Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Change doesn’t have to take 400 years to happen

Change doesn’t have to take 400 years to happen PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 11 November 2008 16:37

ALIRAN

Change does not take 400 years to happen. In countries like Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia and others, change has been on the boil for some time now and there is ample evidence that the old crumbling structures of governments and institutionalised power are falling apart, observes Aliran member Farish Noor. Will Malaysians have to wait 400 years before they see a woman as Prime Minister? Or a Malaysian-minded Prime Minister who breaks away from the outdated structures of racialised politics? 

The electoral victory of Barack Obama as the new President of the United States of America is long overdue, and many of us are thankful for it. No, its not because the rest of us are racists who hate white men; and no, its not because we are captive to the essentialised idea that black Americans are all victims and are necessarily good and innocent, in toto. It's simply because change is refreshing and we believe that change is good and healthy for the nation and humanity in general.

I recall taking a flight from Frankfurt to Kuala Lumpur once, when the pilot spoke to the passengers before take off. Suddenly there was a collective gasp of surprise when we realised that our pilot was a woman! I was suddenly gripped by an overwhelming sense of relief and curious pride, for somewhere in my settled conscience the idea had been sedimented that all pilots (like all doctors, scientists and Presidents) had to be male. Throughout the flight I had to resist the temptation of bursting into the cockpit to congratulate her, and to tell her how proud I was to be flying in a plane piloted by a woman for a change. (Though of course I would have been arrested immediately and handcuffed for fear of being a terrorist, more so because I am Muslim!)

That’s how change happens. It takes us by surprise and in a second its over and the historical moment has passed. But it requires that one vital element that makes change possible in the first place: human agency. There would not have been a woman pilot on my flight if this woman had not pursued her ambition to become a pilot relentlessly, never giving up on her dream despite the obstacles she may or may not have faced.

I am only raising this point now as I have noticed a rather disturbing, and potentially dangerous, narrative that has and is being spun in the wake of Obama’s victory. This is the narrative that the change that has come to the United States is due to the long historically determined and linear process of evolution; that we are told takes time, time and more time. We are fed the line that “Of course America has finally changed because it took four hundred years for black Americans to rise to where they are today.”

This sort of non-historical nonsense is served to us warmed up as a pseudo-scientific account of how and why historical progression needs to follow its own appointed destiny, and work within a fixed template that is set and determined in all cases. But this, the historian would like to add, is also utter nonsense.

The French lived under centuries of feudal rule by despotic Kings and Emperors like other Europeans, and for centuries they tried again and again to release themselves from the yoke of feudal domination. Until the time came when contingent historical factors occasioned a radical opening that allowed for revolutionary change at last. Likewise black Americans have been struggling against racism as soon as they were enslaved and brought to America in chains, and it wasn’t just yesterday that they realised that one of them could run for President.

For this reason we should not see Obama’s victory as a sudden and novel development of American society, but rather as one of those openings that allow for rupture from continuity and the historical progression of the same. Historical moments like these are always contingent, radical and unexpected, but they happen because there are human beings who exercise their free will and agency to will and fight for change; rather than to sit by and let history takes its course. History may always be a repetition of sameness, but historical moments take place when that sameness is challenged and successfully ruptured.

Therefore let us not swallow the silly argument that just because it took Americans 400 years to elect a black man as President every other country on the planet needs to wait 400 years before we can do the same too. No, change does not take 400 years to happen. In countries like Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia and others, change has been on the boil for some time now and there is ample evidence that the old crumbling structures of governments and institutionalised power are falling apart. Will Malaysians have to wait 400 years before they see a woman as Prime Minister? Or a Malaysian-minded Prime Minister who breaks away from the outdated structures of racialised politics? Will countries like Indonesia, Pakistan and India also have to wait 400 years before we see real change?

The narrative of history threads together elements of the same and the familiar to form a story that is consistent and intelligible, but the historian will tell you that history is replete with contingencies and ironies that broke the mould of the past and charted a new course for the future. For that reason, America’s success and Obama’s success should inspire us not to repeat history, but to go against it. Obama’s struggle against the tide of time makes him a man of our times; and let us hope that for so many other countries in Asia that same untimeliness will prevail as well. We can start by exercising our will for change, and by saying ‘No, we will not wait four hundred years before we dream of a better world today.’

written by cheekymate, November 11, 2008 16:40:11
Change, we can. First, kick those damned UMNO OUT FIRST!
written by crayon, November 11, 2008 16:53:47
what we have over in Malaysia, is Dictatorship disguised as Democratic.
those in power refuse to pass on power for their own personal gain.
written by Anak Kampung, November 11, 2008 17:01:21
A minor detail: I'm not so sure about the French as a model for several reasons. (1) I would rather not have a Malaysian Terror. [http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reign_of_Terror] (2) Sure, there was a Revolution, but AFTER the Revolutions, have you counted how many Emperors they had? And how many times they had to reinvent the government? This is now the FIFTH Republic after the Revolution. And I think there were two Empires. (3) The Revolution has left a lot of scars that still mark French society. (4) And as for integrating minorities, France is about the last place on earth we should be looking at.

Personally, I'm for gradual change along English lines. Starting with the Magna Carta, there have been relatively few bumps along the way like the unpleasantness with Charles I, but generally it's been smooth sailing. This appears to be an aberration in European history. We should take care that we do not enter modernity by similarly violent means to most of Europe.
written by Anak Kampung, November 11, 2008 17:09:39
Having said that, I agree with the conclusion that 'We shouldn't say that change takes a long time so we shouldn't do anything.' However, bearing in mind that as Farish Noor says, 'Historical moments like these are always contingent', we should dream of and work for change today but we still should not expect it tomorrow. If it happens tomorrow, great, but it may not.
written by ibabonma, November 11, 2008 17:16:50
We need changes, but is EVERYONE of us sincerely are prepared for a change and do away with our racial cultures and have a common one, for a start?
written by Liberace, November 11, 2008 17:17:27
Education, information and globalization have essentially folded time. What took 400 years before now can now happen in a matter of a few decades or even in a moment, depending on the enormity of the task. We're no longer in an age where each country lives in isolation and improvises as it goes along. Now we share information and learn from each other. We no longer start from scratch because we stand on the shoulders of those who came before us. In a sense, we're not 50 years old. We already had a lot of things in place when we gained independence.
written by temenggong, November 11, 2008 17:32:13
There is a lot of crap about afro-americans. On the contrary they are some of the greatest inventors. Many things we use in our homes today are inventions by blacks.

AFRO AMRICAN INVENTORS'

A very humorous and revealing story is told about a group of white people who were fed up with African Americans, so they joined together and wished themselves away. They passed through a deep dark tunnel and emerged in sort of a twilight zone where there is an America without black people.

At first these white people breathed a sigh of relief. At last, they said, No more crime, drugs, violence and welfare. All of the blacks have gone! Then suddenly, reality set in. The "NEW AMERICA" is not America at all-only a barren land.

1. There are very few crops that have flourished because the nation was built on a slave-supported system.

2. There are no cities with tall skyscrapers because Alexander Mils, a black man, invented the elevator, and without it, one finds great difficulty reaching higher floors.
for more, read here

A Few Black Inventors from the 1800's to 2000
http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=d81_1192813720
written by temenggong, November 11, 2008 17:45:25
That’s how change happens. It takes us by surprise and in a second its over and the historical moment has passed.

Yup. Like at the end of this month!
written by DXB2008, November 11, 2008 18:29:54
What about Malay language in Malaysia? http://1426.blogspot.com/2008/...-arab.html
written by Sinewy, November 11, 2008 18:34:26
It has been said that Obama is able to be elected as the future president of USA because he is totally assimiliated to the American culture. What is American culture? And it is argued by the learned person that a non-malay cannot be the PM of Malaysia because they stick to their own cultures and do not assimiliate into the malay culture. Since when does the culture of one person become the most determining factor for him to be qualified to lead a country? Isn't wisdom, integrity, humanity, fairness, hardworking, courage, etc be the very virtues of a good and propspective leader? Oh, I forgot. It does not apply for the case of Malaysia. We can have a lesser qualified person to lead us as long as he has the right culture. What a joke. It is precisely this sort of mentality that will get malaysia way behind in the globalised world. We will only be capable of competing with our friendly Cambodia, Burma, Loas and the lesser African countries in the future. Even Vietnam will be ahead of us. Katak di bawah tempurung, that is what we will be with leader blinded by narrow tunnel vision. Glokal? What is that? Just making statement with a blank head with no value attached will not get us very far. Why don't we reflect about ourselves. In our daily living lifestyle, our dressing, our habbits, our everyday endeavour, most of us apt the western. Is this part of our culture? Do we allow people who behave like that to be elected as the PM of our country? For the learned person who remarked that non-malays in Malaysia and Obama in USA are different is getting a zero for his courage to think wisely and lead the intellectual world.
written by Celestial, November 11, 2008 18:36:21
Dr Noor

As always, I have enjoyed your well articulated, balanced and reasoned article. You do every Malay proud. You have joined the ranks of recent towering Malays, the likes of RPK, Zaid, Haris, Art Harun, Din, Musa Bakri, etc who could succeed without the crutches that the UMNO goons say all Malays need and dismiss the slurs on your abilities.

As RPK stated in a recent article; Malays do not need the crutches that are a total slur on the abilities of good, self confident Malays to succeed. You and the list (not exhausive and I apologise to those that fit the bill and I have not mentioned) that I have mentioned are shining examples and I am proud of you all. You represent the warm & kind hearted, generous and wonderful people that we call our true Malay brethrens.
written by Fuminari, November 11, 2008 19:28:05
without the corrupted to core umno,everything would change to the better for malaysia promptly!with umno?most probably it wouldn't be able even with 4,000 years given,they are jus a bunch of 'wasted'!!
written by cruzeiro, November 11, 2008 20:07:35
Farish,
At the heart of this problem lies the evil of indoctrination and fear for freedom in the minds of men. This is made worse through reinforcement of many a superstition and fable created by godmen & politician.

Until & unless the people are willing to come out their ignorance to dispel thear fears of imagined demons - slavery (albeit, a "modern" one) is what we will have under the rule pirates.
written by fdqn, November 11, 2008 21:31:52
Yes! it is also the time for change in our Boleh land,we are all fed up with all their abuses of power, money politics,lies,anti multi racial culture,wastage of taxpayers money, snail pace action when serving the odinary people,cronies,unfair policy, bullying , corruptions,narrow minded policy,making one sided contract whereby the rakyat have to bear the burden of paying for the loan for decades signed by those who are suppose to fight for us,ect.ect.Simply put it we are FED UP,BUT, proud to be MALAYSIAN minus all those baggages,So help us god.
written by fdqn, November 11, 2008 21:41:50
FYI,many of my friends have learned how to use the PC,and we are as old as our beloved country,so its sort of an awakening,we want our old Malaysia back,were we can eat, mix,play,cook,exercise,cheer for Team Malaysia without feeling out of place or suspicious of each others.Give us back our Beloved Malaysia that we know.Yes! we must change!Change for a better place for our generations to come.Lat's comics says it all.That should be the Malaysia we must embrace.
written by truthbespoken, November 11, 2008 21:43:47
In the Malaysian context, whichever way one looks at it, CHANGE will only come about by getting more and more rural Malays informed and convinced of the blatant misdeeds and shortsightness of UMNO as the governing party of the country.

Otherwise, CHANGE may remain in the pipeline for sometime yet. The burden is more on PKR's and PAS's shoulders to carry out the responsibility efficiently.

written by temenggong, November 12, 2008 00:31:12
Dear admins,

You should not have censored part of my post; not this one at least!!

Your judgement is careless.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 12, 2008 09:31:59
Sorry I have to re-post!

Aliran,

Reading your article makes me relate to queuing up for inoculation.
It’s the type of anxiety that one get gets as the long queue meanders forward and it gets closer and closer to our turn (in this case Malaysians)to be inoculated (which in this case is Historical Progress).
We know it’s going to be painful, but we also know it’s a necessarily and, most importantly, in the long run it is for our own good.
The alternative is, of course, to turn tail and run away! Or to make a big fuss of the inoculation and accuse the doctor of giving us poison instead of medicine. That the medicine will make us ill instead of making us better, and all the other nonsense just because we are too scared and timid to be jab by that needle. Doesn’t this sounds familiar with what some of our Defenders of Malay Rights are hawking to other Malays???

And yes, the needle jab takes us by surprise and in a second its over and the historical moment, and our anxiety, is over!