Eldest son claims dead father was a Muslim PDF Print
Monday, 21 January 2008 09:39

(The Star) - SEREMBAN: Police yesterday took away the remains of a 74-year-old man from a Chinese funeral parlour near here after his eldest son claimed that the deceased was a Muslim. 

{mosgoogle right}

Abdul Rahman Gan Abdullah, 47, who had embraced Islam several years ago, lodged a report at the Seremban 2 police station claiming that his father, Gan Eng Gor, had converted to Islam on July 3 last year and had taken the name Amir Gan Abdullah. 

When met at the funeral parlour, one of Eng Gor’s eight other children, Hock Sin, said the family was shocked to hear of this. 

When my father died this morning in Klang, I called to inform Abdul Rahman as he was the eldest. The entire family is shocked at his claim. 

We have been practising Buddhists all our lives. How is it that none of us, including my mother who has been looking after my sick father for the past two years, has no knowledge of this?” asked Hock Sin. 

Temiang assemblyman Datuk Tiger Lee Yuen Fong and Rahang asemblyman Datuk Yip Chee Kiong, who were at the funeral parlour, appealed to all parties to remain calm and allow the authorities to assess the situation. 

They also spoke with Eng Gor’s widow, Chua Chun, 65. 

Hock Sin said it was not possible for his father to have embraced Islam as he had been bedridden for the past two years after suffering a stroke. 

He could not talk, so how was it possible that he converted?”  

State Islamic Affairs assistant director Mohd Yusof Tahir, who arrived at the funeral parlour later, produced copies of a certificate and a card from the department which stated that Eng Gor had embraced Islam on July 3 last year. 

Abdul Rahman was not present. 

Speaking to reporters later, Mohd Yusof said the matter would be heard before the Syariah Court today. 

Lee told reporters that the MCA would help appoint a counsel for the aggrieved family. 

Eng Gor’s remains are being kept at the Tuanku Jaafar Hospital mortuary.

Comments (48)Add Comment
written by DezMalaysia, January 21, 2008 09:50:33
Another same shit stuffs happen again and again just before the Elections, and it's only happen in Malaysia where it's famous for corpse robbing and disputes.

written by supplier, January 21, 2008 09:58:37
The chances of taking back the body is Zero. When he could not talk and bedridden and was in his own house,it is impossible to convert without the family knowing about it.. Maybe a narrow minded person with own interest converted without the late Gan Eng Gor's kownledge.
written by Bill Gates, January 21, 2008 10:04:21
Where was the eldest muslim son when the father was bedridden for 2 years? Did Jakim do anything to help him?
written by back2future, January 21, 2008 10:04:22
think this should go into ripleys believe it or not la ......
written by duncan, January 21, 2008 10:11:08
The Return of the Body Snatchers... hard at work. Interested in the form rather than substance...deceased probably been consuming bakuteh past 2 years as well... grand!
written by Tompios, January 21, 2008 10:14:09
Hui Hui! this is peace according to Muslim. Peace for Islam means create trouble.
written by datnari, January 21, 2008 10:14:39
Here we go again...another dumbf**k body-snatching case by the guardians...err....errr....i mean by the SATANS of islam.

When will they ever learn that religion is a personal thing and not given to the UMNO dogs by Allah?

The oldest brother, being a faggot, wants to inherit all the old man's assets and estate from the other 8 siblings and as usual islam is a scapegoat that caters for every damn thing out of convenience sake. The eldest faggot brother doesn't even have the balls to show up for the funeral....tu nah seng!!!

Hope the chinese will rise up and kick the islamic authorities arse all the way to the cemetery.

Alternatively, as i've said before, plant some C4 into the old man's body and let it off when the jakim bastards are about to bury him. At least there will be less bastards in the world. And after that we can see if the so-called authorities have the balls to snatch another body.

smilies/wink.gif
written by The dragonheart, January 21, 2008 10:17:28
whether the deceased conversion to Islam was the true or not depended on the evidence; in particular, documentary evidence.

If proved to valid then it was the deceased choice at will. Why would the living soul want to contest? Whatever religion the deceased choose belongs to him, BUT to his KINS, he was still her late husband, and their late father. So let his soul rest in peace.
written by LTan, January 21, 2008 10:22:53
Muslim in Malaysia SUCKS BIG TIME!
written by casper, January 21, 2008 10:25:59
You are right DM and for once, what would it take for the Jabatan Agama to do right swiftly instead of prolonging the agony to the family ?

Already there are contradictions ; the word of one family member against the rest and secondly, July 3rd, 2007, the deceased put pen to paper his conversion purportedly. The dutiful wife has been caring for her late husband for the past two years having suffered a stroke BUT somehow miraculously, the man managed to avert all eyes while he attended to this business of conversion.

Same thing happened with army personnel Moorthy. He was photographed in a wheelchair attending to festivities in Bt Caves and also pictured with a Guiness in hand over a B-day celebration but Jabatan Agama was insistent Moorthy was every much a Muslim having produced documents to that effect. Again, the widow and family members were in the dark.

The solution to cast aside all doubts is quite straight forward. All that needs to be done is to have video evidence to go along with the signing of any document. Just once, can people in Jabatan Agama put their minds to good use ?
written by Keith, January 21, 2008 10:32:21
2 Family members, with 2 different version.

One is a wife who cared for the bed ridden husband, and the other an estranged son, but we're INVESTIGATING?

Even if you did have a case for Investigating, why is the investigating body an Islamic Body. Isn't that a bias to one side. Why is this case taken up in the Syariah court?

It seems that JAKIM/JAIS needs to re-look at it's database. According to them, everyone is Muslim.

My 2 cents.
written by Jan, January 21, 2008 10:36:40
Will this muslim son inherit everything if indeed his father is a muslim?
What about the rest of the family especially the non muslim mother?
From this case parents of rich families better be aware of what your sons/daughters are up to.
written by fireduck, January 21, 2008 10:46:38
I hope this is not the start of a new wave of body snatching by over-zealous fellas.

If the wife, a practicing Buddhist has been looking after the deceased for the past 2 years, and she didn't know anything about the conversion, then she may have been feeding the deceased pork and all things deemed un-halal (as opposed to non-halal, simply because of the act). So, the deceased would also be deemed un-halal and how can he still die a muslim?

And those past 2 years, where the heck is this eldest son then?
written by datnari, January 21, 2008 10:51:51
the eldest son was busy sucking on pork's balls.
written by sactyr, January 21, 2008 11:07:03
OMG another body snatching case??? Why those ppl over at Islamic Dept never understand others' feelings?? To everyone I suggest check your MyKads before falling into any terminal sickness!!! You can never know when they change our religions under our very nose...

http://sactyr.********.com
written by Jan, January 21, 2008 11:17:03
And those past 2 years, where the heck is this eldest son then? ....

Praying 5 times a day and going to mosque for sermons.
written by fairnessforall, January 21, 2008 11:19:58
Its very clear cut, the eldest son is greedy for the property. Everyone knows that according to shariah laws, when a convert dies, his non muslim relatives, sons and wife has no claim to his property and all his property will go to his muslim relative only. This is a dirty trick played by the eldest son, probably instigated by the muslim wife. Where was this bloodly muslim son when the father was bedridden. If was so concerned about the father, why did he not take the father to his home and look after him instead of leaving him in a chinese home which is probably everyday cooking pork and also feeding him pork. Was he concerned about that if he cared so much about being a muslim. And if the father was bedridden for 2 years but only converted last year, if the conversion is true, its obvious that the eldest son must have conned the father and lied to him making him think he was signing some other documents. This seem to be a pre planned plan by the eldest son to get all the property as he knew the father being bedridden would not live long. He didnt care to take care of the father but now wants the property. Such conversion through lies should be considered null and void. The other children and wife is really stupid to have informed the eldest son as its clear that he has bad intent. They should have boycotted him when he converted, as we have seen from many cases before that every convert has an ulterior motive. Is this what islam teaches.
written by NSTPravda, January 21, 2008 11:38:18
‘tis a piously religious country we abide in these days
We practice HIslam in exceptional and unique ways
HIslam is the only accepted religion with supremacy over all
Human sacrifices are always needed to answer Jakim’s call

Many more dead Cina Kwee’s body will be snatched
Please don't keep your infidel coffins too tightly latched
Jakim will hunt down all hidden and potential muslims
And dispatch them in accordance to approved HIlsamic customs

Of course we discriminate against you infidels Herenow
Upon death we make sure to our religion you will kowtow
Prepare to be raided, in death you’d be usik'd in everyway
Until all you infidels are muslims, none will be Semua-nya OK!
written by Kaboda, January 21, 2008 12:17:06
Till death they need to pull in "Muslim" numbers. How sad, that in life they wait till the moment when the corpse cant defend itself thats where they come in.
written by RumahPanjai, January 21, 2008 12:33:59
The flood gate is now open! If you are a non muslim and your folks are rich and getting old....that's a licence to own all their properties when they pass away because your siblings are non convert. Makes sense.....the bottom line is $$$$$.
written by speakofthemind, January 21, 2008 12:36:12
More misery and agony to the family in the name of religion.

Religion is just a way of life.
When the soul left the body, religion does not matter, only good deeds matters.
Whatever the religion might be, the family has all the rights to pay their last respect to their beloved one and religion should not be used to separate them.

When all this man-made misery in the name of religion will ever stop?
written by Sutha, January 21, 2008 12:36:47

Where was this reptile all these while? In Seremban, lor. Now living in Phase 7 Taman Bukit Kepayang. He became a muslim as he was working in a malay bank and surrounded by them only.

One sunday morning when we were climbing a nearby hill for exercise, he told me that he converted not because of a woman as commonly the case, but both his wife and he are chinese who decided to take the new faith. And that he had been accepted by his colleagues as a brother.

I said " Good, just follow your heart"

He said the religion gave him a lot of peace and truth compared to the religion he was born in to. I admitted to him understanding what he meant by peace and also said that I should not be questioning him on how he verified those were truth without cyclically making reference to own books.

"Anyway, good for you and your wife" I told him.

The last straw was when he condemned his former religion (which happens to be mine too) and suggested that I can convert and he could assist. I replied that I was comfortable with Buddhism and there was no need to do so. I also asked if he had read any books on his former religion or talked to any knowlegeable monk and his answer was an unexpected "No".

Ever since, he passes me by without a smile nor a even "Hi". That's this lizard, who had been mentally drilled to put further grief to the widow mother and the family. I cannot tell for sure if his action is for assets, if any, or for gaining credit points to reach his afterlife Paradiseland.

This is the love for parents and siblings of a different faith, as promoted by some weird arab tribal culture. Yet, they say heaven is at the feet of the mother. Niammeh..
written by Jefus, January 21, 2008 12:36:51
EMPATHY Guys, EMPATHY,

do the needful and bury him....
written by peacelover, January 21, 2008 13:12:42
another body snatching game in action............i'm not being prejudice here, but where were the chinese voice when the same thing happened to indians??? now, since the chinese are directly affected, we can hear lot of noises...........guys, be united, be it chinese or indians or the malays. when someone's fundemental rights are affected, stand up and speak ur mind. and pls do not make religious belief's as state law.........if u still need to make it a law, pls do not infuse them onto others............
written by cruzeiro, January 21, 2008 13:28:53
Money, money, money ....
written by Bandit, January 21, 2008 13:41:47
"It seems that JAKIM/JAIS needs to re-look at it's database. According to them, everyone is Muslim"
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

According to Islam, every human is born a Muslim. Its just that we have strayed and become "unbelievers" because our parents did not practice islam and were unbelievers. Muslims refer to those who accept Islam as "reverts" and not coverts. Is a very chauvinist term. Reading this you will understand what muslims think of non muslims.:-

"Everyone is born a Muslim, whether they are born in a Muslim home or a non-Muslim home.

The souls of every human being are sent to this Earth as Muslims, it is only through the teaching of their families and surrounding that they may choose another religion.

In Islam we are told that children are innocent and not held accountable for their actions all the way up to the age of puberty.

So if they were to God forbid somehow die, they would die as Muslims and be admitted to Paradise.

All of the early Muslims including the companions and wives of the Prophet Mohammed were reverts to Islam.

Even at a later age when a person embraces Islam, all their previous sins are forgiven and for all the good deeds they may have done, each one is multiplied ten folds over and they are given good deeds in its place.

Once a person enters Islam they are like a new born baby, free of all sins. "

Which means Mother Theresa who spend her whole life helping others has gone to hell because she was a non muslim. Make any sense?
written by Sutha, January 21, 2008 14:21:09
Not so strange that this character reveals "the truth" only upon the death and not earlier, as he knows that dead men tell no tales and cannot defend themselves.
written by cruzeiro, January 21, 2008 14:28:50
Where was this reptile all these while? In Seremban, lor. Now living in Phase 7 Taman Bukit Kepayang.
=====================

Good description!
I wonder if this is what his new religion taught him!
written by Raufgar, January 21, 2008 16:00:53
My, my, this person fits the "should have given birth to a piece of roast pork rather than you" category exactly. Conversion on the death bed is nothing new, other religions that I care not to name have been doing it, but this is the first time I've heard of a case where the person is physically impossible to state a change of heart, and is surrounded by a loving family who cares for him so any clandestine conversion cannot take place.

Hmmmm, must have been divine intervention!!!
written by Yen Moy, January 21, 2008 16:32:25
This is becoming far too common. To hit the headlines all you got to is embraced Islam just before you kick the buckle. People like them should be thrown to the sea so to feed the fish. Everyone is happy and even the fishes.
written by C360, January 21, 2008 16:34:46
In the cases of husband-wife disputes previously it became obvious to me that one spouse (especially the husband) did so out of interests other than religion .. now it appears that it has been extended to eldest son "status" of the religion ..

And I still cannot fathom why Islamic authorities are getting involved at such a late stage of whatever they think they are doing .. supposedly, "right", by their interpretation of Islam ..
written by AngryTaxpayer, January 21, 2008 16:40:32
Ah....one more body to add to the Muslim statistics to prove numbers of belivers are climbing and inheritance for the useless son. This Malaysian Islamic affairs dept. sure is making it a convenient and easy for scoundrels to find an easy way to do things their way, huh?
written by AngryTaxpayer, January 21, 2008 16:42:53
And shouldn't, they snatch the body only after they've made certain that the deceased has converted and not put the entire family under stress by snatching the body even before proving anything?
Our police damn free ah? Why don't they go to the streets and look for Ninie instead? She's also a body what!
written by malaysianohope, January 21, 2008 16:47:50
Bravo Malaysia!
written by joeawk, January 21, 2008 17:17:04
Hahaha. So, those who are afraid that when they die they will not have anyone to bury them just need to convert to Islam and yur burial will b taken care of. You will also have people to pray for your soul's safe journey to whereever.
written by Malaysiaputra, January 21, 2008 18:13:53
"Hock Sin said it was not possible for his father to have embraced Islam as he had been bedridden for the past two years after suffering a stroke"

So now is this a case of someone being Islamised by "illegal " proxy ?. Is this how non Muslims who are ill are Islamised ? Is this why there are now more cases of non Muslims deceased being claimed as muslims ?.

If the father had become a Muslim on his own free will, I am very sure that he would have told his beloved wife who is taking care of him, that is if he can talk.

The other matter is that, isn't the person who embrace Islam suppose to say , if I am not wrong, the Shahadah in the presence of a the Khadi or Imam ? How can this be so for someone who is bedridden without the other family members knowing if the Imam has come to the house ?.

My conclusion is that this eldest son has done some hanky panky with the help of those in the Islamic dept . Is it for the money that a convert is given every month?, is the eldest son taking this money quietly ?.

I told my muslim friends that if I were to convert to Islam because I want to please him and not because I believe in his Allah and his Prophet, then I am very sure that his Allah will reject the conversion as it is hypocrisy.
written by budakindia, January 21, 2008 18:20:14
why only in malaysia that piece of paper is the sole determinant of the religion for the person? It's a small wonder why the practicing of the religion has never been a question! So even the person has renounced leaving that religion, he's still considered a Muslim because of a document said so? By that it's an insult to the religion! Is malaysia practicing an Islamic cult? Islam by only name? Practicing it doesn't matter?
written by foresight, January 21, 2008 18:58:24
It puzzles me why these so-called muslims are more interested in the welfare of a dead person than the muslims who are still living. God will be happier if they channel their zealousness and resources to help those muslims who are living in poverty the world over.
written by Lim Lim, January 21, 2008 20:49:12
another road show on parade..one flew over the cokoo's nest..!!
written by Lim Lim, January 21, 2008 20:53:58
when did royal malaysia police add one more variety on their tasks..become dead-body(coprse) snatcher???
written by temenggong, January 21, 2008 23:01:06
Subterfuge by the reptile and the islamic authorities. Any conversion (read deception)should be like a wedding or funeral ceremony - open and with full disclosure to both sides.
written by monstercat, January 22, 2008 02:27:31
Somebody suggested to video record any conversion by the Islamic dept. Good idea. The dept claimed that they have copies of certificates - that's not enough. For such a serious matter, they should produce ORIGINALS. Even collecting govt invitation to quote also need to produce ORIGINAL FFO certificates. What about witnesses??? At least four pious and credible witnesses - 2 from the Muslim side and 2 from his previous religion side. Why only Islamic dept investigate? How credible would the result be? The non-Muslims can't help but be VERY VERY VERY SUSPICIOUS of whatever the dept claims.

From now onwards, anyone of you who knows of anyone terminally ill - please take a video recording (camcorder or handphone) of the ill person declaring that he/she DID NOT convert to Islam! Must at least have 2 recordings!
written by johanssm, January 22, 2008 05:26:21
This such case i have to agrees with Jan comments.
His eldest son is just interested with his old man money.
syaria laws decrees that non muslims will have no claims in inheritance.
Even if his old man left a will, it will be contestable under sharia muslim law.
But this is indeed a strange case,the late father is a muslim while his still alive mother is not.Not a single family member knew of their late father conversion.Eldest son kept quiet until his father last breath and comes out making such claim.I do think this is about greed.
and much more interesting to know who was working hand in hand with the elder son as "witnesses" in this conversion case.
written by burn22, January 22, 2008 06:08:02
blame it on the gomen!
when you have leaders, menteris and wakil rakyats that's halfpast6, this is what you get, clowns! best thing to do this coming GE, remove the current halfpast6 clowns. vote oppo...
written by fairnessforall, January 24, 2008 14:35:08
Why is bodowi always quiet in these matters. Didn't he promise to look into it and come up with proper laws for coversion. How can a person convert and still live in a home that cooks pork, has an altar and even eats pork.

Proper coversions should be as follows :-

1. The family, spouse etc should be told directly in writing that the person has requested to covert.
2. A statutory declaration should be printed in the local newspapers.
3. Before conversion all previous relationships ie marriage etc should go though the civil courts to establish proper divorce proceedings and whatever alimony etc.
4. Custody of all children under 18 should be given to the non converting parent unless the non coverting parent has no objection to the coverting parent being given custody and to the coversion of the children.
5. Should the non converting parent not agree to the conversion of the underaged children, the children should remain in the religion they were born in and will be allowed to decide on their own if they wish to convert upon reaching the age of 18 years.
6. All property, assets etc obtained before the conversion should be divided equally and child support should be provided by husband irrespective of the conversion.
7. Once the person is coverted and all the above complied with, he should not be allowed to live in the same house as they maybe eating non halal food, having an altar etc and doing things which are forbidden by islam.

If the above laws are made effective, there will be no more problems where conversions are concerned. The problem is the islamic authorities are stupid dumb jerks who dont even know their own religion. All they want is the numbers, they dont care if the person is really a muslim at heart. The encourage people to lie and cheat their families and they even make it easy for those using islam as a tool to get what they want. Not that these people really care about islam. They only make use of it for their personal benefit, and yet they would not hesitate to stoop so low to cheat and lie.

This is the islam malaysia practices. Shame on all you ulama's and kadi's etc. You are a disgrace to your own religion