Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow The Economy Sir, Please!

The Economy Sir, Please! PDF Print
Friday, 14 November 2008 10:48

Will the stimulus package work, at what price and for how long? These are raging questions that need urgent redress especially by policy makers that in turn must be communicated to all as to ‘shore up confidence’, arguably true as stressed by the second FM.

Dr Dzulkefly Ahmad (drdzul.wordpress.com )

After the winding up by the second Finance Minister on the budget debate at the committee level in the Dewan Rakyat today (Tuesday, 11 November), I felt compelled to write my 2-cents worth of thought on our economy. It’s only wise that I do it soonest after writing “Missing numbers in stimulus package” (Malaysiakini.com).

For a start, the news about China’s stimulus package of US$586 billion or RM2.1trillion not capable of counteracting the effect of the US-led slowdown and that the euphoric rally observed in the Asian bursas could only last for a day, i.e. on Monday, are indeed very frightening. The RM5billions injection to shore-up ‘undervalued stocks’ by Value-Cap, as instructed by the FM, flies in your face and how much quicker, you thought, will it dissipate.

Yes we have had for sometime now, a strong current account surplus, a trade surplus and a strong foreign reserve to support our currency. But despite of all these the ringgit has fallen to a level that does not match its arguably strong fundamentals. There is a lot more in finance that we simply fail to understand. It has weakened by 7.3% against the US dollar and is down 13.3% from its peak of RM3.1320 on April 23. It was quoted at RM3.560 versus the greenback on Friday, 14 November. All this happens when the greenback is being severely battered.

Some are even anticipating that it may trade at RM3.6 by yearend against the US dollar and lower still in the following year. Portfolio investment leaving the Asian bursa and making a beeline for the US State Treasury bills may not augur well with us too.

Many financial strategists in credible research houses are now saying that ringgit performance is, more importantly determined by decreasing international reserves, large fiscal deficit, falling commodity prices and the contagious or boomerang effect of global economics.

Frankly, many analysts do not see our numbers improving. On the contrary, it may continue to fall unabated. We witnessed our foreign reserves shrinking from US$116 in August to US$109.6 billions in September and very recently US$107.6 on October 15. With falling commodity prices in crude oil and crude palm oil well below 50% of their projected price in the PM’s budget, we are anticipating a huge reduction in our revenue projection, hence an increasing deficit surely beyond the government’s adjusted number of 4.8% in the new Finance Minister’s budget.

To make matter worse, the economic slowdown will see demands for our commodities dwindling as the global economy slows down and recession-deflation setting in. Similarly demands for our manufactured goods will equally be reduced as our trading partners reduce their spending. Our trade surplus and current account surplus will subsequently shrink.

Manufacturers will start to lay off workers as to cut cost. Already they are. The numbers laid off are distressing not the least are those retrenched across the causeway. All these will definitely have a knock-on effect on our macroeconomic parameters of unemployment and slowing growth which would adversely affect our currency and sovereign rating. Downgrading of our sovereign rating from A to A- aggravates our cost of borrowing and competitiveness.

Our NPLs may be as low as 2.5% (net) of our GDP as at end of August but that may soon reverse. During the financial crisis of 1998, NPLs were at 13.6% (net). More alarmingly our household debt to GDP ratio has hiked to 66.7% as at end of 2007, while it was only at 44.4% during the financial crisis. It could be a lot worse right now. Under inflationary pressures due to our own misdoings of hiking the fuel prices in June this year, the price hike in everyday goods and services coupled with lower disposable income, situation could drastically deteriorate.

Will the stimulus package work, at what price and for how long? These are raging questions that need urgent redress especially by policy makers that in turn must be communicated to all as to ‘shore up confidence’, arguably true as stressed by the second FM. We have to ‘leverage’ (bad word now) on both our fiscal and monetary policies to get our economy going on an expansionary or anti-cyclical approach. But could we? How fast?

Firstly, on the RM7 billions. Where is it coming from? Rightly from the saving of fuel subsidy as allocated in the budget of  RM21 billions. With the reduction in fuel price at the pumps, the government expected a saving of RM 7 billions. Hence no external injection, simply coming from expected savings?

But that’s not very realistic, because you could only spend what you have. But it looks like you don’t have it. Besides, Najib only conceded losing RM8 billions in term of revenue, while PR’s budget expected RM18 billions to say the least.

Will they be doing the obvious of outright borrowing, from again our national saving EPF etc, or raising bonds? If it’s true, say so and make it clear. Will they be creative to unlock some real assets of the government in term of securitizing and monetizing lands or buildings etc. But please stop cannibalizing on our national savings like the EPF, KAWP etc.

It must be made clear that nobody is in to score political points in facing this crisis. The entire ship is sinking. We could wait till we get to the shore. But the issues that need addressing are, will the stimulus package work? At what quantum – will RM7 billions be sufficient? In which critical areas would injection be made as to effect the greatest ‘multiplier effect’? Surely not in the Capital or share market! How do we encourage consumer spending? Giving them higher disposable income by reducing their EPF saving will certainly ‘shortchanged’ them later. It may not be wise after all. Are the incentives sufficient to boost private sector investment?

How long are we to do this? Will we witness an immediate recovery over the range of 12-18 months or a V-shaped recovery as economists put it? Or a U-shaped one, over 2-3 years or L-shaped crisis like one experienced by Japan for a long time?

And for as long as the details of the proposed spending have not been presented to the parliament, it may be pertinent for the government to peep at the PR’s strategy of facing the crisis.

Having settled for the strategic issues, the next is to iron-out of ‘how to make it happen’. Admittedly it is quite consoling to see that the BN government has finally heeded the critiques by many, to have open-tender system in place, especially for mega-projects and all. Enough of the multi-billions RM that was rampaged in various leakages and hemorrhages in awarding lop-sided privatisation projects, military procurements, mergers and acquisition etc, in a long list of downright ineptness and irresponsibility to say it politely.

But the proof is in the doing. Enough of lip-service and mantras- however religiously sermonized. The ‘ineptness’ of the BN’s financial and economic leadership have to end. Otherwise, the rakyat and voters would have to effect change earlier then the next GE. But currently every wannabe is engulfed in party’s election. That will certainly take precedence until March 2009.

The Economy Sir, Please!

Over to you, fellow Malaysians!

Dr Dzulkefly Ahmad is the Director of PAS research Centre and MP for Kuala Selangor.

written by DXB2008, November 14, 2008 11:22:39
yes, economy please....even the oil rich nations feel the pinch and yet we are immune to the turmoil....enough of lip service and those political rethorics, we need leadership that can make a difference, yes we can...http://1426.********.com/2008/...ealty.html
written by sydput, November 14, 2008 11:36:04
Emerging market economies are being attacked again by currency speculators,this include Thailand (since several months ago due to expensive oil imports), indonesia and Malaysia, hence the falling ringgit.
Companies like TNB should close down some of their power plants to cut its losses. What is the use of importing coal and paying for gasses when we generate 40% more power than we use. Shutting down al least three power plants will cut fuel imports and wastage and inprove its bottom line, plus reduce our import bill(coal).
written by SocratesI, November 14, 2008 11:40:24

The stimulus package won't work. What will happen is that it will drag out the coming recession and we shall feel it for a longer period than if we just left it alone while coming out with policies to keep banks lending and giving aid to the hardcore poor.

These despots in the Govt. are instead using the RM5 Billion and RM7 Billion to shore up the market so that their cronies can exit profitably, and that is exactly what is happening, leaving the man in the street to fend for himself and to foot this RM12 Billion bill which will ultimately have to be borne and paid by the Rakyat !! Vote in Pakatan Rakyat !!

written by clarity, November 14, 2008 11:44:58
The $7 billion is a sheer waste of money. To put it bluntly, the shit has already hit the ceiling and it is too late to study their concepts and spontaneous throwing of taxpayers money. How long do you think the stimulus package will take to show results? Six months, one year? By that time the hole will be too deep to climb out of. Better to distribute the $7Bto all the poor and working people to stimulate spending which automatically will revive the economy. Higher demand means higher supply.
written by Birdbrain, November 14, 2008 11:49:42
UMNO Melayu 30% equity!
Rosmah 20% commission!
191 UMNO Divisional leader's CUT!
MCA's share!

How to understand basic principles of economics.....macam tu!?

Cuckoo!
written by Lim Lim, November 14, 2008 12:15:18
NEP is synonymous with wall street n main street!
NEP means 26 millions malaysian from all walks of life are slotting out there for that mere 2000 umno delegates,191 division leaders n the Be End's cronies!!
n mahatahi admitted that wall street hav been stealing from main street for more than 30 years!!!
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 14, 2008 13:04:01
Do our "brilliant" Malay UMNO hot-shots think rm7b (around USD1.9b) is sufficient to stimulate our economy?
Sounds more like the money is just about sufficient to bail out or to prop-up some fuked-up companies belonging to some of UMNO’s crooks.
written by Compadre45, November 14, 2008 13:07:25
Errr ... As usual most of the $7 Billion stimulus package probably wont end up reviving our economy, corruption is high in Malaysia. This so called stimulus package is only going to make the corrupted ones richer. Umno knows their time will be up when the next GE in 2012 comes, so now is the time to grab as much before its too late. They are abusing and misusing the nations wealth and taxpayers money. This stimulus package is just another source to grab as much and get richer. Another govn approved " SCHEME CEPAT KAYA " for the one who implements, who supports to get this approved and those cronies to get richer. Its never going to revive the economy, similar to other incidences for past 7-8 years lately.I dont need to go into details. Can you trust a corrupted govn in the first place ????? Think again !!!
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 14, 2008 13:45:13
I am still very curious to know exactly what was happening when our UMNO government, in a state of panic, raised fuel prices by a little over 60% in one go.
Did some arseholes really forward sold Malaysian crude oil for a little below USD100 per barrel and was caught short when the price shot to over USD100 during delivery time? It must have cost some billions to bridge that huge price gap.
But like ALL (not most) fuk-ups caused by our Malay UMNO hot-shots, details will never be made known as UMNO government is NOT ACCOUNTABLE to the rakyat!
written by mikefonz, November 14, 2008 15:54:08
My 1 cent view would be we are going into trouble .. big time.
Only fools are trying to tell us it's otherwise.
They are not in the streets. They don't have to pay for the bills.
They are all fatten by greed. And all the above are using MY money.
written by Zapper, November 14, 2008 16:00:34
BN is always optimistic....as long as their leaders' pockets are not hurting. The rakyat's pocket...that will be another story. They are endless reasons and excuses if the package does not work.

To all Malaysians......please use you head and not emotion to think!!
written by Fuminari, November 14, 2008 16:11:05
at times i'm wondering why the majority malaysian jus couldn't understand simple arithmetic??
30% or more share on a 10kg n shrinking cake ??
20% 0r less share on a 100kg n enlarging cake ??
which one is more preferable,it is your choice!!
written by carribeanking7, November 14, 2008 17:35:53
DSAI says Najib's economic plan has zero chance of working.

Now this raises a good question..... Najib has an economic plan ?
I mean other than the drivel he reads out of cue-cards over TV3 & Bernama News.

written by nana tanjung, November 14, 2008 19:39:25
Dr Dzul,

I am impressed with your grasp in economy, despite your doctorate is in toxicologist. PR needs more polished MPs like you.
written by SID, November 14, 2008 19:49:18
"If those in charge of our society - politicians, corporate executives, and owners of press and television - can dominate our ideas, they will be secure in their power. They will not need soldiers patrolling the streets. We will control ourselves.": Howard Zinn, historian and author
written by bambolero, November 16, 2008 07:20:54
Come on Lah !! Look at the value of the ringgit against the USD, IF you travel only you know you're just like a begger in any foreign country. when ask they sais good for export, come on lah any fool can tell that if the value of your currency is low then your country is just like a Paria class country.