The Bloody Sunday PDF Print
Monday, 10 November 2008 15:44

What turned out to be a double celebration: celebrating the anniversary of the Bersih rally and together with the candlelight vigil turned bloody in the second-half of the event as 24 men and women were arrested at the Civic Centre in Petaling Jaya. The term Bloody Sunday was mentioned twice in history, one in 1972 where 26 civil rights protesters were shot in Derry. Another reference to the name was in St Petersburg 1905 where protesters were shot as they intended to submit the petition to Tsar Nicholas II.

I was there with a few friends and guys and was covering both halves of the event, but the aftermath of the second half was so bloody that a some of them were brutally beaten by the FRU.

At Amcorp Mall

All roads leading to Amcorp Mall were sealed off by the police before event time at 9.30 p.m. This time, the federal police was involved in the operation given that the event involves BERSIH, the NGO coalition that calls for clean and fairer elections. However, there were two routes that were not covered: the back way going through Nestle office in Persiaran Barat and the small road leading to the court house.

The FRU men were on Standby mode at the outdoor parking ground while most of the people who wish to attend the event were either at inside Amcorp Mall or at the A&W restaurant. Given that the situation that seems to show police intimidation, the event was shortened by approximately five minutes. Note that there at least 15 Special Branch people around there with the blue-uniform and the FRU. The reason of shortening the thing in Amcorp is not to give excuses for the police to act before the mall closes at 10 p.m. Any such violent and brutal action at a private property warrants a lawsuit / complaint by the owner against the government.

Earlier on, the commanding officer was heard shouting at the bullhorn, "We will take action" (or somewhat) The event at Amcorp Mall wrapped up at 9.35 after a singing of the National Anthem. After that, everyone is asked to dispersed in groups of two. Some left while some went towards the Civic Centre for another vigil.

At MBPJ Civic Centre

Another round of gathering took place there after that where special guests there include Ronnie Liu, Tony Pua (also present at Amcorp Mall), Mat Sabu, Bersih secretary Faizal Mustaffa and Raja Petra Kamaruddin who has been asked to give a word or two following his release from ISA three days ago.

After Ronnie gave a speech of proposal of reinstatement of local government elections, Raja Petra was invited to give a few words before leaving. At that time, three trucks of FRUs, Special Branch people and the blue-uniform were standing by - moving their positions from Amcorp Mall and stood at the sidewalk of the main road. By the time they were fully mobilized everyone was singing again Negaraku. Apparently the police snapped upon hearing the song the second time.

Ronnie tried to approach the police to inform them of that they would have another five more minutes before dispersing. Before he could do so, the FRU started coming in as if being the Roman Legions and the OCPs screaming rudely at the crowd. I was standing there, thinking that the FRU would simply beat a person like me with their batons, but they moved past me and Pete and went after the others behind me.

And that's where the beatings and arrests started. The first two arrests made were Indians. The police are targetting those who are Indians and those who wear yellow shirts first before going after the others.

Calmly I walked briskly out of the place and when crossing the main road, Augustine, my friend (moving behind me, about to leave) was jumped by a Special Branch man, overpowered and was arrested. I could not stop anymore or do anything but to keep moving and tag after Pete, Marina and Serena who's ahead of me. I broke out the bad news of Augustine caught to the others.

Read much more at: http://melvin-mah.blogspot.com/2008/11/bloody-sunday.html

written by Jack Hui, November 10, 2008 16:10:51
The police are good in bulling the innocent person....BN will gone soon !!!
written by biggun129, November 10, 2008 16:16:33
When the Police cannot get hold of us during the gathering at the entrance hall of Amcorp Mall, we smell something that they are not going back to their base empty handed, they followed us all the way from the road to the juction facing the banking roll shophouses toward the Civic Centre, that the place they strike,in order to get somethings to answer to the higher authorities!!!
written by Kunta Kinte, November 10, 2008 16:18:53
This is the first vigil that I missed. I was about to leave when I saw the reports on MalaysiaKini and Anil's blog. The roads surrounding were all blocked off.It is really sad for this incident to happen in the first place. The past 4 weeks it was so peaceful,singing a few songs, meeting new friends,lighting a candle signifying our thoughts for those whom their freedom is taken away and then dispersing peacefully. We have to get to the bottom of this. Who instructed this unnecessary rudeness?
written by kickdaotherfella, November 10, 2008 16:24:37
how come no mention in main stream journals on the arrest
written by michael chick, November 10, 2008 16:38:29
Call for HARTAL. Shut your Businesses/ Office for a day !! RPK, please pick a date for all of us...Enough with this RUBBISH !!
written by Shimshon, November 10, 2008 16:48:37
NOTE: Repeat posting removed
written by unomalaysia, November 10, 2008 16:55:54
Gestapo in action. They attacked people singing the Negaraku. These action are derhaka as they deem singing Negaraku a crime. These shitheads have insulted the Agong, the rakyat and the country by their actions. What's the punishment for treason?
written by mountainking, November 10, 2008 17:09:09
Say No to ISA for it's a draconian law to silence ppl

Say No to MCA, MIC and Gerakan for they are the culprits with UMNO

Say No to UMNO for they are most cruel/bloody party in Malaysia

and we tell the UMNO-linked police, you will receive your punishment in due time for bullying the rakyat.
written by alarcarte, November 10, 2008 17:28:15
Are these peace loving people more unruly than the young UiTM students who demonstrate in Shah Alam?

It is quite obvious, the Police only targeted a certain racial groups, this selective targetting with be with us for a long time to come until all our Malay fellow citizens wake up and realised that other Races are humans and thus have equal human rights too.

Do these people deserved to be beaten up? Make no mistakes about it. The Police are actually Senior Mat Rempits.

written by vineeth menon, November 10, 2008 17:32:56
michael chick ,
It takes lots of courage, understanding and cooperation for Hartal. Do you think our people are ready for that?
Call a Harthal to abolish ISA.
Just paralyze the capital for a day. Then see the effect. That will be much better than Physical protests and encounter with FRU. The message will be clearer to the politicians and the decision makers. HARTAL which I mean is Total Black out. Not even go to Carrefore / Tesco /Giant, even if they don’t cooperate and open for business.

written by alarcarte, November 10, 2008 17:35:37
Yes, They beat up people singing Negara Ku, because this is an insult to the Malayu Polis, What they are trying to tell the Non Malay is “You “Chinese/Indians pendatangs” are not fit to sing Negaraku, for this Negara is not the Negara of the Pendatangs”

All of us should boycott singing Negaraku until a new and fairer government emerged.

written by justinlian, November 10, 2008 17:55:43
It is very hard to control the total black out for all businesses...
The people are not in one yet.
written by fireduck, November 10, 2008 18:13:30
The police and specifically the CPO of Selangor is creating their own 'memorable' 9-11 Malaysian style. Yesterday was 9th of Nov.

The CPO should be held accountable for bullying the rakyat. Apply pressure till he is shamefully fired, found guilty of the crime against humanity, and loses his pension. Hurt him at the pocket book.
written by Admiral Tojo, November 10, 2008 18:17:12
Was at the PJ Civic center with wife and son, in the midst of all of this rudeness by the UMNO Dogs aka Police. The act of not respecting he Negara Ku, our National Anthem, is an act of TREASON. Yes TREASON by the police and those who uses them. I bet that shithead Al-Blurr and Najis is behind this. They ALL have comitted TREASON. Can soeone in Parliament hidhlight this and take appropriate action.

Peace
written by Motherchell, November 10, 2008 18:31:21
Selangor police chief Datuk Khalid Abu Bakar is lying thro his teeth. The ones who are supposed to revere the Nation are stemming public opinion with the National anthem as background music. Explains the state of the Nation!!

See more , 7 mins of videos to prove Abu Bakar is lying like his boss Albozo..here:

http://sjsandteam.*********.com
written by Bandit, November 10, 2008 18:48:07
High time we start a campaign to boycott the Polis UMNO Malaysia. Forget about the royalties. The are not intrested in saving their subjects otherwise they would have remove the title given to these UMNO dogs. DiRaja Malaysia?? Ptui!!!.
Lets get cracking and come out with ideas how we can teach thse legal thugs a lesson. Maybe the real good policemen will revolt. As at now all policemen are SOBs.
written by kc kua, November 10, 2008 19:15:37
Our Police job descriptions:-

First lesson: When you see a Robbery, Wait first!
Second lesson : When you see a fighing case, Run and hide yourself!
Third lesson : When you see a traffic offender, Go and Summon!
Fourth lesson : If you see a Rakyat Assembly in peace, Caught them!
Fifth lesson : If you see a BN Assembly, Protect them!
Sixth lesson : If you can't find you way out to caught them, ISA them!
Seventh lesson : If you can't answer any of the Rakyat question, Liar to them!
Egithth lesson : If you are out of any control, C4 them!

You are strictly advice to adhere on the following instruction as you merit of performance will be strictly judge by how you exercise of the above. Thank you.
written by emirateswenger, November 10, 2008 21:44:42
Any lawyers out there? Are options available to sue the CPO?
Blatant lie with eyes wide open even when told of videos available. How crass can you get? Why am I so pissed off? Well, the chief of police have not said anything, the PM remain silent, Semua okay.Business as usual. What the....

I remember in the 80's the Rakyat pooled money to screen the world cup. If legal action is an option, I move that the Rakyat once again pool our resources together for a much worthier cause and stop this nonsense. Malaysia Boleh!!! Yes We Can!!!

written by Wisdom above, November 10, 2008 22:37:22
"And there were flashes of lightning, voices, peals of thunder, and a great earthquake..."

Something 'very spiritual' hit their nerves led 'the police charged into a group of peaceful citizens singing Negaraku' ?

Well discerned "...Apparently the police snapped upon hearing the song the second time."

Our Leaders also behaved very confusedly !
a)PM said : Police must have reasons to act"
b)Syed Hamid: I knew nothing until this morning.
c)IGP said all to defend his men in uniform service.
d)Selangor CPO say "Cops say dispersal not during national anthem singing.."

Let's continue to Fast and Pray for Wisdom, Peace and Tranquility to prevail.

Let's continue to campaign to " RELEASE all ISA detainees & ABOLISH ISA NOW!"

My salute to all Peacemakers.
written by The Hammer, November 10, 2008 23:27:48
Suggestion for the next "illegal" rally; bring along with you if you are a Muslim your Koran, Christians, their Bible while the Hindus can bring along their Gods! The Chinese can bring their piggy banks (made of plaster). Also bring the portrait of the King and possible a portrait of the Sultan of the state depending where the rally is held. Let me see whether these hooligans dare to hit the Books, Gods, portrait and the little pigs when it held up against them! Also get many people to videocam so that it can be download to Youtube for the whole world to our boys in action!
To Hell with these FRU!
written by onnetline, November 11, 2008 00:14:21
These shameless PDRM monkeys does not know who pays their salaries !
written by Darth Vader, November 11, 2008 00:42:47
Sorry. Many typo errors. MT admin, pls delete my ealier posting
Revised and spelling checked

Kepercayaan Kepada Tuhan......(Does the police believe in this? i dont god think teaches us to be violent)

Kesetiaan Kepada Raja dan Negara....(the people showed their loyalty to the Raja - Raja... Holding candle Vigil as RPK fights to abolished ISA. We are very taat to Raja - raja. As for the Negara part... we are very setia to Malaysia as people are singing Negaraku. Everyone should be standing still and not move (as i was taught in school). But the police did not do that and yet constantly on the move and started shouting!!!! I am a frequent traveller to Thailand. In Thailand, everyday without fail, when they played the Thai national anthem, every one stop. no business transaction takes place. i have been to Chatuchak market in Bangkok and i have seen this took place. Every one also stood still to respect their national anthem even in Thai cinema!!!)

Keluhuran Perlembagaan Our constitution does not stop us from freedom of expression except for those sensitive issues. I beleive people gathering there was just showing their presence to support something they believe in. i dont see any wrong!!! i remember police was saying that gather of 4 or more people is illegal without police permit. if this is so, then if police football team of PJ having a friendly soccer match with police football team of Subang Jaya, do they need to apply permit to Bukit Aman as it is a gathering of more than 30 people (players alone). What about spectators? Do we need to apply police permit just to watch them play football?

Ketataan and Kesusilaan...... I dont see crowd being violent or rowdy? Of course, everyone there see police charging at them, they would run lah... we Malaysian are not stupid lah to wait for police to charge at!!!!
written by Apek, November 11, 2008 09:54:24
And this is how the police repay us for feeding them and their families through our taxes.