Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Ronnie Liu arrested, out on bail (Update)

Ronnie Liu arrested, out on bail (Update) PDF Print
Wednesday, 12 November 2008 22:41

SHAH ALAM: Selangor executive councillor Ronnie Liu, who was arrested on Wednesday afternoon over a 2007 case for obstructing MPSJ officials from carrying out their duty, claimed there were elements of hidden motives behind his arrest.

"The whole incident was peculiar because the case has been a year now," he said.

Liu said he was detained about 1.50pm by a group of police officers at the state secretariat building lobby after returning from a solid waste management seminar in Kuala Lumpur for state executive councillor meeting at 2pm.

The police officers, about eight of them, some in plain clothes and some in uniforms, came with a warrant of arrest and wanted to take him back to Puchong police station, he said.

Liu said he was denied from attending exco meeting and forced to follow the police officers.

He was then told to get a bailor right after arriving at the police station and asked to be present at Petaling Jaya Magistrate's Court on Monday. He was released in less than 15 minutes.

"If you remember I have filed a defamation suit against (Datuk Seri Dr) Khir Toyo for implying that I was immoral and involved in vice activities.

"I want to emphasise again that I did not obstruct MPSJ or the police's duty, I was only there to help a few people who were asked to leave the hotel," he told a press conference after state executive meeting on Wednesday.

Liu said he was at the hotel, which was in the process of being sealed, to help the hotel's guests to claim back their personal belongings.

He said there was some argument during the process and he was arrested then.

"I'm not satisfied with the whole incident because they did not have to use such rough method.

"If they need to get me for their investigations, they just have to call and I'll come. There is not need to arrest me at my office," he said.

Liu said he had appointed a lawyer and was ready to face the charge with an open mind.

He also claimed that he was treated unfairly as he was given less than one week to appoint a lawyer and prepare for the case.

"With this, you can't blame me from thinking that there was something behind the case including a political agenda," he said.

Meanwhile, Mentri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim said government could use its power but it must be done in a proper manner as Liu was an executive councilor.

Khalid said he did not feel Liu would do something against public interest and he had come to the exco meeting right after he was released.

On , Nov 4 last year, it was reported that Liu, who was also a DAP central committee member, was arrested and held for a day for allegedly obstructing police enforcement officers from sealing a budget hotel in Puchong Jaya.

- The Star

written by allmenarebrothers, November 12, 2008 22:48:02
If this isn't Harassment, Intimidation, Bullying & Terrorising what then is this action?
written by eskay, November 12, 2008 22:48:27
Another super efficient double standard job by PDRM, always at the wrong thing and at the wrong person without fail.
written by matt3238, November 12, 2008 22:54:52
what happned to our police force? they suppose to go out and fight crime but they get themselves involve with stupid UMNO political matters.

written by Motherchell, November 12, 2008 22:59:04
Albar you have become senile -- your next frontier ?? i don't have to be so specific!!!

http://sjsandteam.*********.com
written by Fuminari, November 12, 2008 23:14:46
the musa gang n the umno be end gang hav come together in one to save their own skin...n these lowlife hav decided to go really low!!
written by karyeowl, November 12, 2008 23:29:20
One of the Malaysia Boleh happening. Only can happen to the opposition party members and the general public. Isn't it irony that some people can get away with murder, but the peace loving public are treated like criminal. Malaysian Police really BOLEH smilies/grin.gif
written by Kunta Kinte, November 12, 2008 23:32:17
Police force has lost its direction. Now just working for the government to attack the opposition.
written by Wisdom above, November 12, 2008 23:37:32
Ronnie Liu did what a good Samaritan would do.

"...to help the hotel's guests to claim back their personal belongings."

Let's Fast and Pray for Wisdom, Peace and Tranquility to prevail.

Syabas to all Peacemakers.
written by Spear Bing, November 12, 2008 23:37:36
Dear Ronnie,

Your comments on the Selangor CPO that " I don't whether I want to cry or laugh over his reply on your recent arrest........." certainly has bruised the EGO of this CPO and you know pretty well top brass police officers do have very high egos.

So as a sort of revenge to teach you a lesson not to spite him,he sent his 'machais' to purposely harrass you without giving you the courtesy of your executive office as EXCO of Selangor government. Hence the high handed arrest.

The entrenched and deep wounds of the consciousness of PDRM top brass officers are something for them to graple with. It's a very stressful job - having to to kowtow to the UMNO led government, at the same time taking care of their food on the table.

The conscientious call for duty of honour for the nation to preserve and maintain law and order in the country has been shackled.

In the past, and maybe in the present time, they are the 'kings' who colluded with the underground pins in return for monetary gains. And as long as they treat $$$$$$$ as their GOD, such misguided mindsets will continue to flourish within the psyche of PDRM top brass officers. Of course there will be a handful of good, honest officers around but they are far and few between.

The integrity and credibility of the 'Peace Hill' have already being tarnished and it will take some time to heal the wounds and restore the dignity and respect that it had once commanded.
written by citizenmy, November 12, 2008 23:38:26
Gangsters with legal immunity in action!
written by kennyeu, November 12, 2008 23:39:32
Why does the Police always come "some in plain clothes and some in uniform"?

Either they are half assed about their job and feel that it is not required to be officially dressed when on the job or they think Ronnie Liu is so dangerous a suspect that they need some undercover disguise just in case the arrest turns ugly. Either ways the police are just a disgrace and it would be an unacceptable practice in most civilized countries. Malaysia... can.
written by simply_say, November 12, 2008 23:41:47
"When truth is no longer free, freedom is no longer real: the truths of the police are the truths of today." - Jacques Prevert 1900-1977, French Poet

Easily insert famous quotes and jokes in your writings at http://www.xlpert.com/quotes.htm
written by CM Lam, November 12, 2008 23:50:35
I am amused beyond words as why the police did not investigate or take action against Khir botox for all report against him. Are UMNO guys like him protected aganst the law? Is this MALAYSIA BOLIH ???
written by fireduck, November 13, 2008 00:40:00
"With this, you can't blame me from thinking that there was something behind the case including a political agenda," he said.

And Ronnie, they can't blame us rakyat, from thinking there was something behind the case including a political agenda. No, actually WE BELIEVE that this is nothing but political intimidation. First Teresa Kok, now you. I think the police force is really like a rotting fish, and as they say, it rots from the head first. I called for a 'Frank Serpico' in the police force to surface and fight against the system of corruption and political persecution, but obviously there's none brave enough.
written by Spear Bing, November 13, 2008 02:42:21
Dear Ronnie,

Could it so co-incidental and timing that the Police swooped down into your office premises and arrested right after your comments about the CPO.... " whether want to laugh or cry over his reply..." Guess the CPO read the MT commments and emotionally responding to his hurt ego, he ordered for your arrest.

Peace Hill does have such dysfunctional personalities still carrying out their task..... just to name a few.....the ex-IGP who gave the black eye to DSAI, the CID Director who slapped on the face of RPK, the interrogating officer Borhan (?) who physically abused with water board, dog-shit to the ex-ISA detainee, Malik Hussein, the Officer who to the hotel 619 with Saiful, the IGP who colluded with AG over DSAI's sodomy trial etc.....

The present Deputy IGP does seem to be a clean record. So are we to blame? The system set up by the UMNO mullahs? The sub-culture of the Peace Hill? The work ethics and discipline of the police force? Or was it purely of sheer greed of $ that led to the loss of credibility, integrity and trust in the PDRM?

It is a very sad episode. If one happens to visit Penang Police Contingent HQ, you can see the picture frames of all the past IGPs. since the colonial times. British included. These were fine and discipline men of the uniform who had served with their utmost loyalty to the nation. When will they ever learn to bring back the glory of the police force that was once was.
written by Taufique, November 13, 2008 02:58:43
Day after day we keep reading sickening news like this. Retarded cops, always need to send a platoon out to grab distinguished gentlemen. Real troublemakers they dont bother chasing. Its so obvious there is an ulterior motive to this.
written by michael chick, November 13, 2008 04:10:32
Bravo. UMNO never ceases to impress me with their Ape-Like Mentality

written by biggun129, November 13, 2008 04:24:41
Ronnie Liu should have sing 'Negaraku' before the Police arrested him!!Or the Police can sing 'Negaraku' so that Ronnie Liu will not run away to avoid arrest!!May be Ronnie Liu sang 'Negaraku', but the Police didnt hear it and arrest him!!!
written by smalluncle, November 13, 2008 06:51:01
Tired. Everyday same thing happen.

When will the day where same type of news is of paramount interest to read such as:

* former CPO file a defamation suit on PR government for illegal arrest and rough handling.......
* former EC was arrested under ISA, mass protest by um....
* police arrested 100's of protester on EC arrest after they finish singing Nation anthem.
* 10 police trucks, and 50 FRU trucks with toal of 500 riots police stormed into former MPJ... clerk's home and arrest him for corruption involving taking RM10 from a public to settle parking summon under counter.....

Hope that time come soon.
written by Angela Ooi, November 13, 2008 07:01:36
How can the citizens have an effective police force working for them when they are so busy acting against our uncorrupted leaders like Ronnie.
How much manpower and taxpayers' money is lost attending to unproductive and politically VINDICTIVE cases like this.
written by myvoice, November 13, 2008 07:45:07

Bunch of idiot in our PeeDRM, arahan atasan...as claimed always, should the boss ask them to makan tai (tahi), will these idiots makan? Malaysia will be hopeless with all these idiots around.....no hope, wonder how our next generation will suffer.
written by teohchye, November 13, 2008 08:01:53
The police officers, about eight of them, some in plain clothes and some in uniforms, came with a warrant of arrest and wanted to take him back to Puchong police station, he said.
Wow! PDRM needed about 8 officers to arrest YB Liu! YB Ronnie must be a very slippery and violent man to require 8 persons to arrest him. Maybe they should have sent the SWAT team in balaclava just like what they did with DSAI outside his Segambut home a while back. This must be the work of the Toyol through the big dog Yemeni. Maybe in retaliation for the impending eviction of the late Zakaria's family for their illegal occupation of Selangor state land in Pandamaran.
written by Tokomitsu, November 13, 2008 08:20:17
To Polis Raja Di Malaysia. Harass Pakatan politicians at the peril of Barisan. The more you unfairly harass Pakatan politicians the more votes Barisan will lose in GE13. Why bring up a case of yesteryear. Are you that efficient/inefficient. The public is watching your every move
written by kedahan63, November 13, 2008 09:09:16
I am relieved that my dad has retired a long time now from PDRM. I think he feels relieved that he's out of there and ashamed that the once-proud and honourable force have been degraded and corrupted beyond belief by the politicians.
written by borneoman, November 13, 2008 09:28:07
this so called developing nation of malaysia is developing some very bad attitude towards its taxpayers.pdrm,please be reminded that your salary is paid by malaysian taxpayers.you dont belong to umno,bn or any individual because you belong to us,all of us, malaysian.do you think we the malaysian public are so blind and stupid? it is very obvious you are practicing favouritism and double standard when you carry out your duty.WE ARE WATCHING AND WHEN THE RIGHT TIME COMES YOU WILL NEVER KNOW WHAT HIT YOUR BLOCKHEAD!! SARAWAK RANGERS did better than you guys,anytime!!!!Had it not been for them in 5/13 there might not be any country for you to serve today!!!be professional like Sarawak Rangers!
written by michael chick, November 13, 2008 09:42:49
Vote UMNO OUT !!!!

written by BORN FREE, November 13, 2008 09:51:02
This whole thing is an act of vengance ! So childish & improper of the Police force! Hey, PDRM salaries are taxpayers monies, but they way you acted, looks like you are under the UMNO/BN payrolls ! You should be protecting civilians not arresting them, the way you all did on 9th Nov 08 in Civic Centre !
written by michaelT, November 13, 2008 13:42:37
GOD DAMN THE POLICE! Their behaviour is not only uncivilised but have element of Animal Nature. They have no Respect for high Ranking State Government Members. Ronnie is known to help people in distress. Toyo should be arrested instead. Is he too Rich and mighty that he is above the law and evrything else. With all this vengence of BN all malaysian please remeber to throw the BN out of the administration.
written by panca, November 13, 2008 22:58:09
The Police power has been abused again and again, at the disposal of umno.

Load of trash!