Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Opposition claims politics behind Ronnie Liu charge

Opposition claims politics behind Ronnie Liu charge PDF Print
Monday, 17 November 2008 14:39
By Shannon Teoh

The DAP claims political motivation behind this morning's charge against their Selangor executive councilor Ronnie Liu.

Liu, 49, was charged at the Petaling Jaya magistrate's court under Section 109 and Section 186 of the Penal Code at 9.40am with abetting customers and workers of a hotel in Puchong in trying to stop Mohamed Hadzlin Zulkepli from closing down the hotel on Nov 2 last year.

He pleaded not guilty.

"This is the first such charge in this country to my knowledge. It is strange as the charge sheet does not name who Liu was to have abetted," Liu's lead counsel Gobind Singh told reporters in Parliament. Gobind is also the DAP MP for Puchong.

According to Kelana Jaya MP, Loh Gwo-Burne, no one has been charged with the actual obstruction.

Liu, who was also in Parliament, said that no one can fault Malaysians for believing that there is something behind the charge as he has a standing defamation suit against former Selangor Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Dr Khir Toyo for publicly making allegations over the same matter.

Klang MP Charles Santiago concurred, pointing out that Khir Toyo had also gone after Seputeh MP Teresa Kok with allegations of her asking a mosque not to make azan calls to prayer.

There is a game plan, he claimed, stating that there was a need to be careful as Khir Toyo was stoking Malay-Chinese sentiments.

DAP parliamentary leader Lim Kit Siang commented that if convicted, Liu stood to lose his state exco position as he would also be ejected from the Selangor state assembly.

A political leader in Umno has been pressing on this matter, he said, referring to Khir Toyo, who is running for the Youth chief post in the March party polls.

"Is he making use of the prosecution to show Umno Youth that he is capable of fixing up Liu?" he added.

Lim also said that while the deputy pulic prosecutor had called it a serious case, it has taken over a year to take any action on what the Ipoh Timur MP called a newfangled charge.

PJ magistrate Mohamad Ibrahim Mohammad Ghulam granted Liu, a DAP central committee member, bail of RM3,000 in one surety and set Feb 10 for mention.

Liu, the Local Government, Study and Research Committee chairman, was arrested at the state secretariat building in Shah Alam last Wednesday and released on RM2,000 bail on the same day.

written by my oumrie, November 17, 2008 14:54:01
Desperate times call for desperate measures. Just like Satan promising to take as many people as possible into Hell with him, so too supporters of BeeEnd create lots of confusion and racial anger to prolong the Rakyat's suffering before the inevitable result - PAKATAN RAKYAT as Gomen of Malaysia! HIDUP PAKATAN RAKYAT! HIDUP DSAI! HIDUP BANGSA MALAYSIA!
written by hckit, November 17, 2008 15:12:34
after losing his job as Selangor Mentari Besar, Toyo has been working as senior advisor for PDRM and Botak Syed.

written by allmenarebrothers, November 17, 2008 15:15:56
Thumbs Up for Ronnie Lui, the Great Defender of Peoples' Rights!
Thumbs Down for Botox Toyol, the Ultra Par Excellence of Malaysia!
May Ultra Par Excellence be punished by divine justice for rabble rousing, creating dissension & disunity amongst the Rakyat & spewing the most vile poison, hatred, anger & venom in our beloved Malaysia.
written by Newkidonblog, November 17, 2008 15:50:55
UMNO is not happy when Ronnie was escorting RPK inside the Rolls Royce when released from ISA detention.

UMNO- The Best *OCS in Malaysia.

(*Organized Crime Syndicate)
written by ahmadneil, November 17, 2008 16:18:19
You see,if they are not happy with you they team up with the court to bring you down.
Khir Toyo,your days are numbered.You will pay for all this sins.
written by loosecannon, November 17, 2008 16:29:49
It's such a frivolous charge and the time delay suggests that the charge is entirely political. Don't the police have real crimes to combat?

Those oppositions MPs who have plucked their neighbours' rumbutans without permission like some of us did when we were kids, you better don't confess. They will charge you with stealing.
written by budakindia, November 17, 2008 16:46:46
Even a blind person could tell it's politically motivated. What's next? Charging him for using the toilet? smilies/cheesy.gif
written by ahmadneil, November 17, 2008 16:48:37
Give me one good reason why they haven't arrest Khir Toyo!
written by michaelT, November 17, 2008 17:29:37
Ronnie keep walking straight and look deep into the bloody police eyes. They must be rewarded for each arrest of PR politician. After one year of a simple case fopr helping the Hotel occupants so what is so wrong about this action. Police vitimisation and hatred for the opposition is so strong that they are on their heels to arrest with no God Damn reason. Those police responsible better watch out as your names are listed in the PR book. Just you wait!!. The rakyat are very annoyed and all must join hands and throw out BN and cremate them to ashes come the next GE. What happen to Ahmad Ismail. What happen to all the police reports on him. Selective prosecution damn it!
written by Hirakey, November 17, 2008 17:48:56
Dear Everyone @ Malaysia Today,

Lets not waste time writing some personal comments just as a mean to ventilate your inner frustrations.

All of you are wasting too much of your energy by just merely responding to an articles' content.

Your learned attention should be directed at more important issues which can reshape the future for Malaysia.

Everyone should contribute or brainstorm in a MT Forum focusing just on "How we can create further awareness amongst more Malaysians to Propel CHANGES in Malaysia in Relation to Discrimination, Racism and Politics."

If every reader just focus on this goal only, it will snow ball to an enormous energy that will radiate across spectrum to all Malaysians that CHANGE MUST HAPPEN!!

The very same people that post many comments on various articles, it's time you start focusing your energy towards the right direction.

This is not a criticism but a constructive suggestion if we so desire CHANGE to take place!!

Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has!

We hope that this will be the start of the new frontier. Lets work together on this!
written by joeawk, November 17, 2008 18:25:14
Lim Kit Siang, Karpal Singh, Lim Guan Eng, and many others, are sufficient headache for UMNO.

They threaten Terasa Kok, now she is quiet. That is why they are threatening Ronnie Liu. UMNO has had enough of Lit Kit Siang and cannot afford to have too many like him.
written by Lembing, November 17, 2008 18:26:03
COME ON PAKATAN...surely after 8 months, you would have found some the evidence against the Jap-look-alike KHIR TOKYO, to charge him in court for whatever crimes he had committed as the MB.
written by capcomangel, November 17, 2008 19:49:14
yes. in my vision, they are involve politic motive in this case. stop denial it. dig up a old case and drag PR into Malay Supremacy issue to kill PR politician. last time drag PR at Perak state to ACA because of sex and currupion.

to PR who rule on the state. while u have the power. just do like Penang state doing now to audit every single cent and every single project. who deal, who company behind and who involve, how much the project spending reference to public deal. do it before u get mute