Of being Number 4 PDF Print
Wednesday, 12 November 2008 16:30

All through my school life, I had my fair share of forms to fill and each time I get to the part that said "race", I had to choose between (1) Malay, (2) Chinese, (3) Indian and (4) Others. I am always number 4. I don't really know how the forms are for school-going children today but I suspect that not much has changed.

I did have moments when I felt like ticking the box numbered (1). Just for fun! However, brought up by a rather strict mom and a very strict Convent school, I never did. Only once in my life did I play truant. Moreover, I was caught! That's a story for another day.

Anyway, back to being number 4. It wasn't all too bad back then. Being the minority, did make me feel a little special. The 1s, 2s and 3s were so many. The Number 4s stood out, in some way. We were noticed more easily. People remembered us better too.

Now at almost half a century, yeah, almost but not quite there, I look back and see how advantageous it has been. Every single member of my family, the 4s has married a 1, 2 or 3. Hahahaha. Typing this seems like a mathematical equation. Now the outcome of this 4 + 1 or 4 + 2 or 4 + 3 has resulted in a lovely concoction of a truly Malaysian child.

These "products" of mixed numbers have grown up with each other, never knowing anything except being from the same family. Now isn't that nice. Until, of course, they grow older, enter school and find out that they are "numbers" which exist in our system. For what purpose? Until now, I cannot fathom it. "Statistics", you say! Ahhhhhhhh , but whatever for? Can't we just call ourselves Malaysians?

When we were young, we used to joke about the mixture our kids would be when we marry. We came up with rather hilarious made up words. I'll share them with you here

Read the rest here

Comments (33)Add Comment
written by JC Tan, November 12, 2008 16:40:55
I am shame of myself for not being beyond "the 1,2,3,4 mindset." smilies/sad.gif

I hope my sons would.
written by Rundukon, November 12, 2008 16:46:57
Sabahans and Sarawakians are and will always be no 4!

The form should be reformat as: 1. Malaysian, 2. non-Malaysian.

PR...we are depending on you.
written by Sinewy, November 12, 2008 16:52:48
"To defend the right and supremacy of our race and religion" as the self-serving politicians of the ruling party cried out loud to their supporters.
"The migrant races have been given their citizenships and they must accept the special priviledges given to the POL (Prince Of the Land)" as the trainer of the BTN propaganda program from the ruling party shouted out loud to the audience.
The fight for power and wealth by these selfish and arrogant political warlords from the ruling party will ensure that the racial divide in malaysia will be entrenched further in the future so that they can continue with their rule over the country to the best of their benefit.
To diminish the racial divide in the country will not be in their best advantage to hold on to power and rule the country. It is all about power and wealth, nothing to do with the best interest of the nation and its citizens.
It has nothing to do with uplifting the econmic status of the poor rural folks.
written by Tompios, November 12, 2008 16:54:53
Frankly speaking, I hate to fill those forms when reach to the 'race' section. I always tick no. 4 because my rest considered 'others.' Well, at least Chinese and Indian get number 2 and 3. How about Kadazandusun? Some Anthropologist considering KadazanDusun are part of Malay. Bullshit! Call KadazanDusun or Iban-Dayak as Malay if you dare! They will say very nice words to you.
written by yipck, November 12, 2008 16:57:35
Dreadnought,

I am curious. Since ur family already mix with 1,2,3.. how do their children write? still 4? despite being mix with 1,2 and 3?

written by ahmadneil, November 12, 2008 17:07:58
4 is die in Chinese.Najis will be taking over from AAB in April ,which is the fourth month,so that is not auspicious.It can be deadly if he stop bathing in milk.
written by lobster, November 12, 2008 17:14:55
yipck,

I think anything 1 will always = 1, the rest of the combination will still give you 4.

Interesting story...
written by Crash, November 12, 2008 17:17:06
well, i don't understand why we have that column "RACE" anyway. What is the purpose of that? everything single freaking formal form have that column. FOR WHAT may i asked?
written by Tompios, November 12, 2008 17:38:05
That's why guys, for now there is no "Bangsa Malaysia" in Malaysia.
written by leeum, November 12, 2008 17:42:37
Nowadays, I am happy to fill in 4 on forms, especially surveys. If there's a space for me to specify what "Other" I am, I insist on writing "Bangsa Malaysia". That gives me a chance to strike up a conversation with the person conducting the survey and educate him/her on why I refuse to mark myself out as Chinese.
written by banzai, November 12, 2008 17:47:23
Dreadnought,
To get this no4 is much much better than Altantuya.
She got C4.
written by talk2stop, November 12, 2008 17:51:26
A Malaysian in Malaysia is identified as a race, religion, gender and age person. It is all in MyKad. In America, an American is identified as a person so do many developed countries. Malaysia got a long way to go.
Such is life in Malaysia.
written by KARMANNGHIA, November 12, 2008 18:05:52
Numbered system should read:

1. Malaysians
2. UMNOputras, dan lain lain

written by benny loh, November 12, 2008 18:18:19
COME LISTEN-"BANGSA MALAYSIA" TALKS..
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...aysia.html
written by Zorro, November 12, 2008 18:41:36
It Sabah and Sarawak it should be
(1) Pribumi
(2) Malay
etc...
simply because the fact that on formation of malaysia pribumi(indigenous people of sabah&sarawak)was more than malay!

sarawak is still better bcos the pribumi still commands the majority, but here in sabah it's alrdy diluted...simply because our KDM leaders are too stupid and cant look futher than their own generation

PTUI!!!
written by cllim123, November 12, 2008 19:06:18
I always wondered why there was a need to know the ethnic race of anyone if not for the purpose of segregating peoples. Ever noticed that this race thing exist even on Pizza Hut order forms that the waiter fills up when taking your order? why in the world would they want to know my race?
written by simply_say, November 12, 2008 19:14:23
"No human race is superior" - Elie Wiesel 1928-, Rumanian-born American Writer

Easily insert famous quotes and jokes at http://www.xlpert.com/quotes.htm
written by borneoman, November 12, 2008 19:38:48
the natives of SARAWAK must be no.1 compared to the so called umno son of the soil. we deserve better.
written by Sabahfan, November 12, 2008 19:38:55
Mr Crash, U really dont know what for is this RACE COLLUMN?? Well try applying for a job with Tenaga Nasional. filling 2,3 or 4 in the form will only give you 1 percent chance of getting the job. no matter how qualified and how good you are during the interview. I have seen an inteview result in TNB where the top scorers were 2,3 and 4. the person hired was somewhere in the middle of the rank and it is No. 1. If you fill a form for an ASN/ASB account, putting a 2,3 and 4 will automatically disallow you from making the investment. If you apply for a PKK licence as a contractor. CLASS D, E AND F, putting a 2,3 and 4 will definitely not get you the licence. unless maybe with some UMNO MPs endorsement. if you apply to enter UiTM, definitely 2, 3 and 4 will not get u in. If you apply for scholarship. well the 2, 3 and 4 will have to fight over CRUMBS. the allocation for you is either too few or none at all. am i tired of writing these examples.

HOWVER. If you enter for National Service. 2, 3 and 4 will be very welcomed becose its your parents money being splurged on their crony contractors and who cares if you are 1, 2, 3 or 4 as long as they got excuse to spend your parents taxmoney. Anyway majority of those who died at NS camp were 2, 3 and 4 anyway.

The last girl, marked 3 who died, the parents is suing in court but the case is yet to be heard. Maybe i will die twice and yet i will never have a chance to read about the case.

As long as KETUANAN PENDATANG is ruling this country all of us gonna suffer
written by boonhong, November 12, 2008 19:46:07
written by Zorro, November 12, 2008 18:41:36
simply because the fact that on formation of malaysia pribumi(indigenous people of sabah&sarawak)was more than malay!

sarawak is still better bcos the pribumi still commands the majority, but here in sabah it's alrdy diluted...simply because our KDM leaders are too stupid and cant look futher than their own generation

I completely agree with you. I don't think most Malaysians understand that there is no such thing as Ketuanan Melayu in Sabah. In fact if there was to be one group of ppl in sabah that should be given special privileges, it should be the KDMs! Racism in Sabah was minimal until UMNO came along and infected us with this dirty culture.
written by miwaki, November 12, 2008 20:15:06
I heard recently the government has introduced number 5,ie Mongolian. No 4,you are ahead of No 5.He he he
written by samesamemam, November 12, 2008 21:24:18
I'm mixed too and didn't fit into the categories nor wanted to be the "other" so I wrote "indiana 500" under 'race'...got a smack on the head by the teacher...
written by jchantw, November 12, 2008 21:43:53
To borrow a phrase from Barack Obama.
'There is no a Malay Malaysia, a Chinese Malaysia, an Indian Malaysia or an Others Malaysia. There is a Federation Of Malaysia'
But of course, we can't expect our incompetent, low life so called "leaders" to be anywhere near his (Obama) standard in our life time.
written by hill69, November 12, 2008 22:02:51
well guys...we are all heading into a slump with the current gov. and insulting them here all over the blogs are just pointless. the best action we can take would be, educate ourselves, our family and those around us to look at humans beyond their races, beyond their skin color, beyond their mother tongue and beyond their religion. That is when, change will start taking place in Malaysia. Any chances of this happening ? well, the answer lies within us :-)
written by Barking out loud, November 12, 2008 22:28:53
Ok it's confession time. I did at one time in school put No. 4 and they did ask me to specify and in my specification I put the Malaysian.

However as proof that this racial divide is so entrenched in our society, my teacher did change and put it back as Chinese.
written by esoliano, November 12, 2008 22:42:11
written by yipck, November 12, 2008 16:57:35
Dreadnought,

I am curious. Since ur family already mix with 1,2,3.. how do their children write? still 4? despite being mix with 1,2 and 3?

yipck: As the author, I'll answer your question. They follow their father's race. I wish they didn't have to. Hopefully their children will only have two options to choose from: Malaysian/non-Malaysian.

smilies/wink.gif
written by Janaka, November 13, 2008 00:00:52
I have a Chinese name and I choose 2
By right I should choose 4 as I am from MIXed type too.
Chinese don't like 4 , then it should be 8 for me instead!
But I always prefer 6 ..
hahahaha LOL what a silly shit! smilies/smiley.gif
written by Midvalley, November 13, 2008 00:03:35
We are equal when we leave Bolehland to enter another country because whether you are 1 2 3 4 you fill your form under race malaysian.
The moment you are back in bolehland you are 1234 again. What a fcuking joke.
written by tmithomas, November 13, 2008 00:04:23
dear friends,

i risk being bombarded but to be very fair, the gov't don't even need numbers to differentiate us. many of you forgotten the very basic thing, OUR NAME!!

i would have named my kids with a combination of Malays, English, Indian and Chinese name if only there won't be complexities later, or it being too long. but it would be nice if the younger generation starts to find a common ground on names, ie, fixing a malays name in front, like ex-swimming queen nurul huda but the law requires her name to end with abdullah, which should end with her chinese name instead. i had malays name when i was schooling but never used them after school, only using my english name, which incidentally is NOT in my birth cert. go figure...

so, though i am not christian, i still name my kids with english name and used "hanyu pinyin" to standardize their chinese name in roman writing. how many of us, of chinese descent use the standardize "pinyin"?

www.tmithomas.********.com
written by bugisman, November 13, 2008 03:37:22
i usually fill in no.4.
cos bugis mix malay mix chinese...should be number 4...
oo no...some ppl prefer number 1...

frankly, we should cheer when you have no.4 box...some only have 3!
1. melayu
2. cina
3. india & dll

then again, indian should mix with DLL, since the indonesian is already 2million ppl as oppose to the 1.5million enthic indians in malaysia...i think, filipino also more than KDM in sabah already... what an idiot govn!

soon, it will be:
1. melayu
2. cina
3. indonesia
4. india
5. filipino
6. burma
7. DLL

haks!
written by Angela Ooi, November 13, 2008 06:04:49
Yipck wrote, Since ur family already mis with 1,2 &3, how do their children write? Still 4 despite mix with 1, 2 & 3

Well, it's the same way the others who marry into any Muslim family and get 'bumiputra' status right away!
written by Sabahfan, November 13, 2008 19:57:56
of course you get bumi status, even UMNO putra status if you are married to a moslem and begot a son...

example: ahmad ismail the big nose mmmk rascist pendatang..

haaaa ha ha ha ha ha