Pas: If we win the elections... PDF Print
Monday, 21 January 2008 09:22

(The New Straits Times) - KUANTAN: Pas, which is confident that it will win again in Kelantan, the only opposition-held state in the country, said it will also wrest Terengganu and Kedah in the next general election.

{mosgoogle right}

Its president, Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang, also predicted that Pas and the two other main opposition parties, the DAP and Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR), would win the "hot seats" in several states, including Selangor and Penang.

And if the opposition wrested control of the federal government, Hadi promised that Malaysia would become "a nation of charity".

"We will focus on the welfare of the poor and senior citizens. We can do this as we will scrap all mega projects that only enrich a few people."

Hadi confirmed that the three opposition parties -- Pas, DAP and PKR -- had a pact that Pas would focus on Malay-majority seats and would ensure a one-on-one contest with the ruling Barisan Nasional.

Pas, he said, had an arrangement with PKR, and PKR had a pact with the DAP.

The DAP has said it will not work with Pas as the party championed an Islamic state.

But the roundabout agreement points to a pact between all three.

"We will ensure a straight fight in every seat. We are ready and the ulama (consultative) committee is expected to approve the list of Pas candidates on Tuesday," Hadi said.

Hadi was in Pahang in his nationwide campaign ahead of what many perceive could be an early general election.

At the same ceramah, Pas information chief Mahfuz Omar claimed that the opposition would reduce the price of petrol and other essential items.

"We promise that a litre of petrol will be at least 30 sen cheaper than the present price."

However, he did not explain how a Pas-led government would handle the ballooning subsidies of more than RM35 billion.

The subsidies for petrol and other essential items have placed a strain on government finances.

written by The dragonheart, January 21, 2008 09:45:00
However, he did not explain how a Pas-led government would handle the ballooning subsidies of more than RM35 billion.The subsidies for petrol and other essential items have placed a strain on government finances.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
Simple, stop all mega projects that only enrich a few UMNO/BN people. Audit all past mega purchases of military and other mega projects. seal and recover all unlawful commissions and corruption money taken by UMNO/BN leader in country and overseas. Petronas profit will have to subsidies part of the consumer oil in country. Every UMNO/BN leader will have to declare their asset and to make sure every sen of what they have must be justified from their hard earned income. Amend the law if any one try to defeat the law by concealing their asset to a third part or proxy, maximum sentence like life imprisonment should be imposed. all suspect BN leaders and cronies should be barred from going overseas until their name are cleared.

Many more can be done. Malaysia is a rich country, evey citizen must be able to share the cake, not only the few rich elites.
written by temenggong, January 21, 2008 09:49:03
Very good Hadi.

Now we need to hear who will be the PM, deputy PM, FM and Home Affairs.
written by Kang Mas, January 21, 2008 10:00:51
People in the street like me know how to handle the whooping RM35 billion petrol subsidies. Get rid of BN penipu, perampok. BN means 'barang naik' every time, everywhere, even in the hotel's room.

Elect BA to represent the raayat. The unaccounted leakage of peoples' money from nation's coffer would be plugged. Its way into BN/UMNOputra's pockets would be severed.
written by ghondoruwo, January 21, 2008 10:07:28
The problem in M'sia is not because of the increasing prices of petrol and other essential items. The purchasing power of the masses has been stagnant for a long time, thanks to BN govenment who has been feeding the richs few with silver spoons. Yes, our country is vast with natural resources and wealth. The challenge for the opposition is to draw up a good plan to distribute these wealths (scrap NEP is one of them)and thereafter (if they with that is) ensure that they really WORK THE PLAN. If not, it'll be just be a same old story!!!
written by gloryredstar, January 21, 2008 11:05:37
Only fools would continue to vote the government and give them another mandate to plunder our nation's wealth, enrich the few and abuse the rights of her own citizens.
written by InEffective, January 21, 2008 11:18:33
No issues if you have a religious platform if you can treat all races fairly and do not impose religious will on others of different faiths.

(at this point, anything will be better than the double standards and double-speak of the incumbent politicians)

If your platform stands on universal truths, beliefs and values, you will go a long way.

written by Jan, January 21, 2008 15:42:40
Hadi, yuda man.
written by Malay Ultraman, January 21, 2008 16:47:49
ballooning RM35 billion subsidy...? it is just another pure bullshittt.... government never spend a single cent on the oil subsidy. Of course, the gas can be sold at higher price, but it never literally throw away the money. when the price goes down to USD50 per barrel, our goverment just plain mute.. wtf...
written by FFT, January 21, 2008 17:06:10
However, he did not explain how a Pas-led government would handle the ballooning subsidies of more than RM35 billion.

Unfortunately for PAS, the "Insyallah" paradigm won't help them with this one.

Malaysians need to drop this subsidy business like last century's crusty underpants.

Your subsidies are unhealthy. Subsidies result in creating the perfect condition for overconsumption and overbreeding. Too much breeding then results in ever more consumption by those afflicted with the subsidy mentality, which then requires the subsidies to increase exponentially to cover the habit of these new "druggies".

All subsidies should be removed cold turkey, and the population should be allowed to reach equilibrium naturally. You will also solve many other issues this way...for starters your Mat Rempit problem will be a thing of the past.

Many ills in Malaysia stem from this subsidy mentality (the other being religion).
written by joeawk, January 21, 2008 17:19:26
Do whatever you want but just don't be a body snatcher and cut finghers. No gambling, no alcohol and no prostitution is no problem so ong as you allow us into Thailand.
written by Saint, January 21, 2008 18:14:26
Now we need to hear who will be the PM, deputy PM, FM and Home Affairs.
PAS should have the lead - the only party that can take 3 -4 states on their own
PKR as first deputy - show the Malays we support their cause also & stop BN even thing of a riot
DAP - the Home Affairs - clean the rot, first.
FM - give it to some one from Sabah. They need it bad to rid of the foreigeners
written by doggone, January 21, 2008 19:30:08
At least PAS has proven themselves to be sensitive to the cultures of other races when they govern Kelantan. Yes proven and not the pathetic BN crap of promises that could never be fulfilled.

Hadi, you have my vote any day even if you are not contesting in my constituencies. Nothing says more than 'walking the talk.'
written by semangat63, January 21, 2008 23:35:28
And if the opposition wrested control of the federal government, Hadi promised that Malaysia would become "a nation of charity".

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------;

Ameen! smilies/cry.gif
written by mikewang, January 22, 2008 00:22:22
Nation of charity ?
If you inflate our money and screw up my income and retirement money, I'll curse you a thousand generations !

Live within our means 'cos money doesn't grow on trees.