Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Faiz not giving up on space trip

Faiz not giving up on space trip PDF Print
Sunday, 16 November 2008 10:26

KANGAR: Major Dr Faiz Khalid still has high hopes of being the country's second astronaut despite calls for the programme to be reviewed.

He said he was ready for a mission to space and has not stopped training.

"The programme should be continued to put Malaysia up there with other developed countries in space exploration," he said after attending the Science and Technology Week organised by the Science, Technology and Innovation Ministry yesterday.

"We have started the programme and it would be a loss if it is terminated."

The country's first astronaut, Datuk Dr Sheikh Muszaphar Shukor Sheikh Mus-tapha, had commented that the programme need not be continued as it was costly, while deputy minister Fadhillah Yusof had said the programme slated for 2011 or 2012 needed to be reviewed because of economic factors.

- Bernama

Comments (41)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, November 16, 2008 10:34:24
What for! It's a waste of our tax payer's money.Forget about it.
written by yy88, November 16, 2008 10:45:07
It is a programme to show the world we are doing something we cannot do, showing the world we are wearing a hat too large for us. It is sheer stupidity in the expense of pragmatism.
We must learn to crawl, before we walk. As a space tourist package, bundled with some elementary spacecraft simulation programme, our stupid leaders are head over heel elated they have succeeded in sending an astronaut to the moon. Paying extravagantly for something which other space tourist paid(one tenth).
And may the stupid BN government wake up from their unrealistic dream. It is not free, it is build in with the package of the planes purchase. There is no free lunch,and we Rakyat are paying for this meaningless attempt.
written by Wudan, November 16, 2008 10:53:05
Jangan dok tipu lagi.
written by shan, November 16, 2008 11:00:36
One selfcentred passenger who has wasted our money is pouring cold water into the inticipation of anothr selfcentre space passenger,
written by arazak, November 16, 2008 11:12:29
Dr. faiz,

How about making a trip and explore the rural kampung and the Palm oil estates. Maybe you will find some "down to earth" reality there when you meet the hardcore Malay, Indian and Chinese communities!
written by loosecannon, November 16, 2008 11:13:25
Stop wasting our money. We can't even keep our helicopters in the air. Try something more down to earth, like creating real jobs for the unemployed. Notice that nobody ever praise our so-called "space" program? Because there is none to talk about. Your grandmother can also be an astronaut if the money is available.
written by qwerty, November 16, 2008 11:16:25
Major Dr Faiz Khalid,

In the first place, it's wrong to have started the ill conceived programme, it is even worse if we were to continue throwing good money after bad!

written by myvoice, November 16, 2008 11:17:41

Only idiots will support for such so called "space" programme, the wise will not. So, we conclude that the current BN gomen is trully idiot.
written by angkasawan bocor, November 16, 2008 11:36:30
Another angkasawan bocor!

I suggest that Bolehland learns how to make a toy rocket first before sending more space tourists to space.
written by Mawar Merah, November 16, 2008 11:38:55
Wow! What a dream? Extension of the space Research and Development program? Out in the city, I am not aware of a good clean public toilet. We better spend the money on BASIC necessities. What about the flash floods all over the country? What about the flood every year in year out. The floods in Malaysia can be marked on the calendar as to when and where it is likely to happen. What is being done about that?

After the space R&D our price of roti canai has not gone down, only up. The price of banana has gone up so much. So what use is the so called space research? Which RAKYAT benefits from this? I have not seen any report coming out from our first astronaut. Anyone have seen the reports of the so called R&D carried out on space? I doubt any. Why no one is questioning that.
written by Cinakelate, November 16, 2008 11:47:50
You want to go? Boleh.... use your own money la...And dont forget to bring along teh tarik and roti canai.
written by michael chick, November 16, 2008 12:29:41
Say goodbye to your dreams. Won't happen. Coz UMNO is going to explode already.
Who's gonna pay for your Space Tour? Not the rAKYAT FOR SURE !!
written by Kunta Kinte, November 16, 2008 12:33:52
I am still curious to know what research our first tourist has conducted in space? Does he have anything worthwhile to show?
written by Dongra Dude, November 16, 2008 13:22:07
Our first Malaysian Space Tourist Dr Sheikh Muzhapar went on to get his Datoship become millionaire in a year by charging RM8000.00 for 1 hr lecture. This space passenger only manage to do some UKM Medical research in space claiming to be some Scientific R&D. The Government has wasted tens of millions in taxpayers money just to establish Malaysia Boleh to the World. It better for the Major Dr Faiz to contribute to the Govt (ATM) ad Malaysian Public by concentrating on extracting teeth at Mindef Dental Clinic. smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by Forex, November 16, 2008 13:57:20
What a BIG JOKE BY UMNO MALAYSIAN!!!

Give RM100k, i buy all the research books/journals/finding and go to space center in NASA to feel how it will in space!

Now i spend 100k to get all the info/knowlegde COMPARE TO spending million of rakyat $$$ for a something that can be done by 100k???
written by FFT, November 16, 2008 14:23:32
Typical entitled NEPputera trying to suck up taxpayer funds for his holidays piggybacking on technology created by others.

Perhaps the nation should donate him as a space monkey for human experimentation.

written by ahmadneil, November 16, 2008 14:33:10
Dear Dr Faiz,
Forget about your dreams.Ask Najib to sent you to Mongolia and visit Shaariibuu Setev to see if he needs any help becos since his daughter was been C4,he might not get enough income to feed Altantuya's 2 children.You can be of great help to them if you can help around the house and if they need any building materials ten you can email Najib and ask the Air Force to help in flying these materials over to mongolia.
In this way you can get more publicity and all the mongolian will adore you.You can also help to repay the debts by looking after Altantuya's crippled kid.
This is much better than going to the space station which is also dangerous.I don't want any untoward incident to happen to you since the Russian rocket are not reliable these days.The money can be use to help some needy charitable organisations in malaysia.
I sincerely thank you for accepting my proposal.
written by thor, November 16, 2008 15:21:04
Seriously, this dear Major is so caught up with what he wants. Come on lah our country like many others in the world, is contrary to wat Pink Lips might say facing a serious economic slow down, parents lying awake at night wondering how to make ends meet with current rising prices and worrying abt their children's future and how this down turn is going to affect their lives.

U hve this joker that think

"The programme should be continued to put Malaysia up there with other developed countries in space exploration," he said after attending the Science and Technology Week organised by the Science, Technology and Innovation Ministry yesterday.

My questions are :-

1) Why are we trying so hard to be in the company of developed countries in space explorations, what actually did we contribute in such exploration other than maybe making teh tarik or roti canai up there?

2) What are the costs involved in satisfying a few such egos?

3) What tangible and substantial benefits did we derived from doing this?

4) Are we trying to boost up the market value of those person we send out to space so that they can then charge a lot to recall their experience up there? By the way, do they pay a portion of wat they get for their speaking engagements to MALAYSIANS whose money they used for sending them up there in the first place.

5) Those monies if not spend on this can go a long long way in helping the POOR of this nation.

6) If u definitely want the reputation why don't u put a long long pole in one of the KLCC tower and try climbing up to space from there, a cheaper option and u definitely will be in the NEWS. MALAYSIA BOLEH smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

GOD SAVE OUR PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES
written by Ironside, November 16, 2008 15:57:59
Yeah,sure,soldier boy.Maybe if we survive the Tsunami coming our way.We'll talk about it come next GE.Meantime ,why don't you concentrate on doing what a Dentist is trained to do.Taxpayers had spent lots of money to put you through that course too,you know.
written by vineeth menon, November 16, 2008 16:29:55
India's manned moon mission by 2015: ISRO - Why don't book the seat Early..
Criminal waste of countries resource. When India & China make Blue chips, we are still with the potato chips .. Brain power & innovation, that is what counts more than what money can buy.
Another space tourist mission is not going to give my country or countrymen any benefit, especially when we cant even eradicate the hardcore poverty which is still prevailing in many remote areas of our country..
written by Food Thought, November 16, 2008 16:40:52
Dr Faiz, let say you're send up there. Then, what are you gonna do? Will you be doing the same experiments which didn't benefit rakyat like our previous space tourist? Or you just want to go up there and enjoy the view? Then come back, tour around country encourage young kids to be like you, proclaim yourself as an astronaut, and write a cheap biography ? But do you know that the whole charade will cost taxpayer's few million ringgits which can be put into a good use at this moment time.
written by varvoom, November 16, 2008 17:25:48
Faiz, get 4 huge fireworks, those that shoot up, tied it round a rattan chair, one that is light and flexible, sit on it, hold your breath, light it and have a good flight.
written by Kunta Kinte, November 16, 2008 17:29:41
Faiz........you wont get to go because you are not anak Datuk.
written by HHKim, November 16, 2008 18:04:41
Just to stress a point:

Malaysia can't even build our own brifge and proper train, why on earth go to the stupid moon while so many raayat are still hungry??

Do we know that China is capable of building world class tankers, spaceship, bullet trains, own longest bridge,fighter planes and now commercial planes??

Are we trying to show off when we have nothing to shout about?? Let's build the nation first. When we have the capability and skills, then we embark on something real scientific.

Already now our Malaysia is a laughing stock in Asia under the present BN leadership, any talk of going to the moon only serves to make a joke of ourselves.
written by adamckteh, November 16, 2008 18:32:25
Dr. Faiz Khalid, do you know how much the rich paid to go up there? And how much the government paid for our first astronaut? Come on wake up from your dream.
written by onnetline, November 16, 2008 19:02:26
Dr faiz,

Please wait until we get some indirect arms purchase discount, ok ? Maybe, from the Eurochoppers deal which our Prime Minister in waiting have marked up considerably. Also, please explain to the rakyat how much to spend on this space exploration programme and to what extend it can benefit the rakyat, ok ???
written by ahmadneil, November 16, 2008 19:20:17
Dr Faiz,
Ok! since they want you to go up,can you please do some experiment for me.Find out why the malays like sodomy,I mean they like the back rather than the front.May be if you can do some research up there,you might find some drugs to cure this incurable sickness.That will be worthwhile.
Also if you are up there try to do some space walk with not safety wire attached.If you can do this,WOW,you are first one in the world to space walk without safety wire attached.I tell you it's safe.Try it!
written by ahmadneil, November 16, 2008 19:22:39
Why don't you married one Russian girl whose father can afford to sent you up... without coming down.
written by densemy, November 16, 2008 20:40:28

Yeah... a MASSIVE LOSS... affecting the egos of so many important people

This is a chapter of Malaysian history that's best forgotten along with the ego freak who's idea it was. What was his name now??... Maha... something like that... Wasnt he the one who built the twin phallic symbols to celebrate his importance??
written by I_Luv_Manglish, November 16, 2008 22:10:18
He said he was ready for a mission to space and has not stopped training....

Yeah, a mission to that empty space inside his head.

What would a person not do for the sake of glory and fame?

written by Msian Idol3, November 16, 2008 22:48:27
This is a program where some big shot is going to pocket a few bucks. They just don't care that we don't need to send a man to space -- to do what & do we have that talents to do the follow up. We don't even have the facilities. If we do,its outdated. Last time our astronaut was a teh tarik maid, maybe this time its a jamban cleaner or to research how shit doesn't fly in space. This govt is really good for nothing like where got capable people. Only knows how to korek
written by born2reign, November 16, 2008 23:01:26
The country's first astronaut, Datuk Dr Sheikh Muszaphar Shukor Sheikh Mus-tapha, had commented that the programme need not be continued as it was costly.

Dear Author, please do not call Dr Sheikh an astronaut, he is not recognised as one by NASA and is just a space passenger. Dr Sheikh is just a circus monkeywho does teh tarik in space, no research findings like medical cure or new metals.

If Dr Faiz wants to be an astronaut, go sit for a string of exams in USA, streneous trainings, years and years of actual research, and qualify by your own merit. If you are tops in your class maybe US will give you free scholarship, one that is not genuine imitation like our UiTM and UPM degree/doctorate. Please do not use our taxes to buy your space tourist ticket.

However, you can use our tax money if you are in the moon looking for an alien to be PM of Malaysia, that will break the UMNO policy of no penumpangs as corporate leaders or PM!!! Ho-ho-ho!

Joker lah this Dr Faiz!!
written by mikewang, November 17, 2008 00:15:07
Jangan tipu rakyat lagi.

You are not an astronaut.
You are just a space passenger.
If we let you go to space, it's going to cost the country another RM60million which can be better used to buy 30,000 new computers for rural schools.
written by cllim123, November 17, 2008 01:16:55
It is a waste of funds. Our space programme is sending our Umnoboys as space tourists. They are NOT Astronauts.
written by minds, November 17, 2008 05:28:30
Sheikh Muszaphar Shukor making roti prata (canai)and this time whai Faiz Khalid want to make there what a stupid our gomen are? ops.....they can earn big comision leh by sending asstonot to space,,new type of PROYEK
written by borneoman, November 17, 2008 07:02:36
THE RUSSIANS ARE GOOD AT GIVING HUGE COMMISSION OR UNDERTABLE MONEY THATS WHY WE ORDER JET FIGHTERS MIG SUKHOI FROM THEM TOO.IF YOU DONT BELIEVE ME ASK NAJIB.EVRYTIME WE SEND AN ASSTONUT TO HEAVEN SOMEONES POCKET WILL GET FILLED UP.BN GOVERNMENT CANT EVEN SUPPLY CLEAN TREATED WATER SUPPLY AND BUILD GOOD ROADS FOR THE NATIVES OF SARAWAK AFTER 50 YRS AND YET WANT TO GO TO SPACE!!!WHAT A WASTE OF PUBLIC MONEY!!
written by riversnail, November 17, 2008 08:18:22
Major Dr Faiz Khalid "i have a dream".....to make kopi tarik in the space.
Malaysia Boleh!!! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by ahmadneil, November 17, 2008 08:19:13
Give up lah.You have been led on a wild goose chase.The gov't is bluffing you.It's all in your mind only.For God sake ,wake up!
written by Tambunan Boy, November 17, 2008 08:57:45
Faiz.........go make your own kite and fly to the moon for all we care!!!
The ticket cost us tax payers more than 100 million for your space tourist friend to see space, hello we can build 100 health clinics and send 1000 teachers to learn english and many more beneficial things for Malaysians, this one is for your glamour only. Forget it use your own money if you so desire.
written by ROBERTNGTG, November 17, 2008 09:04:02
Major Dr Faiz Khalid still has high hopes of being the country's second astronaut despite calls for the programme to be reviewed.

I GOT AN IDEA. PROPOSE TO THE RUSSIANS TO REDUCE COST BY BOOKING ONLY FOR
A ONE WAY TKT WITH THE FOLLOWING: TDM/AAB/NAR/ALBAR/TOYOL.
IF THE MISSION IS NOT A SUCCESS, THE RAKYAT WILL SPONSOR ANOTHER TRIP FOR M2M,
AHMAD ISMAIL, KERISM, LOSMAH, WITH FEW MORE MISSIONS IN THE PIPELINE.
written by MinahManja, November 17, 2008 13:33:51
Our government should concentrate to improve our basic infrastructure first like improving public transport, improving our eductaion system and schools etc before even thinking of space exploration. It is an embarrasment lah that the kerajaan can't differentiate between priorities and frivolous and unneccesary spending.