Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Sleepyhead annoys judge

Sleepyhead annoys judge PDF Print
Tuesday, 11 November 2008 11:40

PETALING JAYA: "This is a courtroom, not a cinema. Please respect the court," a clearly annoyed Sessions Court judge said yesterday midway through [RPK's] trial.

Judge Rozina Ayob complained that members of the public who were seated in the public gallery were distracting her.

She expressed her displeasure after spotting someone yawning.

"Yawning with your mouth wide open," she said in a raised tone.

"Please respect the court. Sit properly."

Earlier, she warned a supporter of Raja Petra Kamarudin to sit properly, after noticing him sitting with his arms stretched on the backrest of the bench.

This is not the first time Rozina has pulled up members of the public during proceedings.

On Oct 7, several supporters of Raja Petra, who were present in court for his sedition trial, were chided by the judge for misbehaving in court.

Some were laughing loudly while others clapped when the judge ruled in favour of the defence. One was even caught dozing in the public gallery.

Earlier, Rozina turned down an application by the prosecution to produce an amended charge.

Rozina rejected the application after hearing arguments from both parties.

Deputy public prosecutor Ishak Yusof made an application to add a website address (www.malaysia-today. net/2008/content/view/6604/84/) and title of the article ("Let's send the Altantuya murderers to hell"), to appendix A attached to the charge. (Appendix A is the article with the alleged seditious lines highlighted.)

"This was an issue raised by the defence during the last hearing," said Ishak. "We would, therefore, like to produce an amended charge."

Raja Petra, 58, is charged with posting a seditious article on his website, Malaysia Today, at www.malaysia-today.net titled "Let's send the Altantuya murderers to hell".

The article implicated Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak and his wife Datin Seri Rosmah Mansor in the murder of Altantunya Shaariibuu, a Mongolian woman.

The offence was alleged to have been committed at his house at No. 5, Jalan BRP 5/5, Bukit Rahman Putra, Sungai Buloh, on April 25.

Counsel Gobind Singh Deo objected to the charge being amended, saying that it was not in accordance with provisions under section 158 of the Criminal Procedure Code.

"The section states that the court may alter or add to any charge at any time, before the judgment is delivered. But in our case, it is not an amendment but a substitution," he said, adding that the words of the charge were being changed, especially the title.

He argued that the original charge was about a publishing seditious article, as stated in Appendix A.

"But today, it is an application to substitute it," he said, adding that the application was prejudicial to the defence case.

"From the very beginning, we have taken a consistent stand that the article enclosed in the original charge was not published by the accused. Now, the prosecution makes an attempt to substitute the appendix," said Gobind.

"Is this the original or is this another document typed out by a police officer?"

He said the attempt by the prosecution to amend the charge showed it had realised that it did not have a case against Raja Petra in respect of the earlier charge.

Ishak, however, maintained that it was an amendment and not a substitution as alleged by the defence.

"We are merely making an addition to the ingredients of the charge -- adding the website address and the title of the article -- to make it clearer to ensure that Raja Petra understands it," submitted Ishak.

Rozina, who stood down the hearing for 10 minutes, accepted the defence's objection and rejected the application.

Two new witnesses testified yesterday -- S. Sivanathan, 28, a senior digital forensic analyst from Cyber Security Malaysia and Assistant Superintendent Wa'ie Isqal Kria Abdullah from the Computer Forensic Investigation Unit in Bukit Aman.

Sivanathan told the court that Wa'ie gave him a computer forensic report on Nov 4 to interpret and give a second opinion.

He also said that an administrator of a website could create a username and password for others to access the website but with less privileges.

Wa'ie told the court that he was instructed to find an article titled "Let's send the Altantuya murderers to hell" together with its Internet history.

"I analysed the Dell central processing unit and an Asus notebook given to me before I prepared the computer forensic report," he said.

Hearing continues.

- nst

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, November 11, 2008 11:43:46
Can be excuse becos all are too excited about the imminent release of our hero RPK.
written by kasee61, November 11, 2008 11:53:27
NST failed to report that the "star" and first witness of the day, Investigating Officer Gan Tack Guan was absent. He texted the court to inform that he was sick, on MC for 2 days but no MC was presented until after lunch. The MC did not state what illness he was suffering from, just that he "is not able to perform his duties" for 2 days. Efforts to contact him were unsuccessful. The judge has instructed that he attend on Wednesday, barring which he could be cited for contempt of court, or the court can issue a warrant of arrest.
written by cekikdarah, November 11, 2008 11:57:06
Perhaps had they known that she's going to order for RPK's freedom, they would've behaved as not to annoy her.
http://www.cekikdarah.com/fun-...-what.html
written by DreamLady, November 11, 2008 11:59:54
I do believe due respect should be given to the judge who is presiding based on social and courtroom etique.
written by carribeanking7, November 11, 2008 12:03:27
Agree kasee, NST had left out a crucial issue and seems to focus more on RPK's yawning supporter, I mean can you blame the I would yawn too if I had to sit through two computer geeks giving inane technical bla bla.

heck ,when I saw the title of this piece....
Sleepyhead annoys judge

I thought it was about Pak Lah.......lol

written by borneoman, November 11, 2008 12:05:39
our moron Pubic Prostitutor never fails to amaze me when ever they carry out their job in court.for goodness sake please dont invite the public to look down on your intelligence i.e. if you have any left.we, the taxpayes who pay for your salary hate to employ idiot like you.
written by Lembing, November 11, 2008 12:12:44
How can we certain that the sleepy head is RAJA PETRA's supporter??

Maybe, he is a trojan horse planted by you know who.
written by Compadre45, November 11, 2008 12:18:53
Well its no surprise that members of public are bored , fed up and annoyed with all the false allegation against YM RPK except for those imbeciles who wants to avoid the truth.
written by AuntyG, November 11, 2008 12:46:19
A sleephead annoys Judge in court. Hmmmm howcome THE sleepyhead dont annoy the Speaker of our August House or chairpersons of the various meetings THE sleepyhead was invited as honoured guest?
written by mikewang, November 11, 2008 12:57:57
Please bring in the Prime Minister ! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by VIPER, November 11, 2008 12:59:25
Guys becareful what u say about the court. It is tantamount to contempt of court.
written by citizenmy, November 11, 2008 12:59:46
Another sleepyhead is annoying 26 Million citizens of Malaysia, and he got paid just to zzzzzzzzzzzzz.
written by jayenjr, November 11, 2008 13:05:04

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

La....Cik Rozina....apasai you ni bising sangat, ni? Hang punya boss pun suka tidui juga....

Ah...ni advise saya ni....hang kasi marah le sama boss - baru ade "fairness" dgn treatment you ni...

written by FFT, November 11, 2008 14:02:02
With a headline like that, I thought for a moment that Bodohwi got on some judges shitlist.
written by mob1900, November 11, 2008 14:41:17

The Tofu is LATE again!
written by JackWang, November 11, 2008 15:07:14
Once we stop showing respect to the bench, we will move from being a civil society to one of mob rule. The judiciary represents the sovereign in meting out justice. Thus in our courts, the judge is aptly referred to as "my Lord".
The yawning person was the second instance. Earlier, she had warned another to sit properly as he was sitting with his hands stretched on the backrest of the bench.

Cheers.
written by fireduck, November 11, 2008 15:46:00
Ya lah .... I got excited with the article title. I really thought some ballsy judge admonished the Sleepyhead PM. Haiya .... so disappointing. Turns out it was not referring to Abdullah, and the judge does not even have ... ahem ... ba..., I mean the Honourable is a lady. smilies/grin.gif
written by kkselvam, November 11, 2008 17:38:07
May be Jakim can come out with fatwa on yawning! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by MalaysianFirst, November 11, 2008 18:01:07
What the ... I thought you meant our Sleepy Head. Hiya, waste time only.
written by Sabahfan, November 11, 2008 20:43:43
The offence was alleged to have been committed at his house at No. 5, Jalan BRP 5/5, Bukit Rahman Putra, Sungai Buloh, on April 25.

HOOIII STUPID COPS.... what is your prooof that the offence was committed at his address?

You got the line number of the internet connections or IP numbers to proof that it come from this house address??

bllloody bulllshiters lah.
written by onnetline, November 11, 2008 21:35:56
Isyak Yusof,

What sort of new bullshit charge is your ' amended charge ' ?