Be united and strong to prevail, Malays urged PDF Print
Monday, 17 November 2008 10:50

KUALA LUMPUR: The concept of ketuanan Melayu cannot just be a mere declaration without it pinned on integrity, ability and courage, Foreign Minister Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim said.

Ketuanan Melayu cannot be based on sentiments or through ego politics. Only when we are strong, can we say we are tuan. If we are not, people would not respect us,” he said.

He was speaking to reporters after giving a keynote address at a forum titled “Malay Interests in History and Legislation” here yesterday.

Rais also urged Malays to be united as there would be strength in numbers.

“What I’m saying is if you’re strong enough based on the politics of numbers, then you don’t have to worry. We the majority would always prevail,” he said.

He was referring to a question on whether a non-Malay could become a prime minister.

Dr Rais said US president-elect Barack Obama’s success could not be looked at in the Malaysian context where there was a social contract that guaranteed the special rights of the Malays and the Malay rulers.

He added that it was not practical for a non-Malay to become the prime minister because Malays were the majority race.

“Let’s face it. The politics of number is still very prevalent in a country which follows certain norms. We cannot do it overnight.

“What I’m telling Umno politicians and the Malay community is strengthen yourself and prove that you are capable to lead,” he said.

He added that the social contract should no longer be discussed as the Malay rulers, political parties, races and non-governmental organisations had agreed to the Federal Constitution under the Reid Commission in 1957 that gave Malays special rights.

“The struggle of the Malays need to be seen from a positive angle. No one should misinterpret history for their own political ends to belittle any one race, especially the Malays as the original residents of this land.”

Dr Rais said the Malays had to find common factors such as Islam as the national religion and Malay culture as elements of unity.

- The Star

Comments (42)Add Comment
written by Arubin, November 17, 2008 10:59:57
Strength in numbers? Sounds very much like the politics of gangsterism to me.
written by PRman, November 17, 2008 11:08:40
Wow.. Is this the foreign minister we have in Malaysia? Why these morons always steered away from the questions, and somehow without failure to pull in the Malay Supremacy topic in?

It just shows how ignorantly and arrogantly stupid about this minister. Case closed! Now, wait for the next GE, and you will be boot!
written by I_Luv_Manglish, November 17, 2008 11:14:16
Strength in numbers for only one race? What about the other "pendatangs" in this country then? Don't they matter anymore?? What are you talking about, Rais Pudding?!
Someone please get this diplomatically-inept and intellectually-challenged little boy a one-way ticket to outer space!!
written by apasalahku, November 17, 2008 11:38:14
Rais= Hitler
Nazi party= UMNO
disgruntled German peasants = UMNO supporters/propaganda victims
Jews = Malaysian Chinese
Goering = Khairy
Goebbels = Syed Albar
Malaysia 2008 = German 1930
Gestapo = UMNO Youth
written by cheekhiaw, November 17, 2008 12:06:10
All Malaysians should be united and strong but not for those Malay thieves to continue stealing...

written by NRR, November 17, 2008 12:08:05
Rais Yatim, what would you call Khir Toyo, a Pendatang or a Native Malay?
written by asguard, November 17, 2008 12:15:58
UMNO always has a plan ...when plan A fails, they call for plan B to be execute.. always up to something no good...
written by NRR, November 17, 2008 12:16:56
Another HP6 interpretation and advice by an aspirant fishing for votes in the upcoming elections. Can't believe that Malaysia has a Foreign Minister of this calibre.
written by borneoman, November 17, 2008 12:19:34
self proclaim tuan melayu umno please be reminded that only the natives can proclaim and deserved the title ketuanan because they are the true original son of the soil.melayu umno are all half melayu and therefor have no right to claim themselves as such.The real natives are very accommodating to the extend of allowing you to piggy back on the term ketuanan but for how long only time will decide.i think it will come sooner than you umno idiots expect and by the time you realize it it will be too late.
written by Fuminari, November 17, 2008 12:29:43
why not be united n strong to prevail,malaysian urged???
this clear shows that rais is jus another cut out material as tribal chief as oer his own intention with this type of racist statement;he is jus not a stateman material with this twist n turn.would the country be able to go forward with this kind of 'sempit' brain at helm??
written by Horizonline, November 17, 2008 12:30:43
integrity, ability and courage, you don't have it. you just rely on number, seems like gangsterism for me. and our pm just said that other ethnics can become pm too... but he said otherwise. our gov. itself is really flip-flop.
written by borneoman, November 17, 2008 12:31:46
social contract that guaranteed the special rights of the Malays and the Malay rulers......it was given to you by another penjajah the fcuking british

PROVE TO SARAWAKIAN in black and white that we did sign such a contract.Do you think temenggong jugah ak barieng understood what social contract was all about?
.i dont think God Almighty gave the umno melayu that special rights because all human being are equal in the eyes of The Almighty.
Sarawak is not under the jurisdiction of the malay and the malay rulers.we never have sultan,king or raja except under the self proclaim white rajah brooke.
written by ckone, November 17, 2008 12:34:47
Umno is not representative of malays... its a representative of corrupt malays... real malays are strong, united and well known for its hospitality... time for our foreign minister to retire.
written by Navigator, November 17, 2008 12:39:44
This guy got his Ph.D. by advocating the abolition of the ISA when he was out of power. When he got back, he supported the ISA. Such is his integrity. He tries to distort truth: the non-Malays are not laughing at the Malays or they will not support RPK. They do not support the racist views of UMNO. For someone who claims to be an intellectual, what he is saying is that non-Malays cannot be the PM because the narrow-minded UMNO Malays will not accept it. Those who are against UMNO are seen to split the Malays and cause its weakness. Hwe never talked about how UMNO takes Malays for a ride under its leadership.
written by Lim Lim, November 17, 2008 12:41:04
from here,Rais Yatim knows only how to live n lead as one of the tribal chiefs,he is not a national material.jus like others from the umno leader ship,they are so lack to talk about the bigger picture,the more vital issues n matters concerning malaysia n global except racism years in years out,umno is so empty n hollow!!
written by alpha100, November 17, 2008 12:44:22
Call for Malays to be strong again! Why can't it be call for all Malaysian to be strong! Looks like UMNO or is it BN continue to divide and rule perhaps unknowingly doing it!
If Malaysian are divided, no Malaysian going to be strong and that include the Malays! Malaysian will be fighting among self instead of against the world!
Our Leaders need a wake up call! Lets ensure BN kick out in next GE!
Anyway, by what they doing, they digging own grave oredi! Good sign!
written by MAMR, November 17, 2008 12:48:37
“Let’s face it. The politics of number is still very prevalent in a country which follows certain norms. We cannot do it overnight.

Based on the above, RAIS if you really want to KNOW wheather UMNO WILL GET THE NUMBER, BN GOVT SHOULD DISSOLVE THE PARLIMEN AND CALL FOR FRESH MANDATE.
written by sydput, November 17, 2008 12:48:42
UMNO's tatctics is to make the malays stupid and scared. It is the only way they can hold on to power. Enlightened malays are not bothered as to who manages this country. It has to be some one capable, righteous, just and honest. I cannot see thess values in any of the nominated UMNO candidates for their general assembly.
written by thor, November 17, 2008 12:49:43
Why don't AMENO asked this "Win Win" guy to go to the UN, as this is under his ministry, to negotiate a social contract with the global communities, so that in this time of globalisations, they and their kind will get 30%. I think if he presents such a proposal, he will be laughed out of NY. smilies/grin.gif

Remember strive to get wat u want in a fair an just manner, shld u fail then only then help will be extended to assist u in achieving wat u want, U still hve to work for it, not just holding out yr hands like beggars and parasiting on others' effort who genuinely work to build this nation

GOD SAVE OUR PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES
written by adan, November 17, 2008 12:52:31
'IF WE ARE STRONG ENOUGH BASED ON THE POLITICS OF NUMBERS.... WE THE MAJORITY WOULD ALWAYS PREVAIL' RAIS

How does RAIS expect the majority to prevail when the SMALL ELITE GROUP WITHIN THE MAJORITY IS UNDERMINING THE STRENGTH OF MAJORITY THROUGH RAMPANT CORRUPTION, MISUSE AND ABUSE OF POWER IN EVERY INSTITUTION IN THE GOVERNMENT INCLUDING THE LAW ENFORCEMENT AND THE JUDICAIRY. IT IS THIS ELITE GROUP WITHIN THE MAJORITY GROUP THAT IS IS HOODWINKING AND DEPRIVING THE MAJORITY OF ALL THAT BELONGS TO THEM... THE WEALTH ,THEIR FREEDOM ,THEIR RIGHTS,THEIR DIGNITY AND SELF RESPECT.. IS HE SUGGESTING THAT THE MAJORITY SHOULD COME OUT IN DEFENCE OF THE 'ELITE GROUP' TAINTED WITH CORRUPTION,INEFFICIENCY AND CRIMES ??? STRENGTH IN NUMBERS IS OUT -DATED OUTMODED IN THIS GLOBAL WORLD ..IT IS NOT EVEN TRUE IN THE ANIMAL KINGDOM.
written by Zapper, November 17, 2008 12:54:36
Rais....since when is the African American the majority race in America?? What is the big deal in calling Tuan?? By calling the malays, tuan, do they really really they are the best race in the world or just under the coconut shell. I have many malay friend who I proudly say do not need the title tuan...they can stand on their 2 feet and look tall. Only those surviving on racial politics are desperately wanting this title.

They are leeches.
written by borneoman, November 17, 2008 13:00:17
mr wood,do you know what it is like to drink water directly from the stream and river and to loose your seniority in your job because the official language is not your mother tongue and you are penalized for not mastering it? have you ever walk 12 hours non stop to go and buy salt and sugar from the nearest civilization?if you drive a car or have a decent house in town and a good salary to sustain your family of four you have no right to ask ......."what else do you want my friends?".
written by chrisyong, November 17, 2008 13:10:36
Listen to TDM's lecture. EVEN he agreed that you need to EARN to be called TUAN. Not by Number or race. Stop raising RACE issues. No one looks down on Malays? why so defensive? why feel so insecure? What does Tuan mean to you? Everyone else to serve you? You just sit and grow fat? Is there any meaning in life by doing this? Don't live in denial..........move on and work hard with good integrity, honesty, morality. Don't dwell in corruption and always looking for easy way out!
written by KotaDamansara73, November 17, 2008 13:13:23
UMNO election is coming so this guys will say things to get votes.

That shows that UMNO is still full of racist.
written by anak kenyalang, November 17, 2008 13:22:17
What Rais is doing is to incite racial devide. Very racist undertone. What I would expect from the 'White Supremacist' or and Ku Klux Klan (KKK) to incite. If he has been a chinese or an indian citing such sentiments for their respective race.. I am sure the SB officers will be at his door-steps in no time. This type of politician is the bane of society and a parasite to be gotten rid off before a real "Hitler" is born. God helps us.
written by arazak, November 17, 2008 13:24:52
"The struggle of the Malays need to be seen from a positive angle".
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

What about the struggle of the poor Indian, Chinese, Kadazan, Iban or any other races who are citizens of Malaysia. . ., couldn't UMNO see it from a positive light?
written by jchantw, November 17, 2008 13:25:27
Every one of these so called MALAYSIAN ministers/leaders never fail to amaze me every other day or so. Instead of being a MALAYSIAN promoting peace, stability and prosperity for the COUNTRY, they endlessly instigate and spread racial tension, fear and hatred every time they open their mouths.
Allow me to quote "It is better to be quiet and appear stupid,
then to open your mouth and remove all doubt" – Abe Lincoln.
written by PASOK, November 17, 2008 13:26:58

These melayu have been sucking everything out of this country for all this time. Now no more - the Natives of Sarawak and Sabah will rise up. This melayu have to learn justice and not just how to steal. otherwise we show you which is more strong - the mandau or the kris.
written by cheekymate, November 17, 2008 13:39:40
Rais Yatim,
I openly declare I detest all that you stand for on the Ketuanan Melayu issue. I am also very regretful that I had in the past regarded you with some respect because I had thought you had left within you some decency. Now I see the true colours of you. You are totally without conscience and your only priority is to achieve your ambitions regardless of who or what is sacrificed along the way. Not only have you lost my trust and respect, I loathe your hypocritic portrayal of being bipartisan. You are the epitome of deceit.
written by densemy, November 17, 2008 13:41:16
Let them unite, but without the income that comes from non malay sources and see how they fare
Then in a few years time when the oil income disappears they can all migrate back to the middle east where their colonial masters will surely look after them
written by mob1900, November 17, 2008 14:15:10
Explain your Ketuanan to Obama, a black man, who ancestry have been tormented by centuries of slavery, bigotry and discrimination. See if he grasped your Barisan Najis warped distortion of taking people's rights and money to appoint yourselves Warlords!

Rais ya ol fool,
To Obama, you're comparable to saying White Supremacy is Great for the United STates!
written by Tok Din, November 17, 2008 14:17:55
How can we hope that Malaysia will become a nation strong enough to deal with increasingly difficult challenges ahead. It is obvious to most of us that most of our "race-based" leaders do not embrace the concept of "One nation, under God". We are just disparate groups of different races who found themselves sharing a common geography. Malays, Indians, Chinese, Ibans, Kadazans and others have nothing proud to say about one another. You live or you die, none of my business. I have my life and you have yours. Ha, nation building, my foot.
written by Tok Din, November 17, 2008 14:25:24
The very concept of Ketuan Melayu is detestable. Why should anyone be enslaved in the 21st Century? Are Non-malays to be treated as bond slaves to the Malays? And UMNO thinks that this is the birthright of the Malays?

I am fearful for the future of Malaysia with this national ideology. Under the leadership of UMNO, Malaysia is commiting national suicide.
written by Sinewy, November 17, 2008 15:08:53
Do the malays accept that the struggle of UMNO is the same as the struggle of the malays? And for heaven sake, please let the people understand what is the so-called struggle. Is the struggle about claiming to be more supreme than others? Is the struggle about having more right to use the taxpayers' money to enrich yourselves? Is the struggle about discriminating deserving fellow citizens to be more educated and progressive? Is the struggle about questioning why others work so hard and own more assets? Is the struggle about telling your fellow citizens that they are third class citizens in the bolehland? When the racist UMNO talks about their majority, they are only referring to the less than 25% of the voting population that have voted for them in the last GE. What type of majority is that? If UMNO is the desirable ruler of this country why are they not talking about the unity of the rakyat? Why are they just talking about the unity based on different communities? So where is the effort for national unity in malaysia?
written by bradwell_estate, November 17, 2008 15:46:39
a learned man like Rais Yatim talk like Nazi! Why does he has to stoop that low to stay relevant?
written by Zorro, November 17, 2008 16:39:05
Politics of numbers??

What is this Rais talking about? did not the opposition garnered more than 50% of popular votes in the recent GE? So who should be in power?

Did not PBS won the 1994 Sabah state election rightly then UMNO enticed their YB's with promise of power and money?? everyone in sabah knows that, Lajim Hj Ukin was the first one who jumped..

So, to hell with Ketuanan Melayu!
written by Hockchew, November 17, 2008 17:01:15
Surprised at Rais comment. This learned man have changed for the worse. I thought he should have been talking about Ketuanan Rakyat and what is good for the country.

Why worried about the number, your good friend, TDM, have brought in million of saudara from Indonesia. The Non-Malay will become insignificant soon.
written by Century Patriot, November 17, 2008 17:12:58
Its time all these bird brained, deceitful, racist politicians and ministers stop the rhetoric of calling for Malays to be united to be strong, just as this ½ past six minister!!

Question: UNITED and STRONG AGAINST WHOM? Against other ethnic groups in the country?? WHY??? Are they a threat to Malays survival? Are they the enemies of the nation??

If YES, tell us how is it so!! If NO, then stop these fcuking bullshits and make it look as though the Malays are as stupid as you are.

The Malays today are more intelligent and literate then you Rais Yatim!! Your intelligence can be equated to that of IDI AMIN of Uganda who was only a Sergeant Major who destroyed his nation thro his so-called Ketuanan!!
written by Joelim, November 17, 2008 17:16:17
What are you on about Malays stay united and hence being strong? Being strong for what? Nobody is threatening anybody. Hey Mr Minister wake up!! The Malays today are unlike the Malays 40 years ago. They are an educated lot and most are smarter than you think. What you are advcating is an insult to their intellect. The Malays have had enough of UMNO's ulterior motive in the NEP, the so called social contract, Ketuan Melayu, etc. They now want a united Malaysia, not united Malays. You are way behind time Mr Phd. Need evidence for my assertion? Take a look at some of the photos at the Permatang Pauh by election and the gathering on Malaysia day at the PJ stadium. That night, tears of joy, and hope, rolled down the cheek of every Malaysian to see such an incredible atmosphere of togetherness. No amount of words could descibe how everyone felt that night. How about that?
written by onnetline, November 17, 2008 20:50:16
Rais, are you urging the rich and corrupted Malays to unite with the poor and neglected rural Malays ?

What would the corrupted rich Malays really feel then ???

Stop your cock talk, please !
written by crazygweilo, November 18, 2008 03:52:02
Rais Yatim is one of the few who I regarded as being relatively honest. However, we have to read between the lines of his speech:

1. "The concept of ketuanan Melayu cannot just be a mere declaration without it pinned on integrity, ability and courage"

My interpretation of this - I agree, because it means leading by example. It means that the crutches used and abused under the NEP, or Never Ending Programme should be discarded and replaced. Surely after almost 40 years, there should be integrity. There is certainly ability, and a Malay middle class has been created in a small way through the affirmative action programmes. BUT that middle class would have taken place through natural economic factors anyway. The problem is, that this same group are now capable of competing, and are now rejecting UMNO out of shame and disgust, because of the abuses taking place. Courage, that means the courage to disagree, in the same manner as the former Law Minister did (Zaid Ibrahim), and he had the courage to resign.

2. "He was referring to a question on whether a non-Malay could become a prime minister.

Dr Rais said US president-elect Barack Obama’s success could not be looked at in the Malaysian context where there was a social contract that guaranteed the special rights of the Malays and the Malay rulers.

He added that it was not practical for a non-Malay to become the prime minister because Malays were the majority race"

My comments. Not bloody likely, because UMNO and other elements would kick up a storm on it. Race is still going to be a divisive factor with race based parties. Judging by the conduct of capable and honest men such as Lim Guan Eng in Penang, and Nizar in Perak, over time, it will become obvious to the majority of all races, that in the words of Deng Xiao Ping, "It does'nt matter whether the cat is black or white, once it catches mice". I believe it would make no difference to those in the major urban centres of KL, JB, Penang, Melaka and Ipoh who was in charge because the thinking is different there. However, in the likes of rural Malaysia, the warlords would have a field day manipulating and twisting emotions.

3. "He added that the social contract should no longer be discussed as the Malay rulers, political parties, races and non-governmental organisations had agreed to the Federal Constitution under the Reid Commission in 1957 that gave Malays special rights"

I reserve my harshest comments for this section. On Friday, a member of royalty pinched a friends bottom in the Hard Rock Cafe. Another friend intervened, and was beaten to a pulp. Noone intervened, knowing the likely consequences. If thats Ketuanan Melayu in action, then you can stick it where the sun don't shine pal. If someone tells me something is beyond question, and hauls up some 50 year old report, which is meant for the time, context and place it was written, it should be questioned now. The Malay rulers, what do they do? It is perceived that they play golf, drink, go whoring, build nice palaces, and meanwhile, the Rakyat struggle. There are a few good ones, but lets face it, the Sultan of Johor should be in jail, and there should be a chief minister down there with the antics of Iskandar. The Regent of Kelantan should have paid import duty on his Lamborghini's, and he leads the poorest state in Malaysia. Thats just two examples of abuse by the royalty, and they are well known. Most Malaysians were'nt even born in 1957. Malaysia in 1957 was a far different place. The only decent Hotel in KL back then was the Federal Hotel on Bukit Bintang. You mean to compare a place where the capital was a glorified Kampung of 250,000 people to a well developed conurbation of 3.5 Million. Mind, back then, it was far less racially divided than it is now, and that is a savage indictment of the system since.

Now, realistically, there was a time and a place for affirmative action, but thats gone now. The time has come to help the poor irrespective of race. Provide educational and economic opportunity to those who cannot help themselves, and improve their lot, give hope for the future, heal this broken land, and get the economy back on track. If the Malays can lead the country in that direction, and inspire all races as partners, as equals, then Ketuanan Melayu will be redundant.

No man is an Island, entyre of itself, so said John Donne. Rais Yatim, you shoudl realise that, and state.

"Be united and strong for Malaysians to prevail"

Or perhaps, you are hoping to help reform UMNO and figure its better to be on the outside pissing out, rather than on the outside pissing in. Unfortunately, a lot of Malays are pissing on UMNO right now. They've had enough.

And coming up to the UMNO conference, thats an absolutely terrifying concept to the UMNOputras. So reality will continue to be denied.