Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow CPO: Protesters abused sanctity of Negaraku

CPO: Protesters abused sanctity of Negaraku PDF Print
Tuesday, 11 November 2008 20:41

Charles Ramendran and Maria J.Dass, The Sun

Amid mounting protests over the handling of a gathering on Sunday in which two dozen people were detained, Selangor police chief  DCP Datuk Khalid Abu Bakar today further explained the circumstances in which he acted.

Datuk Khalid Abu Bakar

He refuted claims that police were disrespectful to the national anthem when they moved in on participants of a candlelight vigil as the group was singing the Negaraku opposite the PJ Civic Centre.

He instead accused the protesters of abusing the sanctity of the Negaraku for making use of it to evade action.

"The members of the group sang the Negaraku about three or four times, each time police told them to disperse at the Jalan Timur field and at each place, they regrouped. They were using it to keep us at bay but we had acted within the law. How can I disrespect the Negaraku?

"I am an officer of the Royal Malaysian Police Force and I will be among the first to give honour to the national anthem. But in the best interest of security and order and to keep it in place, the police are empowered to evaluate the situation and act accordingly," said Khalid.

He explained that he did not hear the anthem being sung when his men moved in to disperse the crowd which had violated the law by taking part in an illegal assembly.

Earlier, a coalition of 12 NGOs issued a statement demanding for an apology from Home Minister
Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar and the resignation of Khalid for the way police acted against the public and some politicians who took part in the rally to commemorate the first anniversary of the Bersih rally, and to protest against the Internal Security Act (ISA).

Bersih, a coalition set up to promulgate free and fair elections, said police demonstrated contempt against the nation and the king by arresting those singing Negaraku.

Suaram coordinator Tah Moon Hui said Bersih has proof that the police had moved in to arrest the people while the Negaraku was being sung.

Seputeh MP Teresa Kok, who was also at the press conference, said Dian Abdullah, a 53-year-old woman fell and injured the back of her head when police moved in to make arrests. She received four stitches for the cut.

Lawyer and blogger Haris Ibrahim said the Selangor government should back up Bersih’s struggle as this is what the people of Selangor had voted them in to do (to carry out reforms).

Comments (51)Add Comment
written by Mark C, November 11, 2008 20:50:58
morons spinning his reasons out of control .... smilies/grin.gif
written by ahmadneil, November 11, 2008 20:53:05
Liar Khalid!I was there and I saw with my own eyes that these people were singing Negaraku happily when the police out of jealousy ,storm the gathering.he police were jealous becos these people sing a better Negaraku than the police.
written by kkselvam, November 11, 2008 20:53:21
This stupid DCP talks exactly like his useless boss Shit Hamid al Blur! He claims he didn't hear Negaraku being sang when they charge at the crowd.Hoi DCP!
Engkau makan tahi Hamid ka sampai otak penuh shit and telinga hang tu penuh dengan tahi jugak? Pi jilat bont*t shit hamid la....bodoh punya police!!!
written by Alice, November 11, 2008 20:54:23
Wow am I the first person to post a comment for this smilies/grin.gif

"I am an officer of the Royal Malaysian Police Force and I will be among the first to give honour to the national anthem.
Selangor police chief DCP Datuk Khalid Abu Bakar
======================================================= ==================
Dian Abdullah, a 53-year-old woman fell and injured the back of her head when police moved in to make arrests. She received four stitches for the cut.

Blood is on your hand you animal with no conscience.
Bully the innocent rakyat.

Where is the Selangor rulers to protect the people? They voted you in and gave you power and so please carry out your job!

Disgusting.
By the way why is Albur looking so pathetic??
My you are a bloody hypocrite.
written by nanakassim, November 11, 2008 20:54:58
Khalid Abu Bakar, I don't know which book you read to come up with such novel excuses for your actions.

I told you to read the book by Sun Tzu which tells you how you can come up with strategic reasons to justify your actions.

Or did you by mistake read the book about Shih Tzu? Doesn't matter, really. You will find some glaring similarity in this book about your life.
written by Mr Smith, November 11, 2008 21:04:16
"I am an officer of the Royal Malaysian Police Force....."
====================
I would say you are an officer of the Royal UMNO Police Force. Go on and spin your story after 24 hours of contemplation to wriggle out from your first denial.
Why must a DCP be present for such a simple harmless vigil by patriotic citizens? A senior inspector or ASP can do the job, stupid.
You go catch the Mat Rempit first.
written by malgal, November 11, 2008 21:05:57
and with that, the clowns retrieved their pinocchio noses, scratched their behinds, scraped the bottom of the barrel, and bowed out.
written by patriotic1994, November 11, 2008 21:08:17
Still, the statement did not justify the attack of police to civilians. This is not only rude, it is injuring and causing harm to innocent people! Blood bleed because of them.
written by ahmadneil, November 11, 2008 21:09:43
Khalid is washing his hands clean .
Antu syed distancing himself from this incident.
These tainted crooks are responsible for this incident.
Where is Khir Toyo whom the rakyat wants you to arrest!

written by onnetline, November 11, 2008 21:10:07
Khalid Abu Barkar,

You are no different from the rest of the running dogs of Barisan Najis, ok ??
written by truthbespoken, November 11, 2008 21:10:40
How can anyone or group singing the Negara-KU, our National Anthem, post a security threat that requires the police to move on them aggressively? Anyhow one looks at it, commonsense will dictate that the police actions were unwarranted and unduly harsh on the peaceful protesters.

It is a straightforward case the police are either overzealously trying to score points with their superiors or blindly following stupid orders from superiors! The more they try to explain on the unwarranted incident now the worse it is for them. The proof is in the video! Just no running away!
written by SocratesI, November 11, 2008 21:17:14

This Moron Anjing has shown utter disrespect for the national anthem ... what is wrong with people singing the national anthem anytime they want ??!! What sort of perverted reasoning is this Anjing using ?? Talking through his @rse !!

Obviously as a direct result it means that the Unscrupulous Moronic Nazi Org. PARIAHS have shown utter disrespect towards the national anthem and Malaysia !! Why do we still have them governing Malaysia ??
DOWN with UMNO !! Down with Barisan Najis !!

written by Liberace, November 11, 2008 21:17:15
Are we supposed to be impressed by the Royal Malaysian Police Force (RMPF)? Does that make Khalid a saint? The RMPF is a stinking organization full of trigger-happy thugs and the CPO is the chief stinker.
written by Biztrack, November 11, 2008 21:20:00
Soon the police will make singing NegaraKu at non-UMNO functions a seizable (ie an arrest without warrant) offence.Bodoh punya POLIS
written by ploon, November 11, 2008 21:24:28
During the Selangor state government's Malaysia Day celebrations in the Kelana Jaya stadium on 15th September, Anwar thanked the Selangor police chief for granting a permit for the event. As an aside, he remarked that that person has a bright future. Is this the selfsame Khalid Abu Baker we're talking about here?
written by Liberace, November 11, 2008 21:27:17
Caught lying red-handed again. First he said that the protesters sang the national anthem 3 or 4 times to prevent the police from dispersing them. Then he said that he didn't hear them singing the national anthem when he ordered his thugs to charge the gathering. The video clearly showed that the protesters sang continuously so if he heard it the first time, he would have heard it when they sang again.
written by Sudahlah tu, November 11, 2008 21:38:55
abu bakar .... anak kau ke ?
apa kerja dia tu ?
berkhidmat ataupun pak turut ?
anak khalid , ini bapa awak ke ?
betulkah apa yang dia cakap tu ?
kat rumah pun dia bercakap macam itu ke ?
wah .. cakap itu ... kalau bukan bohong ...macamana kita nak percaya ya..
jadi anak khalid , suka tipu lah tu ... ikut bapa awak tu..
written by budakindia, November 11, 2008 21:40:31
Don't you think by saying that you have admitted giving the orders to charge at them while singing Negaraku? Err you have been caught with your pants down, haven't you?
written by justinlian, November 11, 2008 21:41:28
All liars..
When are they going to stop lying and do something really please the rakyat.
written by hiro, November 11, 2008 21:46:01
Actually I'm not surprised if the crowd repeatedly sang Negaraku to prevent the police from dispersing them. It's an ingenious strategy that must surely have gotten the police frustrated, causing them to commit a major public relations disaster.

But the CPO is clearly missing the point. So what if people do not disperse? There is right to assemble peacefully in Malaysia. It's in our Constitution, it's said by Suhakam, and it's written in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. Only that our Courts never had the guts to proclaim certain provisions with the Police Act unconstitutional.

In fact, the CPO should resign not just because he's inflicted violence upon a peaceful crowd, but because his actions (and the actions of many police heads, and also the Home Ministers) have tarnished the good name of PDRM and the federal government by giving the civil society the ammunition to condemn the police further and to call for the repeal of ISA. It should be in order for the PM to immediately make this so for the good of BN if BN is to survive the coming months.
written by arazak, November 11, 2008 21:58:38
"He explained that he did not "HEAR" the anthem being sung when his men moved in to disperse the crowd which had violated the law by taking part in an illegal assembly."
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gee. . ., this guy is not only "deaf", but he dumb as well!!!
written by ylcc, November 11, 2008 22:18:45
I have always restrained myself from personal attacks .... but I cannot help it this time. The photos are so funny - can the admin put more flattering photos than the ones posted here?
On a serious note, the CPO was telling the truth when he said he was not lying ... what he meant was that he was instructed to lie!
written by ChiaCY, November 11, 2008 22:22:49
My dear friend Khalid,

first, you said the group sang 4 times Negaraku to evade themselves. Sorry, I was late, I sang once, and before I can finished, you charged.

second, you said as the PDRM officer, you will be among the first to give the honour to the National Anthem. Yes, I guest you do respect the National Anthem by allowing your people, FRU and plainclothes shouting and marching towards citizen armed with candles. Is this the way PDRM respect National Anthem?

third, you said you did not hear us singing the National Anthem, I would suggest that you sing in public whether your version is the same as ours. If yes, you are lying or you are deaf; if no, you are probably loyal to other National Anthem, not "Negara Ku".

Sometime I am amazed with PDRM officers nowaday speaking as if they are politicians.
written by Christ, November 11, 2008 22:45:46
This is a classic example of a 'caught with his pants down' damage control exercise. But to do a damage control, you CANNOT be serious in coming up with this EXCUSE! Gawd, it's like we are NOT educated at all! Just RESIGN-lah, you get more respect than this.
written by chanatak, November 11, 2008 22:46:28
I saw the video of the charge. The CPO probably didn't. If he did, he was too blind else he is one of the UMNO lying muslims. The protestors were just singing peacefully the national anthem when these binatangs starting screaming and charging at them. There was no respect in the way they were singing, but for sure you can hear one or two singing out of tune. There was no justification for the cruelty shown. It is time that these UMNO-bred and UMNO-fed anti-Malaysian police be replaced by truly competent and thinking professionals. These morons cannot even rationalize properly, and keep opening their mouths to put their feet in. Stupid animals! just shaddup and stop making fools of yourselves.

written by My2Sens, November 11, 2008 23:11:02
The truth is out there and the rest is hot air.
written by Ben, November 11, 2008 23:34:15
The cpo can deny and refute all you want. The Rakyat is taking him to court with all the evidence and charges of police brutality. Let him answer in court and allow justice takes its course. We have faith in the judiciary after the recent fair trials with independent and fair judgments.

We want him to take the stand under oath that he acted professionally and within the boundaries of the civil and common law, not the law of the jungle. Let him testify if he had acted in good faith without malice and brutality against the evidence available. If he cannot be transparent, we must evaluate if he is competent and make him accountable for the injuries and transgressions against civil rights and humanity. Make our day!
written by No nonsense, November 11, 2008 23:37:12
When the National Anthem is sung or played every citizen have to stand to attention in respect to the Rurals and country. The Police did was to charged at the people when they sang it. A disrespect is shown by the protecters of the people and the country and action must be taken. There should not be any excuse whatsoever.How can I disrespect the Negaraku? That is exactly what he was doing. I am very sure that an ordinary man on the street will to do that in front of the police he/she will be charged. Why not this police chief? Dont you think the law is the law? Is the law only apply to some and not to some? This is to show the Law is breaking the law. No one is above the law or is it?
written by Gargamel, November 11, 2008 23:37:51
If I were there, I would've sung Negarakuku. smilies/smiley.gif
written by biggun129, November 12, 2008 00:33:12
I was there, I sung 'Negaraku' several times, I make mistake, I should have sing 'Oh, Khalid, I love you more than I can say, Oh, Khalid, I loving you' !!!
written by Lim Lim, November 12, 2008 00:43:10
this MF liar lied,n now the same S>O>B starts talking Co.ck!!
written by ChrisNg, November 12, 2008 01:04:35
Didn't know that singing NEGARAKU for a few times is a crime. Well, I sing NEGARAKU when i take my shower, I sing NEGARAKU before i goes to work, I sing NEGARAKU when i'm bored, I sing NEGARAKU to my son and my daughters everyday to remind them that despite we're not accepted as Bangsa Malaysia, we will still fight to the death for the love of the country, well...MR. KHALID!..Should you arrest me and my family now?
written by kc kua, November 12, 2008 01:06:36
If the state chief police can be a liar, who can we trust now? Maybe now we only can trust the C4 that can help us to solve the matter as it being done before.
written by temenggong, November 12, 2008 01:09:21
3 or 4 times?

You piece of shit, we sang only once and your men charged while we were on the last verse! I was there you cowdung!

You too will be corralled end of this month!
written by temenggong, November 12, 2008 01:11:46
A navy officer is going to be put in charge of the PDRM on the 1st of Dec 2008!
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, November 12, 2008 01:12:12
Incredible explanations for an incredible use of force against an incredibly mature group of Malaysians for an incredible cause - the abolishment of ISA.

Even when faced with video proofs, denials and turning the tables to say others use the singing of Negara Ku as a veiled defense sounds incredibly ridiculous.

We are living in incredible times where equally incredibly ridiculous excuses given by the Police and Home Minister prevails to deny the truths of each situation.

Incredible! Just incredible! (shaking head! smilies/angry.gif)

http://proud2bmalaysian.*********.com/
written by FFT, November 12, 2008 04:07:52
Why does Syed Hamid Albar look like he's forcing something out of his bottom?

Oh wait, nevermind, he was in deep thought.
written by cheekymate, November 12, 2008 06:06:58
Charge the PDRM led by Khalid Abu Bakar under TREASON. This is punishable by death.
written by Bloodhound, November 12, 2008 07:21:18
They are trying hard to push all the blame onto the protesters after being caught with their pants down. They thought that by saying/claiming that the protesters were lying regarding the police action, they could wash their hands off the whole sordid affair.

Then, came the video recording of the event. Now they say that they did not hear the protestors singing the national anthem and it was in the best interest of security and order that they advanced menacingly onto the peacefully gathered crowd - to this I'd ask, show us how public security and order had been achieved when the police moved in menacingly on a peacefully gathered crowd (standing still and singing the nationl anthem)?? - didn't this action by the police in fact caused panic, fear and finally public insecurity and disorder - even injury to members of the public??.

The crowd would have moved on peacefully if a bit more patience and common sense prevailed...is that too much or too difficult?? Either they are deaf or they are dumb - the whole crowd were singing the anthem and they could not hear it?? - how disrespectful!

They used to be able to get away with all sorts of spins and accusations and blames against the people they targeted in the past because the media was totally controlled by them. Without it, their lies are becoming more regular, apparent but, luckily, more absurd.

Now we know how they work and the level they can stoop to in covering up all their lies and misdeeds! Where is justice? Where is the rule of law that they are supposed to defend and uphold?
written by BORN FREE, November 12, 2008 08:35:25
Bullshit ! We did not sing 3 -4 times. We only sang once in Amcorp Mall when we were dispersing and the 2nd time in Civic Centre, again when we were ready to disperse. Unless u, "blue dogs" dont know how to sing the full song of the NAtional anthem, thats why you thought that we sang 3 -4 times! U barged in before we could finish the full song cos "blue dogs" knew that we are about the disperse after finishing the National Anthem, just like what we did in Amcorp Mall. CPO, u can lie once in awhile but you cant lie all the time ! This time around, there are hundreds of people that can prove that you lied!
written by BORN FREE, November 12, 2008 08:38:51
Oh another thing, we sang our National Anthem cos we simply loves our country and we sang in a multi racial group that is we are all "BANGSA MALAYSIA" !!
We are not posing a threat to the country ! We simply loves our country too much that is why we want change and we need it fast!!!
written by Peace4A11, November 12, 2008 09:23:36
Dear police officers, why you charged at us? We do not do any harm to anyone. We even say "terima kasih" to police office who were standing along the way from Amcorp Mall to Civic Centre near LRT station. Me, my wife and our 4 childrens were there when you charged us. We have to run different direction. My heart almost collapsed not knowing where my wife and children were for 15 minutes.
written by amoker, November 12, 2008 10:06:41
Oh, this Khalid guy with a trained police ear can hear the Negaraku sung 3 times and missed the last one when they attack? How convenient.

Khalid, preserve the integrity of the people under you and resign. the more you talk, the more stupid you look.
written by amoker, November 12, 2008 10:08:28
Whooppss... seemed that his statement of '3' times is also a lie. See, Khalid has repeatedly lied. Good, obedient police
written by born2reign, November 12, 2008 10:56:07
Do we need police permit to sing Negaraku? smilies/tongue.gif
written by Taikohtai, November 12, 2008 11:29:28
This basta^d CPO should have maintained that his goons charged because they were all going excruciatingly deaf hearing the national anthem sung out of sync by some Malaysian Idols wannabes, not once but 3-4 times! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by astina, November 12, 2008 12:18:52
SAYA RASA KERBAU PUN BERUPAYA UNTUK BERFIKIR DENGAN BAIK!!

Tapi ..dia orang ni..apa nak cakap pun tak tau !! smilies/grin.gif
written by miwaki, November 12, 2008 12:36:25
Khalid,do you sit for the current SPM exam ? It is because of people like you that malaysia has no future.What public safety and order are you talking about ? Without morons like you in malaysia,we are safe and sound.Please get lost !
written by needchg, November 12, 2008 12:42:53
A lot of crap talking here. Now get this straight!!
The FRUs did their job as instructed by their leading superiors. They wore their red helmets so I suppose their hearing will be impaired especially so when they were charging in and beating their batons against their shields. Their minds shut to the extent of preparing for battle.
What I like to know is, who are the commanding officers leading them into battle...I am sure they were NOT wearing any helmets and they could hear the national anthelm being sung. I was there and I heard commanding officer shouting like a growling ****** psyching his charges up as they moved in.Call out the commanding officer for questioning!!!! He is responsible for the mayhem on that peaceful night.
written by onnetline, November 12, 2008 19:44:25
kHALID aBU bAKAR,

You have no respect for the rakyat who supports your livelihood !

This is a peaceful gathering as you well know. Shame on you.