international morality will remain but a fleeting illusion, to be pursued but never attained": Speech by H.I.M. HAILE SELASSIE I - California 28th February 1968
written by archie, November 18, 2008 01:06:26
"PASOK"

Chinese and Tamil schools are opened to all races. What has "apartheid" got to do with such schools?
written by yy88, November 18, 2008 01:11:30
We talk of abolishing ISA,
We talk of ending NEP,
We talk of stopping "ketuanan Melayu" aka Apartheid
We talk of reformimg ACA, PDRM, AGO, Judiciary, Education system, etc
We are not tackling the problems at its roots, we are stretching our focus too thin to resolve each of these ills individually.
We need to remove UMNO as the roots of all ills in our country.
Once the malignant cells are removed, the tumour would gradually subside, and the patient will recover.
Our malay brethens have to be make aware of UMNO ills and stop giving them their votes. PR13 would be our target to get rid of UMNO.
Anyway, UMNO backstabbing among the different groups would be good for the Rakyat. Money politics would accelerate the demise and irrelevance of UMNO.
written by MalaysianFirst, November 18, 2008 01:56:40
Dear Liberace,
What I think Hirakey is trying to say is encapsulated in the statement where he says:
"How we can create further awareness amongst more Malaysians to Propel CHANGES in Malaysia in Relation to Discrimination, Racism and Politics."

The two key words are AWARENESS & CHANGE.

Just a suggestion to get us started....
We need an identity, a brand, if you like. What do we want to be identified with? CHANGE. That's what we want to be identified with. What kind of CHANGE? Well, the list is long, but here are the few most welcomed change:
Say no to discrimination, racism, corruption and blah blah blah.....

So now we have an identity and that identity relates to saying no to the three evils besides others. That said, now need to create AWARENESS towards that identity which is CHANGE. This must be a conscious effort, meaning, expose and or declare your identity to the public intentionally and as often as possible.

What are the avenues? Plenty. But for now, let's not try to shoot some idealistic reaches. Say we start with Malaysia Today. While MT is a multi-topic platform, it is ideal as the topics are mainly political and that's where we want to make some noise. MT can help by putting up a NEW MALAYSIAN masthead or banner on its website (similar to those such as "Say No to ISA" etc).

Then, let's say we adopt a common signature - NEW MALAYSIAN - as our identity for change. So, that means, if you want to be identified as a member of this CHANGE movement, then you must make the reader or commentator be aware that YOU are one. And to do that you must now wear this NEW MALAYSIAN identity, no matter what topic is being discussed. (Similar to "berhikmat untuk negara") It don't have to be about the three evils. It can be anything, but you must sign off as a NEW MALAYSIAN. That's your common identity.

This common identity will create an immediate AWARENESS. At least among MT visitors. We will now also know how many are indeed shouting for change and those who are not. This identity will, in time, grow with awareness. Of course, by all means have discussions, closed forums, topics etc on the three evils and any other bad values that you are against. Or you can simply sign off as NEW MALAYSIAN. I'm sure there are plenty of ways other than what I've suggested and plenty of smart people out there with better ideas who would want to share it here. MT will have to start by creating both a common identity and awareness and test it out to see if this enthusiasm is shared amnong MT visitors and whether this "enormous energy" is real or imagery or if it can be harnessed. "NEW MALAYSIAN" is just an example. It can be anything.

As an identity, Say No to ISA is obviously not enough.

Cheers
written by Spear Bing, November 18, 2008 02:32:48
Upon analyzing PASOK's past and present commentaries, it is obvious that he/she is too skewed and opinionated in his/her mindset.

Indonesia's demographic and geo-political historical background are poles apart from that of Malaysia's. Integration rather than assimilation is the ideal solution. Ask any political scientist and there you have the solution.

It is highly recommended his/her mind will have to be open to make it function, just like a parachute.
written by oceanuz, November 18, 2008 03:42:14
Having another law/act doesn't mean a thing in Malaysia.
It's really how it's used and practiced.

Is there no police reports made against the top guns in the government? Or don't even need to be top guns, just from rulling parties. Were there investigation? Were there arrest? Were there charge?
Now look at the opposite side.

So what will happens is "what you said is racist, what I said is not", no matter how the public perceived it. Until this fundamental issue in the system is corrected, I would prefer not to have another such act...
written by Proarte, November 18, 2008 04:52:05
Even if 'Ketuanan Melayu' is dispensed with, we still have 'Ketuanan Islam' to contend with. It will be business as usual I am afraid because the constitution says rather illogically that 'to be Malay is to be a Muslim'.

Malays converted to Islam from the 15th century onwards and were Hindu, Bhuddists and Animists prior to that. So pray tell, what race where they Malays before their conversion? Did the framers of our constitution ask themselves that question? There are many Indonesian Christians and the vast majority of Filipinos are Christian but they belong to the identical racial group as Malays.Can we now see the illogical definition of a Malay?

A Malay who changes his faith or renounces Islam is in 'racial limbo' as he ceases to be a Malay and loses his 'bumiputera status'. At the same time the constitution guarantees freedom of worship. Even this is being challenged illegally by the Shariah Courts who have recently ruled that a Muslim is a Muslim forever and cannot change faith. This flies in the face of logic and is unconstitutional.

The cause of this debacle is the abdication of responsibility of the Civil courts in defending the rights of non-Muslims, be they Malay converts or otherwise. Shariah courts simply have no jurisdiction over non-Muslims period.

The constitution talks about Islam being the 'official religion' which is unfortunate because it gives the impression that other religions have been relegated to an 'inferior or unoffcial' status but this is patently not the case as it clearly spells out that other religions may be practised freely and in peace. There is discrimination however; a Malay can proslytise to a non-Muslim but not vice versa, why? Isn't this against the principles of Islam?

How can we have racial harmony and religious tolerance if we can have 'Fatwas' issued by government Islamic agencies like Jakim, Jais and State Muftis which are often bizarre to say the least and divide and humiliate everyone? It is sad to see respected Muslim leaders like Tok Aziz, supporting the Fatwa council. The fact that they make pronouncemtns which strictly speaking flout the constitution because comments chastising Muslim women who sport short hair and wear jeans being judged as having lesbian proclivities is an insult to all women. But because of the Damocles Sword of ISA hanging over their heads, the threat violence from Muslims and the constitutional provision giving these Government Muslim agencies jurisdiction over Muslims only, non-Malays can only bite their tongue and be resentful of the behaviour of the Muslim institutions whose sole purpose it would appear is to sow fear, hate and ridicule of Islam in the eyes of the world.

Are Muslims willing to give up their unIslamic 'Ketuanan Islam' status and agree to constitutional amendments? Will the true face of Islam ( submission to God) win the order of the day in Malaysia? Only then will we have a progressive nation at peace and at ease with itself.
written by JUST, November 18, 2008 06:41:04
"It may be long before the law of love will be recognized in
this beautiful country. The machinery of evil administration
stands in-between and hides the loving hearts of this Nation!"

< Mahatma Gandhi >
written by Sudahlah tu, November 18, 2008 07:58:05
Kita akan tetap memperjuangkan kemerdekaan Malaysia daripada kezaliman umno.
Kita harus memahami keadaan semasa sudah merosakkan maruah bangsa orang melayu lebih daripada bangsa lain kerana umno memperalatkan orang melayu sebagai agenda utama mereka ...
written by temenggong, November 18, 2008 09:10:51
Regarding Ketuanan Islam, the only reason islam is there as the official reason is because the rulers and the Agong is the Head of Islam in their respective states, and Federation. And it involves some royal rites.

Islam shall have a official presence ONLY when it involves royalty. Only functions involving the royalty are official functions.

Any other functions, whether by the PM, schools, etc., shall not involve religion. The Constitution has been violated for 50 years.
written by temenggong, November 18, 2008 09:16:25
If you want to end "apartheid" then there should be no more chinese schools and tamil schools.....the chinese and indians must assimilate.

It was agreed and the Constitution provides for Malaysia to be multicultural and multilingual, and NOT monocultural and monolingual.

The talk of one school system, all Malaysians speaking one language, assimilation, is all nonsense. Malaysia was not designed to be that way. Malaysia was designed to be diverse, and unique in that.
written by Milo, November 18, 2008 09:50:42
Americans voted for change on 4th November 2008 and made history....Indonesian House of Representatives voted for change in October and made history.....Malaysians voted for change on 8th March and made history BUT with a diffference - some of our cockeyed and insanely irresponsible government leaders refused to change. sO? THEY should be made HISTORY!
written by renoir, November 18, 2008 10:41:08
archie wrote"
"PASOK"
>Chinese and Tamil schools are opened to all races. What has "apartheid" got to do with such schools? ]]

On the other hand, many single race seconday schools - such as STAR in Ipoh and SDAR in Seremban - are reserved for Malays. And of course MCKK is a single race institution. All financed by taxpayers. This IS apartheid.

written by advocatusdiaboli, November 18, 2008 18:14:45
i agree with renoir.
written by CoolMama54, November 20, 2008 01:23:03
So that's why we should support Pakatan Rakyat. I get it now.

We need to swap Race based politics to Religion based politics.

UMNO, representing Malays -to-> PAS, representing Muslims
MCA, representing Chinese -to-> DAP, representing Bhuddists
MIC, representing Indians -to-> PKR aka legal HINDRAF, representing Hindus
Ketuanan Melayu -to-> Ketuanan Islam
Aku kaki tidur, and will sacrifice Rakyat for my children -to-> Aku kaki liwat, and will sacrifice Rakyat to be PM

What an easy choice...
written by Concerned Malaysian, November 20, 2008 11:00:54

I just want to reitirate what Mick-err-stan mentioned earlier that " I had Grade 2 for my MCE and was not promoted to lower 6. My malay friends who scored Grade 3 were all promoted".

Mick I had Grade One and went to Form Six my Malay Fren had Grade 2 went to Monash Australia. Brothers/sisters this got to stop some how, why discriminate others. I agree that the Malays need help so does the Chinese, Indians, Ibans, Dayaks and others.All of us are Malaysian,yet why some are treated differently.

When you remove our layers;name,religion & colour we belong to ONE human race after all we originated from Africa. Why the fus...chill bro/sis!
written by DontPlayGod, November 20, 2008 23:16:24
As I have written before, Malaysia is the only country left standing that practises racial discrimination as its official policy and is proud of it. In fact, UMNO justifies it. While all countries in the world, under the UN, now makes it illegal to discriminate based on race and cultures, even in communist countries, Malaysia proudly states its racist policies. In fact, they even wave the keris and shout at the top of their voice when threatening the other minority races. Ahmad Ismail even received a heroes welcome for his racist stance. This is UMNO for you!!

As I see it, Malaysia can only progress to developed nation status only with the removal of UMNO. Even Indonesia has appointed an ethnic Chinese woman as its minister of finance, even though the Chinese form only a tiny minority in Indonesia.
written by DontPlayGod, November 21, 2008 19:26:12
PASOK, let me enlighten you on some of the UN's charter, one of which states that any race's(minority or otherwise), culture, language, and heritage shall not be destroyed but instead should be nurtured, maintained and supported by the Government in power. I know you are looking at Thailand and Indonesia, but these two nations have been told off by the UN and are now taking remedial actions to follow the UN's charter. But Malaysia, how.....

Even in China, where the Han Chinese form more than 92% of the population, there are still another 55 ethnic groupings. The Chinese Government supports them in maintaining their culture, language(dialects) and welfare. Malaysia, how.....
written by Berean, November 22, 2008 02:26:02
Glad you are back RPK. Bullies never win at the end of the day. Only misery will befall them.

This may insult those Malays that dreamt up this "ketuanaan" fantasy thingi.... but that's too bad.... Questions: what amazing things have you guys ever done? What revolutionary good things did any of you ever bring to mankind? Did you invent the motorcar? Or even a door knob? Even the Israelis & Jews whom you all hate do more for the world in a single day than these you (racist Malays) could ever do in your entire lifetime!!