Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Sarawak Holds The Key To PKR Government, Says Anwar

Sarawak Holds The Key To PKR Government, Says Anwar PDF Print
Sunday, 16 November 2008 22:08

(Bernama) Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) advisor Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim said Sarawak, which has 30 members of parliament, holds the key to the Pakatan Rakyat (PR) government in the country.

"When Sarawak changes its course, the Barisan Nasional government will collapse," he said at a dinner organised by "Friends of PKR" at the Sibu Trade and Exhibition centre here last night.

He said leaders in the PR coalition like Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang of Pas, Lim Kit Siang and Lim Guan Eng of DAP and himself and his wife would continue to meet and hold discussions with BN MPS to get them to cross over.

About 3,000 people were present at the dinner, the biggest so far for a PKR function here.

Those present included PKR vice-president Datuk Seri Dr Jeffery Kitinggan, Sarawak DAP leader Wong Ho Leng, former Sri Aman MP Jimmy Donald, and Baginda Minda, the former Parti Rakyat Sarawak Balleh branch publicity chief, who caused a furore with his statement accusing the state dominant BN party, the Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu, of being a bully.

At the function, Anwar received membership application forms from Gabriel Adit Demong, one of two independent state assemblymen, and from 11,752 individuals from throughout the state.

Anwar said Sarawakians were now ready for change, saying Adit had volunteered to lead a recruitment drive for more members for PR.

"Do not be surprise if what had happened in five peninsula states in the March general elections could happen here," he said, adding that PR was prepared to face the coming state election.

He also claimed that several people from the state had visited him to express their interests to join PKR.

Meanwhile, Adit said a lot of BN members were "waiting in the wing" to join him and that his decision in joining PKR was "the first of many installments" over the next few months.

written by tryme, November 16, 2008 22:24:18
Lets kick out BN from Sarawak in state election. We need change!!
written by onnetline, November 16, 2008 22:39:42
It's about time the people of Sarawak opens their eyes to see what is their current Chief Minister all about !

Did this Mahmud Tahi fella showed any real concern about the welfare of the state's people while building up his bank reserves ?
written by justice, November 16, 2008 23:52:47

written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, November 17, 2008 01:36:33
Sarawak is the key since the Pematang Pauh win for Anwar. That's why Pak Lah is actively managing the Sarawak relationship. Unless Anwar can pull off a coup of a relationship in Sarawak with Taib and team, there will be little hope for a change.

Sarawak is very unlike other states in West Malaysia. The state is well controlled in all aspects. Anwar needs to understand the terrain of the power base and work with them instead of against them. Otherwise, the contention will work against Pakatan Rakyat's efforts for sure.

Lots more work in Sarawak and not trivial either. This move is just the first. More unknowns around the bend.

http://proud2bmalaysian.*********.com/
written by kclim, November 17, 2008 02:25:29
YB Gabriel,

You shall earn a place in the history of Sarawak when the winds of change gently blow in the land of the hornbill. We salute your courage to challenge the BN government machinery. Truly you are a son of the soil of native Sarawak. Syabas YB Gabriel! You have just lit the torch for a brighter future.
written by borneoman, November 17, 2008 03:51:23
pkr will only be successful in sarawak if they can promise to give us autonomous power to decide on how best to govern ourselves.go back to the original 20 points agreement first before anything else.abolish the official language,religion and the term 'bumiputra' of umno malaya.
written by borneoman, November 17, 2008 03:57:27
proud_2b_malaysian,
are you implying that dsai/pkr must work and cooperate with taib the robber if he wants to control sarawak? no way man!!taib butt must be kicked out of sarawak.
written by minds, November 17, 2008 04:22:59
a lot of people in the SERAWAK country side still cannot get clear informations of how rich their CM are,how the riches coming from and why serawakia still have to come penisular finding job
written by smalluncle, November 17, 2008 05:09:26
Dear DSAI,

While I agreed that Sarawak can play King Maker to your forming new MalaySIAN government. But, the isssue of racial sentiment, security, and trust will still be the key tactic by OPPOSITION to agitate The RURAL Malays in particular to destabilise your new government.

Few suggestion to move forward:

1. provide internet access at warong, kedai kopi in rural area to feed information from MT, Malaysiakini, and a NEW, INFORMATIVE web site of PR

2. talk to DAP and PAS on a common PR agenda. Better still if DAP and others can integrate into PKR to form a tue multi racial party

3. talk to PAS not to bring out Islamic state issues as it can hurt your voter on the other side.

4. Have concenses and selected spokesman on speaking to media. Discussed, brainstorm amongst your coalition partners before making statement to public.
This will minimise confusion and embarassment.
written by cekikdarah, November 17, 2008 05:45:50
Is this the calm before the storm?
So suspense... but seriously, is it?
Don't la tease us again DSAI.

CekikDarah.com
http://www.cekikdarah.com/fun-...41108.html
written by cheekymate, November 17, 2008 05:47:39
YAB Anwar Ibrahim,
Tread your path quietly; reveal not your strategies. The most powerful weapon is the element of surprise...
written by biggun129, November 17, 2008 06:22:54
There are so many kinds of frogs around, good frogs, bad frogs, ugly frogs, so how to get the good frogs jump over your pond, may be the North East monsoon wind will helps during the Monsoon Season in the East Malaysia!!!Will the East helps the West to reform our Country!!Is now or Never!!!
written by borneoman, November 17, 2008 06:23:18

Sarawak Holds The Key To PKR Government, Says Anwar
how true dsai.your immediate strategy should be to help register all those legible young voters of sarawak who are not registered yet and recruit them too.maybe you can seek favour from your good buddy RPK on how to plan an effective strategy to get taibs ass out of sarawak.destroy the head and the tail will die a natural death!!
cms,naim cendera,rimbunan hijau,pan global,land and survey dept etc etc......watch out ,the perfect storm is coming.
written by Davy McChester, November 17, 2008 08:10:58
In Sarawak,let us face the facts:The Chinese hold the key.And the key to unlock is simply about business.For their own wealth (security) sake they are not going to upset the status quo unless their children after having spent most part of their adult lives studying abroad(or in some cases working)decide to see the moral aspects of Sarawak society ,its deeply embedded corruption,and decide to bring about change.Would they want to undo that which had moved them up the ladder? Hope their conscience would guide them as they lived too long at the expense of the native society
written by ahmadneil, November 17, 2008 08:14:58
Please hold the next meeting in Kuching becos there are thousand ready to join in.
Congratulation to Gabriel Adit for walking the talk.The next election will see the fall of the sarawak gov't.We must go for change like Australia ,New Zealand and United States.45 years we have endure the pain of been raped by the both the federal and state gov't so it's time we stand up and say 'enough is enough'.
written by ahmadneil, November 17, 2008 08:15:43
October 22, 2008
TAIB MAHMUD- HOTEL HILTON ADELAIDE AUSTRALIA
Filed under: corruption — sjsandteam @ 11:06 am

This hotel is operated by Sitehost Pty Ltd (Australian Company) trading as Hilton Adelaide
Phone o8 8217 2000 Fax 08 8217 2001
Email: This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
www.hilton.com
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 17, 2008 09:05:29
"Sarawak holds key to PKR government says Anwar".

Why not Sabah too DSAI??

Is this because DURING your tenur as Education & Finance Minister, and also as the DPM of Malaysia, you knew about Project IC..the issurance of IC/MyKad to over two million migrants in Sabah and you know the chances of support in Sabah for PKR is NOW very slim??

Perhaps you too were in cohort with that Mamathir and is the brains behind Project IC? And now it backfired on you; didn't it
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 17, 2008 09:12:54
A word of warning to real Sarawakians!

I have personally come across some genuine MyKads held by recently arrived Indonesian workers.

I don't know what you guys can do about that, but I suspect what has happened in Sabah might be happening in Sarawak...i.e. another Project IC/MyKad to dilute your Sarawakian votes in anticipation of a possible strong support for the opposition parties.
written by Solarium, November 17, 2008 09:34:09
No, not Sarawak. The leaders are too smuggy-wise. They kind of swallow their saliva(spittle) before they speak but only in subtle praise of that YAB there. Most of the rural YBs are too poor to be daring enough to be against the YAB, and the rich prefer to be in business while they last.
written by Solarium, November 17, 2008 09:42:17
To Borneoman and smalluncle,

you portray exactly how the average and majority sarawakian think and act. They talk big but cautious when voting. They always vote for BN incase Taib check every vote made.
written by loosecannon, November 17, 2008 10:09:40
Those of you who never lived or travelled to Sabah and Sarawak have to understand the situation there. Most of the population are rural based. That means they are isolated from the rest of the population. Communication is still rather ancient. Even roads in towns are in poor condition what more to say villages.Incidently, road building and maintenance is all monopolised (10 years contract) by Taib's family. The only English newspaper is the Borneo Post run by the Foochows which is pro-government. You can see Taib's picture on the front page daily. Those newspapers who dare criticised Taib like the oldest newspapers, The Sarawak Tribune which existed from colonial times has been shut down by Taib. The Chinese newspapers are all controlled by the Foochows who are the money power behind Taib. They are the ones who control the timber trade and now going after land including native land. A month's subscription of Star cost about RM80.00 which most people cannot afford. So the situation here is that a large population in the two states are kept in the dark on what's happening. That's why it is critical that the opposition has to work hard to reach the rural areas and keep them informed. East Malaysia is now the kingmaker and the opposition must put in much effort if they want to form the next government. Taib is very unpopular but he's surrounded by sycophants who are very scared of him in case he dump them from his gravy train. The situation is starting to change. The opposition must push the momentum henceforth. There's a lot of talk and excitement in the coffeeshops which is a positive sign.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 17, 2008 10:33:54
loosecannon,

I agree with you. Very unfortunately, most of our West Malaysians have very little knowledge of the environment & political scenario of both Sarawak & Sabah. They have to realize that it's no stroll in the park to get to all these 40 or so races in Sarawak and over 28 races in Sabah. The topography and rough terrain makes it all that more difficult to reach all these people living in the interior.
And yes, most of the wealth is in the hands of the Chinese and Taib and they basically control everything in Sarawak making it that harder still for freedom of political practice since a large majority of Sarawakians are employed in one of their numerous conglomerate companies. It is also very true that the newspapers are controlled by them too, and hence, their own self serving propagandas are unrestricted and influential.

As it is, the Opposition have their work cut out for them and will have to work very2 hard if they want to have Sarawak.

As I have mentioned time and again, Sabah is truly UMNO’s “fixed deposit” parliamentary seats for the foreseeable future due to the 2 to 1 ratio of migrants with MyKads (issued by Mamathir regime) versus real Sabahan voters.
Also as I have caution, you Sarawakians have better start investigating whether the same “Project Ic/MyKad” is being initiated by UMNO in Sarawak to dilute your votes. UMNO might be anticipating a shift in support of the opposition by grassroots Sarawakians, or maybe they want to bring their evil party into the LAST BASTION of UMNO free State in Malaysia.
UMNO can do this by having enough “imported Indonesian Bumiputras” to form the backbone support for UMNO Sarawak, the same way UMNO Sabah is support in large by “imported Philippine & Indonesian Bumiputras”.
written by Proarte, November 17, 2008 13:31:46
The Pied Piper of Permatang Pauh is at it again!

Let us ask ourselves who was responsible for bringing in UMNO in Sabah? Yes, it was Pied Piper. Now that Anwar has been booted out of UMNO ,he has now refashioned himself as 'Reformist' and 'Freedom Guru'. Well in actual fact he is a 'situational democrat' who changes his views which are diametrically opposed according to the constituency he is addressing. When it comes to the crunch, he will desert a cause he fights for and look after himself and his huge ego.

When UMNO and ABIM were instrumental in issue a stop work order on the Ma Zu statue in Kudat as is was supposedly an affront to Islam, the 'Ketuanan Rakyat' Advocate was as silent as a Trappist Monk when he should have unequivocally supported the building of the statue adding it was ridiculous to bring in Islam into the picture as it was a non-issue. His silence spoke volumes. The Sabahans should never forget how he has betrayed them.

He desperately needs the East Malaysians to make him PM of Malaysia before he is put away behind bars by UMNO when Najib comes to power, so he has now gone on a charm offensive to Sarawak. Well, why should anyone come to Anwar's rescue when his record has been one of a catalogue of betrayals?

Anwar still has a chance to make amends and begin to fight for the rights of all, equality for all and religious freedom for all, including the right of Malays to apostasise without repercussions. His Taliban side has to be wiped out for ever.

The ball is in Anwar's court.
written by borneoman, November 17, 2008 13:44:37
To Borneoman and smalluncle,

"you portray exactly how the average and majority sarawakian think and act. They talk big but cautious when voting. They always vote for BN incase Taib check every vote made"
YOU ARE ABSOLUTELY WRONG SOLARIUM!!!
are you trying to hint to me that i am a coward because you never see the X mark i put on my voting paper?you have to be an idiot if you don't know that your vote is confidential and is known only to you yourself.ever since i was legible to vote i never vote for umno led barisan national because i was the victim of their melayu supremacy!!!you don't know how much hatred i have inside me and yet you dare to question my credibility and sincerity!!!and i can tell you right now you are a weakling who will succumb to a tiniest of pain!!
The leaders are too smuggy-wise.
you underate and underestimate everyone including your enemy and i can assure that one day you will be the victim of your own complacency.you are 1 big headed conceited fellow who think you are very smart but actually is a real chicken.