Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Rebel blogger caught in the middle of a power struggle

Rebel blogger caught in the middle of a power struggle PDF Print
Saturday, 15 November 2008 10:27

Raja Petra with his wife Marina soon after his release on Nov 7 by the Shah Alam High Court.

Raja Petra Kamarudin knows he could soon go back to jail. The country’s leading blogger was released by order of the Shah Alam High Court last week, after being held in detention since Sept 12, but his troubles are far from over and his freedom could be shortlived.

"The decision to free me was a good sign of a new-found strength by the judiciary. But it is only a sign," said the blogger, who was arrested under the Internal Security Act.

The ISA is an inheritance from the British, who used it in the colony prior to independence in 1957. In essence, it allows for the arrest and internment of any person without the need for a trial in certain defined circumstances.

Raja Petra's alleged crimes were linked to his writing. For several years he has published provocative opinion pieces on the issues of the day, as well as a number of articles unmasking corruption scandals, drawing his information from a wide array of contacts. His blog, Malaysia Today, is one of the most popular sources of independent news in a country where the mainstream media refrains from criticising the government.

With popularity, however, came a lot of trouble. His latest arrest stemmed from accusations lodged by several religious groups, which claimed that his Aug 8 article entitled "I promise to be a good, non-hypocritical Muslim" had offended Islam.

After being held for a few days, he was sentenced to two years in detention without trial. But, on Nov 5, High Court judge Mr Justice Datuk Syed Ahmad Helmy Syed Ahmad ruled that the arrest of Raja Petra, 58, was contrary to the constitution and said he should be released. He was freed two days later.

Attorney-General Tan Sri Abdul Gani Patail is expected to file an appeal against the decision, and the blogger could find himself back in custody.

Raja Petra remains defiant. He said his battle with the authorities was a proxy for the larger contest that sees Malaysia torn between the old political establishment and the new contender, Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

Raja Petra is a close ally of Anwar's and this association has made him a target of the ruling coalition led by Umno.

"I support Anwar because I believe in what he stands for. But I have attacked him in the past and I would do so again, if he changed his programmes," he said.

"Anwar and (Deputy Prime Minister) Najib (Razak) are like the kings in a big chess game, and my friends tell me that I am the queen. There is little doubt that my future depends on the future of Anwar," he added.

Anwar has promised to allow freedom of expression and to do away with the ISA and pro-Malay policies that have discriminated against the Chinese and Indian minorities for decades. He is trying to convince 31 lawmakers from the ruling Umno-controlled Barisan Nasional coalition to switch sides and allow him to form a government.

Raja Petra's friendship with the former deputy prime minister goes back to 1998, when he was a leading member of Keadilan — the party set up in response to Anwar's arrest and detention.

Anwar, the deputy and heir apparent to Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, was charged with, and jailed for, sodomy and corruption, accusations widely believed to have been politically motivated.

Raja Petra, who was also the main mover behind the "Free Anwar" website, campaigned tirelessly for Anwar's release and freely criticised the political establishment. He was eventually arrested under the ISA on April 11, 2001. Accused of plotting to overthrow Dr Mahathir, he spent 52 days in jail.

Fast forward to this year and his political connections have placed him in the middle of a power struggle between Anwar and Najib. The latter is poised to take over as prime minister in March when Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is scheduled to step down.

Najib has been one of the main targets of Raja Petra's columns. In his most controversial article, "Let's send Altantuya's murderers to Hell", published on April 25, Raja Petra claimed that Najib and his wife, Datin Seri Rosmah Mansor, were involved in the October 2006 murder of Altantuya Shaariibuu, a Mongolian-born translator and former model, who was shot in the head twice before her body was blown up with explosives in a jungle outside Kuala Lumpur.

It is known that the former model had had an affair with Abdul Razak Baginda at a time when he was one of Najib's closest advisers. It is also known she tried to blackmail Abdul Razak when the affair ended, though her motives remain unclear. He was acquitted of abetting the murder on Oct 31.

It has also been alleged that she had an affair with Najib. Many wonder what happened to private detective P. Balasubramaniam, who had also linked Najib to the case on July 1 — but then retracted the allegations and has since gone missing.

For his part, Najib has denied any involvement in the case and swore on the Quran that he never met Altantuya.

Anwar has called for the case to be properly investigated.

The article came at a crucial juncture, and has played a key role in the larger political struggle.

"I am aware that I have raised the stakes with this article and I am prepared to go all the way," Raja Petra said.

Following the article's publication, Raja Petra was charged with sedition and three counts of criminal defamation. The cases are ongoing.

The blogger's wife, Marina, has stood by her husband's claims, and said she feared that when Najib takes power, "there may be even more problems for us".

In the meantime, Raja Petra said he had taken heart from the courage shown by the judge in releasing him, and that he hoped more would follow his example.

"There have always been independent judges, but they were sidelined and subjugated by the government under strongman Dr Mahathir. The government is now weak, Umno is plagued by infighting and there is a strong opposition," he said. "I hope more judges will come out of their shells."

His wife said she had taken strength from the support she received when she led the fight to release her husband. Prominent among those are fellow bloggers who share Raja Petra's view that Malaysia needs change.

News about Raja Petra, a minor member of the Selangor royalty, was — and still is — widely reported and commented on in Malaysia's blogosphere. Bloggers were also behind an online petition to free him and other ISA detainees, which has gathered almost 42,000 signatures, and they attended a weekly vigil in Kuala Lumpur.

Marina explained that she also received public support in the streets from people not normally associated with political life.

"During those days I was often stopped in the street, where people hugged me, shook my hand and told me to keep strong," said Marina, who did not miss any of the court hearings involving her husband. — South China Morning Post

written by ahmadneil, November 15, 2008 10:51:20
They ISA a writer who is a good muslim while on the other hand they freed murderers and let racist speaks freely.
agree 142
written by MAMR, November 15, 2008 11:09:05
It has also been alleged that she had an affair with Najib. Many wonder what happened to private detective P. Balasubramaniam, who had also linked Najib to the case on July 1 — but then retracted the allegations and has since gone missing.

Based on the above it is VERY VERY FISHY THAT NAJIB IS !!!NOT INVOLVED!!!
written by arazak, November 15, 2008 11:12:31
"The ISA is an inheritance from the British, who used it in the colony prior to independence in 1957. In essence, it allows for the arrest and internment of any person without the need for a trial in certain defined circumstances."
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
South China Morning Post got it wrong here!

It is not that ISA allows for arrest a person without trial in "certain defined circumstances". Rather it allows a person to be arrested at the "whims and fancies" of Minister of Home Affairs, and that is Syed Botak Al Blur!

written by non conformist, November 15, 2008 11:36:33
written by arazak, November 15, 2008 11:12:31
"The ISA is an inheritance from the British, who used it in the colony prior to independence in 1957. In essence, it allows for the arrest and internment of any person without the need for a trial in certain defined circumstances."
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
South China Morning Post got it wrong here!

South China Post got it correct. But ISA has been grotesquely abused by the Shit Botak Al-Evil government.
written by merlin2001, November 15, 2008 11:51:38
It will be a cold day in hell if they try to ISAed RPK again. The men whom they should incarcerate are all the supporters of the TDM. This week alone his speeches and articles of lies are more seditious than all Pete has written since the birth of MT.
Whether BN has lost 2/3 and 5 states, Rib Van Winkie, half past 6 or 45 mins. AAB is still the PM of Malaysia in a democracy. This has to be respected.
For TDM to rubbish him through lies, insults all Malaysians in the eyes of the world. He has gone beyond ethics and protocol and he and his handymen are the ones who should face the music. No sitting PM deserves his rubbish and blatant lies. I have urged the PM to fight tooth and nail in MI and do whatever it takes to silence him off and to tell his supporters to toe the line or suffer the same fate.
If the PM is Man enough Pete will hopefully see true justice and the evils ones will toe the line. All the PM needs to do is to call for an emergency parliament meeting to seek the incarceration of those evils that roam UMNO. If the so called big guns seeks to fight so be it. Let them go in too. If UMNO TDM objects. Then the PM says I am going to meet up with PR, who then will be the loser? He has till March, what has he got to lose? AAB like it or not is still OUR PM.
written by Motherchell, November 15, 2008 12:29:31
Only in the Malaysian political context do souls like RPK become a threat to the powers that be because we seem to be disturbing their money making machines. Today the Tunships in the Court of Laws seem to condone any form of injustice , even murder! See all parts of the US State Dept. report of Bolehland's standing in the world in extrajudicail killings . Now you know why they dont want to appeal for murder convictions????.......
God Bless RPK for his selflessness!!

http://sjsandteam.*********.com
written by eskay, November 15, 2008 12:49:06
Now only ALLAH can make a FAIR JUDGE, since some who claimed to be his followers are behaving against his teachings, and acted as if they are above LAW and GOD.
written by cheekymate, November 15, 2008 13:03:14
Well said, Merlin2001. We should restrategise and appeal to our Prime Minister to walk the final phase of his premiership along the straight and righteous path towards bringing glory back to our beloved country.
All those who line the corridors of power practise corruption in one way or another. The degree of their greed and how far they will go to participate in this lucrative means of milking our land has already been exposed in many instances. For those hard core criminals, murder has even been part of their agenda in order to rid themselves of their pests cum enemies.
I still have faith left in our Prime Minister that he does have some good left within him to free his citizens from the clutches of someone so evil, overflowing with venom and revenge; someone so terrifying.
YAB Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, we appeal to you to search your soul and find the conscience within you to set right something which has gone so very wrong. Thank you.
written by biggun129, November 15, 2008 13:24:22
The citizen of Malaysia is so scare of 'ISA' that even a small child will start crying if you said 'I will ISA u', and the PDRM used the word 'I will ISA u' instead of you are under arrest!!!
written by Lim Lim, November 15, 2008 14:37:25
it is a shame !in this now umno be end controlled so called bolehland,those umno goons of boleh hands are only making good men go to jail without trial but murderers n corrupts walk the streets free n even holding high office steering at helms...pathetic malaysia!!
written by SocratesI, November 15, 2008 15:52:47

If they try to ISA RPK any more, it will be a very cold day in hell, and the Barisan Najis Govt. is going to experience a very hot day on Earth ! The time for rhetoric will be over and it will be time for action ! The gloves will be off !! Let us bring together all concerned Malaysians and send these Malaysians overseas to the developed countries to organize protests and demonstration outside ALL Malaysian Embassies, making sure all the foreign media are there with printed handouts for them !

Give interviews and show them the TRUE FACE of Malaysia and the Oppression that goes on in Malaysia while the ruling elite plunder the country and stay on in power at all costs. We should start a fund for this and send over capable people preferably bloggers who can continue to blog overseas, fully armed with consistent information to be directly disseminated to all the media in those countries.

written by PRman, November 15, 2008 16:09:41
Has our police done anything to the Ahmad at Penang UMNO who uttered racist remark? NO! Has the guy who threathen the journalist being arrested? NO!

Show our police force is not double standard and serve purely to the UMNO.

Stop creating more bad images of Malaysia, that will be exposed instantly to the world quickly! The world is laughing at our judicial (Razak), police force (plenty examples), MP (wow... bocoh, bastard...), corruption (you know who u r) and etc.

Save Malaysia & Your help is greatly appreciated!
written by Sam W, November 15, 2008 17:41:50
"There is little doubt that my future depends on the future of Anwar"

Then it looks very bleak indeed.
written by teo siew chin, November 15, 2008 18:59:40
is there nowhere where he can blog safely?
he is no use to himself or anybody else if incarcerated.
it is not about running, but finding the correct rooftop to target the enemy.
written by panca, November 15, 2008 20:51:11
Not only this country, Malaysia is bleak with the existing regime but will go blind and fall hard without one VVIP Very Verbally Impressive Personality, YM RPK!

Malaysia Today HE Is The Voice For The RAKYAT.

written by lynn, November 16, 2008 00:43:59
Every single move this corrupt govt made is wrong; look what happened after the 78 sen increase in June for petrol at the pump. Prices of everything else went up across the board & ordinary man on the street suffers; and the last we read today, crude oil had touched USD50 a barrel!

This country has been & still is very very badly managed; the people in charge, not a single one of them is qualified or fit for his job... but practically all have accummulated immensely their personal wealth. Let's face it: efficiency & corruption cannot get along together. You can't have both, it's either one or the other.

written by lynn, November 16, 2008 00:57:05
"""The blogger's wife, Marina, has stood by her husband's claims, and said she feared that when Najib takes power, "there may be even more problems for us"."""

Most people are deeply & nauseously disgusted at the mere thought of Najib being our next PM; some of us reckon, the real PM behind the scene, running the country would then be Rosmah. Scary thought, don't u think so?

Anwar must take over, soonest possible, otherwise RPK's supporters will form a human barrier to prevent RPK being locked away again!!! We love you, RPK!
written by talk2stop, November 16, 2008 08:00:59
If Anwar to take over you will also end up in jail. Malaysia leaders are still carrying the third world mentality where leaders unable to accept criticism and inhuman. Whereas a developed country welcome critics so to improve conditions. RPK, can you honestly see that in Anwar adminstration? Anwar may be good what about his sidekicks? It is a battle that will take you from your cradle to your grave.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 16, 2008 11:00:54
Bro Pete, without a change in government, I am very sure you know that your very public support of DSAI will subject you to being treated more like ping pong ball. You are NOT CAUGHT in the middle of a power struggle, because you have become a PART of the power struggle! You stated that you supported DSAI because you believe in what he stands for. I support DSAI for the same reason, but unlike your future which is dependent on the (political) future of DSAI, mine do not.
At times I feel like throwing caution to the wind and take on the government as you are doing, but alas, that remains wishful thinking. I don’t see myself taking on UMNO as you do because I cannot walk in your shoes. A coward perhaps, but I don’t think I can go through what you went through. Or maybe I know if I were to walk in your shoes now, too many dependents will suffer as a consequence. On ‘dependents’, I do not mean my immediate families; yah! No doubt they have need of me, but others in my organization have many more mouths to feed.
I often wonder if you have any regrets and doubts in putting your faith, your very life, in DSAI. All politicians, as you must know, are what they are..i.e. politician! You said you have attacked DSAI in the past, and would do so again if he changed his ‘programmes’. This makes me wonder even more whether you really believe that DSAI has indeed changed his spots! Can DSAI stray far from his early years of association with hardliner parties like PKPIM, ABIM, and of course UMNO?
Bro Pete, you really must have very strong conviction to link your future with that of DSAI! Foolhardy or not, and for better or for worst, your fate is now intertwined and…I pray..no regrets!

May God be with you my brother!