Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Ka Chuan replaced as MCA sec-gen

Ka Chuan replaced as MCA sec-gen PDF Print
Tuesday, 11 November 2008 20:36

Giam Say Khoon, The Sun

MCA president Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat today named Dewan Negara deputy president Datuk Wong Foon Meng as the new party secretary-general, replacing Datuk Ong Ka Chuan who lost in his bid for the deputy presidency at party elections almost a month ago.

Ong announced his decision after the party central committee met for five hours at MCA headquarters here, ending a guessing game over whether he will retain Ka Chuan, the elder brother of former president Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting who did not to seek re-election to take responsibility for the party's dismal showing at the March 8 general election.

This decision effectively curtails the rise of Ka Chuan, who is also housing and local government minister. He had lost to Datuk Seri Dr Chua Soi Lek in the quest to be number two in the country's largest Chinese-based political party. It is now unlikely that he will be retained in the cabinet as well.

The secretary-general's post is a prized one as it ranks third in the party hierarchy after the president and deputy president.

Ong told a press conference after the meeting that they had spent time going through the line-up and it was a list endorsed by the central committee.

Asked why Wong was appointed, he said: "Do not ask me why. In fact, all the appointments made were based on the party constitutional powers vested in me and I followed exactly what was stipulated in the constitution. I don't need to tell the whole world my prime considerations. Of course, I have my rationale but I do not need to share with anyone."

Ong also threw a surprise when he did not name his deputy, Chua, who is a supremo in Johor MCA, as liaison chairman for any of the 13 states, a departure from traditional practice. Instead Ong will now be liaison chief for Johor.

Again, Ong said it was his prerogative and he gave no reason for his decision. He however added that Chua has been made government policy monitoring bureau chief.

When approached, Chua refused to comment on this matter, saying: "He (Ong) has already made it clear that it is his prerogative."

Asked if he accepted the decision, he said: "I never said I accept."

He said it was immaterial whether he was happy or not. "The members' happiness is more important. But I do not know if the members are happy."

Asked if he raised any questions during the meeting on the decisions made, Chua said: "Why should I?"

On whether he felt he was sidelined, he told reporters to analyse it themselves, and that he did not feel disappointed with the decisions.

Wong said he thanked the party president for his decision to appoint him as the secretary-general and he will do his best to serve the party.

Asked if he was surprised and felt pressure to hold the post, he said: “The party had given me some time to consider on the offer. I will do my best and from the experience I have in the party and government administration, I will make full use of it to enhance and strengthen the party”.

The other appointments:
> Corporate leader and senator Tan Sri Tee Hock Seng was named treasurer-general (replacing Tan Sri Lau Yin Pin)
> Yoo Wei How, political secretary to Health Minister Datuk Liow Tiong Lai, is the new organising-secretary (replacing Datuk Hon Choon Kim)

The new state liaison chiefs are:
Perlis – Wanita chief Datin Paduka Chew Mei Fun
Kedah -  Kubang Pasu division chief Lim Lye Huat
Penang – vice-president Datuk Liow Tiong Lai
Perak – vice-president Datuk Kong Cho Ha
Selangor – Senator Datuk Wong Foon Meng
Federal Territories – treasurer-general Tan Sri Tee Hock Seng
Negri Sembilan – central committee member Datuk Yew Chai Thiam
Malacca – Youth chief Datuk Dr Wee Ka Siong
Johor – president Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat
Pahang – central committee member Datuk Hoh Khai Mun
Terengganu – state exco Toh Chin Yew
Kelantan – vice-president Datuk Seri Dr Ng Yen Yen
Sabah – incumbent state chief Datuk Edward Khoo Keok Hai

Comments (11)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, November 11, 2008 20:44:08
With this, MCA is heading for another battle,the battle between lapdog and the womaniser.
written by onnetline, November 11, 2008 21:14:57
MCA is all about getting in power and self enrichment through Barisan Najis corrupted ways !!!

Ask that filthy rich carTUN Ling for directions, if lost !
written by justinlian, November 11, 2008 21:33:23
MCA has become a useless party to the rakyat esp the chinese.
Fight among themselves.
written by Sudahlah tu, November 11, 2008 21:35:36
lanun cina ... kumpulan ini lebih teruk daripada sebelum ini
written by cheekhiaw, November 11, 2008 23:19:41
perompak cina ganti pencuri cina?

written by my oumrie, November 12, 2008 00:02:54
Awat, Ambil senapang pi kawat,Tahi kambing bulat bulat, Ambil sikit buat coklat!
written by teohchye, November 12, 2008 04:56:43
These lapdogs are now fighting for the scraps left behind by big brother bully UMNO. No shame, lah! But what to do, there will be nothing left to fight for since BN/UMNO will become irrelevant soon!
written by BennyG, November 12, 2008 09:05:28
It's good to see infighting between Team A & Team B again. This way, they will annihilate one another before GE13.

May no one survive this time.
written by khongja, November 12, 2008 10:08:30
See power has already creept into Ong's head and feels the whole Mca goons are his.He is taking over the prized Johore state to consolidate his power base.Such greed you nevere saw in his earlier ventures under the Ong gang.And this guy talks of presidential powers .What a load of shit who deceived the chinese supporters in Ampang.He should have been whacked in March 08 election for todays arrogance.A load of shit for this so called chine leader!
written by Democrats, November 12, 2008 12:51:56
Just weeks after the new line up, tensions are already brewing between their no1 and no2....

I propose a truce......

No1 should perform felatio (since he's doing so for UMNO anyway - will never forgive him for misleading the public on his strong stance against ISA yet have no balls to sign on the memorandum) on No 2 (so he don't have to go to hotels to self indulge again).

BOth should be happy by then....
written by HHKim, November 12, 2008 12:59:20
I don't have faith and trust in the new MCA president.
In the past, he never opens his mouth to highlight national issues of importance. And I am sure he is there to warm the seat and collect his monthly salary until he retires.

Look, as new president, he is even not man and gentlemen enough to appoint Chua Soi Lek to a reasonable position and make use of his talent and acumen since Dr. Chua was selected by the MCA people. That goes to show OKT is another scrap or washout.

OKT started to tell the press that he does not need to tell the whole world the reasons for his decision - another indicator that he is becoming ARROGANT as President of MCA. Come on, OKT, to me MCA is a pasar malam party now the ways the mCA is conducting its business.

If you are keen to transform the party - firstly, you MUST show your little leadership and acumen. Now you have zero.

Mark my words fellow Malaysians, this MCA team will be only a show piece and will become irrelevant comes the next election.

The present teams there are like garbage and good for nothing. There is no strategy, no formulation of tactical plans, only yep.. yep.. yep about power.

I have never look at MCA and its leaders because they are not worth talking about. They behaved as though they are the towkeys in Malaysia.