Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Sound and fury in Parliament

Sound and fury in Parliament PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 12 November 2008 09:47

Tajuddin lost his temper and yelled "B*****d!"

According to news reports, he followed it up with "You bloody b*****d, show me proof."

The Straits Times

When a MP screeched "B*****d!" at his opposition colleague in Parliament recently, it stunned many. This was a new low, even for Malaysia's rambunctious Parliament.

In reality, most parliamentary days are tediously quiet. Yesterday, for instance, saw Second Finance Minister Nor Mohamed Yakcop on his feet for almost the entire day replying to points raised in the Budget debate.

But there are days when the House bursts into a cacophony. Malaysian MPs are no wallflowers, especially the handful of infamous ones from both the Barisan Nasional (BN) and opposition who take delight in needling each other.

Their language can be colourful, and often skirts the boundaries of good taste. Sexism and chauvinism are par for the course, but swear words are generally taboo.

It was opposition MP M. Kulasegaran who provoked the outburst last Wednesday when he said that the Indian community in a Perak constituency "hated" their BN MP Tajuddin Abdul Rahman.

Tajuddin lost his temper and yelled "B*****d!"

According to news reports, he followed it up with "You bloody b*****d, show me proof."

This got the press in a tizzy and soon after that, the government said it might introduce a code of ethics for MPs. Truly an irony.

"It's important for MPs to be more careful with their words. Society will look at them differently if they misbehave," Unity, Culture, Arts and Heritage Minister Shafie Apdal said.

Parliament has been enlivened since the March political tsunami blew in 81 opposition MPs and one independent, quadrupling their strength in the House overnight. The BN started out with 140 MPs, but this fell to 138 when the Sabah Progressive Party pulled out of the coalition. Its two MPs are now seated in the independent section.

The MPs from the two camps started baiting one another from the word go. At the first sitting this year in April, two veteran politicians called each other "Bigfoot" and "big monkey".

More recently, "dinosaur" got an airing when Khairy Jamaluddin, the son-in-law of Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi, reportedly used this term to describe veteran politician Lim Kit Siang, who refused to let him interrupt.

Opposition MPs have also staged several walkouts this year. The latest was during Deputy Premier Najib Razak's briefing on the RM7 billion stimulus package, when he refused to clarify if it was a supplementary budget.

"I can say that Parliament is busier this term compared to the last term. The quality of debate has improved but there is no difference when it comes to the antics of certain MPs," said Mr Nur Jazlan Mohamed, a second-term BN MP from Johor.

But while the cacophony is not unusual, it has made the government sit up. With enhanced public scrutiny and an unfavourable public mood, controversial issues can no longer be swept aside - they merely appear on the Internet the next day.

Young opposition MPs like Tony Pua are comfortable with blogging, and he frequently uploads his speeches and commentaries on his blog.

There is no hiding unwanted publicity. The government has learnt at its peril to ignore blogs, as unchallenged assertions quickly become a new truth.

So, amid the showboating in the House, the opposition has managed to force the government's hand after it latched on to a number of issues.

In a rare success, its dogged battle against the DNA Identification Bill, which allows for compulsory collection of samples from crime suspects, has forced a lengthy delay.

The opposition has labelled the Bill draconian, and alleged that it was targeted at obtaining a sample from opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim, who is charged with sodomy. He has refused to give a sample, citing fears
that he would be framed.

Far from getting a smooth ride in September, the Bill has now been postponed. It could be March next year before it gets back on the agenda.

Last week, the government gave in to MPs' demands for a disclosure of the payout to five judges who were sacked in 1988. It was RM10.5 million.

The opposition's carping on the intended RM1.6 billion purchase of Eurocopter EC725 Cougar helicopters also caused the government to shelve the deal on the grounds of global economic woes.

But not everyone agrees that the opposition is constructive. "They are sometimes just being difficult," said Nur Jazlan.

Ironically, opposition MP Liew Chin Tong agrees in part, but blames the parliamentary system. He said MPs often do not get a chance to speak, and there is no system for debate procedures to be mutually agreed upon to avoid clashes. There are no proper committees set up to deliberate Bills.

In the end, the government often gets its way, by its superiority in numbers. The opposition has yet to figure out how to leverage its power other than with louder vocal theatrics.

"There is no new paradigm to deal with an expanded opposition, and we are stuck with this thing, which is basically show business," said Liew.

written by Dominic, November 12, 2008 10:07:04
[MT admin - VM ] Stop tagging word Islam with everything.
written by ahmadneil, November 12, 2008 10:15:09
Can't blame these pea size brains.After losing the 2/3 majority,they start to loose their temper also.
written by budakindia, November 12, 2008 10:16:16
and action was never taken against him! Karpal just mention jangan main-main and he was suspended for 2 days! I'm sure my dog Pandikar Amin Mulia is happy now!
written by michael chick, November 12, 2008 10:34:49
UMNO has lost their Minds. Now it's time to make them lose their Position as Government. Rakyat, Please Take over.
written by borneoman, November 12, 2008 10:52:11
bn..correct,correct,correct.everything else wrong.Bastard umno led bn is trying to play God!if bn has been so good and succesful in governing and ruling malaysia,why are we still legging behind the other developing nation.after 50yrs the bn govt is still unable to supply clean and treated water to all the citizens of sarawak.where have all our oil,gas and timber revenues göne to? We demand to be out from the useless federation of umno malay-sial malaysia.
written by ibabonma, November 12, 2008 10:52:26
Orang Pasir Salak seekor ni, Tajudin ni, memang mempunyai perangai macam orang ulu. Cuba tengok muka dia ...sebijik macam orang bukit! Orang macam ni, bodoh tak boleh diajar, pandai tak boleh diikut memang layak dipanggil BasTard. Dalam Parliament dia selalu cakap bodoh2 sambil tunjuk muka samsengnya. Ini yang orang Melayu Kampung Gajah lantik sebagai MP? Malu teman, orang Perak.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 12, 2008 10:59:51
Hmmmmm!....since a precedent has been set, the opposition can dish out some equally profane language and say "sorry lah" before the government introduce a code of ethics for MPs. smilies/grin.gif
written by Zapper, November 12, 2008 11:22:16
BN's new university.....]Universiti Kurang Ajar. Criteria for admission. must be UMNO members only without any academic qualifications. Free Food and Board with generous pocket money. After graduation, the graduates will be guaranteed a high posts in UNMO and government.
written by gorshan, November 12, 2008 11:48:58
today "bloody bastard" tommorrow what? will action be taken by the speaker pandikar against this MP?
written by DXB2008, November 12, 2008 11:50:14
Leaders like TAjuddin is trying hard to be in the news irrespective either good or bad or just plian stupid...he is contesting ameno election, hopefully with his behaviours and kurang ajar, he would be elected to represent the real ameno -ugly! http://1426.blogspot.com/2008/...-baru.html
written by mick_err_stan, November 12, 2008 12:20:03
Instead of arguing over NEP, Special rights, our representative should be focusing on :-
- Improving the level of education in the country
- More Universities, perhaps one in every state
- Housing for the poor
- Environment..cleaning of river, recycling of rubbish, waste management, recycling of rain water
- More recreation areas to promote healthy living amongst Malaysian and to promote sports ie badminton halls, swimming pools, cycling track etc
- To improve the public transport

Instead on all the above, government is making trip oversea trips, Malay right, NEP, buy helicopter, buy submarine, argue over road sign, kissing the keris, calling Rakyat Pendatang..........B*****d......Ptui!!!!!!!!
written by adan, November 12, 2008 12:35:56
'Sound and fury'signifies NOTHING if it comes from an EMPTY VESSEL. but...It may show the how shallow and hollow the 'container'up there is
written by yy88, November 12, 2008 12:56:51
I think we should be grateful for the standard and quality of BN MPs elected as these will definite accelerated the downfall of BN, particularly UMNO. The more blunders, fumbles and scandals they create, they are digging their graves faster.
written by BORN FREE, November 12, 2008 12:58:25
What do one expect from retarded MPs, their minds and use of language are limited. They only recognised this sign "$$$$" in their vocabularly.
written by Chuan, November 12, 2008 13:44:03
Question: Who elected these people into the Parliament?

Answer: The Rakyat did.
written by cllim123, November 12, 2008 15:29:13
Low class MP this Tajuddin. Just like Bung the dung Mokhtar from the KinaBinatangan
written by khoosl11, November 12, 2008 15:38:50
sometimes i wonder if these are the best ppl we have elected to represent us in the government. I'm talking to ALL. I have been following the Parliment news nightly and sometimes I really feel like slapping some of them..the way they carry themselves in the House. Of course I can understand the tension and tmeper but that does not give anyone an excuse to conduct the way they did. What I have learned and what I know, if a person is angry, the words that is said are rubbish. I'm really disappointed. Can't the session be conducted to address issues that are affecting us and to provide solutions instead of calling names and so on? I dare not allow my kids to follow the parliment session because of all these unmature behaviour of our 'leaders' but yet, my kids will have to know who these ppl are as it is part of their school work. Imagine if a Minister is being called "@$$-&&%$" and later in school, the teacher or exams paper requires my kid to name the minister, is he wrong to say that this minister name is "@$$-&&%$"? Well this is what the House teach him...not me. So my dear learned ppl in the House of Parliment, pls for the sake of our country, the ppl you represent, your family and last but not least your intregity, behave yourself and grow up...
written by Yacob, November 12, 2008 19:27:02
Kalau tenggok muka MP Tajuddin, ramai akan setuju kalau dia disamakan dengan kera kena belacan. Tabiatnya pula betul-betul seperti babi sedang stim. Merapunya pula tidak ubah seperti orang gila.

written by raven1958, November 12, 2008 21:54:03
UMNO's days are numbered...they just cannot deal with the new media as they are not schooled in it...they think they can fix the blogs with more cover ups....it just wont work....the information age exploded 15 years ago.....UMNO and the BN are left behind hopelessly.......tak boleh tipu orang kampong macam dulu lagi....