Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Non-Muslim wing for Pas

Non-Muslim wing for Pas PDF Print
Friday, 14 November 2008 16:30
By Shannon Teoh

NOV 14 — Pas will form a new Dewan (wing) for non-Muslims as a result of the strong support the party received from them in the March general election.

This was one of several issues discussed at the party's retreat in Langkawi last weekend and would see the Pas Supporters' Club move towards full acceptance.

When contacted, party secretary-general Datuk Kamaruddin Jaafar said this was initially raised several years ago when the club was first formed.

"It was approved by the Majlis Syura Ulama (religious scholars consultative council) which felt that Pas could accept non-Muslims, and left it to the central committee to oversee it. But there has not been any progress for a while," he said.

"As of now, there is no proper acknowledgement for club members and this causes some uncertainty," he added.

The supporters club, formed in 2004, came to attention after Kumutha Rahman, an Indian Hindu, contested the Tiran state seat in the March general election. She ran under a PKR ticket as the Pas constitution prohibits non-Muslims from contesting under it.

This, and the mobilisation of the club during the election, gave credence to its "Pas for All" slogan.

Club president Hu Pang Chaw had also said in his speech at the 54th Pas muktamar (general assembly) in August that a new wing, called the Dewan Penyokong Pas, would give its 10,000 members a chance to serve the party better.

It is understood that while the proposal is now being fine-tuned, for now the non-Muslim wing would not yet be able to vote for leaders in the main body but would be able to contest in general elections, which would force a change in the constitution that can only happen at the next muktamar or an emergency general meeting.

The party's head of research, Dr Dzulkefly Ahmad, confirmed that the Dewan would not yet be considered full members but that the role and function "would not be far off from other Dewans."

He said that while the rights and privileges accorded to the non-Muslim wing would not be equal to that of the other wings, it was still "one up for Pas."

"It is a positive experiment and shows the party's courage,” he said.

The retreat also pressed on the need for Pakatan Rakyat to form a consultative forum for the five heads of the PR-led states.

Kamaruddin said this is to strengthen coordination between the states and had first been mooted by the party after the PR won the states in the March general election.

Dzulkefly said there has not been a forum yet for the Menteris Besar and Chief Minister to come together to discuss policies.

Citing the example of Bumiputera equity and multilingual road signage, he said that "there are no problems but there must be a mutual agreement and understanding."

He also revealed that this idea has also been brought to the recent PR leadership council meeting and Pas would continue to push it forward in defining the full details of the Menteri Besar council.

Dzulkefly also said that the retreat discussed some steps to prepare the party for "any eventuality" such as a snap election which it believes is a possibility after Umno's March party polls.

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by binarytan, November 14, 2008 16:48:42
Forget it PAS, I will not buy your story.

You are just another UMNO in making full with ketuanan islam thinking.

Look at your wayang on PKNS and Kedah 50% quota, nobody will disagree.

Shame on me that has voted for you during PRU12, but I only be fooled once and only once. Next round if I see only PAS and UMNO, then i just dump the vote.

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
disagree 20
written by temenggong, November 14, 2008 16:49:54
Good, but still not enough.

I'll wait for Pas to clean up its Constitution, spelling out clearly its (islamic) policies and manifesto (without mentioning islam) and open to all regardless of race or religion. To be a full voting member, one only has to accept the constitution.

Pas has to move faster, rather than take baby steps.
written by SocratesI, November 14, 2008 16:56:22

Positive development but PAS needs to re-look at the Kedah 50% quota issue urgently, as well as re-draw its stand on the PKNS issue, clearly. I have to say I agree with binarytan and I was disappointed in what PAS did, but I will still vote for PAS instead of Barisan Najis as PAS is not yet in power, and not in such overwhelming numbers as UMNO, so with PAS, it is more safe that they won't abuse their power to the degree of the UMNO Lanun.

written by SamYap, November 14, 2008 17:21:43
"written by temenggong, November 14, 2008 16:49:54

Good, but still not enough.
"

Totally agree.

I will add this: PAS must make a firm and clear stand that it is against any form of racism and any form of religious discrimination. This statement must come from Hadi's mouth, as this guy has shown some signs of being reclacitrant lately, especially his supporters.
written by alarcarte, November 14, 2008 17:30:31
No need to have Non-Muslim Wing lah, just rule your states with fairness to all citizens irrespective of Religion, and your party shall be rewarded handsomely during the next election. Given the more hardline stands with our UMNO Gomen since March, they have lost the trust of most non Malay Malaysians and they are just deadman walking right now and will finally be buried in about 4 year time.
written by macanhitam, November 14, 2008 17:53:44
i have no qualms against pas lah. some of the lads in PAS are kinda cool like Khalid Samad, Ir.Nizar the Perak MB and Mat Sabu. the only bad apple in PAS is Hadi and Mustapha's faction need to keep their act right lah and stop behaving like UMNO. if they can stop behaving like UMNO for once, Im also happier than Hu Pang Chow oredi.
written by carribeanking7, November 14, 2008 18:11:48
Its unfair to liken PAS to UMNO, will UMNO ever dare to open a non -Malay wing ?
Every party is bound to have its hardliners and dissenting views,this gesture took a lot of political will from PAS.
What matters is the official party stand.

PKR Zulkifli Noordin made a dissenting stand

Ditto DAP's Karpal singh who declares crossovers illegal.

Thats what a healthy democracy is about, unlike in BN where all toe the official UMNO line.

its an equal partnership, without PAS, no way could BN be denied 2/3rds Majority,without DAP & PKR - PAS coould not enjoy the same political clout either-Its a symbiotic relationship.

There is bound to be posturing and haggling, thats politics, but what we should not tolerate is a corrupt inept government who blatantly abuse human rights.

UMNO will waste no time in spinning this latest move by PAS out of proportion with all sorts of wild allegations,
so lets not help UMNO in this endeavour.

written by Rhan, November 14, 2008 18:31:00
Would the non Muslim wing further segregated into Buddhist wing, Christian wing , Dalai wing, Falunkong wing and Hindu wing?
written by Motherchell, November 14, 2008 19:36:00
Datuk Kamaruddin Jaafar, Great job! keep up your good work ! God Bless You and YB Nik Aziz.
Its the ones in Jakim who are the true enemies of Islam.. know why?....read on ...

http://sjsandteam.*********.com
written by Fuminari, November 14, 2008 19:38:15
Pas hav to forsake their own cage of tribal n religious fanatic doctrine n image before they could really move a big step forward.
written by maisur, November 14, 2008 20:33:54
to binarytan...
please feel free to vote against PAS. if every non-muslims thinks the way you think, UMNO will surely win at least 60 seats (contested by PAS) easily. and you should expect equal retaliation from PAS voters. do some homework and please count how many seats were won by PKR/DAP due to the help from PAS. if your plan goes well, welcome back to 2004 era...and sorry to say, you will be the biggest loser. think again!
written by vineeth menon, November 14, 2008 20:59:09
Our people are still reading lot of MSM and getting crried away with it..
Few bad policy decisions are made by all the parties, irrespective of religion or race. It is, what they do in the long run that counts. Your prefer radicals or criminals.. Its your choice.
written by Sam W, November 14, 2008 22:12:48
In the first place, are there really people so hardup to join pas? Why don't you pas people go out there and get a life, and stop living under your coconut shell? Non-muslims may have voted for pas bcos they hated umno much, much more than out of any great love for pas. And certainly hadi awang betrayed us by speaking to toyol b4 even the ink on the ballot papers dried. So stop trying to be a cheap hero and claiming one up for pas cos no one's queing to join your club.
written by binarytan, November 14, 2008 23:18:47
maisur

We are newer generation, not the running doggies mca/gerakan that serve UMNO.

Silence with PAS ideology will lead to dead end and open up another pandora box. Do you mean Islam and Melayu are different?

We just say no to current PAS ideology. In case they wanna to win the vote, use their brain rather than asking the rest to accept their ketuanan islam ideology.

full of garbage.

written by InEffective, November 15, 2008 00:57:31

Appreciate the inclusion - good move.

But don't segregate our peoples - don't build a governing platform on differences, build it on common shared values, and beliefs.

The muslims would be surprised how much of true islamic virtues resonate with the other races and religions. (respect and accommodation of each religion's requirements can be achieved)
written by The dragonheart, November 15, 2008 02:45:52
Dear PAS,

If the non-Malays like most people in here have great distrust with your ideology, and bona fide intentions, I guess you have to watch your steps in the coming elections. It is better to fight the seen enemy rather than the enemy from within...

Some races in Malaysia still prefer to segregate schools by their races... how to develop Malaysia Malaysian like this?
written by Raizzen, November 15, 2008 16:05:17
Some people just think that because PAS was shown support by them, PAS has to heed to whatever they think how PAS SHOULD BE. How they wanna look at it.

But of course, this doesn't apply to all. Some rotten apples, they're everywhere, anyways. Simple minded fools.
written by What Nil Wisdom, November 15, 2008 18:33:50
A Dhimmi Wing of an Islamist party? Count me out.