Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Mahathir raises questions over candidates

Mahathir raises questions over candidates PDF Print
Thursday, 13 November 2008 08:03

(The Star) Former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has raised questions over the credibility of candidates contesting the number two post in Umno, asking how a candidate with a “very bad history” qualified to contest at the last minute.

“There is a lot of hanky-panky. When you know someone with a very bad history is still getting support there is a strong possibility that money politics is involved because, somehow, someone has come from very far behind to catch up.

“At first, in the initial weeks, some people succeeded in garnering enough nominations while others remained at the bottom.

“Then, suddenly, nominations for these people shot up. Why?” he asked reporters after delivering a keynote address on “Bangsa Malay–sia” at the Perdana Leadership Foundation yesterday.

There are currently three contenders in the deputy president’s race – Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin is leading the pack with 91 nominations while Datuk Seri Mohd Ali Rustam has 47 and Tan Sri Muhammad Muhammad Taib has 46.

Muhyiddin was the first to qualify to contest the post and Dr Mahathir said he believed Muhyiddin was the best person for the job.

On money politics, Dr Mahathir said the only way to clamp down on the scourge in Umno was to investigate all the names listed in the 900 complaints received and then have them removed from the party.

“They should be thrown in jail. That is a good way to use the Internal Security Act and not against someone writing some nonsense.

“Umno must be cleaned up. If not, they will lose in the next general election,” he said.

written by MAMR, November 13, 2008 08:15:54
TDM, how come you didnt say anything about NAJIB ? I strongly believed you know about NAJIB.
written by Hakim Joe, November 13, 2008 08:18:07
Hello, "Have Money Will Travel-lah!"
Didn't u use to watch that TV show when u were a kid?

written by justinlian, November 13, 2008 08:22:43
My sweet old Tun, this is all the making of yourself and your so called regime.
If it hadnt be you, how does UMNO become like this. You should bare some cost as well.
You have been diggin your own grave as well as for UMNO so now you can sleep with it.
It such a pity that such a smart person can be so dumb in the last.
written by Hello Keithy, November 13, 2008 08:24:03
Tun Mahathir must be referring to the "no-speaky English" goon, Muhammad son of Muhammad. You created that monster and now you want to destroy him. To be frank, Tun, there's not one sincere and honest person in UMNO. So why are you so particular ? Destroy the whole party and we'll call you a Hero.
written by fireduck, November 13, 2008 08:35:25
TDM, we all know Muhiyiddin is your choice, and yes, we are also surprised that Muhdx2 is also able to worm his way in at the last minute. BUT ....

“They should be thrown in jail. That is a good way to use the Internal Security Act and not against someone writing some nonsense.

Hey, you had a very good chance way back then but you did not take it far enough. You, instead of throwing this legendary 'caught with his money pants down' guy into jail, you ISA so many people for daring to dissent. Now, what you are saying is totally terbalik of your actions back then.

What say you that you just keep quiet and let them sling those mud. But be warned that some of those mud may land on your face too. Don't be too sure Mukhriz' opponents will not be throwing some mud pies directly at YOU!
written by Malay Ultraman, November 13, 2008 08:36:10
Double Muhammad is indeed the WORST candidate of DPM!! God Forbids, it is a nightmare for DPM to be a PM!
Can anyone imagine a DPM could say " I dont speak Engrish and dont understand Engrish, therefore I violate the LAW"
Well, next time when the criminals are arrested, they can say " SAya tak tau.. saya tak paham undang2, itu pasal saya buat"
Muhydin is the best of the worst. That's what i can say.
All in All, UMNO is full of SHITS. Whoever they are.. they are bull shits. They are a disgrace to malays, a big disgrace of Islam. We need malaysian malays, not UMNO malays.
written by ahmadneil, November 13, 2008 08:50:27
What happens today is been taught by only one person, and that is Racist mahathir.Thats why all this money face guys are still around.
written by Sam W, November 13, 2008 08:55:08
IF najib becomes PM he's not obligated to pick his deputy from the umno no 2. He can make razak baginda a senator and then make him the deputy PM. najib can also do the ame thing with mahatir. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by tcng, November 13, 2008 09:13:32
Top UMNO leaders would do everything they can to stay in power.

If PR assume powers, some of them and their (extended) members may end up like Chen Shui Bian (ex-president of Taiwan). Some Taiwanese argue that should the new president is from DPP (the same party as Chen Shui Bian), all these dirts (money laudering) would not be exposed.
written by Engineer, November 13, 2008 09:24:21
you shouldn't be complaining. You as the man with the worst credibility can also become PM for 22 yrs.
written by BORN FREE, November 13, 2008 09:29:18
Infact, all standing for the top posts in BN are half way down under. They should make way for the young blood or even better new party to take over so that we can see changes in our country ! But NO, all are whole lot of greedy people including you that is why you want to make a comeback to the party, making sure that your puppet, Najis is in power.
written by pixieface, November 13, 2008 09:56:54
It does not need a genius to figure this out. Its money, money, money...its
a rich man's world.
written by unomalaysia, November 13, 2008 10:04:33
The old man dont like "Me no speakee Ingrish"?? I though they worship the same god of corruption? Hmmmmm looks like I got wrong impression all along?
Hang on, maybe he meant the pea brain Ali racist bully . Or is he talking about Hatchetman Muyiddin? Anyone setting up a betting pool? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Xerxes, November 13, 2008 10:24:47
Pot calling the kettle black?

Who cares. Let these UMNOputras wallow in their own filth and decadence. By doing so they are doing all of us a favour by shooting themselves in their foot come the next GE.

Heard of Sodom and Gomorrah? And how Nero contributed to the destruction of the Roman empire with his decadent ways? UMNO is going down the same garden path. And we will cheer them on - not that they need any help from us.
written by Semut Jantan, November 13, 2008 10:36:13
Toon M*m*kthir,

Why are you still speaking nonsense? Your hand picked pengecut is the PeeM in-waiting, how come you accepted him to lead your beloved country now? Will you regret that you now endorsed Budak Johor as the DPM in the future?

You keep repeating mistakes, why even open your f ucking mouth?
written by adan, November 13, 2008 11:16:43
DR.M ; "UMNO MUST BE CLEANED UP.' It is NOT easy to clean up Umno because of all the dirt, filth and rubbish left behind by Dr.M during his 22 year reign as UMNO PRESIDENT AND PM. Even after his so-called retirment, he still continues to heap up more rubbish and filth... every time he opens his big mouth.!! The good thing is that UMNO will be buried under the weight of its own stinking filth!
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 13, 2008 11:19:11
Tun Mamathir, in all truthfulness, none of the three UMNO candidates are suitable. Your best choice candidate, Muhyiddin, can hardly converse properly in English and his political career leave a lot to be desired. Is this another of your ‘brilliant’ scheme to put a stupid man in power as your puppet? Remember what happened to your Badawi; yah!
Mohd Ali Rustam is a racist and arrogant man, and that Muhammad Muhammad Taib bears a very strong resemblance to my neighbor’s “orang kurang upayah” nephew and is totally uncouth to be the DPM.
So, is this all UMNO has to offer Malaysians?? A bunch of uneducated, racist, arrogant, and imbecile Malays?? Has our Malay race really degraded down to this level of human beings???

And yes, as MAMR wrote above. How come you are soooo silent on Najib, the unconfirmed accessory to murder, and God alone knows what other atrocities against humanity??
Is it because you, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, has evidence against Najib which YOU CAN USE to control him when he (Najib) becomes PM????
written by ROBERTNGTG, November 13, 2008 11:26:41
Former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has raised questions over the credibility of candidates contesting the number two post in Umno, asking how a candidate with a “very bad history” qualified to contest at the last minute

SENILE FARTER, U MEAN U DONT REMEMBER THESE WERE YR PROTEGES?? MUST BE ITCHING FOR YR SON TO BECOME YOUTH CHIEF AND YOU BE THE DICTATOR BEHIND THE CURTAINS OF POWER EH??
written by clarity, November 13, 2008 13:25:39
Everyone knows that politics is a dirty business. At 82 years old, he still has a dirty mind. He should be making peace with his god and enjoy whatever time is left instead of trying to be crafty and evil. So pathetic!
written by azee72, November 13, 2008 18:24:51
Mahathir said that most nominated for UMNO number 2 post are corrupt and must be removed, but when asked about his opinion of Muhyiddin, he said that he is the best for post of DPM.
Is he saying that Muhyiddin is not corrupt?...sure?? sure or not????