Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow DAVID YEOW: Is MCA president trying to 'cage' his deputy?

DAVID YEOW: Is MCA president trying to 'cage' his deputy? PDF Print
Friday, 14 November 2008 16:46

IS MCA president Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat trying to limit the influence and power of his deputy, Datuk Seri Dr Chua Soi Lek? This is the question many people are asking.

Tongues started wagging when Ong left out Dr Chua from the lineup of new state liaison committee chiefs, making it the first time in the party's history where the deputy president does not have a state to oversee.

Seemingly adding insult to injury, Ong then proceeded to appoint himself the party's liaison chief for Johor, a post previously held by Dr Chua.

To the question of why he chose to lead the Johor state liaison committee, Ong said: "No reasons should be given. What I want to say is what serves the party best. That's all."

Dr Chua was also denied the chance to head the party's disciplinary board, a role traditionally reserved for the deputy president.

Instead, the board is now under the charge of party veteran Datuk Ng Cheng Keat.

Also puzzling is Dr Chua's appointment as government policy monitoring bureau chief, since he is neither a member of parliament nor a senator.

These developments have led to worry among many party members that the honeymoon between the two men has ended, even though the party elections were barely a month old.

"It is so obvious that Ong is trying to choke Dr Chua," said a central committee (CC) member who supports Dr Chua.

"He knows that Dr Chua will likely challenge him in three years time, so he is drawing first blood by boxing him up and denying him a chance to strengthen his support base.

"It is understandable for the president to secure his position.

"But to do it in such an obvious manner is bad for party morale and he is courting his own doom."

Ong was very defensive when a reporter asked him on Tuesday whether his decision to seemingly limit Dr Chua's role within MCA would affect party unity.

His reply was: "Everyone including yourself (the reporter) has the freedom to interpret things.

"Political parties all over the world have to make certain decisions. I think you cannot predict your own future, right? So it is unfair to predict what my decision will result in just yet."

But this has not stopped party elders from predicting that Ong's decision would return to haunt him.

"Both Ong and Dr Chua are 'tigers'. What the president is trying to do is cage his deputy," said a former vice-president.

"However he must remember that a majority of the party members voted for Dr Chua because they felt he was unfairly sabotaged by the previous leadership (referring to his sex scandal) because they felt threatened by his growing popularity.

"What will happen now is people will see that Ong is trying to do the same, albeit in a more open manner.

"His reputation as an honourable leader might be affected, swaying many to sympathise with Dr Chua.

"All Ong needs to do is slip up and immediately the party will be flocking to Dr Chua."

However, one party insider believes that Ong's move is an attempt to keep the peace among the factions in the party.

"Don't forget that the former president's brother Datuk Seri Ong Ka Chuan also contested for the deputy's post but lost.

"But Ka Chuan and his supporters really threw their support behind Tee Keat. Whether he (Tee Keat) acknowledges it or not, without Ka Chuan, he would not have been able to win the presidency.

"So to stay as neutral as possible, Tee Keat appointed both Ka Chuan and Dr Chua as bureau chiefs (the former was made party history and documentation bureau chief) and both were also not made chiefs of any state.

Vice-president Datuk Kong Cho Ha has replaced Ka Chuan as Perak MCA chief.

Pro-Tee Keat CC members insist that the decisions were made in the best interest of the party, without any personal agenda.

"Yes, a lot of things were not done according to tradition, but they are in line with the party constitution.

"The MCA constitution merely states that the president has the power to appoint anyone he sees fit to fill the roles of state liaison chiefs.

"It does not state that a deputy must be made this or that," one of them said.

"As for the disciplinary board, well I think Dr Chua, with all his personal baggage is hardly a suitable candidate to judge the proper and acceptable conduct of other party members. Discipline, after all, is a moral issue."

- nst

written by binarytan, November 14, 2008 16:50:27
The internal war of MCA has just started.

Chinese society already used to the problems in MCA, they take care of themselves more than to take care of Chinese society. They have plenty of sex maniac, corrupted people and incapable politician, right top from OTK to the bottom.

I just say sorry for MCA, you are irrelevant now!!!

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by krising1, November 14, 2008 17:03:16
OTK appears to be a pint sized dictator. How is he going to unite the party when at this stage of his leadership he is acting tough? He will make the party irelevant even faster which is good!
written by AuntyG, November 14, 2008 17:06:32
What do we care about the domestic problems of Amm-See-Aay.
As far as I am concerned, they are as good as 'See' - aka '4', aka mati lor!!
written by ahmadneil, November 14, 2008 17:14:55
I can sense MCA is heading for another great fight.Barely have the dust settle,they are already at each others throat.OTK want to consolidate his positions but he is over doing it.In this way many of Dr Chua supporters are ready to take MCA down with them.Guys, get ready for world war 3.Dr Chua can fcuk around but he won't be shamed by OTK.
written by miwaki, November 14, 2008 17:22:07
Tee Kiat,go all out to marginalize all your enemies in the party before they start playing your backside.Forget about your job in the Transport ministry,pay more attention on your party and make sure MCA is totally wiped out in the next GE.If you succeeded in destroying MCA before next GE,we chinese malaysians would build a monument to commemmorate your contributions .
written by CitizenBodohland, November 14, 2008 17:28:41
It is just an internal re-org inside a doghouse... who really cares..
written by unomalaysia, November 14, 2008 17:44:52
This sandiwara is great entertainment. I think Mr Porno should just lay low and focus on serving the rakyat. Do you really need a position to serve UNSELFISHLY.
Oops what the fcuk am I talking about, MCA only serves MCA. Sorry my mistake.
written by mikefonz, November 14, 2008 18:07:47
Lokking at what is happening, I think the man with a scandal
has more integrity than the Ong fella. Maybe an Ong will
always be an Ong extended family. We know which Ong & Ong rite?
written by Sudahlah tu, November 14, 2008 18:12:28
mca tak guna payah partilah ..
mereka berpolitik kerana tamak kekayaan ...
orang cina yang bodoh dan tidak bermaruah sahaja yang menyokong mca sekarang.
written by onnetline, November 14, 2008 18:16:33
Just a bloody bunch of Barisan Najis dogs reinforcing their power and position.

written by Rhan, November 14, 2008 18:23:36
First I thought this only happen in UMNO but it seems like lots of Malaysian love to see the appointment of morally poor personnel to handle important portfolio. No wonder most government post is handled by thieves, murderers and robbers. (under cheekhiew @ copyright)
written by Siapabohong, November 14, 2008 18:45:15
Baguslah tu, gaduhlah, gaduhlah, gaduhlah. Ingat lepas pemilihan mereka akan menjadi lebih kuat, bersatu dan berubah bagi memenuhi aspirasi rakyat Malaysia keseluruhannya, tapi nampak gayanya membuka laluan menuju ke arah kehancuran, kedurjanaan, hasad dengki dan dendam, menutup ruang peluang sesama sendiri yang kononnya berjuang untuk masyarakat, yang kononnya mewakili cina, yang kononya nak memartabatkan semua yang cina, baguslah, baguslah, baguslah. Ini sememangnya bagus untuk rakyat yang dahagakan kepimpinan yang berwibawa, berkarisma, berjiwa besar, yang boleh memberi dan menimbulkan keyakinan kepada seluruh rakyat dan negara untuk maju ke hadapan semata-mata untuk kesejahteraan dan kemakmuran rakyat dan kedaulatan negara di arena antarabangsa. Baguslah tu, moga-moga ini memberi laluan lebih pantas unuk PR mengubah sejarah yang sekian lama telah dikeparatkan oleh meteka yang durjana.
written by Fuminari, November 14, 2008 18:48:30
jus look at the recent issue concerning the abolishment on ISA,MCA itself is caged!so does this make any difference???
written by truthbespoken, November 14, 2008 19:18:06
Why bother what happens within these racial parties? MCA, MIC and UMNO will all become opposition parties after the next elections if not earlier.

They have no more future in this multi-cultural, multi-religious of ours! God willing, these parties will die a natural political death within 10 years!
written by biggun129, November 14, 2008 19:19:45
Congratualations to MCA, the Tiger fight the Tiger, the grassroots fight the grassroots,The earthquake coming to MCA Building, the fastest the building collaspe, the better for Chinese community in our country!!! Gerakan already sunk like titanic, now is MCA's turn!!!
written by ChrisNg, November 14, 2008 19:25:19
MR. ONG looks like UMNO shit, talks arrogantly like UMNO shit, acts like UMNO shit...he should be a Malay UMNO instead. I wonder whether he has a "bin" behind his name. Ong Tee Keat bin UMNO TAIK.

He should submit an application for UMNO membership. *FREE FOR LIFE MEMBERSHIP*
written by Tom n Jerry, November 14, 2008 20:15:36
Socrates;your comments fully seconded by me & endorsed,its pathetic to note there are still people in MCA who will vote for such dirty old tom*s when in Malaysia its even sensitive when females are wearing high heels & liptsticks;its even more petrifying to note that maybe MCA will endorse legality of gays,lesbians & pornography;two opposite extremes in a very islamic & old fashioned nation;I wouldnt support either end of the spectrum even though I am a retiree myself,but I have got my own values which are more practical & moral! smilies/smiley.gif
written by Joelim, November 14, 2008 20:54:21
Ong Tee Keat.....you know better than anybody else that BN is going to get decimated well before the next GE. Before ACA is call in to ransack all your dirty laundry, why not just sell all MCA assets NOW and distribute the proceeds amongst yourselves and join the fat ass Ling Liong Sik. His famous line when responding to the press about his son's wealth of $2.5 billion at 22 years was "My son works very hard to get to where he is". Sure...you scumbag
written by Stupid me, November 14, 2008 20:56:07
With due respect the deputy president should have left mainstream politics completely after the debacle. If he were made a minister then he would have gained a lot for his indiscretion in the sense that because of it his son became an MP and then he would be made a senator before appointed as minister. It would have been a very profitable fling.It makes one wonder how the grassroots of the main ruling parties make their choice of leaders.
written by justme bc, November 14, 2008 22:45:30
OTK, just being voted in as the MCA President and you act very "Lan See"("action" in English) already, do not forget that a sizeable MCA delegates also voted in Dr Chua Soi Lek as the deputy MCA president. Pls do not do to others what you do not like others to do to you, this is what we called KARMA. Your reply to the reporters are very RUDE and showed how arrogance you are, your presidency will not last for sure.
written by BennyG, November 14, 2008 23:12:57
I'm waiting anxiously for the Porn producers to produce another movie. If OTK thinks he could avoid being the second star, he still has RM21mil to hide. Let's see how much dirt the losing Ongs could dig out!

written by benny loh, November 15, 2008 00:48:01
SIDELINED?
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...lined.html
written by merchant222, November 15, 2008 01:42:28
This kind of situation in a CHOW-KOW party of the chinese community is normal. Can play the backside of the whole community, what is playing the DP's backside?

When the Donald Duck cannot win, he spreads rumours that this DOGTOR won because he used 30 Million to "BUY" the votes. OK lah!, lay-man thinks, if I have 30 million in my pocket, would I want to throw this money without the guarantee of winning? More so, only a DP position mah! Especially, when now win with the 30 Million and kena FCUK by the President and I am sure he has already taken that into consideration; would it not be wiser to keep the 30 Million and have safe SEX???...for life?

Anyway, Donald Duck, I am no fan of any MCA CHOW-KOW like you, but may I ask you why you gave a 1 Million contract job in KGNS (golf club for the ELITES) to your crony to do the swimming pool who does not know nuts about swimming pools or even swimming for that matter? Me thinks you better go back where you belong...DISNEYLAND! Bye-Bye
written by ylcc, November 15, 2008 05:24:21
I agree that MCA is irrelevant now. If I had no choice but to choose OTK or CSL, I would choose the latter. It is scary to know that OTK has the Ong brothers backing him behind the scene. It is also sad that OTK and his kind choose to obey more its masters than speaking up for the Chinese (which we should give credit to CSL for being outspoken on this issue, objectively, he had done a good job at the MOH). e.g. the recent case where the Dy Home Minister aped Syed Albar that the police were doing their job against the candle light vigil, knowing full well that most of those roughed up were mainly Chinese (incl. the Cheras case). How can they command our respect?
written by ylcc, November 15, 2008 08:35:11
To be fair to all parties, Badawi is a lame duck. Najib and OTK both have the right connections and powerful backings. Take these away, and they will be not be so brave.