Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow RM5b injection not to repay Valuecap's debts, says Nor Mohammed

RM5b injection not to repay Valuecap's debts, says Nor Mohammed PDF Print
Tuesday, 11 November 2008 20:38

(The Sun) The RM5 billion to be injected into Valuecap Sdn Bhd by the Employees Provident Fund (EPF) will not be used to repay its RM5.1 billion debt due in February, Second Finance Minister Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop said.

Tan Sri Nor Mohamed
Yakcop

Winding-up Budget 2009 at the committee stage, he said ValueCap's main shareholders - Khazanah Nasional Bhd, Permodalan Nasional Bhd (PNB) and Pensions Trust Fund Council (KWAP) - have agreed to refinance the loan.

"So far, ValueCap had been able to pay off all its loan interests within the stipulated duration and at the same time, it had also been capable of paying dividends to its shareholders,” he told the Dewan Rakyat today.

Khairy Jamaludin (BN-Rembau) had raised the issue in his debate while Tony Pua (PJ-Utara) had said according to documents from the Securities Commission, ValueCap had issued bonds on Feb 28, 2003, which would mature three years from the date of issuance and can be extended for another three years, as allowed in the terms of the bond in 2006.

To the points raised by Datuk Dr Marcus Mojigoh (BN-Putatan), Saifuddin Nasution Ismail (PKR-Machang) and Lim Kit Siang (DAP-Ipoh Timur), Nor Mohamed said the RM5 billion injection does not involve any risks to EPF contributors.

"It is guaranteed 100% by the government. ValueCap will use the fund to invest in companies whose share prices are low but have strong fundamentals and potentials.This is a good time for ValueCap to invest, being a long-term investor,” he said.

To Azmin Ali’s (PKR-Gombak) comparison that the injection is less effective to generate growth as opposed to direct injection into the real economy as being done by the US and China, Nor Mohamed admitted that investments into real economy is important and the government has announced several initiatives to achieve this objective.

"At the same time, EPF has a role to channel its funds to support investments in real economy. This is part of its mandate. For example, through bond holdings offered by the corporate sector," he said.

He said banks were unable to finance the projects that need huge funds and with long gestation periods because bank financings are for short term, therefore the role of EPF in this issue is important.

"However, it does not mean that EPF must focus only on real economy and not on the capital market. By lending RM5 billion to ValueCap, it does not mean EPF’s funding in real economy will be affected because it has funds exceeding RM330 billion," he added.

On the High Speed Broad Band (HSBB) project, Nor Mohamed said it has been awarded to Telekom Malaysia through direct negotiation because at the moment, TM provides 85% of the country’s broadband services and possesses the necessary infrastructure.

"TM is experienced in the broadband field, having invested more than RM4 billion before," he added.

At the same time, he said, TM has been instructed to carry out all its procurements through open tender in order to provide opportunities to capable companies and cut down implementation costs.

"The HSBB project has a big impact on the country in terms of enhancing its competitive level and has apparent economic spin-offs. However, it would not be commercially competent without the government's support to facilitate it.

"This is an example of a good private-public partnership," he said, adding the government believes TM was a good choice to implement the project efficiently and effectively and at reasonable costs.

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, November 11, 2008 20:47:24
ANOTHER BULLSHIT!They are using this money to prop up the cronies 's stocks that are badly battered.
written by kkselvam, November 11, 2008 21:01:23
Nor Mohammed.How much is your cut?
written by borneoman, November 11, 2008 21:05:59
what do you mean by epf has a role. who gave you the permission to use my only life saving?since when can you forecast and foretell a windfall?dont play GOD because only HE knows what the future holds.WHERE ARE YOU ACA AND JAKIM?
written by kennyeu, November 11, 2008 21:16:13
RM5B INJECTION NOT TO REPAY VALUECAP'S DEBTS

I agree. It wasn't used to pay Valuecap's Debts at all. It has been used to buy shares from companies like Scomi, Equine and other Abdullah/ Khairy related companies. Look at the share prices and volume traded in these counters since the fund was approved. It's all very telling that a bail out is in motion and the rats are beginning to abandon ship already.
written by Sudahlah tu, November 11, 2008 21:33:52
RM30 juta boleh lesap begitu sahaja sebab sifat tamak awak ...
bayangkanlah .... umno sudah banyak berdosa dan menipu Raja- Raja Melayu supaya bersubahat ...
Raja - Raja Melayu pun sudah mula sedar akan kuasa Allah yang sebenarnya ...
Kini kehilangan harta benda dunia serta tanah sendiri kerana tamak diri akan dihukum oleh Allah ....
Rakyat sudah matang .... kita tahu siapa yang lebih bodoh sebenarnya .. ha ha ha
written by justinlian, November 11, 2008 21:36:49
With a brain good for nothing..
Making so much losses of rakyat money..
yet he still dare to talk so much
written by budakindia, November 11, 2008 21:44:37
Then what's it for? Gambling in Las Vegas, Macau? What difference does it make anyway? It's outright the same! smilies/angry.gif Don't BS with the numbers!
written by OilMan, November 11, 2008 21:52:25
If the issue was not highlighted by a good samaritan then it would have been a different story. Right?
written by hiro, November 11, 2008 21:54:17
Yakcop just don't get it. Who is to determine what is undervalued? What if they put in RM1bil today and the market plummets next week? Valuecap will immediately lose, on paper.

It is in order for the government to first prove that existing investment of Valuecap has been profitable. I guess they find it hard to do so, otherwise why do the sponsors of Valuecap need to restructure their loan?

And it is infuriating that the government continues to unabashly claim that EPF money is guaranteed by the government, without realising that in most people's minds, it means money from taxpayers.

It's like a recalcitrant kid saying "hey I'm playing this game. I know it's gonna physically hurt someone. It'll primarily hurt mom, but now dad's going to stand in for mom so it'll only hurt dad." The point is it WILL hurt someone. Isn't it better if the policy does not hurt anyone?

Come to think of it, is it punishment on the Chinese for voting against BN in the last elections? Is the government going to sell the idea to the Malays that while EPF money is probably money belonging to all races, taxpayer's money is mostly from the Chinese? So in the end, it is using Chinese money to guarantee a potentially fatal investment policy? Will the Malays stand for this discrimination? It's almost like the Nazis mistreating the Jews.

Is UMNO neo-Nazi?
written by citizenmy, November 11, 2008 21:56:50
I want believe every word this Nor says, but my subconscious mind says this is BS. I trust my subconscious mind judgement more.
written by CM Lam, November 11, 2008 23:04:19
EPF has its own department to look after its own investment so why do they need to loan out this 5 billion ?
Who is the govt to guarantee this loan and with whose money ?
You mentioned Valuecap is managed by 'professionals'...can you make this public ?
Since Valuecap is using part of our EPF money, they should in return make public details of investment portfolios, purchase value, declare profit or loss on these investment etc.
Most important of all, what are the detail and condition of this EPF loan like for how long the period, repayment schedule and at what loan interest ?
You just cannot say Finance Minister instructed......and as for EPF panel...just agree without even asking !
written by cheekhiaw, November 11, 2008 23:06:04
LIAR'S HALF-TRUTH

He is right. It is not to repay their debts. It is to pay for their margin calls. Very different...

written by lovemalaysiarakyat, November 12, 2008 00:06:09
Great, someone has finally agreed that ValueCap has debts to the tune of 5.1 billion!!! You and I see it - it is so simple but they go round and round trying to explain what they say they are not doing or not using EPF money etc. We see it but not the country's leaders. Don't rip us off anymore. All the bullshit.

Stop using our money to plug holes so big, that Jupiter planet should be used to plug it. ACA should do some checking there at ValueCaps too. I think Sungei Buluh or Kamunting should be used to put the corrupted fellas in - not enough place for all of them. We are so sick of corruption - Malaysia is smelling of dead rotting corrupted corpses..... smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by kc kua, November 12, 2008 00:52:50
do you think that we still can trust the Government ah? be more specific on your statement, act more like a Minister, please give us the answer how much Valuecap has pay for the interest, to whom and how dividend they have declared to their shareholder?
written by Batangkali, November 12, 2008 04:42:35
Tank Shit Yacob and the UMNO Vultures, EPF is a structure set up with the Raayat's money. The Gomen has no right to use the money. Its decision must be made by professional and not by UMNO or any other politicians or vested interest group.

UMNO & the UMNO led gomen has make every money making institution into a sink hole. Rememeber the days of Pernas, Plus, Hicom, Proton, MAS, Bank Bumi, latest Maybank, and now our Money EPF. Pencuri, pencuri, pencuri, lay off !

We have enough pencuri, in the forms of Mak maks and turn this into Mak mak land, starting with Tan of Shit, TDM., now Yacock !! Get lost all these half breed melayu still big time. Go & steal your own money, if you have any !!
written by gtl, November 12, 2008 05:37:52
cannot believe these nonsense, EPF loan to Valucap is safe bcs it is back by govt?? where does govt get the money from? the sky? still the rakyat of malaysia have to bear the cost. too much BS..........
written by The Hammer, November 12, 2008 08:02:12
Valuecrap can get the soft loan after they settle all outstanding debts!
Hell, looks like we are not going to get this RM5 bil back.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 12, 2008 10:07:51
"..."It is guaranteed 100% by the government".

How reassuring and comforting! And exactly how is the government with a huge deficit going to guarantee the loan? Use more of the EPF money to pay back to the EPF loan taken by Valuecap??.

Another case of that Indian Second Finance Minister being overtly smart and treat us Malaysians like idiots.
written by ATSaari, November 12, 2008 10:55:16
We are still asking and wondering - WHERE IS THE GOVERNOR OF THE BANK NEGARA? In the time of crises isn't it will be more appropriate and confident if the Governor is at hand to help deal with all the problem. Why is only the politician are left to deal with the issues.

Once again, if the Governor find it hard or difficult for her to carryout her duties and responsibilities or if the politicians are hindering her in performing her professional requirements with their personal agenda, it is best that the Governor RESIGN before the shits hits the fan and fall smack on your face.
written by tattooing, November 12, 2008 10:59:58
"..."It is guaranteed 100% by the government".

WE BEEN ROB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
written by ATSaari, November 12, 2008 11:24:03
CHEERS MALAYSIAN!

While they are trying to rob us BILLIONS to help re-finance their forever failing CRONIES, (who went into business not as a genuine businessmen but 'fly by night' gold diggers and ball-lickers and of course as the instruments of corruption), the Government didn't forget us the rakyat!

Flash....in the front page of 'The Star' yesterday, 11 Nov, to help ease the burden of the rakyat, Dato' Shahrir Samad the Minister of KPDNDHEP or should I today announce him as Menteri Hal Ehwal Roti Canai dan Teh Tarik in a BIG hoooohaahhh seremony with some MAMAK geng, proudly announce the 10sen reduction in roti canai and roti telur price, 10sen in teh tarik and 20sen for nasi kandar!!!!!

What???? Roti Canai and Teh Tarik!!!

Shahrir Samad is fast gaining popularity and synonymous to Mr Price Reduction. Countless number of fuel reduction is his hallmark. One day we will remember him and Badawi administration as the only administration that reduce the fuel prices the most number of time in one year while increasing it only once... WOW.

Shahrir will soon joined other bigots and idiots politicians from Johor such as the infamous Botak Syed Albab in trying to turn the rakyat as idiot as they are.

Raise your Teh Tarik cups and cheers.....our economy are safe in their hands.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 12, 2008 11:46:53
Henceforth, all Malaysians shall live on roti canai, roti telur, nasi kandar, and the tarik alone!
Yip, yip, horahhh to our savior minister of KPDNDHEP.!
written by Ashleigh, November 12, 2008 12:35:37
Guaranteed 100% by Government?? That means guaranteed by the people... the same buch who pay taxes and hence contributes to KWSP!!!

written by Ashleigh, November 12, 2008 12:52:56
NEW RULES BY KWSP FOR WITHDRAWAL FROM ACCOUNT 2

My sister had this problem when trying to withdraw from her account 2 to pay for a house that we (3 siblings) bought together back at hometown. Myself and my brother got our approval and money in October without much hassle. Unfortunately, my sis went to apply for hers this Monday and was told that the rules have changed starting 5th November.

On top of all the usual documents one has to submit to prove the purchase, she now has to prove her relationships with all of the buyers in the S&P, namely her relationships with me and my brother, for which she has to produce our birth certificates and my mum's IC. Worse, the officer at the KWSP branch in Sungai Petani gave her only very short period of less than 48 hours to produce the documents, even though she told the officer that me and my brother are both staying in KL hence need more time to get the birth cert out of the bank safety deposit and courier it back home! The officer further warned that if she failed to submit by 4p Wednesday, then the application will not be approved!

We were further told when tried to clarify with other KWSP branches that from now on, withdrawal from account 2 is not allowed if you purchase the property together with someone where no legal relationship exist. Only immediate family members or spouses are accepted... I don't understand the logic of such rules... the money is mine, not bank loan so why do I have to prove myself before taking out my own money??

Can someone verify if the rules have indeed been implemented? It seems like a way to make withdrawal more difficult to keep cash within KWSP so that they can further support ValueCap? The Government only report good news that we can have more cash in hand starting next year by contributing less to EPF... but there is totally no mention of such new rules that make our lives more difficult!
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 12, 2008 13:54:18
Ashleigh,
I do not know the new rules as I have no need to use Account 2.
But based on what you relate, which is rather disturbing, it points to a possible melt down in the EPF funds..meaning the EPF might have insufficient liquidity/funds to make other payments apart from the normal “upon reaching 55 years” retirement payments. Hence the red tapes and obstacles tactic for cover-up!

This is the major problem besetting Malaysia where all Trustees (be it Bank Negara, Petronas, EPF, etc) are all controlled and dictated to by UMNO and we can never get any straight answers and transperancies in their operative expenditures. Everything is hush-hush and only come to light when the situation is totally and utterly fuked-up!
Then it’s all too little too late!