Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Ali: Stop questioning NEP, now time for full implementation

Ali: Stop questioning NEP, now time for full implementation PDF Print
Monday, 17 November 2008 10:48

PENANG, Nov 17 — Umno vice-president Datuk Seri Ali Rustam said all disputes on the New Economic Policy should end because now was the time to implement it in full.

He said although the policy was seen as an effort to help lift the economic status of Bumiputeras, it also benefited others.

"Presently, Bumiputera achievement is still low and they are under pressure because the NEP has yet to show its impact on the Bumiputeras.

"Now is the time to uplift the economy of the Malays and Bumiputeras and not to question the policy," he told reporters after opening the Malay Contractors Cooperative Malaysia annual meeting here yesterday.

Ali who is Malacca Chief Minister, said many fields should also be developed and the policy did not focus on just one.

Meanwhile, he also suggested to the cooperative to set up a company which supplies bulding materials to its members. The government would not hesitate to channel aid to the company which would indirectly benefit the Bumiputeras, he said.

"It is just a suggestion. It is up to the cooperative to carry it out. On the part of the government, we can help maybe in terms of expertise in managing the company," he said.

- Bernama

Comments (36)Add Comment
written by dumbfounded, November 17, 2008 10:57:47
their achievement is still low if they are brainwashed and fed with bankrupt propaganda. you & your peers have been dipping into thier jar. that's why after so many decades of implementation. it still isn't implemented in full and their achievement is still low. get lost
written by Horizonline, November 17, 2008 11:01:56
NEP only benefits the rich you stupid! Because of NEP, we still got high poverty level in Malaysia. Looks like they are still in denial mode,

NOTE: Rest of comment removed - nk
written by Democrats, November 17, 2008 11:03:24
The racist statements begin to garner support for the votes of UMNO cronies to enrich themselves....

My dear Ali, how does the NEP benefit the non BUmis? By virtue of them subcontracting their contracts to them? By the chinese using the BUMI license to get works of which the licensee gets 5%?

Wouldn't it be better to save the government billions trough non discriminating open tenders and use the saving in real upgrade of bumiputera entrepenuerial skills and education to uplift their plights? I would definitely lift more bumis this way.

As i see, it Tun razak have been harping it since the 70s, and what do see today. More yapping? at this rate, you sons in the future or garndchildren will still be harping this issue....
written by zonefinder, November 17, 2008 11:08:22
Ali Rustam,
why don't you suggest how to expand the economy before you try to carve a bigger slice out of a shrinking pie?
written by Engineer, November 17, 2008 11:08:57
Implementing it in full will mean thickening all BEE END MP pocket in full.
written by hiro, November 17, 2008 11:10:45
Ali, you mean you guys haven't implemented it in full for the past 40 years? More lard into your pockets perhaps. This is simply proposterous. Ending it now will save, not kill, the Malays.
written by Lembing, November 17, 2008 11:11:45
Ali Rustam wants to help by providing government's management expertise for the proposed co-operative.

Ali, Ali, Ali...have you study the financial reports of government linked companies.....most, if not all, have made huge lossess almost every year, and your BN government have repeatedly rescued these companies by injecting taxpayers' funds.

Your BN government with your team of so called "management experts" will only drive these co-operatives down the tube with huge lossess.

If Ali becomes the Deptuy PM, this will certainly mean more taxpayers funds will be unnecessarily flushed down the drain or onto the UMNO WARLORDS
written by aiyomanaboleh, November 17, 2008 11:14:06
This guy is still living in the stone ages talking to his selected group of supporters.

When everyone is fighting with automatic weapons, icbms and what not he still insist long knives are the way to go to win the war.
written by Hello Keithy, November 17, 2008 11:17:27
You know what that means ? Another setback of 50 years or more !!! Malaysians can't have stumbling block to prevent this country from going forward. Being governed by a bunch of nerds is bad enough and to implement Stone Age policies is just another suicide attempt. Please, please Malaysians, vote these idiots out and have a new Malaysia. We need a change as in other countries of the present world. Old dogs coming up with new tricks are a waste of time and stopping our future generations from progressing.
written by borneoman, November 17, 2008 11:23:03
rustam,how many more years are you going to hijack nep to make yourself rich at the expense of the poor rural malays?please dont try your old dirty tricks again because it was proven to you during the 8ge that the real malays are not that stupid anymore.stop taking a free ride on your own race,ia perbuatan yang keji dan terkutuk.wake up non umno malays and send umno malays to hell.
written by truthbespoken, November 17, 2008 11:26:03
Ali Rustam, another UMNO vice-presidential contender, besides Rais Yatim, shouting out to the people now not to question this and that again! Can they be more original other than to constantly make use of the non-Malays as their whipping-boys in their hungry quest for positions in UMNO? They keep on using the same old tricks! These idiots, these aspiring UMNO VP contenders, they really have small brains!
written by oct, November 17, 2008 11:27:46
This Ali just want the easy way out for the Bumis. Why not asked all the UMNO successful businessman like Khairy, Mahatir's sons, Naza CEO and CEOs of GLC etc hold seminars and tell their successful stories so that the Malays/Bumi can learn from them. Please don't just give them the fish like implementing NEP but teach all the poor Malays your skills of getting rich and successful. Of course, I don't mean like corruption and vote buying. It is already well known in UMNO.
written by Hakim Joe, November 17, 2008 11:42:17
I am a Chinese and I entirely agree with AliBaba. Why?
Because the faster they implement NEP in full, the faster they'll fall.

written by Counterpointer, November 17, 2008 11:59:00
time to implement it in full

"time to implement the Final Solution"

written by cheekhiaw, November 17, 2008 12:09:32
In difficult times, the thieves will all the more be going full steam...

written by KotaDamansara73, November 17, 2008 12:21:18
Do not blame Ali Rustam for his stupidity. Because he is born through his mother's ass.
written by thor, November 17, 2008 12:30:38
These people, the Hilter look alike and the "Win Win GUY" even though clearly we lost an island hve no originality, when comes election time at AMENO they will beat their drums to drum up support for their miserable campaign
I am always amazed we hve such calibre of leaders. Yes, others also benefit eg Bollywood actors and actresses having titles smilies/grin.gif

The joker says

On the part of the government, we can help maybe in terms of expertise in managing the company," he said.
Year in year out since 1971, monies hve been given to assist the reaching of the 30% target
Got expertise ah? Me thinks not otherwise cost of living went up while oil price has actually gone down way way below the price when it first start rising. Wat abt the rice prices, did we jump the gun and incurr unreasonable loss? Where then are the experts?

Year in year out since 1971, monies have been given to achieve the 30% target, and that was suppose to be for a limited time (extended twice already still not enough), but certain greedy WOLVES take the opportunities to corrupt and hoard most of these monies meant to achieve the 30% target, how can this be achievable if u still have these WOLVES there to relieve the majority of the intended beneficiaries of the monies, the corrupt gets more corruptible in AMENO and in its Insignificant Others.

GOD SAVE OUR PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES
written by ckone, November 17, 2008 12:38:14
NEP has been abused and used to legitimate corruption to feed their supporters. Its best tat malays abolish NEP for their own sake... NEP is an excuse to spend gomen money (which is our tax money) for their own selfish gains...
written by chrisyong, November 17, 2008 12:42:32
Don't be fooled by this Ali Rustam. NEP is to enrich the UMNOputras not Bumiputras. If NEP was implemented according to its plans, there should be no Malay poverty 10 years ago. How to implement NEP successfully if CORRUPTION is so prevalent. Stop talking rubbish just to make yourself a big FOOL!
written by azee72, November 17, 2008 12:46:49
"full implementation"?? I thought it is supposed to be "fool to implement"
written by wood, November 17, 2008 12:51:21
Please read the book , " The world is Flat".
written by Zapper, November 17, 2008 12:58:00
What implementation of the NEP?? I thought you UMNO fellas are doing that for the past 30 years. What has happened to all these years and the money?? If UMNO has more Ali Rustams, they will just be wiped off without any external help.
written by Vince, November 17, 2008 13:05:28
If mediocrity and below par results are what Ali Rustam and the BN-UMNO government is looking for, then by all means go ahead. At the mean time, those of us who strive for higher standards will do whatever we can to get to where we want, thus leaving these so called leaders further behind. They must also realize, in the global economy today, no foreign investors will also tolerate mediocrity and sub standard results, it's either you perform or you are out. Therefore, do not blame others for your own failure when the rest of us are all more than willing to work together and share the "wealth" together as well. But if Ali Rustam and gang thinks they can bulldoze their way and reap profit from others who worked their ass off.....think again!
I do not mind lending a hand to help so that one can also rise above the occasion but definitely not to one who demands the occasion because he is Bumi.....sorry!
written by Kuku Burung, November 17, 2008 13:10:11
Now is the time to implement, because I might not be around to benefit it. I want more, more, more... before that guy Anwar takes over.
written by the1, November 17, 2008 13:16:45
Oh please don't let me start on those Malacca projects you implement...
written by murali, November 17, 2008 13:17:19
As i commented for one of the posting a few weeks ago, there are still bumiputras begging in Kuala Lumpur after 50yrs of independence and 40 yrs of NEP. So whats the use of NEP?
written by DezMalaysia, November 17, 2008 13:31:08
Counterpointer, NICE JOB ! I'd always think of that ! He really looks like Adolf Hitler... at least 99% !

Bugger Ali, not enough plundering Malacca ? Now eyeing on Malaysia ?
written by Xerxes, November 17, 2008 13:37:26
The man who dishes out datukships like kacang putih is playing the race card because of the coming UMNO elections. Pea brains such as these has no vision and no leadership qualities and relies on such sly tricks to get ahead in the political game.

If the bumi masses believes in such a person and elects him, they will be doomed for another 50 years, maybe forever. For, the only way he can remain in power is to make sure the bumis are always dependent on handouts becuase he cannot afford to allow any smart bumi to outshine him.
written by fireduck, November 17, 2008 13:44:30
And this guy wants to be your next Deputy Prime Minister, folks! Whoa!!

And he is quoted by Malaysiakini to have said this:
Deputy president aspirant Mohd Ali Rustam says it again - that Umno must take control of the government to ensure party policies are being implemented.

So that the Govt can implement UMNO's policies?? Is this how this wretched mind thinks? He can be so unashamedly blatant about it. We all know that most of the govt's policies are in reality UMNO's, but to be so explicit in his statement, it's too politically incorrect.

Well, that only confirms it -- Muhiyiddin is the best of the lot, as UMNO #2.
written by carribeanking7, November 17, 2008 13:49:40
Ali Nestum,

How does this proposal help the Malay poor, if taken at actual value and not par value the Malays have already achieved more than the 30% corporate equity target--even if 60% is achieved this wealth is concentrated in the hand of a few UMNOputras.

We know this type of rethoric is only said in the context of UMNO elections.
BTW if you are elected DPM it will hasten the demise of BN, according to you UMNO can rule alone in that Bigoted speech you made at a PPP convention.
I hope all the component parties pull out of BN, and see how UMNO does that,

So Ali Rustam, other than taking undue credit for handling the rice shortage, cleaning up the Melaka river and asking all cooks to take up courses to standardize the taste of laksa asam pedas trougout Melaka, playing up the pig farm issue, what are you good for ?
The people of Kota Melaka realize that you are a fake, the rest of Melaka needs to be woken up.

And oh ya, dont be a chicken, if you are truly a "Wira " enable dissenting comments on your blog, I have plenty to leave there.

written by Sinewy, November 17, 2008 15:22:03
This is the type of racist UMNO warlords that will bring the party and the country to ruin if he comes to power. Isn't the NEP has been implemented at 150% during all this while by UMNO to enrich the selected few bumis and their cronies? The majority of the rakyat, wbumis and non bumis, can only watch in horror about their ketuanan way in handling the taxpayers' money.
written by talk2stop, November 17, 2008 17:07:15
Bring it on.
written by apa jadi, November 17, 2008 20:19:59
This is how an incompetent CM behaves. Well, sad to have UMNO vice president of this calibre.

Btw, what happened to his long bridge linking Malacca and Sumatra?
written by miwaki, November 17, 2008 23:55:44
Ali,implementing NEP to uplift your UMNOputras is too slow,why don't you suggest to your incompetent government to give money direct to UMNOputras,this way is more effective and fast.All kick backs from government purchases should be share among UMNoputras equally.Money is better than contracts,contracts very leceh,sometimes can lose money.
written by mara koman, November 18, 2008 00:33:31

How stupid this umnoputra can get. God know,,

How more can NEP can, umno has pocketed billions,, biggest thieves in the world. SO the thieves wants to steal mores..

May be this time,, there will be NEP guns to shot all the people who question NEP. What more to make out of this stupid, arrogant, unscrupulous utter brainless Mr nestum. Absolute disgrace !!!!
written by crazygweilo, November 18, 2008 08:23:54
I have a few nicknames for certain leaders in the ruling coalition.

1. Samy Vellu = Jabba the Hut of Sungai Siput.
2. Badawi - Too many nicknames to choose from.
3. Najib = Najib Bin Vaderthir
4. Ali Rustam = Second hand car dealer.

And thats really all Ali Rustam is qualified for in the real world, outside UMNO.

Bandar Ali Rustam is Batu Berandam, where he has moved all the services, ostensibly under the excuse of "reducing traffic congestion in the city centre".

Meanwhile, compliments where they are due, Melaka Town in 2001-2002 was a pretty dire looking place, but in the intervening 6 years, its got a nice bit of sparkle about it. The river is being cleaned up, and the heritage is being cared for. But there are a couple of daft ideas which should never take place.

1. The fancy Taming Sari nonsense overlooking the city. It is completely out of place. Granted, I did go on it, but then I like these things in a rather juvenile sense, and it did cost 23 Million Ringgit. I wonder how many kickbacks there were.
2. The Aerotrain. What kind of daft kitsch idea is that. Non standard technology, and out of place in the likes of Melaka. Stick with rail based technology, and rebuild the line from Tampin to Melaka if possible.
3. The waterwheel that does'nt work, because the Melaka River has been blocked up.
4. The eye on Malaysia.

Two of these alone can remove the UNESCO status from the city. It is just as easy to have that removed as to attain it.

I have also heard that the contracts go to Ali Rustams buddies. Despite Rahim Thamby Chiks misconduct, at least he spread the money around, rather than taking it all himself.