Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Thanks, but not thanks, says Penang opposition leader

Thanks, but not thanks, says Penang opposition leader PDF Print
Friday, 14 November 2008 21:36

Penang Oppposition Leader Datuk Azhar Ibrahim has rejected the RM1,000 monthly allowance allocated by the Pakatan Rakyat state government for the position, in keeping with its stand that the opposition leader should be given official recognition.

Azhar said he would confirm his rejection of the allowance at the State Legislative Assembly sitting on Monday.

The provision for the allowance is contained in the Administrative and State Legislative Assembly Members Enactment (Emolument) (Amendment) 2008 which was unanimously passed by the assembly yesterday.

Azhar, who is also the state Umno liaison secretary, however, thanked the state government, especially Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng, for the initiative.

"I appreciate the offer but I am rejecting the allowance and giving it back to the state government," he told reporters after the state 2009 Budget was tabled at today's assembly sitting.

He said the rejection was made based on several factors, including the unfavourable current economic situation, hence it was more appropriate for the money to be used for the people.

Azhar said he also did not want to feel obligated to the state government and stifled from voicing out his opinions if he were to accept the allowance.

"In this matter, let me feel indebted to the people and not to the state government which will stifle my freedom to speak out. 

"Thirdly, I do not want to be made a point of reference by other state governments in considering giving an allowance to their opposition leaders," he said.

Asked for other factors for the rejection, Azhar said: "It is a personal decision and has nothing to do with the party or members.

"The allowance is for my personal use and the amount is not an issue." - Bernama

written by PeacefulMalaysia, November 14, 2008 21:43:56
I really hope and pray that all other UMNO leader follow suit.

Anyway these UMNO bastards have made their money (HALAL if I may say)no fear to ALLAH.
Can we also get our BN Ministers to forego their allowances also.

All I can say is a bunch of cheap skate bastards
written by loosecannon, November 14, 2008 21:45:10
What he is saying is that RM1000 is chicken feed. RM10,000 accept or not?
written by lamakawan, November 14, 2008 21:51:02
You said you don't want to be made a point of reference for the other BN run states? That means for BN run states, opposition will not deserve an allowance. Yes that was what, and is what the BN state gomen is treating opposition fellow state members all this while! The BN gomen will never move forward and continue to be stuck in the rut for another 50 years if you continue to adhere to this feudal attitude of yesteryear.
written by Lembing, November 14, 2008 21:53:08
This $1,000 allowance is an INSULT to the UMNO leader. He makes a few thousand times more than that with any of the Federal Government contracts that will be awarded to him.
written by archie, November 14, 2008 21:56:48
What he meant to say is "You don't have to give me peanuts just because I'm giving you monkey".
written by lamakawan, November 14, 2008 21:58:13
RM1,000/- is insufficient for a state assemblyman. Do you know how much Azahar had spent in order to get into the nomination for a state seat? before he is elected as assemblyman? Haven't you heard of money politics in UMNO? Has Mahathir told you lately that he is recommending ISA to be used on UMNO members who pay members to nominate prospective candidates? Surely RM1000/- is not his cup of tea!
written by PeacefulMalaysia, November 14, 2008 22:02:15
BRAVO

MALAYSIA IS FOR MALAYSIANS (Malays, Chinese, Indians & all East Malaysians)

NOW SHOW ME a MELAYU who is NOT a PENDATANG

Mathatir, Badawi, Hussain Onn, etc are all pendatang becos their fathers were Indians and / or Chinese ( I use the word and/or becos their grandmothers ****ed around too much with the pendatangs)

We are all Malaysians and Malaysia is NOT only for the MALAYS but FOR all MALAYSIANS
written by Ben, November 14, 2008 22:18:20
Please give credit where credit is due. He said that he appreciated the offer and rather the state government spend it on the people, which is admirable. This very much in keeping with spirit that LGE has inspired by his example.

Even though the offer was rejected, it was done in the most civil manner. We like these kind of exchanges and would certainly encourage LGE to continue to promote such matured relationship building exercises.
written by fan73, November 14, 2008 22:38:23
My prediction is correct...

anyway let him be, better YB LGE still maintain the allowance scheme but give it to charity instead. Ask him sign the release form (SI).

written by Kunta Kinte, November 14, 2008 22:50:10
Great! Penang just saved $1000. All should follow. YB Lim maybe you could use it to help the ISA detainees families as they are not given any justice under the system.
written by Engineer, November 14, 2008 23:40:53
Fed gomen should learn from opposition state gomen how to treat the opposition fairly.

Well done LGE.
written by Sabahfan, November 15, 2008 00:55:08
why is this story repeated? Is the story of UMNO arrogance and corruption sooo important???

Anyway...My point is proven when this buggering foool said it doesnt want the issue to be a point of reference for other states..

ANOTHER STATEMENT FOR ARROGANCE BECAUSE UMNO IS ALREADY SO RICH IT CAN AFFORD TO PAY MILLIONS OF ALLOWANCE FOR UMNO IN OPPOSITION..

Meanwhile, all other small time YB in opposition want be able to open an office to recieve complaints from his rakyat because for 50 years... UMNO AND THEIR ARROGANT LEADERS HAVE TAKEN A WINNER TAKES ALL...

and they ensure no official allowance for all opposition YB so that they will be so weak, and without expense allowance even to make a press statement or have an official opposition office..

FOR 50 YEARS THIS JUNTA OF UMNO GOVT HAS INSURED THAT ONLY THEM AND THEIR FAMILIES REMAINS THE RULERS OF MALAZUTLAND FOR ETERNITY...

this is also the teknik that pressure opposition YBs to KATAK to the BN....

corruption CORRUJPTION CORRUTPTION.... THIS IS MALAYSIABOLEH UMNOPUTRAZUTLAND...

I HOPE THE INTERNATIONAL COMMUNITY WILL UNDERSTAND THIS....
written by merchant222, November 15, 2008 01:23:48
This is TYPICAL BN arrogance! Tomorrow, he will use this righteous CM a run for his money by turning this into a political. Probably he would also say that the CM and PR government is trying to bribe him.

What many don't understand in Penang is that under BN, this fella is being paid 1,000 times more(other than the hidden contracts), so 1,000 ringgit is chicken feed!
written by mikewang, November 15, 2008 01:40:42
It's ok if the opposition leader doesn't want the money.
Just arrange it to be given to a charity, better make it a "pendatang" charity.
written by alpha100, November 15, 2008 06:42:18
He! He! Cannot deny its a good move but pride, eqo and to show powess to his UMNO member, he got to at least reject the RM1K. Deep in heart very happy on this good opposition initiative but outward kena tunjuk juga!
One of the child dess game in politics! smilies/grin.gif
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, November 15, 2008 08:20:50
Azhar is obviously missing the point here. Politics has certainly blinded him. He is selfish and thinking only of himself believing that being magnanimous will buy him votes. He may be the Opposition leader now but another person may take over from him. Azhar may not care about the money but the next person will.

His excuse saying that if he takes the allowance is frivolous and ridiculous.

Azhar said he also did not want to feel obligated to the state government and stifled from voicing out his opinions if he were to accept the allowance.

"In this matter, let me feel indebted to the people and not to the state government which will stifle my freedom to speak out.

"Thirdly, I do not want to be made a point of reference by other state governments in considering giving an allowance to their opposition leaders," he said.

Net of this is that he thinks taking the allowance will stifle his freedom to speak out. What a narrow minded leader. Did he mean that any allowance as DUN will stifle his thinking and boldness to speak out? Did he mean that any allowance as MP will stifle Pakatan leaders from speaking out?

How did he manage to equate this allowance to be a form of a bribe to shut him up? I wonder what else he has in his mind. He should give up all allowances that the State Government is paying for because it will stifle him from speaking out. It's RM1K, not RM1M for goodness sake. Even this good gesture of fairness from the State can be turned into a politic moot point.

Azhar, please focus on more productive angles.

http://proud2bmalaysian.*********.com/
written by adamckteh, November 15, 2008 08:28:09
PR, please provide an office for opposition chief and his assistants. Datuk Azhar Ibrahim's responds is genuine and friendly. He has enough resources to carry out his YB's duties but that one grand should be at his disposal.
written by carribeanking7, November 15, 2008 13:54:12
He has declined it in a gracious way, and that is his right.

but he need not feel any conflict of interest, as the money belongs to the people anyway.

I guess we are still lagging in political maturity,
I long for the day when deserving opposition leaders are given Datukships for their contributions to society and not stints at Kamunting.

written by cheekhiaw, November 16, 2008 01:51:41
What is RM1,000 to an ex big time thief?

written by Hairy Potter, November 16, 2008 17:02:18
stupid doesn't even come close to describe this moron. he could just take that RM1000 and donate it equally to any 10 very poor families that he could easily find in Penang. RM100 extra monthly is a lot to families that might be earning less than RM500 a month.

moron! smilies/angry.gif