Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow PJ Anti-ISA vigil moved to Civic Centre car park

PJ Anti-ISA vigil moved to Civic Centre car park PDF Print
Friday, 14 November 2008 17:05
Date : 16th November, 2008

Time : 8.00pm

Venue : Car park opposite the Civic Centre, PJ New Town

I want to say a big ‘Thank You’ to our elected reps in Selangor for leading the way amongst the Pakatan state governments in showing solidarity with vigilers who have been coming out to condemn the ISA and its contiued use to detain without trial.

Our reps have worked it so that we can continue to hold our vigil in the safety of the car park in front of the Civic Centre.

YB Gobind Singh and YB Dr Zulkifli Ahmad have confirmed attendance.

See you all on Sunday.

Haris Ibrahim

written by Mawar Merah, November 14, 2008 17:10:50
Brother Haris and gang.

I confirm my presence too

Anak Bangsa Malaysia
written by SimpleSoul, November 14, 2008 17:17:01
Why not have it at the Kelana Jaya stadium. Since all events held there never had a problem
written by ahmadneil, November 14, 2008 17:17:41
Invite Zaid Ibrahim also.
Guys bring along your digital camera and take photos of any police brutality.
I will be there with some 'big' boys.
written by ahmadneil, November 14, 2008 17:21:33
The last vigil I notice some supporters are not mixing around freely.They are standing at the side quietly,so guys this time make effort to move around and talk to each and every supporters.After all we are one big family.
written by cheekymate, November 14, 2008 17:28:39
On a more serious note, can someone clarify the legality status of our vigil, please? We KNOW we are not breaking the law and that we are merely persecuted because of our fight against the ISA. I am sure a lot of sincere people who wish to attend may fear for their safety knowing the brutality of the police.
Alternatively, is there a possibility of obtaining a permit each time similar to the times at Kelana Jaya Stadium?
written by Lim Lim, November 14, 2008 17:30:36
malaysian should salute these brave freedom fighters,we owe u ONE!
written by SocratesI, November 14, 2008 17:31:23

I was there last week with my whole family and I shall be there again this Sunday. I was unlucky not to get arrested last Sunday and missed out on the KFC supper party !

Ahmadneil, those "supporters" standing quietly at the side are not supporters ... they are plain clothes policemen. I was watching them and making sure they don't come close enough to take me by surprise. You got to be more careful, bro.

written by biggun129, November 14, 2008 17:35:43
I think others than candle and the rest, we should bring along a White Flag, we will Surrender before the FRU charges on us , to avoid any casualties, dont RUN when they charges on us, stay put, if not we will be hurts!!!
written by macanhitam, November 14, 2008 17:39:19
one of the first things i wanna do when i return back to malaysia is to join an ISA vigil and meet up with fellow bangsa malaysias, and also show you who the outspoken macanhitam (black panther) is.

smilies/smiley.gif
written by temenggong, November 14, 2008 17:54:26
Anwar must come too!
written by unomalaysia, November 14, 2008 17:56:47
Invite CNN, BBC and Aljazeera to be present so that they can video anymore Nazi (oops, Police) brutality. If any Nazi stormtrooper (oops, FRU) beat up and arrest a CNN, BBC or Aljazeera cameraman then it will be great publicity for Malaysia Bolehland. Perhaps the Selangor CPO can do another Mamah mydin in an interview with Aljazeera... or maybe a Sabery chee. Hmmmm, maybe not as the cameraman will have to keep wiping spits off the camera lens smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by educationist, November 14, 2008 18:06:07
May the force be with you folks!
One up for democracy.
You brave folks have refused to be intimidated by the police use of force.
May the cause be triumphant!
written by onnetline, November 14, 2008 18:27:53
Will be bringing my video recorder there for this worthy cause !
written by Janaka, November 14, 2008 19:08:02
WILL BE THERE REGARDLESS WHAT LOCATION YOU GUYS SET IN!
SEE YOU THERE WITH MUSIC, VIDEO CAMERA, STILL CAMERA PHONE and MOST IMPORTANTLY I BRING MYSELF there with FRIENDS TOO
smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif Please DON'T FORGET TO GET YAB LKS, YAB LGE, YAB TSK, YAB ZI, YAB DSAI, our beloved SIR RPK & FAMILY, YOUR FRIENDS and RELATIVES, etc that love our beloved nation to COME TOGETHER and MADE a VERY VERY BIG FAMILY GATHERING.
written by justinlian, November 14, 2008 19:09:21
defintely gonna bring some friends there...
see ya
written by anak penang, November 14, 2008 19:33:32
Ya folks , do not run if the dogs start attacking.
do a ghandhi
just sit
the world is watching
gandhi started off his movement like that in africa
and the british empire collapsed
do not run
wish i could be there
written by doggone, November 14, 2008 19:44:24
written by Joelim, November 14, 2008 20:17:43
Haris.....we are deedly indebted to you in leading this crusade. You are definitely our tower of strength. We haven't met face to face but hope to be able to shake your hand this Sunday.
written by clarity, November 14, 2008 20:21:16
We hear you. We'll be there. And we can sing the Negara Ku as many times as we like. Those that are of age to vote come the next elections should pay heed to what is going on. Otherwise your freedom will be compromised. You will not be able to make use of what God has given you i.e. your basic human rights and if you happen to be unfortunate, one of your loved ones will be detained under ISA, locked away to carry shit from your cell every morning.
written by renoir, November 14, 2008 20:37:33
SocratesI wrote:
> those "supporters" standing quietly at the side are not supporters ... they are plain clothes policemen.]]

Ouch! Don't say that! I often sat or stood quietly at the side and I'm no plainclothes policeman! Once or twice, during vigils or at court sessions, I did move forward to shake hands with RPK or Marina because they ought to know they've our support. And I did the same thing with Haris, without telling him my name. Most of the time, however, I sat alone because my purpose was just to be counted, leaving the socialization to more energetic and younger chaps. For me, vigils are melancholy rituals - I often thought of those incarcerated and my heart was usually heavy during such occasions.

There might be some SB people, of course, but not ALL are those, ok?

written by michaelT, November 14, 2008 20:45:33
I hope that more people will attend. Sing our beloved National Anthem loud and clear so that the Police can join in. Place the right hand close to the chest. Give no speeches but sing patriotic songs. Bring along video cameras too and see how many tyhe Police can confiscate.
written by patlu, November 14, 2008 21:07:09
No matter how aggressive the Police are, lets spread the word to all citizens to take the soft approach. Appeal to their conscience as fellow Malaysians to do the right thing. Smile and give them flowers. It was suggested we give our National Flower to the police.

I remember watching People Power in the Philippines back in the mid-80s. Soldiers cried on receiving flowers from women and children.

BTW, my son Joshua (14) and I watched last Sunday's video online. At the end, Josh asked why the police charged on people singing Negara Ku? Shouldn't they be standing to attention too? :p We have hope! smilies/smiley.gif Most importantly, we teach our children never to face aggression with aggression. It never works. Let's all do the right thing.

See you this Sunday smilies/smiley.gif