Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Freed in Malaysia

Freed in Malaysia PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 12 November 2008 10:13
(The Wall Street Journal) Malaysia celebrated a victory for free speech Friday when a court overturned the arrest of a prominent blogger, saying the government had overstepped its authority under the country's Internal Security Act. If it stands, the ruling could set a precedent that limits such detentions in future.

Raja Petra Kamarudin is the editor of Malaysia Today, a popular news Web site, and a vocal critic of the current government. He went to jail in September for writing articles that the government said insulted Islam and incited religious hatred. He was arrested under the ISA, a colonial-era law that allows for indefinite detention without trial.

In ordering Mr. Petra's release, High Court Justice Syed Ahmad Helmy Syed Ahmad ruled that "the [Home] Minister cannot simply detain someone. He must be confined to the circumstances stated," according to the New Straits Times. Mr. Petra's attorney, Malik Imtiaz Salwar, told us that in his client's defense he had argued that the ISA empowers the government to detain Malaysians only when there is an organized threat to national security.

The government plans to appeal the judge's ruling. In comments emailed to us, the senior private secretary to the minister of home affairs said: "This decision is a clear demonstration if any were needed that Malaysia's judiciary is in good health and entirely independent from government," while noting that the ministry disagreed with the decision.

Friday's ruling sets a legal precedent that has the potential to be used to appeal other ISA detentions. This is no small feat: Since 1989 ISA detainees have not been permitted to challenge their detentions in court, with the narrow exception of challenges for procedural issues.

The Internal Security Act has long been a blight on Malaysia's democracy. Former Law Minister Zaid Ibrahim resigned in protest over the law earlier this year. In September, he wrote an open letter to the prime minister in which he said that the ISA has been "abused to further certain political interests" and called for its repeal.

Justice Syed Ahmad's ruling in Mr. Petra's case is a good first step toward limiting the powers of the ISA. Even better would be its repeal.

written by Mark C, November 12, 2008 10:24:37
this esteemed syed is definitely more learned and fair compared to the other botak syed. smilies/grin.gif
written by michael chick, November 12, 2008 10:30:40
Syed Hamid Albar should Commit SuicideHe is beyond redemption ..
written by ahmadneil, November 12, 2008 10:33:21
The Home Toilet Minister, Antu syed must accept full responsibility for miscarriage of justice.He have to personally tender a apology to this good muslim,RPK.
written by ahmadneil, November 12, 2008 10:36:47
Michael Chick,
You have to find a secret route through the Cambodia jungle for Taksin to return to Thailand,now since he have no place to call home.
written by michael chick, November 12, 2008 10:47:29
written by DreamLady, November 12, 2008 11:10:51
thank you, michael chick, this picture tells a cystal-clear story !!!

take care always, will you !!
written by ibabonma, November 12, 2008 11:16:20
Syed Botak, mana nak sorok muka? Awak tahu tak, 60% rakyat Malaysia benci tengok muka awak, 30% ludah muka awak dan hanya 10% kata: no comment!
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 12, 2008 11:24:24
Hmmmm, to me that picture serves as clear evidence against two anti-government protesters for UMNO. Perhaps a picture of the ISA should be included above their he***. This is indeed playing with FIRE, my friend!
written by DreamLady, November 12, 2008 11:40:27
Rainbowseahorse, by the way, do you think you would like to climb up the mountain you mentioned so that you can see what is on top of it?? ...

never mind, I am just pulling your leg..

Take very good care of yourself and be good,,(he..he..) and of course, don't climb the mountain, it is too cold at this time of the year.
written by DXB2008, November 12, 2008 11:40:27
And dubai welcomes chinese by establishing a chinatown...http://1426.blogspot.com/2008/...akini.html
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 12, 2008 11:54:21
Too cold at this time of year?? Yes, that’s for sure…and, if my memory serves me right, windy like hell too!

But that’s not the reason, my DreamLady…too old to make that climb now lah!...hehehe..
written by Angela Ooi, November 13, 2008 06:50:57
Justice Syed Ahmad is a hero. I pray he and his family will be blessed for good begets good and ditto to the BN bullies
written by Angela Ooi, November 13, 2008 06:52:31
Dreamlady, thanks for the entertaining afternoon we had with you. You are one mighty interesting lady. Contact me when you next return, godspeed