Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow We need leadership

We need leadership PDF Print
Friday, 14 November 2008 16:47

NOV 14 — Anybody can claim to be a leader. A racial bigot. An adulterer. A corrupter. A sexist. A flip-flop. The list goes on. However, what we need are not mere self-proclaimed leaders.

We need LEADERSHIP.

Our race relations are broken. Our politics is distasteful and flawed. Our economy and those who help to run it are lost and misguided. Many things are not right about the country. Alas, many of us who hold the same pathetic view of our country take very different approaches to addressing the problems. The majority may choose to bolt and many more choose to whine.

Malaysians cannot hide from the fact that we are governed by the ethno-religious conservatives who hold very rigid, selfish and perverted views on race relations. Many of these divisive politicians are very powerful individuals holding extremely important positions in the country.

These politicians will continue to practise their beliefs although we know they are part of the destructive force in the country. At a state Umno annual general assembly, members readily passed a resolution calling for the return of a racial bigot who was suspended by his party. The fact that the party does not hide from its hard, extreme right and conservative position worries me.

It worries me because they could be right about society — that many of us are racial and religious conservatives who are still keen on supporting and rejoicing the most provocative statements and actions taken by them.

If not, why are these racially-based political parties still in business? If not, why are morally bankrupt leaders still being embraced by their party members to provide leadership?

Here, we need leadership not leaders. We need real and committed leadership which can help pull this society out from its racial mould. We need a leadership which can help to unite not polarise.

Our political system, which insists on a two-tier society, does not work especially if the intention is to seek racial superiority. A political system which helps to promote a false sense of superiority over others through the colour of skin is flawed and immoral. It is unimaginable for someone to be bought by the premise — no matter how convincing — that an airhead with the right ethnicity is the only requirement for success. Racial politics hurts more than it heals. Its overemphasis is self-destructive and demeaning to the very ethnicity it wants to glorify.

Here, we need a real leadership which can help us to see the humanistic values beneath our different skin colours. We need a sincere leadership which understands that diversity strengthens and not destroys society. We need a leadership which understands the power of unity and not the sheer destruction of division.

Misguided and self-centred politicians should not be allowed to preach wrong economic policy to us. It is nonsensical to suggest that we need to prop up the stock market to enhance consumer confident to spend. When an economy is in trouble, a caring government should help to protect jobs, help to put people in their homes not lose them, create more economic opportunities and help to ease socio-economic pains. Not put more money in the stock market to assist less than 2 per cent of the people who are engaged in it.

People of all walks of life are feeling the same anguish — the rising cost of living, job insecurity, and mounting personal and family debt. From the anguish, perhaps we are able to feel how similar we are from each other. Through the anxiety, we should realise that our need is the same. We need a good and effective government. Not a patronising one. Not one which bullies its people with the power entrusted to them by the same people.

Here, we need a leadership which understands the mechanics of running a people-friendly economic policy. We do not need leaders who are fixated with equity share of each community and not what they can put on their dining table for the children.

It is obvious that we need leadership, not leaders to fix a broken Malaysia.

written by binarytan, November 14, 2008 16:57:35
We can only have leaders full with sin at present moment.

Forget about leadership as since AAB till the PM in making Najib, there is no leadership. Just a lot of bull shit, may be we can call them as leadershit.

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by ahmadneil, November 14, 2008 17:07:46
There is no question as to which candidates is qualified to serve this country,Anwar or Najis.Examining leadership style gives some insight into how the candidates might govern.The type of leader tends to deal with the here and now,is action-oriented,sees problems as a separate issues and is primarily reactive.Najis is more of a visionary but Anwar fits the country's needs.
written by cheekhiaw, November 14, 2008 17:09:52
Even thieves, liars and murderers have leaders. People that call others squatters and minister protectors that blow others up do not do it on self-initiative and just for fun.

What we need are intelligent and ethical leaders.

written by SocratesI, November 14, 2008 17:20:17

Malaysia needs leadership, but so far all we got in the ruling Barisan Najis party are a Najis Rosak for future PM, a murderer and son of a murderer ! Muddy-Assassin, the Lanun from Johore who turned on his own UMNO President so that he can "buy" his Deputy Presidency in UMNO to be our future DPM.

Then the MCA has a very short man, OTK, as the President who is so paranoid that he has started "caging" his Deputy President !! And the Deputy President is none other than the Star of the Tiger Show on video, the Fornicator who has betrayed his wife & family !

Then the MIC has Semi-no-Value as its President (for life, it seems, just like Papa Doc Duvalier in Haiti !!), the one who was stoned by his own people !

And the list goes on and on ... This proves beyond reasonable doubt that much as Malaysia needs leadership, what Barisan Najis has, and will, give the Rakyat is Leadershit, if they continue to be in office. Let us KICK THEM OUT !!

written by densemy, November 14, 2008 17:43:38
Hmmmm... cant agree. The last thing that Malaysians need is leaders or leadership... Whichever they get they will slavishly deify and follow to the grave if necessary

What Malaysians need is a quantum shift in their ability and desire to grasp the responsibility for their own destiny
written by Fuminari, November 14, 2008 18:53:35
malaysian hav never seen a leader yet till now!!what malaysian hav been having are only tribal chiefs.dare u to differ......
written by allmenarebrothers, November 14, 2008 19:04:33
Our current crop of leaders.......TAK O TAK!
Oh! Malaysians who love their country we need to remove all of them.
Oh! Al-Mighty God we really need your GRACE, FAVOUR, MERCY & DIVINE INTERVENTION to save all of us from all these racial bigots, corrupters, ultras & wicked & evil ones.
Let your hands touch the hearts of all peace-loving Malaysians to bring about CHANGE for the betterment of our beloved Malaysia.
written by Midvalley, November 14, 2008 19:19:44
Take care of the pockets of 191 essholes and you can become the PM of bolehland that the type of leader you get.
written by kanokporn, November 14, 2008 19:56:08
no country that has respect for human beings should do business with malaysia until all the stupid racial impediments against human beings based on colour and religion and what they believe in are completely removed and demonstrated. for eg the relaxation of 30% equity etc kind of shit. malaysian leaders in govt must thin that the foreign countries esp the developed ones are stupid with all the nonsence that is going on here like the isa, nep, muslim shit, swearing on koran, or whatever by najib, abdullah, hamid, musa, shafee,rais, toyo, ismail koh tsu koon(sleep) mca, gerakan. pl dont put o ne cent into this country. i rather die for the sake of my children and their generations to come then to trust these basturds
written by remielfl, November 14, 2008 20:36:01
As we continue to oppose the Government & leaders of the day, we tend to forget that 51% of our people voted for them. That does mean something significant.

We need to examine why this 51% continue to support obviously flawed leaders. They continued to do so at both Gerakan's and MCA's elections and they will do so at MIC's.

Until the 49% discover what motivates our other 51%, we will have a hard time persuading the 51% to change sides.

If this 51% continue the status quo, we cannot realistically expect any significant change after the next GE, whenever it will be.

The first steps are that West Malaysians should begin efforts to understand what motivates the majority in Sabah & Sarawak and engage them, soon.
written by remielfl, November 14, 2008 20:37:51
I forgot that the major parties in Sabah have also held their annual gatherings and essentially follow Gerakan, MCA voting patterns. No change in leadership.
written by fpkl, November 14, 2008 20:38:35
This is a nicely-written, appealing set of propositions. Unfortunately, you do not consider the depth of the differences existing between the cultures, behaviors and religions of the three main racial groups in Malaysia. Until now, there is no "Homo Malaysianus" and there will certainly never be one. Under a similar, shared culture, different races can mingle and create a new national identity, as in Brazil, Mexico or even the US to a certain extent.
In Malaysia, politicians play the racial card because it is the most simple approach, using stereotypes that are easy to understand, administer and reinforce, as when they play one race against the other. Their strategy consists of short-term, easy to understand arguments, usually relying on stereotypes, and lack the substance necessary to truly accomplish anything significant. Thus, after 50 years, in many ways, Malaysia has regressed!
What makes Malaysia further unique is that it has a racial majority benefiting from an affirmative action program at the expense of the minorities. As a result, minorities that seem more motivated than the majority are forced to scale down their ambitions. Nowhere else does such a situation exist. In other countries, disadvantaged minorities are assisted to climb the ladder. In the case of Malaysia, 21st century Malays do not seem to be insulted by a system that is oviously a failure with no guarantee or even sound promise of delivery. Rather, they have become complacent and become dependent on costly and obviously failed protectionism. The reasons for Proton's failure are the same as the Bumiputra's (cf. The Malay Dilemma, and The New Malay Dilemma). While some infant project may need protection and help, the same protection and help given to adults or adult-age projects only produce inefficiencies. Frankly, it is difficult to respect malay supremacy under such circumstances. Supremacy in what? Education? Professional achievements? Motivation? intellectual contribution? Integrity????
The solution is obvious and has been tested elsewhere: a secular, egalitarian, meritocratic society of individuals where race and religion have no room on one's id card, and who benefit from taking their own responsibilities. What are the chances for this to happen here?
written by michaelT, November 14, 2008 20:51:26
After March All Beautiful ladies have to be extra careful!! Take care of your santity. Otherwise if you are raped there will be no case at all.
written by nangkarajah, November 14, 2008 21:54:18
In all these display of political brinksmanship by political aspirants these last few years I can only sympathise with a certain leader's son-in-law KJ. No one can beat him academically being Oxbridge and this certainly qualifies him to be a Malay political leader. But what I pity him is the way he still seems to harbour a somewhat childish and idealistic fantasy of being party-leader although the signs are that there will be no big position for him in his party. The only way he can get hold of a top party-position is through appointment---like Sec.Gen, Publicity Chief. But with the seemingly (emminent even at this stage) arrival of yet another 'Gaffar Baba' to be closely followed by the ascendancy of a cousin, the prospect of KJ being accommodated (or sufficiently supported in party-elections) looks very primitive. Come to think of it, who is he when even his dad-in-law gets mutinous defiance from people supposed to be under him.
written by Ben, November 14, 2008 22:39:14
Aiseh, din't need to look far Khoo KP, LGE is a damn good example. Leadership par excellence and excellent PR. 6.1 billion FDI in first 8 months and still got money to take care of the 384 poor families and give RM17 million free water. LGE don't just talk, he delivers. LGE for PM, please.