Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Police Warn NGOs Not To Challenge Fatwa On Tomboyism

Police Warn NGOs Not To Challenge Fatwa On Tomboyism PDF Print
Friday, 14 November 2008 00:49

(Bernama) Inspector- General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan today warned certain non-Muslim non-government organisations (NGOs) to stop challenging the National Fatwa Council's ruling that tomboyism is "haram".

He said such action could affect national security and trigger retaliation among Muslims.

"I'm warning them and will take stern action as it involves national security," he told reporters after delivering a keynote address at a seminar on Empowering Justice in Syariah Courts at the International Islamic University Malaysia, here today.

Musa said the recent street demonstration organised by non-Muslims' NGOs on the ruling was uncalled for as it could trigger fights.

"This proves that they have no respect for other religion because the fatwa was issued for Muslims. Why do they have to be the one to demonstrate?" he said.

Last week, two non-Muslims NGOs -- Katagender and Food-not-Bombs -- staged a protest against the National Fatwa Council's ruling that tomboyism, where a girl behaves or dresses in boyish manner, is forbidden in Islam.

Comments (38)Add Comment
written by Aizad 234, November 14, 2008 01:04:15
yeah! betul. Kekadang si pengkid yg ada berlagak lebih dari Jantan yg Jantan. But i believe in Rockin in the free world..huhu.
written by tenang, November 14, 2008 01:04:50
Mr Musa Hassan,

We are a nation starting to appreciate differing views, and we are learning it. There is no reason to claim that challenging a ruling is a threat to national security. Instead, those opposing voices are exercising their civic duty to counter totalitarian approach to nation building. Those so-called non-muslim organizations are not really made of all non-muslim if you check out the members.

At the end, if the initial protest voices are not reciprocated by muslims and female muslims, the voices of protest will just die down over next few days.

At this point, with the leader of the police force seeing the issue as muslim versus non-mislim, I think this is the last chance for female muslims to voice up. Otherwise, let's consider this as a lost battle in our long match to a civil society, and move on. Any muslims to stand up for the last chance before we move on?

written by michael chick, November 14, 2008 01:05:47
What oppresses ONE Malaysian, oppresses all Malaysia.

written by michael chick, November 14, 2008 01:13:05
written by Batangkali, November 14, 2008 01:15:32
Hello Musa Hassan, since when you have become the protector of Islam. If Tomboyism is Haram what about Coruption ? Under Musa Hassan police state, Use of C4 & screwing your own daughter is not haram eh ? What kind of Islam are you practising ? As a policeman, you better stick on your role of being Anging of UMNO !

written by Daryl, November 14, 2008 01:24:19
I don't think I disagree with what the NGO is doing but let's be careful about this especially after more than 27 years of division and lies. The misunderstanding and misconcption being lay by the BN must be tear apart before people can be more open and ready to go against BN's government direction. Lets work on one thing at a time and some NGO will always be extreme about their believes. So, don't let that small minority push us back on how far we have move foward.

God Bless Malaysian and yes even the narrow minded one as well.
written by Man In Black, November 14, 2008 01:50:41
Musa Anjing,
Since when you are give warnings to NGO...Just do your work (carry tilam up and down) and shut up...Corrupt bastard!!!!!!!!
written by RumahPanjai, November 14, 2008 02:42:05
Maybe Musa should just concentrate on protecting the public against the ever increasing number of crimes since his tenure than to bark up the wrong tree. This fatwa issue should be left to JAKIM. Musa is sticking his nose in the wrong hole. His warning would be better served if he tells his subordinates to act like policemen (mata2) and not thieves and thuggery!
written by Proarte, November 14, 2008 04:21:14
I had the impression free speech was a constitutional right.

When 'Tomboys' are attacked by a Muslim organisation such as the Fatwa Council saying rather unscientifically that they are prone to lesbianism, it is blanket statement which affects all women, be they Muslim or non-Muslim. As such, non-Muslims have every right to protest at what they deem to be an insult to them as well as the unwelcome attempt to encroach on their private lives.

Unless our infamous Police Chief is saying that it is not morally wrong for non-Muslim 'Tomboys' to dress and behave in the way they do and that non-Muslim 'Tomboys' are not prone to Lesbianism ? Are Muslims anatomically and psychologically different to non-Muslims? This is news to me Tan Sri Musa!

JAKIM, FATWA Council, IKIM , State Muftis are simply instruments of control. Malays are generally not confident in matters of their religion. The 'tongkat
mentality' so carefully nurtured by UMNO to make Malays psychologically dependent on them even extends to their faith. UMNO, Anwar Ibrahim and PAS know that Islam can be used to garner votes from the pliant
Malays and this they do shamelessly.

These 'Muslim' government outfits are part and parcel of this strategy of control. Such is their contempt and low regard for Malays that they frequently come up with 'gila-gila' edicts, comments and rulings which are pathetic and childish revealing the intellectual merit of their pronouncements or perhaps more accurately their own intellectual capabilities.

Malays generally ignore these religious decrees and get on with their lives but they do not have the confidence to reject these frequent encroachments into
their personal space partly because they do not want to be seen going against 'Islam' as defined by UMNO. The is also a sad reflection of the level on
intellectual development in the Muslim community in Malaysia.

The powers that be, opposition politicians in PAS and PKR, Anwar Ibrahim and numerous Muslim NGOs including the self consciously 'intellectual' MPF are really very happy for the apparent pathetic state of Malay Islamic knowledge and intellectual development because this gives them authority over the Malays whom they want to control.

God forbid that 'non-Muslims' should interfere into 'Muslim' matters as defined by these self appointed experts no matter how logical, moral or rational the
'non-Muslim' contribution is.
written by PASOK, November 14, 2008 04:58:01
Biarlah, let the muslims swim in their own mess.
written by zonefinder, November 14, 2008 05:35:42
The NGOs which demonstrated are non religious and were speaking out on universal rights. Musa is not wrong to warn against this, not because the NGOs are wrong for speaking out but more due to the divisiveness of our society along religious lines where there are fundamental Islamic elements who will take advantage of such situations.
The issue is the liberal muslims will be liberal only within privacy of the 4 walls and will toe the line in public. Why take risk when this country of ours are so blatantly using State apparatus to enforce compliance?
written by A MI, November 14, 2008 05:49:33
Tomboysim a threat to national security? Really? Or are you trumping up some fictional challenges just to round up some NGOs under ISA?

You can shout all you want about the supremacy about any religion but it is good example that will bring glory to that religion not your hard-handed tactics!

The country is going to the dogs with crime escalating and this guy is nitpicking about tomboyism fatwa. There are colonies of illegal immigrants not just Indons or PeeDEEArEM favourite targets Indian nationals, mind you. There are colonies of Cambodians and guess who gives them protection? These Cambodians masquerading as the ketuanan gang have taken over the textile business in the southern region.
written by oct, November 14, 2008 06:55:56
Hei Musa. If you said that those who demonstrate against this fatwa is a threat to national security, what about the millions of illegal immigrants in the country and those UMNO division heads who said racist remarks? Aren't they are a greater threat than these NGOs? Your Police force is only good at bullying the weak and innocent citizens but when it comes to rounding up the illegal immigrants, criminals and UMNO taikos, they are hopeless and useless.
Where are your priorities? Why don't you issue warnings to UMNO leaders who uttered racist remarks? NO B***ls lar!!!
written by alpha100, November 14, 2008 07:11:57
ophs! But NFC should be proffessional and not make general statement like "prone to lesbianism!" I have many muslim ladies friend who dress like men when working in office but are married and have happy family!
written by bexe, November 14, 2008 07:23:23
Since when is the Police empowered to comment and threaten people on religious matters?
This is totally unacceptable! The IGP must be put in his rightful place. Are we in a state of emergency?
Where is the Government and the Parliament on this?
written by Engineer, November 14, 2008 07:28:53
Arze LIna,
your right has been challenged by M Hassan.
written by fpkl, November 14, 2008 07:53:08
It is nice to read that the police is finally getting busy tackling significant issues. After the "deserved" pay raise they received last year, we had all been waiting for police service improvement. Well, that's it!
Of course, Musa is right in perceiving that such NGOs and tomboyish girls may be a threat to national security, and I am thrilled to note that they are getting his professional attention.
What I am hoping for is that when the police gets out of their air-conditioned office, wake-up from napping in their engine-running, air-conditioned cars, put down their cups of teh tarikh and speed up to arrest NGOs and tomboys, they will be stuck in traffic, unable to move in streets congested with two or three lanes of illegally parked cars, swamped by the illegals, etc. Then, they will have to address the issues we face everyday, and for which they are paid, by the way, and do something on their way to stopping the NGOs and tomboys.
Thanks, IGP Musa for your great, behavior-changing leadership. malaysia is proud of you!
written by temenggong, November 14, 2008 08:18:04
Is the IGP expecting the people to meekly accept any rules and regulations issued by any authority without protest? Is he out of his mind? Not only we'll reverse these policies but will shut down these authorities for good!

The IGP better stick to receiving police reports and directing traffic.
written by KotaDamansara73, November 14, 2008 08:28:11
IGP is a racist, religious supremacist and a Malay supremacist. The whole farking police are racist, religious supremacist and Malay supremacist.

Even if Pakatan were to take over the goverment, it will take some time to clear this racist bastard out. Because they are so entrenched in all the civil service in Malaysia.
written by chiongguo, November 14, 2008 09:21:34
It was the same old trick that Syed used to detain RPK under the ISA. He argued that what he wrote would incense other muslims to cause a riot and this is a national security threat.

Well the court judge, another syed, argued that the first syed was not a competent authority to determine if what was said was an insult to islam. I think Musa would be less an authority of what threatens muslims.

Another interesting point is that why are the authorities, muslims themselves, painting the muslims in malaysia as weaklings, highly sensitive, violent, unreasonable, incapable of thinking etc. that they have to protect the rest of the rakyat using ISA from these violent prone muslims in the country ?

Or perhaps more likely that these defender of the "law, peace and justice" bxxtxxds using this as a convenient excuse to flex their over-sized legal biceps.

The muslims in the country should tell these bxxtxxds where to shaft it 8-).

It is scary to note that our country gave so much power to one or two persons who never hesitate to use such power whenever it fits them.

written by DNA, November 14, 2008 10:01:01
Nowadays in Malaysia, everything you say or do will become "sensitive, threat to national security, provoke people, disturb peace and order and so on". Really can't stand it. The freedom of the people in this 'bolehland' will die soon if this continues.
written by Heaven8402, November 14, 2008 10:18:12
"This proves that they have no respect for other religion because the fatwa was issued for Muslims. Why do they have to be the one to demonstrate?" he said.

Brader, this goes to show that when one Malaysian is cut,the other Malaysians feels the pain too but we don't expect you to understand this. Only a person with A BRAIN AND A HEART can! smilies/grin.gif
Hello NFC,
Tomboyism is not something that they chosed or wished for. It is in their gene. Instead of understanding this issue in depth and helping them, you guys ruled its haram. Read more books, will ya?
written by Century Patriot, November 14, 2008 10:29:38
I am wondering why the IGP gets involved with the fatwa per se?? His domain does not extend to this area ie whether Muslim or non Muslim question the fatwa, has nothing to do with him officially!! Under what law does so questioning becomes an offence that the police can take action??

OR is Musa talibanising the PDRM????

If any demonstration or fight happened which is related to the fatwa, the normal police actions should follow, no big deal!! Don’t create a mountain out of a mole hill.

Pl get on with your duty as per section 3 of the Police Act and stay APOLITICAL and stop your talibanization of the PDRM! The image of the Force has already been badly damaged, pl don’t execute a coup’ grace on it.
written by What Nil Wisdom, November 14, 2008 10:35:12
(Bernama) Inspector- General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan today warned certain non-Muslim non-government organisations (NGOs) to stop challenging the National Fatwa Council's ruling that tomboyism is "haram".

Is Hassan a general of police or a general of Jakim? Then again, what's the difference? And he says that criticism of Islam is 'haram'. Why should it matter to infidels what is 'haram' or 'halal'? Oh that's right, criticism of Islam is forbidden. Badawi himself has said this many times.

He said such action could affect national security and trigger retaliation among Muslims.

'National security' or the security of Islam? Again, what's the difference? In Malaysia, Islam IS the state--no less a personage than Doctor M said so and Imam Hassan agrees. So it must be true, yes? And we should all know now that Imam Hassan isn't above issuing veiled threats, and knows that his fellow Muslims will not hesitate to resort to violence...and his police would not stop them from doing so. Just so you know, which side the police are on.

"I'm warning them and will take stern action as it involves national security," he told reporters after delivering a keynote address at a seminar on Empowering Justice in Syariah Courts at the International Islamic University Malaysia, here today.

Ah, doing what Muslims do best--issuing threats and showing intolerance. Classic Islamic values on display for all to see. Isn't it glorious?

Musa said the recent street demonstration organised by non-Muslims' NGOs on the ruling was uncalled for as it could trigger fights.

And any violence that occurs as a result will certainly not be the fault of Islamic vigilantes or thugs Imam Hassan is referring to, and certainly not the fault of the Islamic 'scholars' (haha) that issue these inane fatwa rulings in the first place. Any violence that occurs will be solely the fault of the kufr, and meddlesome non Muslims. ISA for the infidels whilst the Islamic thugs walk.

Other religion? Hassan means only one religion in particular, which need not be named. By 'respect', the police imam general means FEAR. You infidels should shut up, or else.
written by ASK4u, November 14, 2008 11:04:57

No Mr IgP, Islam is a religion and ones gender is determined by GOD. They are women first and Muslim second? Your interpretation is nothing short of a misogynist view. Equating 'tomboyism' with lesbianism is pure rubbish. If at all some Non-Muslims (which is purely coincident) challenged the fatwa, it's because the fatwa indirectly infringes on woman's right and should not be taken as interfering in Islamic religious matters.
written by capcomangel, November 14, 2008 11:37:21
mengapa sangat fatwa ni suka campuri urusan kaum yang lain. smilies/angry.gif
written by johanssm, November 14, 2008 12:08:29
Oh blimey !
Case of a pig accusing the other pigs as "haram".
Just came to my mind that this musa pig is trying to be seen as halal.
written by advocatusdiaboli, November 14, 2008 12:27:24
Looks like the musang has lost his marbles. This shows the credibility and the quality of our IGP. The crime rate is so high but this el-stupido is protecting a fart-wa on tomboyism. Hey, my wife wears a pair of pants to work too. So does that make her a tomboy?? Shoot the fart-wa council lah. This is what happens when we have 2 sets of laws in one country. One for the muslims and another for the non-muslims. Revert back to what we agreed on during our independence lah. Enough of this shit. We have to live as Malaysians not Bumiputra and non-bumiputras. Little wonder why Namewee sang Negarakuku.
written by Eddie Tan, November 14, 2008 12:55:33
if you watch Astro Ria Channel, there are 1001 things that the NAtional Fatwa Council can pronounce Haram.

Eg Sehati Berdansa programme.

Hypocrites!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
written by miwaki, November 14, 2008 14:52:59
Hello Musang,in Malaysia we can demonstrate anything,it's none of your business.If you do not like it,you can leave malaysia !
written by Apache3, November 14, 2008 17:18:16
Dei Musa, The Police Oath of office is undertaken to uphold the laws of the land as per the Penal Code and passed by the Parliament. Since when Fatwa and religious edicts came under the Police Act is a wonder.
GO DO YOUR POLICE WORK LA and STOP POLISHING UMNO B**Ls.
written by mountainking, November 14, 2008 18:32:47
Musa

you are good for nothing and you wanna talk about threat to national security? you are one of the biggest threat to national security bcos you can't simply carry out your job as a police, let alone the being the chief of police. i am sure your family and children feel embarassed to have you around. you are a disgrace to your family and your muslim community.
written by onnetline, November 14, 2008 18:42:19
ArseLina of Tourism,

Start behaving youself, ok ???

As seen, the NFC and that police dog is on your case !
written by TKAL, November 14, 2008 18:49:09
Sorry if my following question sounds inferior or offensive. If Tomboyism is fatwa/haram, how about 'pondan'?
written by Sabahfan, November 14, 2008 19:15:28
AND WHO THE FUKKKK is this Musa bullshit to say that the fatwa will only be applied to moslems? WHO THE FUKK ARE YOU TO GUARANTEE THAT?

maybe only for moslem today... i would be happy to let you swim in your own mess as the other guy says... BUT

tommorrow, your excuse will be.... VERY HARD TO IMPLEMENT IT TO MOSLEM WHEN NON MOSLEM ARE EXEMPTED.... SO apply to all....

Havent i seen this before... PPOOOOORAH lah u bulllshiter....
written by Areyaar, November 14, 2008 19:18:08
What is this man talking about? When crime is on the rise all over Malaysia, why can't he do his damn job and make Malaysia a safer place for its people instead of going on a rampage about tomboys??? He should shut up and do his job!!

This is what happens when people in power don't even seem to know what their damn job functions are!
written by Dongra Dude, November 14, 2008 20:22:09
Fatwa Council, watch out for one Tomboy Minister in the Malaysian Cabinet, she walks like a man, talks like a man, face appearance also like a man but dresses up like a female. So Mr IGP Mat Mattress, we wont stop if the Fatwa Council picks her up. By the way after your heart by-pass how come you have change of heart and become Ulamak and religious! The crime rate in our country has shot sky high. Stop become a preacher and concentrate on Crime Prevention which should be your priority one responsiblity now! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif