Sultan: Guard unity jealously PDF Print
Monday, 21 January 2008 09:30

ALOR STAR: Sultan of Kedah Sultan Abdul Halim Muadzam Shah yesterday warned the people to be wary of attempts by certain quarters who are bent on raising sensitive and racial issues to achieve selfish goals.

{mosgoogle right}

He likened issues pertaining to race to a fire which, if out of control, could harm the nation.

Sultan Abdul Halim, who did not identify any group, however, advised a holistic approach to settling any issues.

"It is better to find a solution that will benefit all and one that is based on sharing and giving.

"We should never resort to settling our problems based on actions that are alien to our culture," he said at the investiture held in conjunction with his 80th birthday celebrations at Wisma Darul Aman yesterday.

He said the peace, harmony and development enjoyed now were due to the people's strength in remaining united despite their different racial and religious backgrounds.

"I urge all to adhere to the principles of Rukun Negara and continue to make them the basis of our unity and strength. By jealously guarding our unity, we can also continue to enjoy and understand the cultures of the different communities."

The sultan said history had proven that, besides justice to all communities and a balance between politics and economy, unity of the people was vital to ensure the continued success of a nation.

He urged the people to shed any "Third World" mentality as the government strove to bring "First World" infrastructure.

He said the people should also safeguard the culture of caring and respect for one another as this was fast eroding.

The sultan later conferred state awards and medals on 102 recipients.

Leading the list was state Legislative Assembly Speaker Datuk Md Rozai Shafian, who received the Datuk Paduka Seri Setia Sultan Abdul Halim Muadzam Shah (DHMS) which carries the title "Datuk Paduka".

Comments (11)Add Comment
written by The dragonheart, January 21, 2008 10:02:07
Daulat Tuanku.

Obviously the racist will be the BN because their component parties are based on race.
written by supplier, January 21, 2008 10:03:46
most of the time the non malays are giving instead of recieving.
written by AC Lee, January 21, 2008 10:27:29
I think it would help if HRH would address the issue to the parties that directly create disunity amongst the people for their own cause! Last year was a record year during which these racial issues were raised by UMNO members and the complete silence from the so called 'partners' of Barisan made a mockery of current calls for unity by AAB. Unity must be practiced from the heart and not with an eye out for votes, which is what the present call
is all about. Too little too late??
written by InEffective, January 21, 2008 10:29:59
Is it not amazing to only hear calls to unity, but NEVER calls to rights ?

Those who tradeoff their rights and liberties to purchase safety and security (in malaysia's case - unity) will eventually end up with neither.
written by asguard, January 21, 2008 10:33:42
As most of sultans must know by now... that UMNO and the servants are worst offender if come to races problem plights... they are ones should be counts for.... no one else be should be...
written by Century Patriot, January 21, 2008 11:14:29
Daulat Tuanku.

Once again it is refreshing to hear the call for unity by Your Royal Highness but unfortunately just mere words mean nothing.

Polarization grows from prejudice and prejudice grows from words, either oral or written, and actions.

If the present Gomen is SINCERE in ensuring unity prevails among the people and making this nation a paradise to live in, it should enact a SPECIFIC LEGISLATION making it an offence for anyone dwelling into negative and sensitive issues pertaining to race and religion in conformity with our Constitution.

The question is whether the Gomen prepared???
written by teo siew chin, January 21, 2008 11:43:13
"...are alien to our culture..."
------------------------------------
ya, so don't raise sharp pointy things to threaten people, don't shoot at innocent people with water cannons, don't be rude and insult the womenfolk, don't tell your rakyat to get out, don't be arrogant, don't insult your rakyats' intelligence ...
written by Jan, January 21, 2008 12:32:26
Hope those keris wielding thugs from UMNO will heed the call.
Also that Thamby chap from Malacca refrain from sending Malay youthS out on the street waving parangs. It won't do much for unity either.
written by Ali Cordoba, January 21, 2008 17:39:24
Dont blame the Umno alone for the racial issues...other parties too in the BN are racial based. This should end. The BN should grow bolder and become a single entity that does not allow race based parties to be members. This will help curb on the rise of racial hatred and the situation of conflict in Malaysia.
written by burn22, January 22, 2008 01:54:36
well, i only know one that are bent on raising sensitive and racial issues to achieve selfish goals... UMNO!
written by Compadre45, January 22, 2008 07:10:14
Sultan of Kedah Sultan Abdul Halim Muadzam Shah yesterday warned the people to be wary of attempts by certain quarters who are bent on raising sensitive and racial issues to achieve selfish goals.

It is better to find a solution that will benefit all and one that is based on sharing and giving.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yes !!! Your Royal Highness, are you refering to UMNO 's Warlord and Little Nepoleons Keris waving and Ketuanan Melayu ??? Thanks for warning all of us, we were aware of these since 25 years ago and we believe that Your Royal Excellency and other Royal Highnesses from other states are also fully aware of this matter since 25 years ago and " has done nothing about this ".

The part that your Excellency mention "It is better to find a solution that will benefit all and one that is based on sharing and giving."

Its to our beleive that Your Royal Excellency and Royal Highnesses from other States are fully aware of the NEP and the past 2 decades of equal benefits which was suppose to be, on the otherhand was being focused to benefit only the Malays and was not distributed fairly to other ethnic races who are also your loyal Rakyats. The biggest part of the benefits went to corruption in UMNO/BN.

All of us loyal subjects wish that Your Excellency and other Royal Highnesses from other states,
" instead of just warning us about all these ", could use all your royal powers to remove UMNO from existance which is causing disunity among all Malaysians and form a United Malaysian Organisation for us your loyal Rakyats to live in Unity, Peace and Harmony also to make Malaysia progress in this World.

With Gratitude from us, your loyal Rakyat.

DAULAT TUANKU !!! DAULAT TUANKU !!! DAULAT TUANKU !!!