Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Robespierre on freedom of the press

Robespierre on freedom of the press PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 13 November 2008 10:22

UMNO still does not get it. They are still in denial mode. They do not know what happened on 8 March 2008. And this is why UMNO will die.

“The law must be founded on principle,” said Robespierre on 7 April 1791 while addressing the Jacobin Club in Paris, France. “There must be absolutely no limits on liberty. In a free state, each and every citizen acts as a guardian of liberty. Everyone must be completely free to protest, in person or in print, at anything endangering liberty. If, as a consequence, public officials were to find themselves exposed to calumny, so be it.”

Robespierre went on to say: “Incorruptible men, who have no other passion besides the well-being and glory of their country, do not dread the public expression of the sentiments of their fellow citizens. They know only too well that it is not easy to lose their esteem, when one can counter calumny with an irreproachable life and proof of disinterested zeal; if they are sometimes victims of a passing persecution, this is, for them, a badge of their glory, the brilliant testimony of their virtue; they rest assured with gentle confidence in the suffering of a pure conscience and the force of truth which will soon reconcile theirs with their fellow citizens.”

In essence, what Robespierre was saying is, when it comes to public servants, there should be no “Criminal Defamation” law and no Sedition Act -- two charges which I am currently facing trial in court. And he said this more than 200 years ago -- around the time the British first came to Malaya to colonise this country -- in his speech on freedom of the press.

Malaysia has a penchant for hiding behind draconian laws that are created merely to justify preventing “sensitive” issues from being raised. Anything can be declared “sensitive” and all it needs is one man -- a minister, a police officer, etc. -- to declare a certain matter as “sensitive”. There need not be any grounds, much less reasonable grounds, offered to support the classification of that particular matter as “sensitive”. One man's personal opinion is good enough.

This puts too much power in the hands of one man. This man becomes the “trustee” or conscience of the nation. What he says goes and is final. His word is indisputable and unchallengeable. And the fact that it is merely his personal opinion appears lost to most.

If this is beginning to sound like the characteristics and qualities of God then this is certainly no coincidence. The person with this power to declare anything he does not like as “sensitive” is certainly playing God. And what more when he actually believes that he is second to God.

Syed Ali Alhabshee has taken MCA to task with regards to its comments on the Malays and the NEP. “The MCA assembly is not an arena to vent one's anger or to provoke the Malays,” said Syed Ali, the UMNO Cheras division chief. Why is it when anyone talks about the NEP it is interpreted as “provoking the Malays”? “Provoking” means asking for trouble. But this is how UMNO sees it when anyone talks about the NEP: you are asking for a fight.

The UMNO Bera division chief, Ismail Sabri Yaakob, wants the Gerakan Wanita Chief, Tan Lian Hoe, sacked from her party for allegedly saying that Malays are also immigrants, just like all the other races. Hello, brader, is that not so? Why get so hot and bothered about what is true? Many Malays are only second or third generation Malaysians. Their parents were born in India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Indonesia, the Middle East, etc. Tun Dr. Mahathir and Khir Toyo, amongst but just two, are cases in point.

Anyway, where is the spirit of allowing for freedom of speech? What is so wrong in expressing your opinion? Aren't we entitled to our opinions even if it may be wrong? This is what is wrong with UMNO and the government. They stifle freedom of expression. They regard it as provoking the Malays. They want you sacked and detained under the Internal Security Act if you speak your mind.

UMNO talks about the “Social Contract”. This is what Rousseau said in his “SOCIAL CONTRACT”. “All men and groups in positions of power have an interest apart from that of the people.” That was Rousseau's interpretation of the “Social Contract”. And that, too, is UMNO's version of the so-called “Social Contract” -- it means that those in power are looking after their own interests and not the interests of the rakyat.

And this is why the NEP has failed. The Malay “immigrants” abuse the NEP for their own benefit. The people do not really benefit. The gap between the haves and the have-nots has in fact widened. Do we really need a NEP that allows a minority in power to get rich at the expense of the majority?

In time, there will emerge a new struggle in Malaysia. And no, it will not be a racial affair. It is going to be a class struggle. It is going to be a clash between the oppressed and the oppressors. It is going to be a fight between the poor and the rich.

Salaries over the last 40 years have doubled. Starting pay, which 40 years ago was about RM350 per month, is now about RM750. But the cost of living has gone up 10-15 times. What used to cost RM3,000 40 years ago now costs RM50,000. What used to cost RM8,000 40 years ago now costs RM100,000. People can no longer afford basic necessities.

During my stint in the Kamunting detention center I asked my prison warders what their starting salaries are. They told me it is only RM800 per month. By the time they retire at the age of 58, after working more than 35 years, their salary will be only RM2,200 per month. What can they buy with RM800 per month? Before the middle of the month they are already broke. Most sit at their desk the entire duration of their 8-hour shift because they can't afford to go to the canteen for tea.

Those with families live in 900 square feet single-storey terrace houses which cost them RM60,000 plus. They shall still be paying the installments on these houses long into retirement. 900 square feet is smaller than the master bedroom in the houses of the elite. The common people -- the salaried workers -- have to settle for that as the size of their entire family home.

These things must be said. UMNO and the government can't stifle this and go on pretending that all is fine. The NEP has failed. The “Social Contract” is a farce. It has to be said and it must be clearly understood. The 8 March 2008 general election was not about the opposition being strong or about it having a better election strategy than the ruling party. It was about the people rising up in revolt and saying: enough is enough.

UMNO still does not get it. They are still in denial mode. They do not know what happened on 8 March 2008. And this is why UMNO will die. But it will not be Anwar Ibrahim or the opposition that will kill UMNO. UMNO will kill itself. It will commit hara kiri. And the present UMNO party election is accelerating the destruction of UMNO.

For about two months I was locked up 24 hours in a day and could not go anywhere or meet anyone. The only “entertainment” I had was to listen to the prison warders chatting amongst themselves. And what they talked about was very telling. They lamented about the cost of living. They grumbled about the cost of basic necessities. They don't care who the next prime minister is going to be. Never mind if Anwar Ibrahim takes over by Christmas or Najib Tun Razak takes over by March next year. The cost of rice, meat, fish and vegetables is still unaffordable on their meager salaries.

UMNO and the government has to wise up to the reality that basic salaries should be not less than RM1,500 per month. The poverty level should be pegged at RM1,200. The incoming government, whichever it may be that is going to take over from Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, has to seriously consider this crucial point. People can no longer afford basic things. It is not about politics. It is about money in your pocket, or the lack of it. And this is going to be the struggle of the future. It will be a class struggle. And no Sedition Act or criminal defamation law is going to change this. Sending people to jail is not going to put more money in their pockets. It will instead just make the people more determined to realise phase two of the “revolution” that started on 8 March 2008.

Comments (95)Add Comment
written by hiro, November 13, 2008 10:34:19
I doubt UMNO will ever get it because they are so warped in their little universe of money making and easy life.

We may have a little bit of good news last week about Anwar's case and RPK's release, but just like the start of any other administration, Najib is probably trying to start by giving us sweets. It WILL no doubt be followed by painful jabs. Think not that the medicine will cure. It might actually kill. And there's a lot of wrong medicine potentially out there:

1) half baked judicial appointments commission that adds no real value to the commission, and continues to give the PM unfettered power and discretion to make appointments - such as that which allowed the current CJ to get past the filter despite what he said about him bribing court officers

2) half baked Malaysian anti corruption commission that continues to be subject to the political influence of UMNO ministers

3) non-starter Special Complaints Commission when what Malaysians want is IPCMC with teeth, and public safety from all sorts of crime

4) continued repression with ISA, and perhaps adding to the arsenal - the draconian DNA Identification Act that is devoid of all forms of safeguards - allowing the police to extract samples violently, giving the minister unfettered powers, and cutting off judicial review

5) continued abysmal administration of public education system

6) continued wastage through open tender, and even with open tender - a weak system that allows some insider to communicate with the bidders to put in the right amounts to get approval - and weak after tender enforcement of the agreement - allowing cost overuns

7) continued harping on ketuanan Melayu that makes Malays weaker, makes Malaysia weaker, when we should be competing in a global market,not against each other

There is not much hope for change. There is not much hope to turn Malaysia into a dynamic, competitive, open, transparent nation - because the leaders hide under multiple insurance of supressive laws to justify their continued existence - if they can't even compete openly and democratically, how are they fit to lead a competitive Malaysia?
agree 477
written by tanwi, November 13, 2008 10:35:44
Completely agree but my view is that free speech still has to come with responsibilities especially if directed at individual(s). I praise your braveness in your articles which got you into your trouble but yet wonder whether you have sufficient evidence to justify it. For your sake, i really hope that the day you go to court, you will reveal those evidences and bring those who committed the inhumane crimes to be prosecuted.

disagree 16
agree 140
written by SCM, November 13, 2008 10:36:07
Pete, I fully agree with you that UMNO is committing hara-kiri. I just hope they will speed up the process though because for each year delayed, the rakyat losses billions more of our wealth.
agree 206
written by mamak, November 13, 2008 10:42:50
pete.
actually they get it.
they knew it very well.
they simply don't care,
they only care about their pocket.
agree 301
written by educationist, November 13, 2008 10:48:01
Very clear and lucid explanation of the illusions of the UMNOputras.
This is why they trying all means to silence RPK.
In the meantime we have PAS also trying to outdo UMNO in the ketuanan Melayu issue rather been more concerned about transparency and good governance, trying to uplift the economic welfare of those left behind vy the abuse of the NEP , irrespective of race.
written by Birdbrain, November 13, 2008 10:48:23
UMNO is in a state of denial!
UMNO leader is inheriting an organization full of parasites!
UMNO divisional leaders are trying to be the little rajas in their own division!
UMNO has not learn their lesson well!

You're right,my learned RPK. UMNO will self disintegrate! UMNO is not the UMNO it used to be. UMNO is very sick!

The people has not given up on UMNO but UMNO memebers has given up on themselves!
written by techgeek, November 13, 2008 10:49:15
RPK, I wholeheartedly agree with you. As much as I hate the corrupt police officers, I do pity them as they have to deal with the worst of mankind, at a monthly salary that is a pittance. The higher-ups are the ones who are pocketing everything, sucking up to politicians who can promote them even to the post of IGP. It never ceases to amaze me how coincidental it might be that two jokers who were intricately involved in Anwar's sodomy trial many years ago are now holding the highest office in their respective careers. I suppose that's their worldly reward for selling their souls to the devil.

But back to what you were saying. I am very disappointed that UMNO, through BN (and their dogs in MCA, MIC) will continue to rule this country. Even if they lose Peninsular states, they will, through their Jerrymandering in East Malaysia ensure victory in Parliament, like what they did earlier this year. Being chinese, I'm ashamed that MCA has continued to live off the scraps that fall from the UMNO table. Those white-clad politicians are the lowest life forms imaginable, helping the corrupt rip off all hardworking Malaysians.

UMNO will die? Maybe. But unless we the rakyat can wipe out the BN totally in the next general elections, I fear that very soon, an immoral, dirty, despicable human will run this country into the ground.
agree 148
written by malaysianohope, November 13, 2008 10:52:34

Umno is what it is today was largely due to Chedet's doings during his 22 years of rule. The daily infightings, use of draconians detentions against dessents are all symtoms of a dying party. It's just the people behind it are still in a state of denial, as rightly pointed out by Abang.
Perhaps we need another general election to put a lid into the dustbin of history for Umno.
written by Ken Liew, November 13, 2008 10:54:37
i miss NO HOLDS BARRED so much...
written by dumbfounded, November 13, 2008 10:56:15
It's sad how things have become. That our grandfathers fought for independence only to have pirates take over. If only they knew. I would have gotten down on my knees and pleaded with them to stay.
written by ROBERTNGTG, November 13, 2008 11:03:59
The law must be founded on principle,” said Robespierre on 7 April 1791 while addressing the Jacobin Club in Paris, France

RPK'S SECOND SALVO. THE AMENO GOONS WILL PROBABLY SAY THIS GUY ROBESPIERRE IS NOT A MUSLIM AND, AS SUCH, HIS WORDS DO NOT MEAN ANYTHING HERE IN BOLEHLAND

written by IbnAbdHalim, November 13, 2008 11:09:50
They got it but they are in denial mode so as to fulfill their desire for riches at the expense of the rakyat. The rakyat can rot and they couldn't care a damn. That is their true colours. That is the very reason why UMNO must be sent to hell. The sooner the better. And let's pray that it will materialize this December.
written by sydput, November 13, 2008 11:10:50
Malaysia is a country divided, not by race, but by language. The most liberal are the ones that speak english as their "mother tongue".
RPK observance of the lowly paid is true. One of the reason why crime is rampant is that cops are paid off to release criminals caught in the act, just like illegals are asked for money if they wish to escape detention. Reason is, if the cops arrest the criminals, then it will be the prosecutors, who will then benefit from releasing the criminals by getting paid to lose the case. Asking rate from prosecutors to lose cases for drug offence(death penalty) is RM60k for bumis two years ago. If caught in possesion of drugs under police custody, it is RM5k for release if minor offence (small quantity) for non-bumis about 8 years ago. These are stories you hear everyday from relatives and friends.
written by truthbespoken, November 13, 2008 11:30:59
Quote: "Anything can be declared “sensitive” and all it needs is one man -- a minister, a police officer, etc. -- to declare a certain matter as “sensitive”.This man becomes the “trustee” or conscience of the nation. What he says goes and is final. His word is indisputable and unchallengeable. And the fact that it is merely his personal opinion appears lost to most".

But the worse part of it all, the "trustee"'s conscience is always twisted and sectarian in nature!. Time will bring out the truth among true Malaysians and UMNO will fall in good time!
written by Wisdom above, November 13, 2008 11:36:15
A very explicit and clear exposition of facts and life necessities.

"People can no longer afford basic things. It is not about politics. It is about money in your pocket, or the lack of it. And this is going to be the struggle of the future. It will be a class struggle."

There was " A Silence in Heaven " during the Candlelight-Vigil on 9-11-2008.

I was wrong. It look like UMNo & BN will not only just fade away !

What you said " UMNo will kill itself. It will commit hara kiri " sound more realistic & probable.

Let's continue to fast and pray for Wisdom, Peace and Tranquility to prevail.

Let's continue to campaign to " RELEASE all ISA detainees & ABOLISH ISA NOW!"

My salute to all Peacemakers.
written by tcng, November 13, 2008 11:37:05
UMNO will do whatever it takes to stay in power. If they lost power, many of the leaders and their family members and crony would end up the same fate as ex-president of Taiwan.

It would not be easy to unseat incumbant, especially UMNO.
Why ? Most of the Malay masses had been 'druged'/indoctrinated/intoxicated by the "Immigrant-half/pseudo-Malay Umno leaders" . They will continue to support UMNO blindly.

I would not be surprise if UMNO will continue to rule for the next 20 years..
written by Compadre45, November 13, 2008 11:37:56
What can we expect when UMNO goon are pirates and bandits for all these 25 years and they need the press and media to make themselves look good to continue going about robbing the nation and the rakyats. Controlling the press was always BN's way to make all of us blind and stupid to continue their nonsense, especially with the rural and kampung areas to gain support. Now they are even trying to control internet media and blogs but still unsuccessful. To hell with them anyway !!!!
written by SamSan, November 13, 2008 11:46:48
As long as the country is run by corrupt idiots and scumbags,God bless Malaysia.
written by arazak, November 13, 2008 11:50:21
“Before the middle of the month they are already broke. Most sit at their desk the entire duration of their 8-hour shift because they can't afford to go to the canteen for tea.”
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Well what Pete is saying is on the lives of Government servant. . ., those people who serve their UMNO Masters. But such terrible things also do happen for people working in the private sectors. I have posted quite sometimes ago about a Bank’s teller working in the Jalan Melaka/Lebuh Ampang area who could not afford to eat a decent lunch of “nasi campur”. If he had some money, his lunch would be 3 pieces of the 50 sen a piece “verdeh” (deep fried mixture of lentil and flour). You can find those plenty along Jalan Masjid India. It used to be a “snack” to most of us. But now it has become a “staple” food for some middle income white collar workers!

The recent study also showed that the majority of the “hard core” poor, earning less than RM1,000 are Malays. So UMNO, tell us. . . since when have the NEP improved the livelihood of the Malay masses? The NEP are being used none other than to line the pockets of UMNO regime leaders. The NEP is none other than a license for UMNO to craft and engineer wholesale looting of the peoples’ money!

Pete is right. . ., the people have had enough of these!
written by Kunta Kinte, November 13, 2008 11:54:18
I just love it when you write. My only concern is if any of this UMNO/BN people will ever understand anything that you write. Can they even think what more understand your articles?
written by gorshan, November 13, 2008 11:57:57
whether umno or bn same story of the corpse that refused to believe its dead.it meets every attempts to bury it by clawing its way out of the grave every time. " i m not done yet!!!!" but every one present only wants to whack it on the skull with a spade. creepy. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by cheemengwong, November 13, 2008 11:59:15
There is this Toyol who is more interested in getting selangor politician arrested than being a good opposition leader to help the raayat.

During his tenure, he has done absolutely nothing!

Also wants to be among the elite in UMNO! Ridiculous. No thinking kah?
written by hakuna, November 13, 2008 12:02:34
Pete - you are right but you failed to include MCA,MIC, Gerakan,etc - they are all in it too.
UMNO just throws them the bones and they go scurrying after it.
The whole nation is in this state not only because of UMNO but the whole BN component parties.
MONEY is GOD to these people and they will sell their souls for it.
written by froggy, November 13, 2008 12:15:20
Oh how I wish I am part of the elite stock…

http://thedandelions.wordpress...ite-stock/
written by Jit Dharma, November 13, 2008 12:16:42
Umno is trying hard to frighten the people into going back to the old days. But
that is not going to happen. So they will have to disappear.
written by densemy, November 13, 2008 12:25:17
"What is so wrong in expressing your opinion?"

What is wrong is that Malaysians are allergic to the truth, to honesty and to any form of criticism

So the whole county lives on a diet of lies and deception.. religions lie to everyone, government lies to everyone, everyone lies to each other... parents lie to their children and schools lie to children.

The reason: Malaysians on the whole are ego driven inadequate people and the only way they can cover their inadequecies is through lying and doing anything no matter how underhand to 'save face"

While this regime stays in power there will never be freedom of speech...

This is not a problem unique to UMNO or any other political party. This is a problem unique to Malaysia

written by kennyeu, November 13, 2008 12:26:14
Someone told me recently that the salaries for Filipino maids has been increased to RM1200 per month. Of course this is not including food and boarding which is also provided by the employer so their real salaries should be about RM1700 per month.

Does a Filipino maid have greater skills or contribute more to Malaysia than the government servants who work under UMNO who earn RM800 per month? I don't understand why so many more foreigners are paid more than Malaysians to work in Malaysia in jobs that aren't particularly special. Why do Malaysians chose to work as a prison guard for RM800 a month when they could work as a private security guard for RM1200, which is being done by a foreign worker right now? There are choices out there and if a person chooses to work for UMNO at the very bottom of their workforce, they're choosing to be poor. Don't accept the standards UMNO sets. It only makes the common folk suffer more.
written by ahmadneil, November 13, 2008 12:31:52
I have a solution to umno problems.But before I give it to them they must make a formal apology for mistreating the minority people of malaysia.
written by adan, November 13, 2008 12:32:17
HAKUNA;RPK does NOT have to indicate MCA, MIC,GERAKAN ETC are in the WAITING LIST OF TERMINALLY ILL. THESE MOSQUITO PARTIES HAVE BEEN 'BRAIN
DEad'... POLITICALLY DEad AND BURIED with effect from 8.3.08
written by ahmadneil, November 13, 2008 12:35:32
umno problems cannot be solve overnite becos all these problems have been swept under the carpet for 51 years.To untangle these problems there are lots of sacrifices to be made.
written by teo siew chin, November 13, 2008 12:37:14
YM RPK is trying to help the prison warder live a better life - but he is the one helping to imprison him.
YM RPK is trying to help the police constable live a better life - but he is the one handcuffing him.
Those who lord over the land cannot ever be changed - why should they?
The change must come from the common people - but first they need to know how f*** up governance is, resulting in the rakyats' retardation.
Go tell it to the people !
written by Motherchell, November 13, 2008 12:48:56
UMNO is no different from the EVIL men did and are doing to this very day.

One is to shoot a person at point blank, or kill him slowly by pretending to be on denial mode or ignorant like what humanity experienced in a short history here.
TDM had all the opportunity to make that change but was too busy for his selfish ends!!

http://sjsandteam.wordpress.com
written by sampalee, November 13, 2008 12:51:37
The solutions is already in the scriptures of ALL religions and there is no need to reinvent the wheel.Why speculate when the key to freedom,peace and fairness is be found in the ONEness[Tawhid] of Tuhan.The idea of seperation must be abandoned by gaining insight to what is plainly revealed and repeated over and over in All kithab.Nabi Isa say know the Truth and ONLY the truth can set you free.Human MUST return to religion[any one as all is same in essense] enmasse for heaven to be on earth.To avoid confusion,there are no choices in TRUTH[Absolute beyond relativities and contaries]
written by angora, November 13, 2008 12:56:04
excellent observation of the emerging trend that polarities based on ethnicity will be dilluted and replaced by those along class lines. i guess if we join the dots up along this line of argument (which i agree with) then history will show us how time and again, the oppressed reach breaking point whereupon we've seen avariety of forms of resistance, from marxist style insurgents to people power revolutions.

to add to your point, i think what the ruling umno doesn't get is the lessons of history and where the country is pointed towards.
written by archie, November 13, 2008 12:58:02
BN-UMNO needs the draconian laws as an insurance policy to stay in power. Sabah's "fixed deposit" is not good enough as the bank may fail and more than half of the placements are in peso and rupiah which may depreciate in value.
written by hckit, November 13, 2008 13:00:21
I am sure UMNO get it from 308, but they just don't get enough Money. They don't care what happen in 312 or even december 2008. What they want is to grab as much as possible while people in Johor, Pahang, NS, Sabah , Sarawak are still blind , or don't know how to read Malaysia-today and Malaysiakini.

written by cekikdarah, November 13, 2008 13:13:05
It is not about politics. It is about money in your pocket, or the lack of it.

Correctomundo.

CekikDarah.com
http://www.cekikdarah.com/
written by clarity, November 13, 2008 13:19:04
Dear Esteemed Guru, How can umno kill itself when you are giving them statistics and advice regarding the poor who trying to make ends meet? Please don't give them anymore info. Let them continue to wallow in their mire of arrogance and corruption. The end will come sooner this way for them.
written by KweN, November 13, 2008 13:28:04
'Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.
Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.
It is our light, not our darkness, that most frightens us.
We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, and fabulous?
Actually, who are you not to be?
You are a child of God.
Your playing small doesn't serve the world.
There's no thing enlightened about shrinking so
that other people won't feel insecure around you.
We are all meant to shine, as children do.
We are born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us.
It's not just in some of us, it's in everyone.
And as we let our own light shine,
we unconsciously give other
people permission to do the same.
As we are liberated from our own fear,
our presence automatically liberates others.'
written by cruzeiro, November 13, 2008 13:54:11
Move over Wong Chun Wai!
BN/Umno has a new spin doctor (drum roll, please..)
Here's the author of 66 books
- Mansur Puteh - in the Opinions column of StarOnline:-

Wednesday November 12, 2008
Respect wishes of the majority

I FIND it disconcerting that a small group of individuals are now fashioning themselves as the conscience of society.

It is disturbing how they can be so brash and so confident with their beliefs when they know their own version of things may not be what the majority shares.

Ultimately, the Government of the day has the “right of way” and should be respected for whatever action they take.

The parties which lost in the general elections must then go into hibernation and wait till the next general election or by-elections, if they are lucky, so that they can voice out whatever reservations they may have on issues of public concern.

The democratic process does not involve voicing out views and opinions from the streets.

Those who are in the opposition must take their grouses to the parliament as this is the only space they have been offered by those who had voted for them.

They do not take part in the political process but appear in the periphery and sit mostly on their high horse making judgments on anything, especially the freedom of speech and expression and the Internal Security Act (ISA).

Take a look at other countries and we can see how their opposition parties lie low after losing in the elections; they only wake up to campaign and promote their views when there is a by-election or at the next general election.

They do not go around the country instigating people as if members of the public and voters do not have a brain and mind of their own and that they have to be convinced and even forced to accept the views or judgment of others.

It is well and good for some of them to offer their unsolicited views on anything including religion, but this is about all that they can do.

They should not go beyond it by launching any campaign to drum up support for their actions.

If they continue to organise road shows and even candlelight vigils all over the city, then they can be said to be totally inconsiderate.

They can be allowed to wear a tee-shirt with their propaganda, but they cannot go beyond that or they can be said to be totally unreasonable and undemocratic.

The ISA is not for any individual to determine whether it is useful or necessary for the country; it is for the majority and not any group of individuals to say that it is not necessary.

If indeed a decision on it must be made, it should be in the form of a referendum so that the whole country can make a final decision on it.

In this regard, I pity Datuk Zaid Ibrahim who seems to be too conceited with his personal feelings and views on the ISA which he thinks ought to be abolished.

I respect his views and feelings, but he should also be brave and reasonable enough to respect the views and feelings of the rest of the country and especially of the Government that has been voted in by the majority.

MANSOR PUTEH,
Cheras, Selangor.
disagree 89
written by Traveller2020, November 13, 2008 14:01:42
Welcome back RPK,
You know , according to the Malaysian Insider, Datuk Zaid Ibrahim may now be considered the 3rd Force...and Pete with your above views...YOU ARE THE THIRD FORCE.If every single Malaysian is aware what is happening and values the future of Malaysia should not be in the hands of corrupted politicians using the ISA to serve their evil designs, then with people like your lawyer and Datuk Zaid Ibrahim are the new social conscience of Malaysia...you have given everyone hope that change is a matter of time.We, as readers of your blog, will carry your views across the cyberspace and unite all Malaysians under the Third Force.
A Third Force which is free from political leaning but representing the sentiments of Malaysians today is a more powerful force than BN or Barisan Rakyat for that matter.Where PSRM died a new sosialist class is born , even in the global arena today.Many people are caught with the recession brought about by capitalist engineers and money spinners.It is about time the world all over will have to relook at the follies of capitalism.Malaysia is another example....capitalism for the selected few ...and peanuts for the rest of society.
RPK you have set the Third Force in motion and you may not realised it.
written by Mee Udang, November 13, 2008 14:06:16
Ya, life is hard nowadays. We women have to giv up lots of beauty facial & products juz to giv way to our daily needs.... smilies/sad.gif
written by smpadayachi, November 13, 2008 14:19:56
Hi Pete,

Welcome back, and it's good to see you again, and for awhile I did not participate in your blog for couple reasons, but primarily it's one word that echoed from you and stayed with me for the longest, shortly before when you got busted by those imbeciles. You've mentioned in one of your of piece..no point fighting with a country ruled by a majority that dictates your skin colour. Yes..those are the words that kept me away from your blog for quite sometime, until just recently I saw you had been released. Our Indians folks will never get their days in Malaysia. Syed Hamid Albar as well those who hate our presence in Malaysia will make sure we'd die without attaining any sort of dignity or noteworthy. A black men of African descent is going to be officially sitting in Rumah Putih, and here in Malaysia Indians are still kept under the thumbs or oppression of racist policies.

All the shouting, bickering, finger pointing ain't going to do didely squat to Syed Hamid Albar and his look like. In his eyes and the eyes of his look like we're nothing but the infamous "k" pariah, so why even bother stooping to an imbecile that does not think like any other human on this planet that has a brain.

The few Indians who still think the Malay racist policy is going to guide them thru their horrible journeys to have their kids and die in Malaysia, good luck, and if you're determined to stay in Malaysia, but please Indiyar Makkal the way I learn how to read, write in Tamil is not going to Tamil school, but ver a strong determination to self taught myself, and some very good Tamil school teachers who devote their time to make sure I don't forget our mother tongue, and in the same case scenerio for the next survival strategy if you Indiyar Makkal wants Malaysia as home..please do you outmost effort to teach your offsprings ..yes Bharat Matarbahsha Hindi. Malay language is not going to put food your table anymore if you plan to stay in Malaysia, so add Hindi to the list and make sure they know how to read, write and speak this important language.

Lastly Pete thank you for allowing me to say the following, I beg you peace, and I'm gone where my contributions and effort and needed the most and rewarded at the same time treat as as Sudeshwar Munsamy Padayachi and nothing else.

Bye folks it's been fun.
written by macanhitam, November 13, 2008 14:52:46
hi pete,
welcome back. your no hold barred is one of my most anticipated. as for 3rd force, your anti ISA support group is as strong as PR standing on its own. Like i commented elsewhere, i did suggested that you, Haris Ibrahim, the pro Bangsa Malaysia, Hishamuddin Rais, Zaid, and the likes of it to form a new party called Parti Bangsa Malaysia. You can collabo closely with PSM since they are not 'officially' in PR. The suggestion does not mean that PR is doing bad. I'm suggesting this as i find PR coaltion is sometimes rock with certain quarters of UMNO minded PAS or PKR members behaving 'dangerously'. Your party could counter any 'anomalies' that is likely to happen if PAS or certain UMNO minded PKR members suddenly jump ship to UMNO again before the next GE.

Trust me Pete, if you and Haris and the believers of Bangsa Malaysia could materialise this, your popularity can easily win the support of majority Malaysians who are fedup with race politics, ketuanan melayu crap, NEP and all the likes.
written by 1351, November 13, 2008 14:52:59
Touching and heartfelt smpadayachi - over 50 year of BN rule, all UMNO the last 20years and yet still so much ingnorance. How can anyone with a modicum of intelligence celebrate and continue to oppress one's own ie MIC, lesser extent MCA and all non-bumi components - by propping up UMNO ?

Enough said, don't want any negativity in thought, today or ever. Just can't wait for the next poll to affect tangible change.

Regards smp, rpk and all.

written by panca, November 13, 2008 15:07:51
UMNO'S MOTTO is Who cares?

It's a money making machine politicking party. They keep milking from the Rakyat, Malay and Non-Malay and keeps playing sandiwara directed by "tokoh" TDM and insist it has to be the way he dictates. Where is the money the Malay must "QUESTION" UMNO on the money lost!

Mampus ekonomi Malaysia kerana politik umno yang mempermainkan isu perkauman, sodome, dll.

Rakyat masih dan terus makan nasi dan ikan kering pada masa kini.
written by kksam, November 13, 2008 15:26:37
Dear RPK, actually UMNO also don't care who be their President or PM. All they care is money. Give me money for nomination, give me money for vote. that's all they care, because that was what DrM taught them, $$$$. To them, KuLi is good, but Najib will be the one who feed them, albeit a mere RM200, they don't care.
written by borneoman, November 13, 2008 15:39:43
i absolutely agree with you rpk when you say umno will self distruct.i actually said the same thing to a group of friends a couple of years ago.I told them that no body can ever destroy bn except the people in bn itself and now its happening right before my very own eyes.hopefully this is the beginning of the end for bn and anything else after their demise would be most welcome.having lots of easy money without sweating for it can be extremely addictive and umno and its bn partners happened to be the addict!their principles is FIRST COME FIRST SELF SERVICE!
written by businessman, November 13, 2008 15:43:13
--------------------------------------
POVERTY DOESNT RECOGNISE SKIN COLOUR
--------------------------------------
Poverty happened in Malaysia because we prefer quantity over quality. If parents cannot have more kids due to financial constraints, then dont have it. Being a parent doesnt mean you just bring your kids to this world, infact we need to provide the best platform as stepping stone for our kids to excel later in their life. A family with 10 kids and with monthly income of RM 1200, what do you think of the future of those 10 kids?

This is the only secret of any typical Chinese family yet after so long Malay family still doesnt realise this fact.

Imagine a farmer got one bag of fertiliser and he uses it only on 2 apple trees versus he use it on 10 apple trees, which apple trees do you think will bear the most fruits?

written by merlin2001, November 13, 2008 16:01:38
In the newspapers The Sun TDM directly or indirectly called MT an author who writes nonsense.
Now what so you think of that?
Due to his age and reputation I will not go low to comment on his speech.
written by Long Man, November 13, 2008 16:04:43
Sending people to jail is not going to put more money in their pockets. It will instead just make the people more determined to realise phase two of the “revolution” that started on 8 March 2008.
--------------------------------------------------------
Can you smell........ what the Pete is cookin'?

rpk,
great to have you back... never stop fighting till the fight is done ...
written by Ninja, November 13, 2008 16:09:07
UMNO adopts a lackadaisical attitude. They are the most corrupted animal in this planet.
Mahathir has made his most valid point "They should be thrown in jail. That is a good way to use the Internal Security Act and not against someone writing some nonsense"
written by arankaru19, November 13, 2008 16:28:18
smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by zandi, November 13, 2008 16:31:48
Dear God, this is why we love you, RPK. You took the words right out of my head, my heart. Thank God for RPK...you seem to know how to look out and speak out for me, for him, for her, for them, for us all! At times like this you are our only hope!
written by Xerxes, November 13, 2008 16:39:11
'..It is not about politics. It is about money in your pocket, or the lack of it. And this is going to be the struggle of the future. It will be a class struggle..."

Absolutely. It is Mazlow's heirachy of needs. That is why good ol Harry survive and do well in the little red dot although his totalitarian and absolute governing style has not endeared him to many in his island state. Shrewdly, in the early years, he knows that the main priority of his people was food in their stomach and money in their pockets and he ensured this happened. The people could not care less that his was a guided democracy.
written by isa affendi, November 13, 2008 16:52:08
Excellent article as always Pete.

Ultimately, its for the average Ahmad, AhMeng & Raju to survive in our country. It makes me sad that sometimes we cant even afford to eat outside for lunch because of this really low pay.
written by Umar Rentaka, November 13, 2008 17:43:39
According to our constitution, a Malay is defined as a Muslim. As far as I know my Islam, the religion was given in Saudi Arabia. So surely, by this definition Malays are "immigrants" in this country.

Unless of course, they say that they are not Muslims.
written by mhwang, November 13, 2008 17:51:48
I have seen these so called leaders' homes. Their toilets alone are more than 900 square feet and their kitchen cabinets cost more than 60K (sponsored by some tauke of course). And yet they get voted in election after election. This is the power of divide and rule.
written by lamepug, November 13, 2008 18:15:35
well say RPK~

Those "NEP" or watever "P" are designed to make the people "HAMBA" (slaves) for life.... smilies/angry.gif
written by kuchibrat, November 13, 2008 18:50:30
I dun believe that the BN parlimentary ministers will bulge indefinately in the near future or ever. All BN MP are very very comfortable where they are at already.... Most of these MP's have invested a lot of years or even decades to get to where they are.. Most are very much ambitious to get as much as they can get in these 4 Years of wonder years in the political leadership of the nation. Its an opportunity heaven for any ministers to grab as much as they can, these 4 years will be the worst Malaysia will see corruption.. As BN MP are well aware that the next general election is uncertainties to be in power... They will nicely WALAP money laaaa.

That is why hopelessly, I am very confident that Pakatan will never be successful to get the MP's to cross over from DAY 1 no matter what comes out in the Online News Papers, or even say that the National Media's are questioning the goverment. Think logically the only way for a take over is a the majority MP in the parliment which requires a cross over of a number of MP's, and I am sure the Semi-Smart ones will only ask for a VERY large bribe and a very post to be given for the MP... Either way its Money Politics, which is still bad (how does that reflect on Pakatan)... No one is going to JUMP for nothing unless they are not getting anythign in BN at all... More after who would in their right mind jump, when a Smart MP knows that the dissolution of Parliament is in place upon the take over... Thats just crazy even for a layman like me..

However this takeover in these 4 years is going to be done is really surreal... All I know is that Pakatan can expect truly a good results in the next election with whats going on, if they can unite and keep all their members pants on, their ego members - powers within, their bribery offers ignored & etc...
Otherwise the people will be pretty confused in voting...

Kuchibrat Signs Off
written by sabade, November 13, 2008 19:30:49
It is indeed sad that both lawmakers from BN and PR do not have a solution to Article 153 without affecting the rights of Malays. It is timely that both BN and PR work together and come out with a solution that will benefit the non-malays but at the same time maintain the rights of Malays forever.

We must go beyond the racial divide in order for Malaysia to progress. There is a solution but it may need patience from the non Malays.
written by Loh, November 13, 2008 20:17:43
///During my stint in the Kamunting detention center I asked my prison warders what their starting salaries are. They told me it is only RM800 per month. By the time they retire at the age of 58, after working more than 35 years, their salary will be only RM2,200 per month.///--Pete

They are particularly unlucky because they have no side income. The policemen may start low too, but they can collect their earnings from the streets. There are a million plus illegal immigrant workers whom the immigration department may not know. But the policemen know them very well. In fact these illegal are the walking ATM for police.

The illegal do not have even a copy of proper document to justify their presence in this country. They have to buy the privilege of not being sent to police station. The legally recruited workers normally keep only a copy of their identification papers with them. But when the paper is presented for inspection and in the hand of the police, migrant workers have to purchase it to prove their status, or else when torn, they can be treated as illegal.

The million illegal may each have to pay RM 100 a year to buy protection. That is RM 100 million making its round.

When the economy in the country slows to the level where migrant workers have no job, and no family to turn to, the clash might be between foreigners and the local. Should not the government review its education policies, and the use of government positions to absorb unproductive and unemployable workers to end up as the most bloated government in the world? Should the government still play the role of head of households of the selected race in exchange for votes, and ending up destroying not only the economy, but the fiber of the society as well? The recompense of NEP is coming back to roost.
written by budakindia, November 13, 2008 20:28:03
That will be the best day in my life, when UMNO dies! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by jchantw, November 13, 2008 20:28:54
Tan Sri Dr Abdul Aziz Abdul Rahman, legal officer to the National Operations Council in the aftermath of the 1969 May 13 riot, and was involved in drafting laws pertaining to NEP.
According to him:-
1) The term "social contract" is something new. It didn't appear in the Merdeka talks and he never heart it used during his two years in the National Operations Council.
2) NEP was a socio-economy policy for restructuring society and eradicating poverty irrespective of race or religion. One can discuss and question its implementation. The government must have proper planning to ensure bumiputera provisions are properly implemented so they get its benefit, without interfering with the legitimate rights of the non-Malays. It was the intention of those who drafted this provision that the government must be just and fair. There must not be bad management or corruption.
3)"Ketuanan Melayu" is a concept that relates to the sovereign power of the Rulers. It means "kedaulatan Raja-Raja". It is not domination or supremacy but to give respect to the system of the monarchy. "Ketuanan Melayu" does not mean Malays dominate non-Malays. Every citizen has the same rights, subject to the limitation allowed by the Constitution.
4) Malaysia have a constitutional monarchy where citizens have equal rights under the law, subject to the law.
The Founders of this nation were very genuine, they wanted peace, harmony and to be fair to everybody
written by malaysian, November 13, 2008 21:34:37
UMNO has raped and plundered Malays, Chinese and Indians alike.

The majority live meagre incomes but long working weeks and long working hours.

But UMNOputras live and work in palaces built with the taxpayers' money and tour the world on 'lawatan sambil belajar' also on taxpayers' money and bribes received from cronies.

UMNO rather build another 'tallest building in the world' or 'crystal mosque', than cure poverty - even among the Malays!
written by Man In Black, November 14, 2008 00:26:04
Brother Pete,
Your articles simply amazes me man. A touch of class with so much thought and reasoning. Even when you a locked up by those damn 'bastards' you still listen to the plight of the same policeman who watching over you. You are truly a man that GOD has send to all of us here in Malaysia. My wife and I am honoured to have shake Marina and your hands. For that I thank god everyday in my prayer. God Bless you and your family.
written by cruzeiro, November 14, 2008 00:27:45
Robespierre did say all those things about freedom - however, without a rational people and sound philosophy to back it up, the french revolution resulted in plenty of bloodletting (which ended in his own).

Anyway- as you said Pete, it's about the money.

What I write now is a generalisation of Malays indebted to Umno out of ignorance. This isn't meant to be a racist tirade - I know of many good Malays who want change. The reason for this is simply becos Umno rules, and Malays form the majority.
However it also applies to many in other communities.

The sad part of it all is - the Malays think it's about Ketuanan Melayu, and insist on giving their support to Umno.
They do it even if it means surrendering their liberty and remaining in shackles - mind, heart & soul.
They don't seem to care if religion is just a tool to promote facsism.
I remember clearly one comment in this column (some time last year), stating that they don't mind living in the jungles, as long as they feel they are in control.

Liberty, freedom, economy, education, integrity, nationhood etc, etc don't seem to matter to them at all. These higher ideals are foriegn, greek, kafir to them. They just need their "opium" - religion, and ego.
They don't mind living in "denial" - like how some claim that "Tanah Melayu was never really colonised - only took advise from Brits". It is the same this that goes on in their minds where Umno is concerned - and they fear living without their colonial masters.

What matters to them today is, they get their pittance and feel they are bosses, while gawking at the high and mighty "cemerlang & gemilang" Malay elite or the concrete structures that apparently depict their progress.
What matters is they have handicaps over "pendatangs/kafirs provided for them by their political masters.
What matters is they have the ability to spite & sneer at those they are made to perceive as foreigners.
They just want to go on "living" the way Umno (thru BTN) has taught them - living on the empty pride that they are masters of the land, while begging for handouts (coming from taxpayers) and envying the success of others.

Even if there were to be a change of govt, there will be a lot of discontent among the Malays, should they not understand the reality they are faced with - and this would create a lot of instability.
In a nation of easily hoodwinked, unthinking, gullible masses and impotent instruments of state created by authoritarian rule, it is something thats sure to happen. It would create chaos in the delivery system that has for ages been controlled by Umno - and they know how to play the game of sabotage.
That is why TDM boldly says that race-based politics is still relevant. He knows that many (rich & poor) are paralysed without it. He knows that the independence we celebrate is actually hogwash. What we have today is a people who gladly enslave themselves to the elite for the privilege of crumbs - the sellout of Mahathir for RM200 is one good case.

A free media would definitely help eleviate this situation - however in the current situation, I guess there should be controls in content, where one shouldn't use the liberty to subvert it (just like some politicians who use democracy to impose religiosity that curtails it). This is an excuse which authoritarian govts use to suppress freedom - and it can only be done by emasculating the other pillars of state with popular support (as TDM had done).

The only way out of this predicament is through education - until and unless the system roots for meritocracy (with need-based affirmative action). Students today are taught to fear the unknown & feel insecure without their privileges. The students of today hold the future in their hands. It is they who need to awaken and rage against the system.
UUCA together with the ISA, needs to be repealed. Abolishing the ISA alone won't unshackle their minds or cut out the rot.

With a liberal education and healthy debate, BN would long ago have been history - which is why BN ensures "indoctrination of the educated".
This would encourage people to think about and accept philosophically sound ideas from various schools of thought - instead of seeking solutions and a safety net in race-politics, privileges, religiosity and mindless "God-talk".

Only then can the idea of freedom & Malaysians as one people take root.
written by Toyolbuster, November 14, 2008 01:09:05
For those who believes in God fears God and would not sin nor indulge in corrupt acts or activities. Mahathir embraced both. In fact, he believes he is mightier than God. During his years in power (or even before), he was the prosecutor, the Judge and the executioner all in one. He could even make a crooked bridge look straight, he could make an Indian man look Malay, sound Malay and convince all that It is 100% Malay. Try to argue otherwise, you would wish to be stuck by lighting which would seem more merciful. The news of his 2nd return sends shivers down even spineless souls. Friends, Countrymen, draw out your silver bullets, wooden stakes, holy water and tons of garlics.
written by ASK4u, November 14, 2008 09:01:55
Dear RPK, Your in depth analysis and penetrating insight is simply amazing. Reminds me of one professor of philosophy and gold medalist who had 91 Rolls-Royce in his possession and perhaps was the only man the American govt. feared the most in modern times, so much so that he had to be deported and denied entry by many countries around the globe. Probably, for your genius, we should give you the title, "The OSHO of Malaya" .
written by guns head, November 14, 2008 10:12:41
Sir,

Can you help Msians to raise voice / highlight this issue to MP.
Case of mat rempit (robbers riding motorcycle) with molesting, curi /rompak, pukul ; why never brought this issue to parliament and request PDRM to have major breakdown and operasi. Include this issue in Pakatan Rakyat first general meeting.

Reference:

http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/14770/84/

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/11/14/nation/2545937&sec=nation

Thank You very much
written by madfive, November 14, 2008 11:00:26
the rot in the govt or umno is the extension of our failure of malay race in producing quality breed. from the very basic of malay family and community, we are unable to produce reasonably well diciplined and educated, to be pushed into the system. we contributed drug addict, half baked workforce, arrogant, ill disciplined, academic failure into the soceity. these fellows are currently messing up everything. what hope can we have? who cares about rules and fairplay ? the elite are exploiting.
written by SimpleSoul, November 14, 2008 11:47:10
For those who believes in God fears God and would not................

This reminds me of a bumpers sticker which I came across and now reminds of Mahadicktator

" The Devil may care but I dont"
written by guns head, November 14, 2008 11:58:50
super admin,
since rpk is out
you may ask guys to print HINDRAF 5 / ISA detainees to free t-shirt.
written by guns head, November 14, 2008 11:59:39
guy,

readers don't just read only the MT articles but do also ***** on adveritsemnts so that MT can make money to sustain the IT infrastructure.
written by carribeanking7, November 14, 2008 13:22:34
Without doubt UMNO survived by playing up to the fear of the Malays being marginalized to the hilt,
and this fear is very real- in casual talks I have gathered from many Malay friends from diverse backgrounds from dispatch boy,
Architect,taxi driver, town council worker and the pakcik who sells me nasi lemak- they feel that as it is they do not hold the economic
pie in proportion to their population, what more if their political power is usurped, they will have nothing-
the challenge is however debunking this lie perpetrated by UMNO.
If Tun Mahathir truly loves this country he could do it, he has the stature and respect among the Malays to convince them, but he chooses to label enlightened persons like RPK as "writers who write nonsense".

Every general election they would campaign with strong hints either vote BN or we will have another May 13th even if they lose 2/3rds majority.
When everything was calm in the aftermath of GE12 they knew their bluff was called, they then went on to say the Pakatan alliance would not last 2 months,
when that too was debunked, they did the only thing they are good at, stir up racist and religious sentiments, it does not matter if it was true-just stir
road signs, scholarship quotas, pig farm, university admission quotas, anything - clearly showing desperation.
Protests were more prevalent in states taken over by Pakatan, by wolfish UMNO warlords donning the sheepskin of NGO's.

Then there is the fence sitter group between ages 45-55 who voted the BN on March 08 despite being unhappy because they were afraid
of trouble if BN lost its 2/3rd, as the new state governments expose more wrongdoings of the previous BN government especially in Penang and Selangor,
and the much feared repeat of May 13th 1969 not happening despite BN's loss of its 2/3rd majority, this group has become, disillusioned, brave and more
bold and likely to vote against BN the next round, the racist politics of fear that UMNO played up recently was likely done to intimidate this group who
have living memory of May 13th race riots.

This will go on indefinitely as long as race based parties exist.
BN component parties have failed miserably to be a check and balance against abuse of power by UMNO.
They share the blame as UMNO alone with 79 seat cannot form the Federal Government.
The best BN can do is follow Kuli's suggestion of a unity government by merging BN components into a single entity.
Then only can we see a viable 2 party system emerge.
Only then will racial politicking be curtailed, as Pakatan and BN unity government will have to woo voters based on issues, then we can see more parties that champion environmental issues , healthcare etc being formed.
If you want to keep culture and traditions alive form Associations, racial politicking in the long run is just plain stupid and retrogressive besides you cannot do anything about it nor is it any achievement to be born into a certain ethnic line, none of us chose our parents.

before this can happen however,the Malays must lose their irrational fear and stop declaring non Malay citizens subordinate.
The non-malays/muslims should stop labelling all Malays as this and that because of the actions of a few UMNOputras and get a grip of their Islamophobia, stop labelling all Muslims as "Taliban" and such because of a few fatwas issued by those who are on BN payroll.
This is deeply hurting and alienating Malay /Muslims who threw their support behind Pakatan.
Its easy to point fingers but it takes 2 to tango.
Malaysia does not need more bigots, we need peacemakers and lots of them.

written by cruzeiro, November 14, 2008 14:52:27
Vijay - you got my vote (especially on the last two para)!
written by bengali kunday, November 14, 2008 20:31:37
Vijay, I have questions for you.

1)why do most of you lot still carry rubber estate mentality. How does this fit in with Modern Malaysia.
2)Why have the ceylonese and Punjabis done well , whereas you lot gone backwards.
3)You lot represent less than 10% of the population, but what % of the prison population are taken up by you lot?

Once you have answered questions above, then I'll ask you more.
written by cruzeiro, November 14, 2008 21:22:01
To the Moron above,
Why do many need their "tongkat" to survive, take pride in being handicaps and shamelessly gloat in their ability to practice legalized robbery, while repressing others?

If you can answer this, I've got more for you ...
written by remielfl, November 14, 2008 21:33:36
West Malaysians forget that the Government majority voters are in East Malaysia. Here, supermarket workers, coffeeshop helpers earn RM200 a month. They survive because their families grow their own vegetables. They hustle at every opportunity. They scour the sea for shellfish & fish to sell in the market.

Give them, who had no running water, murky water on the tap is a great thing. Throw some broken tiles and stones on their muddy tracks and that gives their wornout tyres a few more months of life.

Little graces for those who have none is a great deal.

A small natural gas plant is better than none for over 40 years. Nevermind that the bulk of the gas will be shipped to Sarawak.

Nevermind that a coal-fired powerstation will be build next to Sabah's heritage, the natural habitat of Probocis monkeys and Orang Utans. Never mind that innumerable unique flora and fauna will be destroyed in the process.

Residents that were without electricity for the past 40 years, will be glad for it and will continue to vote the guy who gave it to them. Never mind that he will rake in millions for himself. So that his constituents will get stop-start electricity, soon. Better than none, right?

That is the situation, West Malaysians MUST understand of East Malaysians. They make do with what they have and are grateful of what little the politicians drop along the way.

Wake up West Malaysians. Travel to Sabah & Sarawak and see and understand why the incumbent government leaders continue to hold sway here. It takes little to satisfy while they take the lot.
written by bengali kunday, November 14, 2008 22:13:59
Vijay, Cruzeiro has now asked you a question. You have 4 questions to answer. Please don't take all day.

written by talk2stop, November 15, 2008 11:07:59
UMNO will never going to give up its power not in a 100 years. Malaysia needs more RPK. What I meant was with your kind of calibre more of a forgiving kind. The Chineses in China are yet to settle the score with the Japs over Nanking massacre. What about May 13? I am sure the slopes from Malaysia is no different from China. It is hard for UMNO or the Malays to give up power. I can understand that.
So the saga with continue....until there is no more non-Malays in Malaysia. Then the Malays will fight among themselves and life continue....That's the beauty of life.
written by carribeanking7, November 15, 2008 13:13:42
Dear "bengali kunday"

1) What I posted is my opinions in relation to this topic.
2) Your questions are totally unrelated to what I posted.
3) When you mention Ceylonese & Punjabi's then refer to me as "you lot" you assume I am tamilian, very presumptious-not by a long shot-keep guessing.
4) The question posed by Cruzeiro was directed at you right after he called you a moron, and you have proven him right, btw Moron is derived from tye Greek word Moros which simply means foolish.
5) I am not in the habit of having discourses half witted monkeys who post drivel deviating from exactitude , go out of topic or troll.
6) "bengali kunday" is an oxymoronic term, used by bigots who do not know the difference between "Punjabi" and "Bengali".
7) Its morons like you who give pro-censorship morons ammo.

and as parting advise - Don't fight out of your class or weight category.

written by shepherdvoyage, November 15, 2008 14:05:31
No laws or acts can stop the people from criticising the wrong doings of a government.

Come up with whatever acts or laws you like to silence the people, history will still condemn you - the bias, corrupt, indolent and greedy BN!
written by bengali kunday, November 15, 2008 23:11:21
Vijay, my questions are directly related to your comments.

My assumption that you are a Tamil, I stand corrected. Point taken.

Your comment stated that malays should not treat others as subordinates. You really meant malays shouldn't treat indians as subordinate. Malays have unspoken respect for the chinese and to some extent envy the chinese. They have shown a lot respect for the punjabis (sikhs). You don't see them demolishing gurdwaras, The malays admire ceylonese for their intelligence and get on with life attitude. But when it comes to toddy drinking of the population, leaves much to be desired. This is the very reason Tamils are looked upon as subordinates , drunkeness, gangterism, always whingeing.

The problem with this site now is if one disagree with the posters here, then name calling like moron, monkey has become a common occurence.

You are right, maybe i shouldn't fight outside my class or weight. Sometimes one has to come down to other peoples level. That all I was doing.

I know many many many people in both malaysia and singapore, Malays, indians, chinese and others. Its a common perception and perception is reality whether you like it or not. Malays are seen as lazy but not subordinate, chinese do have a superior complex of themselves but the common problem is always the indians.

Indian need a keader who can represents all types of castes not just the lower caste as the case with sammy vellu. So, what do we need to address? class, caste, colour, race, religion and most importantly the subordinate behaviour of a certain section of the population. I'm not even sure if subordinate is the right word, but i give you benefit of the doubt.

BTW, i'm not malay or chinese.

Vijay, if you going to reply, which i very much doubt, then answer my 3 questions otherwise you are wasting both your and my time.

See, never once i mentioned the word moron, monkey or any other derogatory terms you lot are accustomed to. Quite easy really. Should try it once in a while.

written by DontPlayGod, November 16, 2008 00:10:58
UMNO will not get the message, not now, not ever. Their basic ideology is racist supremacy, NEP, special rights, and other newer(coined) terms like social contract(UMNO goons are now using this term with pride, although nowhere in the constitution can we find any reference to this term. Their leaders, and warlords have got to where they are in the heirarchy by spewing racist remarks, and also promising to wax another May 13 episode if the "squaters" don't tow their line without question.

Any moderate leader in UMNO who goes up because they are favoured by the top leaders, soon get disillusioned and gets booted out by the ultras(viz. Zaid). On the other hand, those ultras who have consistently shouted out racist remarks, consistently warned those who question their "ketuanan", etc. have shot up the heirarchy, viz. Najib, TDM, and many, many more.

No, UMNO will never learn. Their leaders only way to retain power for UMNO is to keep the Malays in the kampongs, make them feel they are cared for by UMNO when UMNO gives them an inferior education. Yes, UMNO can only control the Malays by keeping the Malay mentality in the kampongs. And yes, we will soon have a PM who asked the Malays to kill the Chinese, unless Anwar can upset their apple cart soon.
written by carribeanking7, November 17, 2008 12:06:45
B, Kunday,

When I was saying malays should not treat others as subordinate - it clearly meant abandoning the
ketuanan melayu rethoric and misinterpreting article 153, I also chastized others for unfairly stereotyping the malays, when you read
do it in entirety , dont cherry pick some points and by way of convoluted logic try to draw out of context paralells.

Lets cut out the pretenses - your 3 questions were a "Tamil bashing" statement of fact , it is common
knowledge that they do badly in the areas you mention, so dont try to do an about turn by trying to disguise
your question as an earnest statistical enquiry.
Taking cheap shots at the sympthoms when I doubt you understand the historical context, suppression , oppression
and profiling they have gone through.
Have you counselled any of these youths to understand their predicaments ? I have .
Your statement on caste and MIC affiliation not only shows the depths of your bigotry but also your profound ignorance
of local political history.
You then go on to contradict yourself by saying that MIC should represent all castes and not just the lower castes,
when you earlier infer that they are doing quite alright on their own.
Go and read up on local history, the actual reason MIC was formed, the formation of IPF (supported by poor Indians)
What role the MAIKA scandal had on these events.
How MIC blocked IPF's entry into BN, the recent forming of MIUP by Nallakaruppan.
In case you were on a sojourn to another planet on 08 Mar 2008, the MIC no longer holds the mandate of the Indian community.
They were tired of being used as MIC's voter bank.

The Malays are not lazy, the UMNOputras are as they have no incentive to improve, they have an entitlement mantality
that they deserve all the choice cuts, the Malays without connections have to struggle just as much as the next guy.

The chinese do not have a superiority complex per se, they are an Industrious , diligent group of people who have
good bussiness acumen whose contribution to the country was belittled by the likes of Ahmad Ismail
so he could score points in the permatang pauh elections- then pretends to be doing it for a bigger cause.

Only bigots like you- do not know where perception stops and racism begins, you are the epitome of the bigot.
that a multiracial multicultural country like ours could do without.
The moniker "bengali kunday" that you choose says much about your ignorance and myopic racist views
So dont have any delusions of grandeur about yourself.

Actually me calling you a half witted monkey is wrong, it insults these simians,
Zorro-unmasked got it right when he likened you to a maggot
http://zorro-zorro-unmasked.blogspot.com/2008/10/we-are-what-we-are-because-of-maggots.html

written by DezMalaysia, November 17, 2008 13:24:52

Your articles are very fine describing what really happens among the middle & lower class rakyat.

I hope you can have your articles translated to Bahasa Malaysia so that any readers here can print out the Bahasa Version and distribute it among Kampong folks... Let them all know what you'd actually wrote here. Let the people be the judge whether you'd insulted Islam or not. Let them know the causes of your fights. Have all of your articles translated. Put it all at the Pakatan Rakyats' Operation room all over the country...

It's time to rock Malaysia !

Long live RPK...
written by Kotadamansara73, November 17, 2008 16:01:07
RPk,

UMNO don't understand what the hell you are talking about. They only cares about themselves and their friends. They don't care about you. Anyway, they are fighting inside because the cake is getting smaller and there are more people in UMNO fighting over that small little piece of cake.

I suggest what UMNO can do, is to give every UMNO member a money printing machine so that they don't have to fight over anything.
written by emg385, November 17, 2008 16:44:49
Malaysia will Forever Be In TERMINAL STATE until its 2 cancers have been fully eradicated ie. UMNO & MAHATHIR. Only when these twin cancers have been eliminated, can Malaysia begin to grow Healthy & Strong again!!
written by Hirakey, November 17, 2008 17:52:07
Dear Everyone @ Malaysia Today,

Lets not waste time writing some personal comments just as a mean to ventilate your inner frustrations.

All of you are wasting too much of your energy by just merely responding to an articles' content.

Your learned attention should be directed at more important issues which can reshape the future for Malaysia.

Everyone should contribute or brainstorm in a MT Forum focusing just on "How we can create further awareness amongst more Malaysians to Propel CHANGES in Malaysia in Relation to Discrimination, Racism and Politics."

If every reader just focus on this goal only, it will snow ball to an enormous energy that will radiate across spectrum to all Malaysians that CHANGE MUST HAPPEN!!

The very same people that post many comments on various articles, it's time you start focusing your energy towards the right direction.

This is not a criticism but a constructive suggestion if we so desire CHANGE to take place!!

Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has!

We hope that this will be the start of the new frontier. Lets work together on this!
written by Taiping60, November 17, 2008 23:12:46
One of Dato' Syed Ahmad favourite quotes

"A man has to learn that he cannot command things, but that he can command himself;
that he cannot coerce the wills of others, but that he can mold and master his own will: and
things serve him who serves truth; people seek guidance of him who is master of himself".

When our politicians will ever learn from this. Well, we can pray for a start.
written by bengali kunday, November 18, 2008 01:10:45
Hello Vijay,

Thanks for your reply. You are getting very good at name calling. I hope your mannerism doesn't reflect the malaysian as a whole. Not doing your country any good.
I did not say Malays are lazy. I said the perception is that they are lazy. Perception is dangerous, but thats how it is.
Chinese definitely have a superiority complex. I'm not disputing their industrious and hard work ethics. Don't go far, just visit your neighbourhood. Lee Kuan yew and his boys will tell you exactly what they think of you.
Tamils ? well, what can I say? You know the truth, I know the truth and even they know the truth.

Vijay, don't go too far, just check out RODI's birthday pictures. Tells you a story.

with kind regards

Bengali Kunday.

Kici Kici bola hockey. Besar, besar bola rugby. Still brings smile to my face.

written by nanyangren, November 18, 2008 13:20:16
of course umno wants it that way. so that the malays can look at the other races who seemed to have a better life and then point a finger and say "tipu"

If BN collects all the taxes, issues all the licences, impose all the laws, I for one cannot comprehend how would the chinese tipu the malay of his salary. Just like the one Rustam says he now wants to set up a bumi supplier of construction material - only one supplier - mind you. Like Bernas - of course they start the argument by saying the middleman "tipu".

Of course the one who will lead the "one" supplier will not be chinese, heck, he will not even be a malay. He will be a henchman, the choosen one that is more superior, more tuan than the malay. He will be one to 'tipu'.

Bet my last dollar - he will be selected by the powers in the place called "Tipujaya"
written by hellboykl, November 18, 2008 15:54:23
First the Government should monitor house pricing list!
A simply apartment cost about RM60,000 and it is always monopolized by BN members where the house is re-sold to another person (rakyat) with RM80,000 whereby the members of BN make RM20,000 out of it. See how they cheat?
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 21, 2008 15:26:07
As long as salaries in critical sector of the government (i.e. prison warden, police force, immigration, etc.) these will always be subjected to corruption.

All these employees are human beings, and human beings need to eat and to feed their families too.