Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Can Zaid be a third force?

Can Zaid be a third force? PDF Print
Thursday, 13 November 2008 11:45

By Baradan Kuppusamy, THE MALAYSIAN INSIDER

Zaid has always shown a willingness to speak his mind on sensitive issues.

With forces in Umno pushing for action to be taken against him, former de facto Law Minister Datuk Zaid Ibrahim appears headed towards joining Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim’s PKR.

Zaid has been asked to show cause by Umno, a move that sets the stage for his sacking or eventual resignation.

Except that with the spotlight in PKR focused on adviser Anwar, Zaid might find himself isolated if he does join PKR.

If he eventually finds PKR unpalatable, Zaid has the choice of remaining independent and work to forge and lead a third force in national politics.

It is a serious issue for a bold, forthright and uncompromising man like Zaid whether he can really fit comfortably into a party like PKR or for that matter political parties that are usually dominated by powerful, ambitious and ego-driven individuals.

In any case Zaid might not exactly be welcomed in the PKR because potentially he might overshadow the likes of vice-presidents Azmin Ali and S. Sivarasa and information chief Tian Chua, who all share the same secular, liberal political platform.

It’s probable that Zaid, having been a minister who had the gumption to resign and shown a willingness to speak his mind on sensitive issues, would be another star attraction in PKR besides Anwar.

He would most definitely overshadow Anwar's underlings and possibly spark friction in the PKR if he does joins the party as is widely speculated.

Not only would the secular leaders be unhappy, the fundamentalist hardliners like Kulim/Bandar Baru MP Zulkifli Noordin would also find Zaid anathema and are expected to object.

These and other political considerations are going through Zaid's mind, his aides said. "He is prepared to burn his bridges with Umno but is not sure yet on his political career except that he would continue to speak out against injustice," one aide said.

Bold or foolish, Zaid has challenged the Umno power brokers with his stringent views on the need to bury the NEP, promote meritocracy and repeal the ISA.

Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has picked Zaid as his latest punching bag and unleashed a volley of attacks on his blog aimed at tarnishing Zaid's reputation by questioning the source of his income.

This is just for starters because Dr Mahathir is not one to start a fight and leave the ring without victory.

Zaid naturally invites retaliation and it is not surprising that the new Umno leadership that is taking shape has asked Zaid to show cause why disciplinary action should not be taken.

Frankly, political analysts say, Zaid is just too big and too bold for Umno and the Umno power brokers feel they are better off without him.

Umno insiders said although some liberals in the party are strongly against it, most of the incoming team is for taking some action against the party's most wayward and headstrong member.

Zaid, who joined Umno in 2000 and who was suspended once as Kota Baru division chief for "money politics", might be either suspended again or sacked.

It would be a loss for the party to sack a man once described as the conscience of Umno.

With some doors shut and others not so palatable open to him, Zaid is confronted by the one logical choice before him — to develop and lead a third force in national politics besides the Barisan Nasional and the Pakatan Rakyat coalitions.

He is ambitious enough, rich enough and national enough to carve out a platform for himself and not necessarily at the head of a new political party but potentially as leader of a fledgling NGO with the potential to grow into a movement.

If the venture takes off he can later convert the movement into another multiracial political party.

Zaid has the stature and boldness to win support across the political landscape much as Anwar was able to do except that Zaid is open and bold enough to challenge the sacred ghosts of Umno and Pas unlike Anwar who avoids the minefields for fear of losing Malay support.

Scandal free and not bogged down by the Islamic baggage nor the need to pay obeisance to the Ketuanan Melayu ideology, Zaid is better placed to lead the Malay moderates who have always looked for a Malay leader to confront the growing impact of Islamic laws into what they see as their "private life."

Inter-racial collaboration is a fact in the Pakatan Rakyat but the push for more Islam and the need to defend Malay rights is also a growing force in the coalition that is fuelled by PKR hardliners and conservatives in Pas.

The tussle between the hardliners and the liberals is a constant theme in the Pakatan coalition and one that is quite impossible to resolve unless the coalition sets the rule, spells out clearly its agenda and works out a constitution.

It has to speak as a Malaysian party to all Malaysians unlike the current set up where each party speaks differently to its different constituents.

In such an environment Zaid has the advantage to speak to all Malaysians with a common message — an end to race politics, equality and meritocracy in an egalitarian society.

There is firmness and clarity to Zaid's message — that the old order is dead and a new one is necessary — that is missing in the Pakatan Rakyat coalition which is a marriage of dissimilar political parties glued together by the skills of one man.

Zaid should consider leading the emerging third force in national politics.

Comments (46)Add Comment
written by DXB2008, November 13, 2008 11:49:52
Zaid should consider leading the emerging third force in national politics....but leave Ibrahim Ali out of the force....he is a joker and clown in one
http://1426.********.com/2008/...tahun.html
written by ROBERTNGTG, November 13, 2008 11:51:30
There is firmness and clarity to Zaid's message — that the old order is dead and a new one is necessary — that is missing in the Pakatan Rakyat coalition which is a marriage of dissimilar political parties glued together by the skills of one man.
Zaid should consider leading the emerging third force in national politics

ZAID, U HV MY BLESSINGS TO FORM A NEW PARTY AND PULL ALL THOSE INNOCENT AND IGNORANT UMNO GRASSROOTS WHO ARE FED UP AND AGAINST THE PRESENT BUNCH. THEN, BE A PART OF PR COALITION. THIS IS BEST FOR THE NATION.
written by Ken Liew, November 13, 2008 11:54:06
fear the worst..... UNMOrals will put him in silence....

As you know.... they will do what ever it takes to keep themself in power.....
written by Birdbrain, November 13, 2008 11:55:23
In any case Zaid might not exactly be welcomed in the PKR because potentially he might overshadow the likes of vice-presidents Azmin Ali and S. Sivarasa and information chief Tian Chua, who all share the same secular, liberal political platform.

Says who? Porah, Baradan Kupu Kupu Samy!, a dangerous writer who try to put in wedge in PKR. I think the two party system will work just fine. Why third force?!
written by Democrats, November 13, 2008 12:01:26
Zaid would fit in perfectly into the PR regime, the last jigsaw to fit into the big picture.

(1) LGE, LKS, Tian Chua, Karpal and the rest can never lead to abolish NEP because they are Chinese and will probably be seen as a racial move/discrimination and being "sour grapes" for not being eligible for these perks.

(2) Anwar, as charasmatic as he is, are seen by many with a hidden agenda, whether it be to realise his dream to be PM, or the punish or take revenge those who betrayed him before.

(3) PAS leaders are also maybe to sentimental or gungho in their Islamic stance to really be appreciated by the non Muslims.

So, who better than Zaid, who could enjoy all the perks of UMNO, a bumi who can benefit further from his race to come out and fight. Its not that he was sacked, he resigned as minister of principle. He resign as senator because its the right thing to do.

And if Zaid may affect PKR stability, probably he can join DAP like Aziz to lend more multiracial stand to DAP.

Never start a new party, its hazardous like we saw in the last election in Sarawak and Sabah where DAP and PKR could not agree to field a mutual candidate to cause a vote split. That is what BN would want.

Probably what the wirter wants as well.
written by truthbespoken, November 13, 2008 12:06:16
Zaid, like RPK, belongs to the same breed. Both genuinely care for the people's future and do not mince their words and deeds in advocating change for the better.

Yes, Zaid is going to be THE POLITICAL FORCE to be reckon with in future.

written by temenggong, November 13, 2008 12:25:25
Zaid, DON'T join PKR.

Anwar may welcome you but Azmin and the others will not allow you to steal their moment of glory. You can't go there now and steal their thunder. There is no place for you there. Join DAP and break the malay mindset!
written by Hockchew, November 13, 2008 12:29:03
Zaid should join the DAP because DAP have been consistent throughout the year. With Tunku as the Deputy Chairman, Zaid should be the future replacement and thereafter be the Sec-Gen and then the Prime Minister of Malaysia. DAP can then claim to be a truly Malaysian political party.

PKR has the largest number of seats in Parliament but the quality of MPs there is questionable. DSAI is the the current PM-in-waiting because we have no choice. With Zaid, we have a choice now.

As your article said, PKR may not accept Zaid and this man is just too big for PKR.

written by archie, November 13, 2008 12:33:10
Zaid is Malaysia's Obama.
written by ahmadneil, November 13, 2008 12:39:00
He can be but he must be daring.He' s intelligent and he must have grassroots supportespecially the chinese and Indians.
written by Motherchell, November 13, 2008 13:04:18
""""ALL THAT IS NEEDED FOR EVIL TO SUCCEED IS DECENT HUMAN BEINGS DO NOTHING…. Edmund Burke.

Zaid did not allow EVIL to succeed, but TDM and the rest did nothing. They worshiped EVIL to each ones satisfaction and benefits that came with doing so!!

http://sjsandteam.*********.com
written by evaangel, November 13, 2008 13:08:14
I will vote for Zaid anyday. He is not a man of empty words but a man of action.
written by panca, November 13, 2008 13:10:04
"Can one become more evil that TDM?"
written by JC Tan, November 13, 2008 13:15:26
"Zaid is Malaysia's Obama."

Too fast to judge.
written by panca, November 13, 2008 13:16:13
Zaid, as noted as a blue chip, is one of the best for catalyst for Malaysian! DAP much needed such feather to the cap!
written by cheekymate, November 13, 2008 13:28:47
There is always strength in numbers. The big question now is how do these numbers add up? We have an opposition front composing of component parties who appear to be split with niggling unresolved issues. As long as these parties do not reconcile their differences for once and for all, the UMNO led government will be able to find the cracks which threaten to weaken the opposition coalition.
We are all anxious for a whole new Malaysia to surface, but this must not be at the expense of a short-lived victory should we succeed. The biggest barrier now appear to be the rift between PAS and DAP on the religious front. It is time to sit yourselves down, lay your differences on the table, and agree on a common agenda which MUST be observed and never deviate. Otherwise, it is better to fight the remainder of the battle without extremist parties as these same parties will eventually bring upon the downfall of our victory. It may take much longer, but at least the remaining parties can then always present a united formidable front unassailable by our enemies.
My allegiance has always been with our dear RPK and of late, the YAB Zaid Ibrahim. To this end, I pledge my unwavering loyalty for these two generals who shall go down in our history books as the true champions of our fight for freedom
written by picadilly, November 13, 2008 13:37:04
You got it all wrong!

RAJA PETRA is teh 3rd Force!
written by educationist, November 13, 2008 13:38:40
Yes, Zaid's pronouncements are very uplifting.
To think that from within the highest hierachy of powers of UMNO, comes a leader with such farsightedness and vision.
It will be for the greater good that if and when he makes the exit from UMNO, Zaid can be accomosated within the PR fold.
But, perhaps as the writer pointed out , there are many PR leaders who do have that calibre of Zaid.
written by sydput, November 13, 2008 13:47:31
I am all for a third force in malaysian politics. there should never be another huge majority victory for any faction ever again.
The third force should be made up of sabah and sarawak faction. Unfortunately, this is not happening as the melanaus in sarawak and the muslim bumis in sabah are addicted to UMNO style of politics.
written by Ashleigh, November 13, 2008 13:52:24
Yes, very stimulating discussion indeed. Agree with Democrats on all points... A third force will just split the votes against BN. Zaid joining DAP is truly a great idea. Pave the way for DAP to become a truly multiracial party!
written by dumbfounded, November 13, 2008 13:55:21
What third force? There'll be two forces. Anwar is one. Zaid is another. UMNO & gang is not a force. Once the older generation from the kampungs wake up from their hypnosis, they'll realize that BN is not a choice at all. It's like being married to someone for 50 years and then one day find out that you've been cheated everyday of that 50 years you've been together. It's divine to forgive. But it'll take a fool to forget.
written by Liberace, November 13, 2008 14:09:26
Baradan Kuppusamy makes a very poor analyst. He reads way too much into the personalities and assumes everyone is a slightly less evil/egoistic version of the kind of BN politicians that have dominated malaysian politics for the last 50 years. He underestimates the desire of good men and women whose ultimate goal is to see Malaysia unfettered by the chains of feudalism. And finally, he has no idea how many highly qualified, selfless people there are in PKR who gave up the pursuit of wealth so that they can use their talents to rebuild this country. If Baradan is right, then let's all give up today. Fortunately, Zaid Ibrahim, if he chooses to join PKR, will not be the first of his caliber and neither will he be the last. As for his potential rivalry with Anwar for the position of Top Dog? Zaid is a smart man, but he's no charismatic leader. He's not Anwar and I don't think he wants to be.
written by deekay, November 13, 2008 14:09:48
Yes, Zaid should be the third force....but not in politics. He should be made the judiciary head to keep things in check on the executive (whoever is in power, BN or PR)
written by Kopi37, November 13, 2008 14:10:14
Well said Kuppusamy, Datuk Zaid is not only too big for Umno to take on, it's too heavy for the PKR boat which carry Zukifli Nordin, the scumbag of PKR, to sustain! Form a third force NGO power group is the most ideal plan in this uncertainty of whether PR could be able to solve the internal 'agree to disagree' undercurrent! Let DSAI unload his redundant bearing and thresh out his mess in PR first.

This third force can also join rank with RPK and more hope will be added to the rakayat with two musketeers sparring their swords and draw barrages against those bigoted, despotic and totalitarian predators who would trample our rights to freedom, democracy and welfare that we all deservedly entitle to! Think about it, Datuk Zaid...............
written by borneoman, November 13, 2008 14:12:34
dear sydput,i concur with you there.the melanau and malay bumi putra of sarawak need the support of their brothers in race and religion from malaya because they are the minority .they have been savouring the sweet taste of political power ever since malaysia was formed and find it difficult to let it go from their grasp.very undemocratic for a minority to be the government where the DAYAKS are the majority.Where are you my non bn Iban friends?lets join hand and kick taib and jabu ass come 2010.
written by palani, November 13, 2008 14:21:31
I sincerely hope Datuk Zaid will seriously consider joining DAP because it is very consistent with their policies. DAP lacks Malay professionals and Datuk Zaid's entry will undoubtedly garner support from the Malay community and the party can boast to be really multiracial.
I hope the leaders of DAP will persuade Datuk Zaid to join their party.
written by thelandbanker, November 13, 2008 14:28:42
Yea, join DAP smilies/smiley.gif

http://www.landbanking.us
written by joeawk, November 13, 2008 14:47:39
Maybe but what for when there is already the DAP which besides TUNKU who joined recently need more credible malays to make DAP a truly Democratic Party of Malaysia of all Malaysians.

DAP needs more credible malays as members to exorcise the ghost created by UMNO.
written by Bigjoe99, November 13, 2008 14:52:41
Zaid Ibrahim is our very own Ron Paul. He believes in UMNO original message like Ron Paul does of the original Republican Party. Like Ron Paul, Zaid will never be lead this nation because as a nation we fail him, not the other way around.
written by hiro, November 13, 2008 15:05:46
Hmm, I hate to pour cold water over any kind of enthusiasm that seeks to remove the corrupt from power. But I'd suggest Malaysians hold their horses on putting their hopes in Zaid. He's obviously benefited from NEP, and he never spoke up on this issue before March 8. What he's doing is to hedge himself to PR so that if BN does indeed fall, he won't be left stranded. But it'll be placing too much hope now for him to leave UMNO where all the money action still is. Despite his very encouraging stand on various issues, we should keep our eyes wide open when it comes to his intentions and his motivations.
written by jchantw, November 13, 2008 15:29:21
This here is one giant of a man. Datuk Zaid, you are one great man of dignity, competent and righteous. Can anyone think of any other UMNO minister who has resigned on his/her own free will? I can't. These so called 'UMNO leaders' are nothing but corrupt, incompetent and self serving nincompoops. They'll lie, cheat and back stab one another to remain in power. For them, self comes way before nation. Any reforms or proposals that are not self benefiting or benefit UMNO are automatically discarded, doesn't matter if they benefit the raykat or the country. Just ask the son of our former (and future) PM.
Bravo! Well done Datuk Zaid. The country need more people like you. God Bless
written by kksam, November 13, 2008 16:07:11
Dear Hiro, you are wrong, the truth is Zaid did speak up before March, that's why people question Pak Lah's choice who snub both Zaid & Shahrir for the election. I still believe that Zaid Ibrahim will leave UMNO/BN, and i hopes he will join DAP. DAP's stand is very firm, and they have been consistent throughout the years. Zaid is big, and that's exactly what DAP needs now, a great malay leader. I'm not saying that they don't have it now, but most still can't get over the race factor, even the simplest thing UMNO turns it into racial, with Zaid, perception will be different.
written by cubi76, November 13, 2008 16:28:28
First of all, I wish to stress that I am not a DAP member, nor trying to market DAP.

But I would like to share the call for Mr Zaid to consider joining DAP - to play down the image of it as too ethnic Chinese-centric - for long term benefit of two party system and sustainable opposition or future government. And Zaid shares the same ideologies as DAP's for secular Malaysian's Malaysia, which DAP has been very consistent in its standing.

Both PKR and DAP are secular multiracial parties. It's just that DAP has a biased image of being Chinese-based party, which does not appeal well to ethnic Malays and some Sarawakians/Sabahans, and of course to hardliners in PAS.

As both PKR and DAP share the same ideology, we should not rule out the possibility of merger between the two parties in the future. And in order to do this, DAP needs to reposition itself and appeal to especially ethnic Malays/East Malaysians. Remember this is for mutual benefit to DAP and PKR - a stronger opposition and two-party system - and reshape national political scene.

Mr Zaid should seriously consider this option, if he were to remain in politics.

For King and Country! Hidup Malaysia!
written by fireduck, November 13, 2008 16:57:01
There is a Third Force.

WE ARE THE THIRD FORCE. You, me, everyday Joe and Jill Voter. We are watching you!

And I think Zaid will do just great if he joins PR, doesn't matter which component party.

written by Zapper, November 13, 2008 19:26:22
Zaid...may the force be with you....STAR WAR
written by Anak Kampung, November 13, 2008 20:31:01
One practical problem for Zaid if he joines DAP is where to stand for election? Could he be voted in in Terengganu, where I believe he is from? If he stands elsewhere, will he be seen as a traitor? Things to think about. Otherwise I think it's a good idea.
written by justinlian, November 13, 2008 21:23:06
Yes, he is the special force for Pakatan Rakyat and he cannot join the Pakatan as yet...
He is the best to everything.
written by avj, November 13, 2008 21:23:32
The pen is mightier than the sword,but Baradan Kupusamy's writings are poisonous and written for the benefit of his masters the BN.His writing are crafted in such a fashion,that it looks objective on the surface,but his objective is to put a wedge between the opposition camps.He is a snake in the eagle's shadow whom we must be very wary of. He is a mercenary and will only do the bidding of the highest pay-master.
written by DontPlayGod, November 13, 2008 22:07:35
The Tun has been playing the race card during his 22 years in power and it is not surprising to see him hitting out at Zaid. But while appears benevolent and Malaysian, TDM is a racist and a despot.

I agree PKR has one eye on the Malay agenda, and they keep their pulse on the Malay rights, but Zaid is different. In this respect, he has overtaken Anwar as a true Malaysian and one that believes in meritocracy, good governance, and justice for all. I am sure our RPK can work with him. Anwar and PKR has to make some adjustment to their mindset to accommodate people like Zaid. Forget PAS. Maybe its time to tell PAS to team up with UMNO.

Malaysia needs people like Zaid, RPK, Azly Rahman, and many others, if Malaysia is to be saved from going Zimbabwe's way.
written by nana tanjung, November 13, 2008 22:17:05
The reality is Zaid is not popular among Malays. On fact he is very much hated by Malays in PAS ,UMNO and PKR. So, no matter how much support he gets from the non-Malays, he is not going anywhere.
written by shepherdvoyage, November 13, 2008 23:21:53
Che Det will not stopping punching people until the day he drop dead! The more he punches, the more despicable he becomes. Datuk Zaid has won the highest respect of the people, what has the Old Che Det won? Only contempt
written by tenang, November 14, 2008 00:36:52
Dear shepherdvoyage,
As much I want to share with your sentiment, the fact is Che Det has lot of praises. Just check his blog to get a balance view into the reality.
written by tenang, November 14, 2008 00:47:40
Mr Zaid Ibrahim,

I think Malaysia needs only two parties/coalitions in order to encourage the growth of civil society, i.e. a society where right of common people is supreme. All the third force or forth force in politic should be included in the PR or BN, have them sorted out internal to the coalition/party.

Many of us, including myself, have a great confidence of your views and world perspectives. However, to be a successful political leader at the national level, you must start from the center, not too far left or right. Anwar might not get much praises recently from many leftist (especially like forum here), I think he has found the center of the Malaysia politic. Given time, he will be on top of the nation. I suggest you join him, and excersise your leadership to stir the nation into good path starting from the center of the nation sentiments.

If you want to be the third force of non-political sphere, I think the need of being at the center is not applied.
written by Proarte, November 14, 2008 04:36:23
Why is PKR the only alternative? He could join the DAP!

Let us face it, can u imagine the likes of Zulkifli Noordin and Zaid having anything in common?

Tunku Aziz has joined DAP, it would be great to have more credible Malays in DAP to help it get rid of being seen as a 'Chinese' party.
written by mahendra5, November 14, 2008 23:20:12
Malaysians are looking forward anxiously to have aleadr of Datuk Zaid's calibre.
If he forms a new Multiracial Malaysian Party, he will for sure get 100% support.This is the leader we want and not crooks who are a shame to Malaysia.
People like Datuk Zaid, Raja Petra, Sdr.Anwar Ibrahim are all class Malaysians.
Hope these 'Great Men' do something for Malaysia. The Rakyat will back you up 100%. Just try forming a Multi-Racial Party and see where the BN goes.Make Pakatan to dissolve and make it into a ONE MULTI-RACIAL PARTY.