Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Dr M says ISA should be used against corrupt Umno members

Dr M says ISA should be used against corrupt Umno members PDF Print
Wednesday, 12 November 2008 14:25

Adip Zulkifli, The Malaysian Insider

Former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad today suggested the Internal Security Act (ISA) should be used against corrupt Umno members.

He also backed Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin as the best candidate in the race for the Umno deputy presidency while suggesting that the other two challengers are involved in money politics.

"That's a good way to use ISA, not for some writer who writes nonsense," he said of corrupt Umno members and also in an apparent reference to Malaysia Today editor Raja Petra Kamarudin, who was released recently from ISA detention.

Dr Mahathir, who has become increasingly vocal in recent weeks, said there is "a strong possibility that Umno deputy presidential candidates are involved in money politics."

"Because some people who were at the bottom during the first week, suddenly shot up," said Mahathir when asked to comment whether the contest for the Umno deputy presidency is tainted with money politics.

The contest for the party's deputy presidency is now a three way tussle between Muhyiddin, who garnered 92 nominations, Datuk Seri Ali Rustam and Tan Sri Muhammad Muhd Taib.

Ali and Muhammad received the minimum nominations, 39 on the last weekend of the Umno divisional meetings. Ali now has 48 nominations while Muhammad, 45.

"Everybody knows that Umno leaders are using money, when the election comes, the people will reject them. Not everyone is but the majority is. So you can be an Umno leader, but the people will reject you. When we have lost, there is no point in becoming Umno president," said Mahathir.

"Who wants to elect somebody who bought his way up," he added

"When you know somebody who has got very bad history and still getting support. That history I think has relevance to the support," he said when asked about the three cornered fight for the deputy  presidency.

However he said among all the three candidates, Muhyiddin is the most qualified.

He recommended that all party leaders be investigated and removed from the party if found guilty.

"We need to clean up the party. Now you see the opposition is very quiet and Umno is seen as a very corrupt party, so opposition will talk about how they are not corrupt," said Mahathir.

He said that Umno leaders who are involved in money politics should be thrown into prison.

Comments (40)Add Comment
written by csgcsg, November 12, 2008 14:33:34
i agree, lets start with you dr m
agree 128
written by biggun129, November 12, 2008 14:35:35
How about you, Mahathir? you are previously the UMNO's member, so, you are out? No 'ISA' for you??? How about your son Mukriz? will you please surrendered him to Syed Amid the Botak!!! Dont talk Nonsense if you cannot do that?
written by taufan, November 12, 2008 14:38:02
"Kerana nila setitik rosak susu sebelanga!"

UMNO is corrupt to helldom come....it's because of you TDM.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 12, 2008 14:42:31
Tun M, I really2 LOVED what you are saying about UMNO lah! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
And I further second that motion to start with your goodself as an example by checking yourself, along with your sons,into Kamunting.

And further, you should print big, big posters with your statements: "Umno leaders who are involved in money politics should be thrown into prison" and ""Everybody knows that Umno leaders are using money in politics. Not everyone is, but the majority are."

May you live long and continue to expose more of the EVILS of UMNO!
written by salsabarney, November 12, 2008 14:42:55
ISA on UMNO members..good suggestion. CAn you volunteer yourself to be investigated first? If you are convicted, are willing to be arrested under ISA?
written by biggun129, November 12, 2008 14:43:26
'RPK', I am biggun129, you always write nonsense, that's why they put you in Kamunting Camp, look at me, I dont write no nonsense,I wrote rubbish, I am safe,they like rubbish, because they are rubbish!!!
written by Spear Bing, November 12, 2008 14:45:25
TDM's mouth and his verbal vitriol have beomce more and more voluminous, because he has earned his right to speak out without fear or favour.

After all his blogsite is week by week registering one million over hits - indicating to him that Malaysians are still loyal to him, giving him the due respect, with heaps of praises.

He just don't care a damn, he even wants to influence the UMNO election of the Deputy President- a choice of his own candidate.

Who from the UMNO corridors of power dare to tell him to shut his big mouth?
written by A MI, November 12, 2008 14:52:00
Yeah TDM I agree ISA should be used on corrupt politicians. But even if ISA is not used on you , you will pay in after life smilies/grin.gif. The law of karma will not spare your offsprings either.
written by biggun129, November 12, 2008 14:55:38
so, after the release of 'RPK', Mahathir said 'ISA' is not for 'RPK' who wrote nonsense and posted it on MT, Congratualations to all the Bloggers and Commentators on the Cyber space, now, we are safe, we can 'Hantam betul betul', and you can write nonsense like Mahathir wrote in his blog and you will not be charge under 'ISA'!!!
written by carribeanking7, November 12, 2008 14:57:32
Ha ha it finally happened , Dr.M is senile.

written by SocratesI, November 12, 2008 15:05:01

... and ex-UMNO members such as Maha-Shithead, Damn Zainuddin, and the rest of the old guard who have plundered billions from Malaysia and its Rakyat !!

In fact, let us just throw ALL the UMNO and Barisan Najis members in jail under ISA and hand over the Govt. to Pakatan Rakyat, and I promise I shall not be at another "Repeal the ISA" vigil or march ever ... in fact, long live ISA for the indefinite incarceration of these rabid PARIAHS (of course we free the others). Only UMNO, ex-UMNO, Barisan Najis, ex-Barisan Najis members can qualify for Kamunting under ISA ... how's that, Maha-Shithead ??

written by truthbespoken, November 12, 2008 15:05:23
The ISA should be used on all corrupt UMNO members and ex-UMNO presidents who cannot justify their wealth accumulated during their years in power!

Mahathir has just taken the first pot-shot at RPK even before PINK Panther reveals the name of the TUN involved in his article. Is there a connection? Is it 'to attact first is to defend' in the case of the old goat?

But nonetheless, someone, somehow should give this man a real taste of bitter medicine before he pass on. Always full of poison and treachery, this man!
written by HamChak, November 12, 2008 15:08:32
Mahathir, You are right !
This is the first time you says something that is
Koret, Koret, Koret.
First get Botak to ISA you, then your family, your CRONIES,
that Pet Mongrel of yours; Maddhias, your old buddy Daim and
all those past and present Ministers who served under you during
your era or errors.
Not to forget, that fat girl friend of yours, Queen AP must
also be ISA lah.
written by miwaki, November 12, 2008 15:10:11
Mahathir is an amazing old man,he is so old that he forgets he is just one of the corrupt UMNO people.If corrupted UMNO leaders were to be put under ISA,there would be no UMNO ministers in the cabinet.

According to Mahathir,the annual salary of Malaysian PM is just a meagre RM240,000.00,that kind of remuneration is considered chicken feet by Amway distributors who have attained diamond level.How much can you bribe your way to the top with this kind of income ? No,you do not jail the corrupted bastards,these people should be shot and all their properties have to be freezed and distributed equally among Malaysians.
written by krising1, November 12, 2008 15:15:24
Ma..mak, for the first time in your life you have said the right thing. First thing tomorrow morning surrender to Bukit Aman. YOu are the #1 member who introduced money politics. So you should be the first to be detained under ISA for money poltitics. Then many will follow your example and surrender as well.
written by Fuminari, November 12, 2008 15:19:59
ISA used on corrupted umno member??this old fart is really proven senile!he is now talking like a 14th century emperor....or he could be jus telling the world that ACA has been a totally fcuked up exactly like what the general public perceive.
written by KARMANNGHIA, November 12, 2008 15:30:03
"Who wants to elect somebody who bought his way up," he added
======================================================= ======

They elected you old man, they elected your son.

written by cheekymate, November 12, 2008 15:31:51
You are right for once, Mahathir, these corrupt UMNO money politics members/candidates should be identified, caught, charged, tried and subsequently jailed accordingly, just as you should have been in your time. You are such a damned hypocrite. Your earthly crimes can fill the pages of an entire encyclopedia dedicated to money crimes, abuser of human rights and a dictator who makes Hitler pale in comparison.
written by Highway16, November 12, 2008 15:32:27
Good Idea. First expand Kamunting Detention Camp, else no room for all the corrupt UMNO members!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
Parliament will be empty???
written by aisyalam, November 12, 2008 15:35:29
MAHA-SHIT...U ARE CORRECT CORRECT CORRECT CORRECT CORRECT FOR THE FIRST TIME IN LIFE OF WHAT U SAID. THE REST U TALKED RUBBISH. U SEE IF POLICE LISTEN TO U, ALL THIS UMNO RUBBISH WILL END UP IN JAIL IMMEDIATELY-NO NEED TO INVESTIGATE FURTHER. AND THE JAIL WILL BE PACKED. NO PM OR WHATEVER HALF-BAKED MINISTER AROUND TO RUN THE COUNTRY! I HOPE U'LL CALL UP SINGAPORE AND THAILAND GOMEN TO HELP TO ACCOMODATE THIS UMNO RUBBISH! I HAPPILY VOLUNTEER TO HAND-CUFF ANY OF THEM!
written by capcomangel, November 12, 2008 15:42:44
u see how deep the ISA power been abuse.
written by Malaysiaputra, November 12, 2008 15:51:15
Former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad today suggested the Internal Security Act (ISA) should be used against corrupt Umno members.

====

TDM, are you trying to be a comedian wannabe or are you being sarcastic or what.

During your time, you not only shut your too eyes to corruption but also close your ears too. You talk like as if it did not happen during your time.

You were playing "I see no evil and I hear no evil" because it suits you fine at that point of time when you were in power as it was to your advantange.

written by SimpleSoul, November 12, 2008 15:51:33
UMNO member are corrupt? 22yrs being a president and you allowed it to happend?

All the better Dr M. Come 13th GE they would we wiped out.
written by hiro, November 12, 2008 16:28:54
TDM must be joking. ISA should be abolished. If you can't charge people for corruption because your ACA is incompetent, then it's time to change the system so that corruption will not affect the outcome of the election - UMNO should just immediately resolve to elect its leaders from all UMNO members and abolish the quota system.
written by fairnessforall, November 12, 2008 16:34:04
The smartest of the lot is Daim Zainuddin who swindled billions of the country's money and is now quietly sitting back and watching the fun. Unlike the others, they still have not swindled enough. No one ever mentioned Daims name despite the billions he took out of the country. I wonder if he will ever be made to pay for his crimes and to return the rakyats money.
written by cheekhiaw, November 12, 2008 16:35:30
It should be easy enough to find proofs to jail those thieves for thievery.

Only an idiot does not know that...

written by peter, November 12, 2008 16:48:34
For once I got to echo what this mahafiraun said. I hope the gomen of bolehland will start with the mahafiraun.
written by InEffective, November 12, 2008 17:18:23

Looks like land-expropriators is the chosen virtue to lead malaysia. Nice.

I was worried - i could not understand what criteria would be used to pick and choose amongst our paedophile, filthy mind, gropper, land expropriator, money-launderer, racist-extraordinaire, bribers, intellect-deficient law enforcer.

We have so many talents in the cabinet and ministerial ranks - wonder what gave the land expropriate the winning edge ?
written by MAMR, November 12, 2008 17:19:08
I hate corrupted people,especially if the are elected !!!LEADER!!! and hope ALLAH WILL LAKNAT THESE PEOPLE WHILE THEY ARE ALIVE. However, !!!TDM!!! you are too matured to use ISA on those who are corrupted. Dont you think ACA will then be out of work and of the MOST IT WILL BE !!!!!!! WRONG USAGE OF ISA!!!!!!!
written by ahmadneil, November 12, 2008 18:45:48
You all can write rubbish and nonsense like chedet.If you write the truth you will be a threat to national security.
written by Sudahlah tu, November 12, 2008 18:51:19
baguslah .. tembok umno sudah retak .........
penipuan umno dihentikan oleh Allah .
baguslah tu ... bangunlah bangsa Melayu ... tolong jangan leka lagi.
Bersatu , kita membebaskan Malaysia dariapda jajahan umno yang keji dan zalim ini ...
written by Sudahlah tu, November 12, 2008 18:52:12
tadi , saya boleh nampak kepolisan menjalankan kegiatan haram mereka di selekoh jalan ......
biasalah tu .....
written by onnetline, November 12, 2008 18:54:59
"We need to clean up the party. Now you see the opposition is very quiet and Umno is seen as a very corrupt party, so opposition will talk about how they are not corrupt," said Mahathir.

TDM,

Since when did anyone called for an old corrupted ' partyless ' scumbag like you to clean anything ?

If you must insist, my toilet then.

written by alarcarte, November 12, 2008 19:59:00
Dr M, You almost got it right this time but not quite! Why suggesting ISA the corrupt UMNO leaders using money politics? First and foremost we have the anti-corruption agency, give ACA absolute power and employ people with good cedibility to take charge and you will see that there will be vast improvemnet with the corruption index.

You are implying that two candidates vying for the post of DPM are corrupted, do you remember that these two blokes are the old UMNO veterens under you care when you hold absolute power ? Why don’t you arrange to ISAed them back then?

Lets face it, the party by the name “UMNO” today is an excess baggage to the nation and should be discarded or put to rest as soon as possible.

written by PeacefulMalaysia, November 12, 2008 20:09:21
The Whole of UMNO will be under the ISA

Lets do it...... NOW
written by lamakawan, November 12, 2008 21:18:59
Mahathir, you are out of UMNO now. You want ISA to be used to arrest UMNO corrupted members. You could have fulfilled your desire when you were in power. Why did you wait until now to say to arrest UMNO members that offered bribes?
I know. When you were in power, they were your loyal dogs . You would not arrest them. HOw could you do such arrests when they supported you? Impossible. So it is all your wrongdoing that UMNO people are so corrupted.
written by johanssm, November 12, 2008 21:21:16
case of the mamak gone mad?
umno is a private party, let them rot for all i care.
ISA is best suited to be use on all corrupted gov. servants.
written by mikewang, November 12, 2008 21:39:08
Yes, arrest the other two contenders under ISA so that they will be no election for the deputy presidency.

This is mahathirism at its best.
Exactly how he abused the judiciary to get rid of DSAI.
written by Lembing, November 12, 2008 22:37:32
aren't these comments by TDM seditious???? Aren't these comments a serious threat to national security??

Come on, Syed Botak, where are your guts...I challenge you to either charge TDM under sedition Act or detain TDM under ISA.

written by Janaka, November 12, 2008 23:43:46
CORRECT ..CORRRECT CORRRECT ... the little old devil Finally crowing the TRUTH ..CORRECT CORRECT COREECT!
YOU CAN BE THE FIRST ONE TO JOIN ISA! the HELLYCAGE tomorrow morning as example for other to follow especially Beruk Najis's moron to join you later!