Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow YB Ronnie Liu - First-hand account of the arrests at the Bersih/Anti-ISA vigil

YB Ronnie Liu - First-hand account of the arrests at the Bersih/Anti-ISA vigil PDF Print
Tuesday, 11 November 2008 11:21

I don't know whether to laugh or cry when the CPO told me why I was arrested. He said that 'I saw you there and if I don't arrest you, it would not be fair to the rest who were arrested'.”

Malaysia-Today

Malaysia-Today briefly caught up with YB Ronnie Liu, state executive councillor , at the PJ Sessions court during RPK's sedition trial. Here is his first-hand account of the events that lead to the arrests of the 24 people during the candlelight vigil near the PJ Civic Centre.

It was a peaceful gathering. The group hurried things along as the FRU had assembled, and were singing the Negara-ku. As I saw the FRU advancing, I quickly rushed towards them, waving my arms vigorously to get their attention. They completely ignored me and kept marching towards the group who were still singing our national anthem.”

They could have simply used a loud hailer, or have a rep to approach the group, to warn the group to disperse and the group would have done so. Instead, they just marched in and charged at the crowd, arresting innocent and peaceful citizens. I just cannot understand why peaceful citizens and elected representatives were attacked”. (Besides Ronnie, PJ Utara MP Tony Pua and Kampung Tunku assemblyman Lau Weng San were also arrested).

I don't know whether to laugh or cry when the CPO told me why I was arrested. He said that 'I saw you there and if I don't arrest you, it would not be fair to the rest who were arrested'.”

Ronnie was released shortly thereafter but he stayed with the rest of the detainees the whole night until 7:30am the next morning when all of them, except one who was further remanded on an existing charge, were released. (When I mentioned this to RPK later, RPK said 'That's just Ronnie-lah, he would never desert his friends!') And Ronnie was already at the court house waiting to greet RPK when we reached there at 8:25am. He sat through the hearing although he only had less than two hours of sleep that he managed while waiting for the group's release.

On reflection, I think these arrests have helped our cause. Look at the headlines and coverage in the newspapers, especially the Chinese newspapers. Now the readers know about Bersih, and the anti-ISA movement. How many people would have known or remembered about Bersih before today? Or aware that there are anti-ISA vigils being held? Where and how can you get such publicity?”

Before he left to attend to his other duties, Ronnie was asked to discuss the state government's performance thus far. "Be patient and we will announce what we have done, what plans we have for the state when the time is right. We don't want to do it just to earn political mileage. But just to give you one quick example, this year alone, we have earned RM100M in revenue from selling sand since we took back the sand mines. In 2007, the BN state government earned RM17M from the same activity”.

YB Ronnie Liu epitomizes how we expect our elected representatives to behave and perform, i.e. for the rakyat. Ronnie is, to Malaysia-Today, a true Yang Berkhidmat.

Comments (38)Add Comment
written by binarytan, November 11, 2008 11:25:47
Ronnie, it is lucky that they do not detain all of the group under ISA. the shit home minister did not know this case, he admitted with full of bull shit. I strongly believe the gomen is anti-bersih, meaning they are anti-clean even the PM used to be called as Mr. Clean. It is lucky now he is stepping down soon or else he will clean everything up. The PM in waiting is even more dangerous, the bustar* suspect killer.
agree 110
written by ahmadneil, November 11, 2008 11:27:52
Another dark episode in the police history.The gestapo gangs of Malaysia with Antu syed having a hand at this.
written by Hakim Abdullah, November 11, 2008 11:29:59
YB Ronnie is the MAN!.
The fat, stupid and lying home minister is a tragic comedian!...can't wait too see him 'tutup kedai'...
written by BORN FREE, November 11, 2008 11:31:06
Yes, free publicity is one thing.
It also makes us realised that what is experienced and reported by the local media are usually differently phrased. And we shall make the stand :-
THE POLICE BARGED IN AT THE PEACEFUL CROWD WHEN WE WERE STILL SINGING THE NEGARA KU. They do not respect the National Anthem !
written by ahmadneil, November 11, 2008 11:31:39
Ronnie, you are lucky that they don't give you a black eye or puncture your 2 balls.
written by ahmadneil, November 11, 2008 11:34:24
When you see Antu syed defending the police,you know that he is lying again to save his own skin.He is barking as if nothing happen.Why don't the police take action when those storm the bar council meeting!Is this fair!
written by DreamLady, November 11, 2008 11:38:39
I truly respect your courage and your total dedication as people's representative. The progress in Selangor has improved by leaps and bounds with the team work of PR members.

Dear Sir, keep up with the good work, and don't forget to take good care of your health too, cos' without it, you cannot be at your best.

May God always be by your side.....
written by budakindia, November 11, 2008 11:45:55
Yup he should arrest all the people including the the tourists also for holding illegal assemblies also at tourists spots, shopping malls. They should continue doing the same to all offices, schools since all too don't have permits and hold gathering one way or the other.
written by Ray, November 11, 2008 11:53:32
Stop paying income taxes until we have a new federal gov.
written by Wisdom above, November 11, 2008 12:14:52
The Candlelight-Vigil is like a Lightning Flashes in the clear sky!Spiritually, there is 'Silent in Heaven above' on night of 9-11 ! Let’s Fast and Pray for Wisdom, Peace and Tranquility to prevail. If it rains, let’s accept it as a shower of blessings. Is the Police Force is 'cracking up' within itself in time to come ? They have breached their 'Code of Conduct' and their 'Rules of Engagements'. The Candlelight-Vigil shall continue weekly.

Syabas to all Peacemakers.
written by Tom n Jerry, November 11, 2008 12:45:06
I guess the staff of PDRM needs a *sanity*test before they are recruited;it seems they are more or less in ecstatic state most of the time;they cant differentiate between criminal & peaceful citizens;thats where our problem lies in this lawless nation;credibility has gone to the dogs! smilies/angry.gif
written by mikewang, November 11, 2008 12:50:06
Is it the job of the Police to break the peace ?

Go to Taiwan and learn about crowd control from a truly democratic and respect for human rights government.
written by anak penang, November 11, 2008 12:50:56
The Amno running dog leader has done it again
Arresting people on a peaceful demonstration
When singing the national anthem of Malaysia
Somewhere in the vicinity of Petaling Jaya

Dickhead the home minister says he don't know
Prime minister Bodowi is also another bodoh
Saying the police had to use the baton and lease
After all they can do things as they please

written by peace brother, November 11, 2008 12:56:45
To Ronnie Liu,
You are the true warrior in the eyes of many unlike others who claim earlier is just bull, Have heard your speeches ( at Klang parade)one day before this arrest happened and true enough you stick to your principle.

I salute you sir.
written by krising1, November 11, 2008 13:07:33
This is a case where too much power has been given to the Federal government. Since for the foreseeable future we are going see states being ruled by parties different from the Federal government, the states should have more autonomy. Each state must have its own police force and anti-corruption agency. We can have a federal police force with different powers to deal with specific "federal" crimes. Crooks who use state money, tear up official documents should be dealt with by the state police so that the state has control and crooks are not covered up.

Give it a thought PR. It may be necessary for the democracy to flourish that we do not give the Federal government too much power.
written by eow_eow, November 11, 2008 13:12:34
The police has indicated the need for a police permit for the weekly Sunday Vigil. Let us apply for it as per their advice !. smilies/wink.gif
written by Taikohtai, November 11, 2008 13:15:23
If the CPO's words are to be believed, then I suggest MPs and ADUNs lead the charge in future. When they are seen to be in front leading, they will not be arrested first unless others have already been arrested.
However, I don't think such is the case. The basta^d CPO was trying to reverse engineer for an excuse, really.
But the presence of Ronnie and other elected representatives of the rakyat among the arrested was too much for the polis to further intimidate the group.
RAKYAT 2 POLIS 0
written by hckit, November 11, 2008 13:17:56
Ronnie , Tony, and the rest are all heroes . They should be featured in our children's history book for contributing to a real democratic Malaysia
written by KotaDamansara73, November 11, 2008 13:38:36
Ronnie Liu,

Malaysian Police are made up of the most stupid Malaysians in MAlaysia. Please don't blame them for it. Because even UMNO cannot control them. UMNO themselves are so stupid that the stupid cannot control the stupid. So no point talking to stupid people.
written by arifabdull, November 11, 2008 14:21:29
Saya menyaksikan sendiri, Ketua Polis Selangor berkata;
'I saw you there and if I don't arrest you, it would not be fair to the rest who were arrested'

Apabila pihak polis bertanya, 'berapa ramaikah di kalangan yang ditangkap adalah YB?' Kami menjawab, 'Semua adalah YB - Yang Berani!'
written by tanwi, November 11, 2008 14:22:50
it does not make sense. when there was a stupid, unexplainable, unjustified gathering outside the Bar Council to demonstrate against the forum on religious conversion due to marriage, the police NEVER arrested anyone even though the crowd was rowdy and shouting.

In this situation, people were just gathering and singing Negaraku!
written by amjoem, November 11, 2008 14:23:31
Hi YB Ronnie,
You are great! Not only that are a great supporter of the Rakyat but the No. 1 supporter of YM RPK vis-a-vis of Malaysia-Today.
Mike
written by arifabdull, November 11, 2008 14:34:04
Harap-harap akan semakin ramai lagi rakyat Malaysia yang sanggup menjadi YB - Yang Berani!

http://arifabdull.*********.co...omment-230
written by Admiral Tojo, November 11, 2008 14:50:47
This YB Ronnie Liu is indeed a towering Malaysian. The type of wakil rakyat that we want. YB - Yang Berkhidmat, YB - Yang Berani, YB - Yang Berhormat. My respect to yo Sir!

Peace
written by 1351, November 11, 2008 15:48:09
It is tough to be in public service here in M'sia. Pit against a very sinister force in UMNO led BN, and literally have their faces rearrange at the hands of the police, these politicians from the opposition have it hard.

There have been numerous hit-outs by PDRM on this select breed and that of their supporters ie.RPK, Batu Buruk, Hindraf and Tian Chua readily comes to mind and injuries suffered by Lau Weng Seng(Kg.Tunku assemblyman) having his lips split open by the boys in blue is yet another example of wrongful use of force. Clearly, PDRM today is merely an extension of UMNO's army of goons.

I for one don't have the courage to put up with the abuse and not hit back. Thank the stars I have no such inclination to be in public service for I will hit back but our noble quest goes on.

We need to return M'sia to the pinnacle it once was and little does this UMNO govt realise, public-at-large do keep a mental tally of all that is wrong with present administration. Najib might want to blame Sleepyhead for BN's poor showing at the polls with little regards for UMNO's slimy corrupt hand and his own association with Altantuya's blow-up.

Go on and call for another mandate Najib Razak at the soonest possible date. It might be 'UMNO mudah lupa' but not M'sians who I believe have a memory of an elephant - just waiting for payback when called upon to exercise their say at respective polling booth. Let us all remind the Govt, 'pantang dicabar' is for public consumption and not for UMNO or Dollah Badawi to threaten whenever they come under fire.
written by Angela Ooi, November 11, 2008 20:13:20
ChiaCY, it was unfair and untrue comment, YB Ronnie did not have to be with us as he was not arrested but he came back to be with us and he was a pillar of strenght all through the wee hours together with the fantastic group of lawyers headed by Edmond Bon. He was on the phone alot negotiating for our release.

As noted by RPK, he is a true friend. He has consistently turned up for EVERY courtcase and police station that our beloved Raja Petra had to appear in. Ronnie truly deserves my respect. Yes, I would certainly vote him if I could!
written by Limau, November 11, 2008 20:20:21
Its suppose to be Police diRaja Malaysia, why the hell are the police spoiling the name of the Sultans. Come on IGP please do things wisely. We are living in the year 2008.
written by Sabahfan, November 11, 2008 20:38:21
These so called cops are doing the dirty jobs for the Ketuanan UMNO pendatangs...

Perhaps they tooo are worried, if the UMNO stop being govt, their perks and promotion will fizzle out... or perhaps be sacked so they can go balik kampung and tanam kangkung......
written by Sudahlah tu, November 11, 2008 21:00:23
Rakyat , jangan benarkan anak-anak awak berkhidmat dengan kepolisan sebab mereka hanya akan dijadikan sebagai anjing umno sahaja ...
Tolonglah ya ... terima kasih
written by malgal, November 11, 2008 21:16:37
my friend brought her 2 young daughters to bond with fellow malaysian families and what did they see? fru men stomping towards the very people they are paid to protect. looks like the govt are not proud of malaysians coming together in peace and harmony united in their yearning to see justice is upheld.
written by ploon, November 11, 2008 21:36:18
Ronnie my man, you are indefatigable and omnipresent. You are always where it matters, where you're needed most. I salute you, sir.
written by justme bc, November 11, 2008 22:31:18
The peanut size brain HM Syed Amit Al-blur said Jalan Alor is not safe for the police beat to be there and later admitted after severe public condemnation the reason that the police beat was closed is because the owner RHB wanted to take back the land for development. What an unfortunate country we are in with clown like Syed Amit Al-blur as the home minister making speeches without finding out the fact first! This is first class country with third class mentality minister as the misfit.

hidup bangsa malaysia!
written by JustAMalaysian, November 11, 2008 23:21:43
written by arifmr, November 11, 2008 21:55:07
Wah!! Ronnie.. selling sand can get RM100 million aa..

How come? now selangor got more sand meh?

Amount of sand is the same but last year, the money ended up in somebody else's pocket instead of the State's coffer....... smilies/grin.gif
written by Man In Black, November 12, 2008 04:07:27
ChiaCy, were you there or not...ronnie is a true statesman and a true leader for the Rakyat. If only you can do a quarter of what he is doing for the Rakyat...If you can't keep your remarks to yourself.
written by ChiaCY, November 12, 2008 19:51:13
Man In Black,

This is my first hand account at the scene if you are in doubt. http://chinyauchia.********.com

I will illustrate the escape route, when we spotted Ronnie, step b step if you need. Go visit my blog and I shall update there instead of cluttering the space here.

My point is clear: I described what I have seen ad heard. I do not know if Ronnie is noble or evil. I described based on the impression given on that instance.

I do not know Ronnie btw, and have no interest on him.