Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Parliament: Speaker rejects Opposition’s emergency motions

Parliament: Speaker rejects Opposition’s emergency motions PDF Print
Tuesday, 11 November 2008 15:37

Zulkifli Abd Rahman, The Star

Speaker Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia rejected two emergency motions by veteran Opposition MPs Karpal Singh (DAP-Bukit Gelugor) and Lim Kit Siang (DAP-Ipoh Timur).

He said that Standing Orders 18 (5) stated that only the first motion that was brought to the Speaker’s attention or the House secretary would be accepted for evaluation during the sitting.

Karpal’s motion was to ask the House to discuss a news report which claimed that newly-appointed Chief Justice Tan Sri Zaki Azmi had bribed a member of the court staff when he was in private practice in 1987, and that he knew of corruption within the court registry.

Lim’s motion was to discuss Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Syed Albar’s decision to file an appeal against the release of Malaysia Today editor Raja Petra Raja Kamarudin from detention under the Internal Security Act.

Lim said Syed Hamid’s decision to appeal against the High Court decision was a form of abuse of power by the Executive against the Judiciary.

Earlier, Pandikar Amin rejected the motion by Dr Mohd Hayati Othman (PAS-Pendang) to discuss the discovery of structural cracks appearing at the main tower block of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital.

The Speaker explained that the matter was now being handled by the Health Ministry.

written by cheekymate, November 11, 2008 15:48:02
Pandikar Amin, your days as Dewan Speaker are numbered. Air con luxury accomodation awaits you at Kamunting since you seem to enjoy its implementation.
written by ahmadneil, November 11, 2008 15:49:14
Can somebody tell syed the rotten to go back to yemen to help his relatives from the flood.
written by jayenjr, November 11, 2008 16:05:30
"Speaker Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia rejected two emergency motions by veteran Opposition MPs"
----------------------------------------------------------------------

"Come now, you seriously didn't think I wuz gonna go against my BN bosses, did ya?
written by mountain man, November 11, 2008 16:17:41
Come on BN/UMNO morons, why are you guys so scared? All of you are cowards, selfish and corrupted to the core hiding behind such abusive laws (ISA).....TO ALL MALAYSIANS, is this the type of leaders we want and can such rotten politicians bring any hope or a better future to us and our children, the answer is a clear "NO", so vote these bustards out in the next GE!
written by jayenjr, November 11, 2008 16:21:30

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

See that? Now y'all know why I can do what I WANT in P'ment....

written by Rainbowseahorse, November 11, 2008 16:33:25
There is totally no surprises there, as that bustard Sabah migrant Bumiputra is totally fuked up, and shamelessly pleasing his UMNO masters at every turn.
Now he even grows a stupid goatee to show that he is religious too!
written by Mr Smith, November 11, 2008 16:36:05
We all keep dogs to guard our homes. Surely UMNO needs the same animal to guard its interests in Parliament.
written by Ken Wong, November 11, 2008 16:38:20
Whatever PR proposes for Emergency Motion will never be allowed! This is what you call Malaysian Democrazy!!! The UMMO warlords will never allow the opposition to have a fair go in Parliment. Come next election just vote them out totally lah!
written by WCM, November 11, 2008 16:46:35
So far since the election, correct me if I'm wrong but I have never see any of the emergency motion table by the opposition came to an approval. Why should the Dewan has a BN speaker. It's like rubbish. When the speaker say no Then is no. I think we should appoint a speaker from members of the public and each section we change one to be fair. Choose speaker who are professional. That should be fair cz the rakyat should play some part in this.
written by savemalaysia, November 11, 2008 17:18:53
Every time the opposition table a motion to be debated in Parliment, this Sabahan immigrant(illegal?)Pandikar will say that the motions are not urgent in nature.
Is he the Speaker for Parliment or Speaker for Warload regime UMNO? If there is a motion tabled for a major accident happened in malaysia that caused few hundred people died, surely he will still say that the motion is not urgent and is being handled by the relevant ministry.
written by justinlian, November 11, 2008 17:52:07
This speaker is useless, he doesnt even know what is good and what is evil.
He only know how to protect his boss..
written by Democrats, November 11, 2008 18:26:12
The day opposition motion is approved in parliament, - pigs can fly, Najib is innocent, Pak Lah is attentive, and UMNO is corrupt free, ACA is independent, S**T hamid finally says something smart.

In short, never....
written by Engineer, November 11, 2008 18:33:29
This decision is expected.
written by ibabonma, November 11, 2008 19:01:41
Look at their pictures, faces of pigs!
written by A MI, November 11, 2008 19:12:58
smilies/grin.gif we should never insult pigs.
written by gorshan, November 11, 2008 19:19:17
when i see that face only one word came to mind. 'barua'
written by A MI, November 11, 2008 19:20:04
oh by the way, I know what pandi means smilies/tongue.gif but what does Pandi-kar mean?
written by Admiral Tojo, November 11, 2008 19:30:29
I have decided to rename my dog Amin Tak Mulia. So now I go, sit Amin, go Amin, fetch Amin. I usually take my dog out for a walk in the evening and imagine me having to explain to my neighbours why I renamed my dog Amin Tak Mulia. At night Amin Tak Mulia sleeps in his kennel outside the house as he stinks somewhat. He is indeed a very obedient dog.

Salaam
written by Angela Ooi, November 11, 2008 20:19:15
Is this really unexpected? This is one indecent man who is incapable of any decency. He shames himself and is naught in the eyes of God.
written by nanakassim, November 11, 2008 20:21:22
Admiral Tojo, thanks for the idea. I've now decided to rename my dog Polis.
written by borneoman, November 11, 2008 20:29:48
the speaker is resposible for selling the soul of sabahan to the united moron national organisation.he is a traitor.
written by onnetline, November 11, 2008 21:19:20
Pandikar Amin,

Your intelligence seems to show on your ability to reject this and that only.

What an idiot, truly !
written by budakindia, November 11, 2008 21:52:05
My dog's new name Pandikar Amin Mulia! smilies/wink.gif
written by anakdesa, November 11, 2008 23:37:48
You think that this so-called pandikar will ever accept the motion? Not one bit, I assure you. As I have mentioned here http://anakdesa1108.*********....-i-see-it/ SOME leaders from are generally angkat kaki people!
written by anakdesa, November 11, 2008 23:39:15
You think that this so-called pandikar will ever accept the motion? Not one bit, I assure you. As I have mentioned here http://anakdesa1108.*********....-i-see-it/ SOME leaders from SABAH are generally angkat kaki people! And this pandikar is one in the wagonband!
written by Malay Ultraman, November 12, 2008 15:25:55
Sebagai Pendatang Haram yg hanya tahu bercakap dalam bahasa Indonesia,
Pandikar Tak Mulia bekerja keras sebagai Anjing Peliharaan UMNO.

Very funny, an indonesian has a become Speaker in Malaysia. He can never speak Bahasa properly.