Battle to end poverty PDF Print
Monday, 21 January 2008 09:48

By JANE RITIKOS and MARTIN CARVALHO

(The Star) - KUALA LUMPUR: A high-powered committee will be set up to carry out the government's efforts to eradicate hardcore poverty among all races by 2010. 

{mosgoogle right}

Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, in announcing the setting up of the proposed Cabinet sub-committee, said poverty affected people of all races, not just the Indian community.  

Addressing a large gathering of Indians who attended the MIC-organised “Special Gathering between Federal Territory MIC members and the Prime Minister” at the Cheras Badminton Stadium here yesterday, he said the Government had succeeded in reducing the poverty level from 60% at the time of Independence to 5.7% at present. 

However, he said hardcore poverty was still not completely eliminated. 

As long as there is strength, all of us will work. The Government will work to ensure that no one is left behind, and defend the interests of all races in the country. That's my promise to you ... that we will continue to work. 

We want success. Who likes to see people suffering? We want to see good life, we want to have good life too,” he said to applause from the large crowd. 

The 6,000-capacity stadium was packed to the brim, while outside, several thousand more Indians waited. Also present was MIC president Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu and other MIC top brass. 

Abdullah said one way to overcome poverty was through education, explaining that the Government did not want any child to miss out on education because of poverty.  

Hence, examination fees and school fees were abolished to provide free education to everyone.  

Abdullah, who is the Barisan chairman, said inter-racial relations in the country was generally good although there were occasional problems, but pointed out that unity was evident when the people celebrated festivals together. 

He said the Barisan believed in governing through co-operation and consensus, adding that the Cabinet only decided on matters when all present agreed.  

It's not because of the election that I am saying this but because I want you to know the truth – Samy has been fighting for you in the Cabinet,” he stressed.  

The Prime Abdullah revealed a conversation he had with a friend before heading to the event. The friend had asked whether he was going to the gathering, saying that he had heard that not many people would come and it would be embarrassing for Abdullah. 

I said that whatever it is, MIC is my friend, Umno's friend and I must come,” he said.  

As it turned out, there was a huge turnout and Abdullah said it was the biggest MIC gathering that he had attended.  

written by kksam, January 21, 2008 09:54:06
woi wake up la brother. this was said years ago, but until now poverty still exist, why? because BN only enrich themselves and their cronies. and the people suffered whenever they increase the prices of goods, tolls, etc.. It shows that throughtout 4 years of badawi's management he is not sincere to lead the people. Always on vacation and worst still doing so when there's flood in whole johor. We must reject this kind of leadership, vote for opposition vote for a change!!!
written by Eddy, January 21, 2008 10:06:14
all these stuff are very familiar, i think i have been reading it for ages, but still poverty still remain, enough is enough,BN, please go away.
written by duncan, January 21, 2008 10:08:41
So does it mean then that Samy is totally inefficient...took him 10 years just to get Thaipusam recognised as a holiday in KL???
written by krepot, January 21, 2008 10:09:47
50 years and BN failed. 50 bloody yeas and they are still TALKING!

We have nothing much to lose, if we give the opposition 5 years, give them a chance. We have nothing to lose.
written by The dragonheart, January 21, 2008 10:29:30
The poor people they identified are those UMNO grassroots supporters who lives in squatter home but own 3 units of flats/apartments for rental and have stings of government class F contracts.

For the last 50 years, the real poor people remain poor.
written by InEffective, January 21, 2008 10:46:15
Fatigued malaysians hearing the same of song and dance - where is the delivery ?
Nobody is buying the lip-service (no credibility, no trust, over-promises only)

- No point building first-world university buildings, when admission opportunities to races are strategically blocked or purposefully re-directed to irrelevant professions.
- No point talking education when the quality of education is rendered dysfunctional due to racial incentives.
- No point talking education for all races, when student loans and scholarships by local institutions and governance are withheld due to racial eligibility rules

written by Jefus, January 21, 2008 10:56:38
"That's my promise to you ... that we will continue to work. "

advise: stop promising u'd stand a better chance. we already have bagfuls of your promises, and its not working before, ...
written by Jan, January 21, 2008 10:58:18
Eradicate poverty??
If the govt is sincere please relook at all the lop-sided agreements with toll operators and IPPs.
Also why must there be labels for cigarettes and alcoholic drinks and even medicine? Why must we pay for this redundant labels? If all these are not taking us for a ride I don't know what is. So don't talk about eradicting poverty it doesn't show you to be sincere.
written by Jan, January 21, 2008 11:04:07
If the govt is sincere take a good look at the councillors. How come some of them can buy land at very cheap prices and build luxurious mansions on it. Where did they get the money from if not lining their pockets by dubious means. Ultimately the taxpayer pays for all these wrongdoings not the govt. This is one measure the govt can eradicate poverty - getting rid of corrupt officials.
written by Counterpointer, January 21, 2008 11:15:19
Better work at eradicating corruption first before talking about ending poverty. As long as corruption is so entrenched and the NEP continually gets hijacked, those shameless corrupted ministers and public servants would have absolutely no reservations to steal from the poor.

written by teo siew chin, January 21, 2008 11:33:08
"A high-powered committee will be set up ..."
-------------------------------------------------
3 questions:
(1) when are you setting it up - in 4 years time?, 10? 50?
(2) who is going to be in the committee - name your high-powered go-getter
(3) how much RM are we talking about here - millions or billions
written by Bigjoe99, January 21, 2008 11:37:04
What is next a high-powered crime committee? A high-powered religious committee? A high-powered corruption committe?

This elected-Sultan is just going to his grave early and leave us with a hugh pile of unresolved issues.
written by Century Patriot, January 21, 2008 11:59:55
Eradicate poverty? HOW? This bull shit had been heard four years ago! Tell us your plan in black and white.

Forget about poverty among the lower income and hard core poor even the middle income groups are going into poverty with the increase in prices of fuel, essential commodities and toll charges. What is the Gomen’s plan to off set these? Cakap at serupa bikin!!

In other word, it is a load of bull shits!!! Get them out.
written by Long Man, January 21, 2008 12:07:30
dah sampai talian hayat baru nak hapuskan miskin tegar?... pigi dah... cakap boleh la... dah menang nanti ko tido...
written by wannabepatriotic, January 21, 2008 12:23:21
Another BS committee set-up for more BS activities. More promises to be said only to be forgotten after the election. People of Malaysia, we have heard the same recycled speeches too many times now... It's time to stop all the talking and do more walking. Our leaders know nothing about integrity and promises. The past 4 years was a testament to that...

It's time we, Malaysians battle for a better administrator. A battle to end the rot from our useless governemnt!

DOWN WITH BN...
written by lokenpal, January 21, 2008 13:10:31
>> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ ...n _poverty

Malaysia has 9.3% living with less than $2 a day. Does that look OK for a rich country like Malaysia.
written by b00n, January 21, 2008 13:38:49
It's easier to weed out corruptions than eradicate poverty.
By crushing corruptions we'll ensure more fairer and just decisions; also more equality. This in turn would help resolve poverty issue as proper community would get the deserved help they needed.
written by LTan, January 21, 2008 14:05:24
oiii!! abdulah badawi!! you speak like a primary 6 kid man... high powered committee?? dont make us laugh larr... if you say like that ahh dont do it for the whole country 1st larr come to SABAH and do it here 1st, why? coz most of the poor one is PTI ahhh! come and benifit the PTI that has NO benifit to this country.. come here and wipe them all OUT! then you already solve half of SABAH poverty!! use your brain you idiot!
written by asguard, January 21, 2008 14:17:02
Always the same old story surface only..only during the election time... after election quietly dismantle whatever tasks force....in secrecy....only after obtaining the votes of the people... that is how things work in malaysia... promises almost everything and anything... but after the election... people is behind left a side like trash can..... so wake people ....vote the oppositions....delivery your votes to them....
written by qwerty, January 21, 2008 17:54:15