Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Abdul Aziz is new EC chairman

Abdul Aziz is new EC chairman PDF Print
Tuesday, 11 November 2008 15:35

(Bernama) Home Ministry secretary-general Tan Sri Abdul Aziz Mohd Yusof, 58, has been appointed chairman of the Election Commission (EC) effective Dec 31.

Chief Secretary to the Government Tan Sri Mohd Sidek Hassan said in a statement Tuesday that the Yang diPertuan Agong had consented to Abdul Aziz’s appointment under Clause (1) Article 114 of the Federal Constitution.

His appointment is until he reaches the age of 66 as provided for under Clause (3) Article 114 of the Constitution.

Abdul Aziz, who was born in Sabak Bernam, Selangor on Jan 24, 1950, retired as Home Ministry secretary-general on Jan 24, 2006 but was reappointed to the post on a contract basis.

He will be replacing current EC chairman Tan Sri Abdul Rashid Abdul Rahman whose service will end as he will be 66 on Dec 30.

On behalf of the Government, Mohd Sidek thanked Abdul Rashid for his excellent service as EC chairman for the past eight years.

written by cheekymate, November 11, 2008 15:41:24
Wake me up when they put Mr.'No Hanky Panky' Lim Kit Siang as the EC chairman. Before then, the new person is no better than the old; same old story of vote rigging, vote buying, unfair allocation of electroral states. In short, they will do anything in their power to ensure the elections end up in their favour.
written by fireduck, November 11, 2008 15:48:54
Finally, the garbage is being taken out. Past expiry date.

I hope this new Tan Sri is a better person, and one who has, and understands what integrity is.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 11, 2008 16:13:15
About time! That Rashit has been stinking up the election process for far too long. Does the Government know they still have piles of old gabbage to throw out?? Have they forgotton that bank governor...apa nama..Zetty kah?
written by mountain man, November 11, 2008 16:19:29
Anyone associated with HM cannot be trusted, see how Syed Donkey behaves and discharge his duties, utterly stupid and idiotic. This guy is just another UMNO cronies.
written by IbnAbdHalim, November 11, 2008 16:31:47
On behalf of the Government, Mohd Sidek thanked Abdul Rashid for his excellent service as EC chairman for the past eight years.

What? Excellent? Shit!
written by Lembing, November 11, 2008 16:32:42
ANY person who are dissatisfied with the Federal Government Departments services can send their complains to Chief Secretary To The Government, Tan Sri Mohd Sidek Hassan at This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it .

Mohd Sidek is an intelligent, dedicated and hard working man. He has stated that he will improve the provision of public services to the Rakyat, and todate, has proven that he has kept his promise. How did I know that he is intelligent and hardworking.......that is my secret.

So people, this is one of your recourse action against Public Servants who will only act on receipts of bribes. Send an email to Mohd Sidek about your genuine grievances and complains.
written by AngryTaxpayer, November 11, 2008 16:47:38
Lembing....a lot of people started out as hardworking and intelligent....the question is whether he is able to differentiate his obligations to the taxpaying voters and to his political master.... smilies/sad.gif
written by cruzeiro, November 11, 2008 16:51:55

What? Excellent? Shit!
===========================

Of course lah - it's "good" from their perspective! He cheated with a straight face. He even admitted that it was his job to ensure that the results were in favour of "u-know-who" ....

This new guy will be no different. As the Dty. says - they don't believe in proportional representation when it suits them.

"We have to justify the physical features of constituencies. We use the weightage system. Let's compare Hulu Terengganu with Selangor. Hulu Terengganu is big, remote and [does not have] many people. But it is time-consuming for one representative to serve the whole area. So you have to break it up. You need more elected representatives to take care of the area."

Going by that twisted logic, by right, Sabah & Sarawak put together, should have more seats than W.Malaysia!!
written by Foong, November 11, 2008 17:13:23
It doesn't change anything. As long as the EC is not working independently we will not see changes really - just cosmetics. I suggest they put Rosmah as EC chairman.
written by Nunudada, November 11, 2008 17:15:16
It is a case of "I scratch your back and you mine".He has to be grateful for the blessing that he has received from UMNO.It is just an old tale repeating itself-till only December,I hope.
written by densemy, November 11, 2008 17:41:04
More proof that Malaysians love to suppress youth. This guy is way past his use by date

Why not appoint someone with potential, imagination and the ethics to clean up the Electoral Commission

More rearranging of deckchairs !!!
written by kanokporn, November 11, 2008 17:53:10
now this fellow's job is to scheme and scam how to keep umno in power in the next elections, of course to be trained by abdul rashid who is commended for his "excellent bullshit service" not to the rakyat but to the umno goons
written by Mik, November 11, 2008 17:55:18
probably got replaced coz he couldnt make bn win the last time. tat is all.
written by cllim123, November 11, 2008 18:07:24
This new guy's first job is to look for the indellible ink that we bought for millions of RMs but went missing.
written by citizenmy, November 11, 2008 18:52:36
A foreigner endorsed by UN could have been an ideal choice for this position to reinstate confidence of International Community on our electoral process. We need a truly independent guy for this job who only focus on the core of this job rather than a guy who duty is to fulfill the politicians agenda.
Anyway, we public already being used to shit thrown to us all the time.
written by ibabonma, November 11, 2008 19:15:01
Don’t ever trust this …….(what huh?). Surely this Abdul Aziz Mohd Yusof must have thick ‘black files’ in BPR/Police closets to enable UMNO (read: pirate/lanun) to squeeze his balls, come election.

In Malaysia: selalunya, siapa paling jahat dialah yang paling cepat naik pangkat dan diberi jawatan strategik. Malaysia boleh!
written by borneoman, November 11, 2008 20:41:52
u r rite ibaboma,thats a norm among all the idiots in umno.cant blame them for having that very strange culture othewise hell will be too sparsely populated.
written by Sudahlah tu, November 11, 2008 21:27:05
megat .. oh megat !!!
si rashid tu dah bersara daripada menipu rakyat ..
megat .. oh megat !!!
bawalah dia ke tempat awak sekarang ... boleh bersembang panjang tentang segala jenayah-jenayah yang dilakukan demi umno tu ...
bolehlah buat bandingan ..
tengok siapa lebih hebat ..
megat ...oh megat !!!
written by Old Man, November 11, 2008 21:42:12
The Chairman of the Election Commission should neither come from the ruling Party nor the Opposition.
Perhaps someone of good track record in conducting elections from one of the Scandinavian countries will be the most appropriate.
Someone who's neither corrupt nor believe in racial & politics. smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by otoole77, November 11, 2008 22:55:38
i heard from reliable sources that our house-minister BotakshitApa has been promoted as senior minister for ministry of penternakan kaldai (donkey)negara !
written by ron46, November 12, 2008 02:15:54
Hope that piece of shid dies painfully and slowly
written by Sean E, November 12, 2008 12:32:13
Finally, no need to see that face on the media.