Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Penang draws RM6.1b investments

Penang draws RM6.1b investments PDF Print
Friday, 14 November 2008 16:28
By Shannon Teoh

GEORGETOWN, Nov 14 — Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng said today the state government has attracted RM6.1 billion of investments in the first eight months of this year.

Tabling the state's 2009 Budget today, Lim said he would also be requesting a RM10.79 billion injection from the federal government.

"This figure is very encouraging compared to 2007's total capital investment of RM4.77 billion," he said.

Lim also disclosed the latest investment of RM1 billion from Ibiden Co Ltd of Japan.

The DAP secretary-general said the request for RM10.79 billion from the federal government was for "infrastructural and social projects to strengthen development in the state."

"It is reasonable and fair to ask for this allocation over a five-year period as Penang contributes over RM5 billion each year in payments, taxes, duties and excise to the federal government."

The infrastructural projects include:

? RM4.3 billion for the Second Penang Bridge;

? RM1.7 billion for upgrading the Penang International Airport to accommodate the Airbus 380 and Boeing 747 as it is a logistics hub for the Northern Corridor Economic Region;

? RM323 million to deepen the North Channel as Penang Port continues to increase throughput and capacity; and

? RM970 million for flood mitigation on top of the RM327.65 million already allocated under the Ninth Malaysia Plan for flood mitigation, river management, urban drainage and shore front erosion.

Calling Pakatan Rakyat's first budget in Penang a "Caring CAT (Competency, Accountability, Transparency) Budget," Lim said it was "pro-growth, pro-jobs and pro-poor."

The Budget projects revenue of RM291.743 million and operating expenditure of RM331.197 million. Lim said that while this produced a deficit of RM39.4 million, RM3.7 million more than the 2008 Budget, it included RM17 million for water supply rebates and RM8.5 million for government-aided schools.

Thus, he claimed, the actual deficit was just RM13.9 million as opposed to 2008's RM35.7 million.

The RM17 million water supply rebate will be in the form of RM100 each to 170,000 low- and middle-income families.

Lim also outlined a 10-point plan to drive economic growth which included two investor advisory panels for the industrial and service sectors to maintain the state's competitiveness and steps by the Penang Development Corporation to reduce the price of industrial land by 10 per cent.

In his speech, Lim also announced a proposal to reduce hardcore poverty to zero by March 2009 by helping 324 families currently identified as earning less than RM400 a month.

written by Observer, November 14, 2008 16:35:23
Efforts in development and eradication of poverty looks concrete so far.

Keep it up LGE. smilies/smiley.gif
written by cheekymate, November 14, 2008 16:39:44
Put the other UMNO states to shame. Soon, these states will wake up and realise that good uncorrupt governance is what they want. They will then vote those thieves out.
written by SocratesI, November 14, 2008 16:49:36

Congratulations on a job well done, LGE !! A Tiger Dad doesn't have a dog for a son ! Eat your hearts out, Trengganu, Pahang, Johore, Malacca, Negri Sembilan, and in particular, Sabah & Sarawak !! See what you are missing out on by not voting Pakatan Rakyat in ?!!

Make sure you vote Pakatan Rakyat in ALL future by-elections and the next GE !! Vote out the crooks and plunderers, called Barisan Najis ! They are already on their last legs, let us all give it a concerted push over the cliff !!

Long Live Pakatan Rakyat !

written by cheekhiaw, November 14, 2008 17:17:47
Investors come when the thieves are gotten rid of...

written by AuntyG, November 14, 2008 17:38:04
LGE - well done, keep up the good work.
Selangor, Perak, Kedah, Kelantan - can we have a look at your year end report card?
Other states - never mind, you can have room for improvement when you flush out all the NONO people in your state gomen, a.k.a. detoxify !!
written by Lim Lim, November 14, 2008 18:26:07
difference between a working government n a 'korek' government!tales talk but truth tell.
written by justinlian, November 14, 2008 19:07:17
It is a good move, hope the govt is goig to listen .
They always dont favour the opposition to do something better than them.
written by mikewang, November 14, 2008 19:10:06
I can see a hive of factory construction activities in the Penang Science Park area.
Syabas! YAB Lim.

We are impressed with and proud of the high standard of accountability you are setting.
If you continue in this way and not let greed get in your way, you may not only change Penang, but also force other states to emulate you.

Thank you for letting Penang lead, again.
written by KotaDamansara73, November 14, 2008 19:13:42
Penang have to be the showcase for the rest of the country to see. That a Chinese MP can bring wealth and prosperity to all race. Make sure they can win over the hearts and minds of hardcore Malays. Kick UMNO farkers out of Penang like what Kelantan did.

Then from there, DAP can use Penang as a platform to strenthen their party and defeat UMNO in all of Peninsular Malaysia.
written by novrising, November 14, 2008 19:42:31
TIGER DAD SHOULD BE PROUD TO HAVE SON LIKE LGE...AS I AM TO HAVE HIM AS MY STATE'S CM.......
LGE FOR ....PM??? HOW'S THAT?

PROUD PENANGITE
NovRising.
written by maverick, November 14, 2008 19:50:31
great work!

double the amount and let the other smell no smoke smilies/grin.gif
written by beijing, November 14, 2008 20:31:39
Hancurla UMNO, MCA, MIC kalo cam ni...tak boleh nak korek lagi smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif.
Salute LGE and DAP.
written by Ben, November 14, 2008 22:34:25
Hear, hear, LGE for PM! Splendid performance for first 8 months especially the FDI of 6.1 billion and pro-economic-social budget. You have displayed competency, accountability and also transparency. Did you notice the silence after your trip account was published? Not a whimper from the very accusers. Can wait for the other PR states to follow, if they can. Then we can realy see the multiplier effect.
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, November 15, 2008 08:10:21
I'm sure all Malaysians, not just from Penang, are pleased to see that there are actually leaders like LGE who takes pride in leading Penang to greater heights for the benefit of the people.

This is obviously great news compared to stale, mundane, counter-productive actions by the previous Penang Government as well as the Federal Government who only talks about growth but causes inflation in the end by increasing petrol prices. Although they tried but they are not focused to doing more for the people. Perhaps they are too busy politicking rather than running the state.

LGE is showing the country that there are better leaders than what we have seen. Khalid is also doing well. Mavericks they may be but their heart is in the right places with business brains to make things work. Politics aside, we need more of such leaders to move the country.

Hopefully, the BN Government will want to outdo LGE and Khalid and not be playing old tricks of politicking, holding back funds, controlling the flow of money, etc. Do well for the people and the people will know who is taking good care of them and vote accordingly.

Now, we can see there is hope after BN. This is early stage of the viability of an alternate government. Unless the BN Government can focus to do a one up on the Pakatan Government, there is little more to expect from them except doing the obvious and distracting everybody from the real issues. Take the bull by the horn and tackle the hard issues of the country now! Otherwise, the likes of LGE and Khalid will overshadow all Cabinet ministers very soon.

http://proud2bmalaysian.*********.com/
written by Davy McChester, November 16, 2008 07:06:16
Is this really happening in Malaysia? Cannot believelah ! How can you allow this example to take place. We have to call back all the English teachers of the seventies & eighties whose proficency were suddenly considered not on par when teaching English to the UMNOputra . Instead ,they had to been sent overseas in case the UMNOputras youngsters get confused over supremacy question.
UMNO has done enough damage .Enough is enoughlah. Best Malaysian for the job the way to go