Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow The G-20's Secret Credit Crash Debt Solution

The G-20's Secret Credit Crash Debt Solution PDF Print
Saturday, 15 November 2008 20:48
" If you think this weekend's G-20 meetings in Washington are only about designing short-term fixes to the financial system and regulatory reforms for banks, hedge funds, brokers, mortgage companies and investment banks … think again."   Behind the scenes, a far more fundamental fix is being discussed — the possible revaluation of gold and the birth of an entirely new monetary system.

I've been studying this issue in great depth, all my life. And given the speed at which the financial crisis is unfolding, I would be very surprised if what I'm about to tell you now is not on the G-20 table this weekend.

Furthermore, I believe the end result will make my $2,270 price target for gold look conservative, to say the least. You'll see why in a minute.

First, the G-20's motive for a new monetary system: It's driven by and based upon this very simple proposition …

If we can't print money fast enough to fend off another deflationary Great Depression, then let's change the value of the money.”

I call it …

The G-20 may propose devaluing all currencies, including the U.S. dollar and the euro.

The G-20's Secret Debt Solution”

It would be a strategy designed to ease the burden of ALL debts — by simultaneously devaluing ALL currencies … and re-inflating ALL asset prices.

That's what central banks and governments around the world are going to start talking about this weekend — a new financial order that includes new monetary units that helps to wipe clean the world's debt ledgers.

It won't be an easy deal to broker, since the U.S. is the world's largest debtor. But remember: Debts are now going bad all over the world. So everyone would benefit.

Fed Chairman Ben Bernanke … Treasury Secretary Paulson … President Bush … President-elect Obama … former Fed Chairman Paul Volcker … Warren Buffett … and central bankers and politicians all over the world agree a new monetary system is needed.

The G-20 may propose devaluing all currencies, including the U.S. dollar and the euro.So they'll start hashing out the details to get the new financial architecture deployed as quickly as possible.

If you think I'm crazy or propagating some kind of conspiracy theory, then consider the historical precedent …

To end the Great Depression in 1933 Franklin Roosevelt devalued the dollar via Executive Order #6102, confiscating gold and raising its price 69.3%, effectively kick starting asset reflation.

Only this time, it won't be just the U.S. that devalues its currency. The world is too interconnected. Instead, the world's leading countries will propose a simultaneous and universal currency devaluation.

This time, they will NOT confiscate gold. There would be riots all over the globe if they even mentioned the “C” word.

But they don't have to confiscate gold. Here's one scenario …

They cease all gold sales and instead, raise the current official central bank price of gold from its booked value of $42.22 an ounce — to a price that monetizes a large enough portion of the world's outstanding debts.

That way, just like in 1933, the debts become a fraction of re-inflated asset prices (led higher by the gold price).

And this time, instead of staying with the dollar as a reserve currency, the G-20 issues three new monetary units of exchange, each with equal reserve status.

The three currencies will essentially be a new dollar, new euro, and a new pan-Asian currency. (The Chinese yuan may survive as a fourth currency, but it will be linked to a basket of the three new currencies.)

The new fiat monetary units would be worth less than the old ones. For instance, it could take 10 new units of money to buy 1 old dollar or euro.

New names would be given to the new currencies to help rid the world of the ghost of a system that failed. Additional regulations and programs would be designed and implemented to ease the transition to a new monetary system.

The IMF would be at the center of the new monetary system.

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) would implement the new financial system in conjunction with central banks and governments around the world.

Keep in mind that the IMF is already set up to handle the transition, and has had contingency plans allowing for it since the institution was formed in 1944.

Included in the design and transition to a new monetary system …

A. A new fixed-rate currency regime. Immediately upon upping the price of gold and introducing the new currencies, a new fixed exchange rate system would be re-introduced. The floating exchange rate system would be tossed into the dust bin along with the old currencies.

This would kill any speculation about further devaluations in the currency markets, and drastically reduce market volatility.

B. To sell the program to savers and protect them from the currency devaluation, compensatory measures would be enacted. For instance, a one-time windfall tax-free deposit could be issued by governments directly to citizens' accounts, or, to employer-sponsored pensions, to IRAs, or Social Security accounts.

Income taxes may subsequently be raised to pay for the give-away, or a nominal global type of sales tax could be enacted to help pay for the new system and the compensatory measures.

C. Additional programs would be designed to protect lenders and creditors. Lenders stand a much higher chance of getting paid off under the new monetary system — but with a currency whose purchasing power would now be a fraction of what it was when the loans were originated.

So programs would have to be designed to help lenders offset the inflationary costs of their devalued loans, probably via the tax code.

Naturally, all this is a bit more complicated than I've spelled out above. But that gives you a big-picture outline of what the plan could look like. And I think major changes like these are going to be set in motion at this weekend's G-20 meetings in Washington.

Would they work?

Yes. They would help avoid a repeat of the deflationary Great Depression. But don't expect even a new monetary system to put the U.S. or the global economy back on track toward the high rates of real growth that we've seen over the last several years. That's simply not going to happen. Not for a while.

Instead, I'm talking about a massive asset price reflation, negative real economic growth in the U.S. and Europe — but continued real GDP gains in Asia.

The Big Question: What gold price would be legislated to reflate the U.S. and global economy?

I can't tell you what gold price the G-20 would ultimately agree to. But here's what they will be looking at …

• To monetize 100% of the outstanding public and private sector debt in the U.S., the official government price of gold would have to be raised to about $53,000 per ounce.

• To monetize 50%, the price of gold would have to be raised to around $26,500 an ounce.

• To monetize 20% would require a gold price a hair over $10,600 an ounce.

• To monetize just 10%, gold would have to be priced just over $5,300 an ounce.

Those figures are just based on the U.S. debt structure and do not factor in global debts gone bad. But since the U.S. is the world's largest debtor and the epicenter of the crisis, the G-20 will likely base their final decision mostly on the U.S. debt structure.

So how much debt do I think would be monetized via an executive order that raises the official price of gold? What kind of currency devaluation would I expect as a result?

I would not be surprised to see the G-20 monetize at least 20% of the U.S. debt markets. THAT MEANS …

• Gold would be priced at over $10,000 an ounce.

• Currencies would be devalued by a factor of at least 12 to 1, meaning it would take 12 new dollars or euros to equal 1 old dollar or euro.

The return of the Gold Standard?

But Larry,” you ask, “how could this be accomplished when we no longer have a gold standard? Further, are you advocating a gold standard?”

If the G-20 monetizes at least 20% of the U.S. debt markets, gold could easily hit $10,000 an ounce.

My answers:

First, you don't need a gold standard to accomplish a devaluation of currencies and revaluation of the monetary system.

By offering to pay over $10,000 an ounce for gold, central banks can effectively accomplish the same end goal — monetizing and reducing the burden of debts, via inflating asset prices in fiat money terms.

Naturally, hoards of gold investors will cash in their gold. The central banks will pile it up. At the same time, other hoards of investors will not sell their gold, even at $10,000 an ounce. But the actual movement of the gold will not matter. It is the psychological impact and the devaluation of paper currencies that matters.

Second, I do NOT advocate a fully convertible gold standard. Never have. There isn't enough gold in the world to make currencies convertible into gold. It would end up backfiring, restricting the supply of money and credit.

What should you do to prepare for these possibilities?

It's obvious: Make sure you own some core gold, as much as 25% of your investable funds.

Also, as I've noted in past Money and Markets issues, you will want to own key natural resource stocks, and even select blue-chip stocks that will participate in the reflation scheme.

This investment news is brought to you by Money and Markets . Money and Markets is a free daily investment newsletter from Martin D. Weiss and Weiss Research analysts offering the latest investing news and financial insights for the stock market, including tips and advice on investing in gold, energy and oil. Dr. Weiss is a leader in the fields of investing, interest rates, financial safety and economic forecasting. To view archives or subscribe, visit http://www.moneyandmarkets.com .

written by Ali Cordoba, November 15, 2008 21:05:30
http://www.worldfutures.info/A...he-US.html
There are some hard truths in the financial crisis which we explore in this article here. No solution will come out of the G20 unless the US admits and agrees to being responsible for the damages done to capitalism so far!
written by mikewang, November 15, 2008 22:26:55
It is a bloody fantasy.

You think the world is going to put money in gold producing countries by decree ? Whose decree ?
It might be "easier" to ask the US federal reserve to print only a finite number of bills.

The world have already moved away from the gold standard.
It will take no sense bringing it back in line with asset inflation.

The problem with any bubble is that the economy basically spent the unearned money ahead of their real earning.
It's just payback time.
written by JohnQ, November 15, 2008 23:15:54
It's ABSURD! It's financial injustice ! Absolutely and cunnigly unfair to those never spent ahead!

Dea All, Just go and borrow more! Your debts will be reduced by 10 times i no time! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by What Nil Wisdom, November 15, 2008 23:45:39
I wouldn't put too much credence into this line of bull. This article has no cited references, no names of any sources, no footnotes, and no one willing to go on record with any of this. This is nothing but speculation, rumor mongering, authored and posted by conspiracy theorists, with a touch of hysteria thrown on top for good measure.

Sure, the world recession is bad, economies are tanking and falling down like dominoes, and governments might try most anything to advert a worse case situation. But unless someone steps up with some proof, some verifiable evidence, or a decision maker goes on record, to support stories as described in this article, I am remaining skeptical. So should everyone else.
written by malsia1206, November 16, 2008 00:14:29
If this expounded thepry is accurate, the United States would no longer have remain in Iraq for the black gold. They would be expected to invade South Africa next for the heaps of nugget gold as in the movie "Blood Diamond". And you would find Mahathir barking his typical western critics but without the bite. And some Jew would take the blame in the process. Or maybe this time around, we may hear more form Ahmad Ismail on who controls the world's economy.
written by 1351, November 16, 2008 00:20:10
The Ford Taurus in America, was always the best seller in its class - the US benchmark against Honda's Accord and Toyota's Camry but for much of 90's till present, its sales numbers have gone south while both Japanese forerunners and even Nissan Altima have increased market share. Even the most ardent blue blooded American was now buying foreign.

Bad enough the US economy is fueled by huge consumer debt but that is negated by workforce productivity and heck, if one is holding a job, the next credit card is just round the corner with a one off transfer of debt to consolidate all previous balance. Much like AT&T signing up a Verizon or Sprint customer with a cash rebate of $100 credited to next statement.

The effects are telling as the years of exuberance/consumer confidence all come crashing down - the easy credit line that is often tapped to plug a previous debt is no longer there, easy or loose monetary policy is clam shut as bankers' start counting pennies. Imagine that ! Ford and GM may not survive the next fiscal year with sounds of Chap 11 filings a real possibility. Gone are the days of O% financing and cash rebate of $800(virtually 6 months gas money) to drive a car off a dealership.

I find it plenty amusing this article pen by - "Dr. Weiss is a leader in the fields of investing, interest rates, financial safety and economic forecasting" - and I wonder how in/out of the money he was with 'economic forecasting' when the best minds of CNBC Jim Cramer, Maria Bartolomo and cast never saw it coming. Market bull Cramer was all down and beaten with a white flag staff for a prop. What is one who makes a living touting/picking stocks to do when clients have lost buckets or worst, their retirement fund ?

There is no magic pill to make the pain go away. The many who have piled on debt these many years have to cough it up with hard cash and exercise prudence and frugality - a word that doesn't resonate with Gen X's. Back home in M'sia and most parts of Asia - we don't feel the pain of the average American consumer but why should we ! The big difference being the high rate of savings amongst Asian's - also reflected in the many Chinatown in Main St America. It was reported just yesterday - the United Bank of Saigon in San Francisco reported stellar profits despite a credit crisis for most parts of the country. Its lending unaffected by the credit crunch because its customer base were for most parts, prudent.

All said, M'sia is not going to escape this period of economic paralysis. If reports of a run on the sterling(another Soros raid ?) are to be believe, the ringgit could also lose value just as easily. Despite tales of calamity, there is also pockets of opportunity. Bring it on I say but exercise due care folks.

All the best.
written by cheekhiaw, November 16, 2008 01:35:04
Fiat money without the backing of real/hard assets, be it gold or otherwise, is the root of the cause of the current crisis and most of the crises over the last 30 years.

To tackle the current crisis, they are printing more! The US TARP is another name for their money printer.

Not only the US is the culprit (although they are the biggest by virtue of the USD being the defacto reserve currency & backed by overwhelming gunpowder) - the French call that 'exorbitant privilege' - but all governments do the same cheat.

What do you think gave those BN thieves so much confidence to declare that many economic regions with hundreds of billions of funding? They thought they could just print their way through it too.

They had been printing without control since the 70s mainly during the tenor of which idiot you should know. Pak Lah was just copying from that idiot.

That start point (as is the start of buildup of today's crisis) is the US' (under Nixon) abrogation of its obligation to the 'gold convertibility' (some call it gold standard) per the Bretton Woods Agreement.

Continuous inflation is the other result.

Unless all currencies are made to be backed up by real asset/commodity (like gold etc.) and convertible as such, all governments will cheat by printing which in essence is stealing from their citizens' cash deposits, savings, EPF, bond holdings etc.

What they cannot steal from are holdings in real/hard assets like properties, gold, land etc.

Which explains why the author is essentially correct - all real assets value will go UP.

Only fools take a narrow interpretation of the article - like saying the gold standard is dead or will not work. Go ask the Arabs and see how they price their black gold.

The US going after Iraq IS going after the alternative to gold. Both are real assets.

If you think you had not been 'spending ahead' you are wrong. Those BN thieves were doing it for you all along.

Many people did not see this coming. A thievery or con has to be well-kept and there has to be enough fools around for it to last that long.

And only super-fools think that the people in authority i.e. government that are doing the stealing are going to go public with the complete truth. Like expecting the Toyol fella to tell you about Zakaria's mansion.

The article's key message is that there were so much thievery by notes printing over the last 30 years that super-inflation (which is the 'price' for recklesss printing) has got to catch up someday.

So, if you are holding a lot of cash go convert them into some real hard assets like gold, silver, land etc. or stocks of companies dealing/holding those things.

The current stock collapse is the time to do it. That's what those local thieves are doing with EPF money and Valuecap - steal from one to make money from the other.

How? The real value of the EPF money will be reduced while Petronas/Guthrie stock values will keep going up as a result of inflation from the money printing.

The ghosts of thieves from the last 30 years are now appearing en masse.

written by FFT, November 16, 2008 04:03:11
So, this is where Matthias Chang sources his baloney from.
written by Pouncer, November 16, 2008 14:11:53
You might want to check this out - UNITED STATES OF AMERICA Before the SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION Vs WEISS RESEARCH, INC., MARTIN WEISS, AND LAWRENCE EDELSON
written by Pouncer, November 16, 2008 14:12:34
OOps... here's the link
http://www.sec.gov/litigation/admin/2006/ia-2525.pdf