Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Public gatherings are a democratic right, says Zaid

Public gatherings are a democratic right, says Zaid PDF Print
Monday, 10 November 2008 15:13

Kuala Lumpur, November 10 - Former de facto Law Minister Datuk Zaid Ibrahim today criticized the harsh measures taken by the police last night in cracking down on the Bersih rally in Petaling Jaya.

"A public gathering for the people to show their emotions and desires is one of the natural aspects in a democracy," he added.

Datuk Zaid Ibrahim believes that the police must realize that the public have a right to express their opinions and peaceful assemblies must be tolerated like in any other democracies.

By denying this right, he said Malaysia was reverting to the manners of its colonial masters.

Police arrested more than 20 people and allegedly manhandled MP Tony Pua and other other community leaders.

More than 250 people had gathered to commemorate the anniversary of the Bersih rally.

Zaid argued that the police should not have forcefully dispersed the crowd as a similar rally was held in Ipoh the night before and the police had allowed the event to take place.

He said the police and the higher authorities should not be mistaken that more force will bring an end to future gatherings.

Meanwhile, the DAP has also slammed Inspector General Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan for the arrests and the crackdown, pointing out that on the same night a Mat Rempit mob assaulted five people in Kuala Lumpur.

Speaking to reporters in Parliament, parliamentary leader Lim Kit Siang said that Musa "has lost his sense of priorities" resulting in a rise from 156,315 criminal cases in 2003 to 209,559 last year, an increase of 34 per cent.

The rally had seen the arrest of PJ Utara MP Tony Pua, Selangor exco Ronnie Liu and Kampung Tunku assemblyman Lau Weng San as well as two members of the press and a Catholic parish priest.

Several newspapers reported that a Mat Rempit mob on Jalan Loke Yew beat five people unconscious after in the aftermath of another accident where an off-duty policeman allegedly made an illegal U-turn leading to the death of a motorcyclist and serious injury to five others.

"The police under Musa have got its priorities misplaced and this is illustrated in a most outrageous manner by what happened in the last 24 hours," Lim said, referring to the two events.

"What has Musa to say about the disgraceful mayhem where mob rule imposed a regime of sheer lawlessness without any police presence or intervention?" he said.

The Ipoh Timur MP also poured scorn on Musa's statement in The Star today, where the police chief assured the public "that the security of the country was very much under control" as the crime rate is not expected to increase this year.

"This is like a student who has scored an F7 for a subject last year still being proud he is still getting an F7 this year," Lim rebuked.

written by *********, November 10, 2008 15:15:20
If anyone buys this crap about Abdullah Badawi being a nice man, The Scribes says to you, Go suck a lemon. Time for regime change and I hope their Majesty's The Malay Rulers will intervene and put an end to this Evil Regime by sacking the BN/Umno government and the top Police brass for crimes against the Rakyat. Your Majesty's, please don't stand by and allow your loyal subjects to be brutalized by this Evil Regime...More http://*********.********.com
written by nafis, November 10, 2008 15:19:21
"This is like a student who has scored an F7 for a subject last year still being proud he is still getting an F7 this year," Lim rebuked."

well said, uncle lim!
written by mountain man, November 10, 2008 15:25:40
Datuk Zaid, those donkeys like Syed Botak does not understand democracy, all these outdated donkeys should be totally removed in the next GE for Malaysia to progress and prosper. Just a pity there aren't many Malays in UMNO with your mindset.
written by Liberace, November 10, 2008 15:29:01
Sickening, cowardly police. Always late to crime scenes, breaking traffic laws like they have a license to kill, running scared from Chow Kit, and beating up on peaceful citizens in the presence of children. That's what IGP Musa means by the security of the country is very much under control. If he sees nothing wrong with that, then he is indeed that student who scored F7 and proud of it. Disgraceful attitude.
written by malsia1206, November 10, 2008 15:49:49
This Government boasts her practice of democracy in Malaysia. But democratic rights are seen as another matter altogether. Common sense dictates the right to a peacful gathering. But our Police (maybe with the directives coming hard on them from Putrajay and UMNO) never like white candles. They prefer batons, chemical-laced water cannons, tear gas and all the hard gear. Threats of arrests. Show of force. Prosecution. Misuse of ISA. This is what this Barisan Government has to show. All the strong-armed tactics. To quell a gathering of white-candle bearers.
written by truthbespoken, November 10, 2008 16:03:51
The police inability, more so its continued reluctance, to wipe out the Mat Rempits' menace speaks volume of their effectiveness and misplaced priorities as the country's protector of civil rights and internal security.

How can one then expect them to continue to act without bias at peaceful candle light vigils other than to charge at the participants aggressively?... and for the state police chief to deny the aggression afterwards in the STAR.

Wong Chun Wai (Star), the happening was all recorded on video. The police did charge at the peaceful protestors last night while they were singing the Negara-Ku! Why did your paper just report and print the police denial on the incident without defending the truth? For goodness sake, ask your reporter(s)(paper) to search their conscience first the next time before penning such reports!
written by SocratesI, November 10, 2008 16:13:13

I want to know why DSAI has kept so quiet and kept such a low profile on this matter so far ??? Not doing a Bodohwi on us, I hope ??

written by born2reign, November 10, 2008 16:30:23
UMNO's definition of democracy:

when 3 contestants fight for DPM post. These 3 contestants pay bribes for their nominations and those that do not offer bribes get no nominations.

Other than this definition,all other systems are considered terrorism by UMNO's books.
written by kickdaotherfella, November 10, 2008 16:39:54
Mr Zaid will need to worry about the great plan for him from the UMNO gang
written by ibabonma, November 10, 2008 16:42:31
SocratesI, nothing better to say? Anwar is a Prime Minister material. You don't expect him to light candle and/or support police brutality, don't you?
written by riversnail, November 10, 2008 16:50:13
this is UMNO's way of ruling the country in a democratic way...by using the Police against the Rakyat
written by Lim Lim, November 10, 2008 17:21:36
"peaceful expression of political opinion is a foundamental right n critically important to a democracy""
what the PDRm hav done last nite was a very low road taken ,instructed from the highest office who hav showed that they hav falsely declared to the world that they too believe in democracy!!can we entrust them with the future of this nation,the future of our children???change is the word we need n YES,we can!!!
written by ekt tan, November 10, 2008 17:34:47
The Gestapo police is at work again arresting political dissidents. Our police storm troppers are every ready to crush opposition opinions under the watchful eye of UMNO. When UMNO holds a rally Gestapo police forms a protective shield in case UMNO members get hurt! This is Malaysian 'democracy'at its best. Mr IGP will create an argument justify the arrest action of the opposition members. However no arrest happens when UMNO holds a rally. We see this happening all the time.The police is sworn to protect their political masters, the rakyat is the enemy!
written by justinlian, November 10, 2008 17:42:28
There is no democracy in malaysia at all...
All the while is what they say but there is none..
written by needchg, November 10, 2008 17:50:10
Datuk Zaid, Mr Lim GE, DSAI, Mr Lim Kit Siang and all other leaders who represent the people:
Can you all enlighten us what is the course of action you all will be taking on this matter? I believe we are all online; please reply immediately in the comments section or write you separate posting.Only you guys have the right channel to address the matter. We are waiting.Can we see some reply by tonight??Please be frank in your reply. The situation is seriously out of hand.
written by needchg, November 10, 2008 17:55:22
Last night's incident: I was standing next to a family comprising adults and children young as 8 yrs old. It is shameful to see the actions going on; the childrens mind are so innocent - can you imagine psychologically what goes on in their mind when they witnessed the incident? Shameful and disgusting. Is this the way our higher authority would want to raise their children? Or our own children? In an atmosphere of violence? If all you were to really open your eyes it was a very peaceful atmosphere - like a walk in the park during lantern festival, except it is now candles. Imagine the rst of the wolrd watching what is happening.
written by needchg, November 10, 2008 17:58:11
by the way, take a look at the Malay Mail today...bloody head of the victim..beaten almost to a pulp with crash helmets.We may have a sick society lurking somewhere.
written by Kathy, November 10, 2008 18:10:58
The videos showing demonstrators singing Negara Ku and the police charging into them brought tears to my eyes. These videos also brought back memories of the march in London to protest against Britain going to war in Iraq. And I begin to compare the behaviour of the Police. In the first the Police were there obviously to antagonise the demonstrators. In the second the Police were actually guiding the march. I know because my daughter was in that march (and she had never been a political animal) and she said the Police were most helpful.
written by HL Ooi, November 10, 2008 18:14:57
Why is it when any Malay says something intelligent hordes of UMNO members call him a traitor to their race? These people must be so stupid they don't even understand the disservice they are doing to their own race. Everywhere else in the world (except for Myanmar and some dark corners of Somalia) Zaid Ibrahim's statements would be greeted with respect and receive general support.
written by Ben, November 10, 2008 18:16:52
A Reminder from Obama

Whereas, Almighty God hath created the mind free; that all attempts to influence it by temporal punishments or burthens, or by civil incapacitations tend only to beget habits of hypocrisy and meanness the impious presumption of legislators and rulers, civil as well as ecclesiastical, who, being themselves but fallible and uninspired men have assumed dominion over the faith of others, setting up their own opinions and modes of thinking as the only true and infallible, and as such endeavouring to impose them on others…

Our civil rights have no dependence on our religious opinions any more than our opinions in physics or geometry, that therefore the proscribing any citizen as unworthy the public confidence, by laying upon him an incapacity of being called to offices of trust and emolument, unless he profess or renounce this or that religious opinion, is depriving him injuriously of those privileges and advantages, to which, in common with his fellow citizens, he has a natural right.

My fellow Americans, We gather on this seventh anniversary of the terrorist attacks on our soil, in New York City, in this Mosque, and in the liberating light of Thomas Jefferson’s foundational cornerstone of American Democracy - Freedom of Religion.

The calloused men who perpetrated the merciless murders on September 11, 2001 did so as adherents of a warped form of Islam. It is tribal in the worst sense of the word, not in keeping with an evolving humane Muslim ethic. Our anger, grief, and security fears naturally and understandably can lead to condemning the entire religion and people of Islam. But that would not be in harmony with our deeply rooted Jeffersonian heritage as Americans.

An honest look in the mirror reveals unsettling realities about our majority religion, which are shameful, and not in concert with the heart of the gospel. In the name of Christianity the native peoples of this land were virtually obliterated. Africans were kidnapped from their homeland and forced to be slaves. Over a period of two hundred plus years we are slowly turning away from these wrongs, which is laudable, and hopeful.

The elective invasion of Iraq was framed as the will of God by the primary architects of this war. The word “crusade” was inadvertently employed by our President, but may reveal a deeper truth. Many leaders and citizens of our country believe that America has the right, blessed by God, to act as a modern Empire. On the other hand we plead for the benefit of the doubt. We desire mercy that our country and religion not be judged solely by these acts. We have done much good worldwide in the name of Christ and our Constitution.

“Twelve percent of you still believe that I am a Muslim. I am an active Christian. I have repeatedly and proudly stated so. Any honest investigation will substantiate this fact. If I were a Muslim what difference would it make? See me through the prism of my life and deeds. Doesn’t Jesus say, “By their fruit you will know them?” Doesn’t Jefferson assert; “All men shall be free to profess, and by argument to maintain, their opinions in matters of Religion, and that the same shall in no wise diminish, enlarge or affect their civil capacities.” Doesn’t our precious Constitution guarantee that there shall be no religious test for Office?”

On today of all days, let us move forward in reconciliation. Extend to Islam the grace you extend to yourselves as Christians and Americans. No religion is faultless. No race or region is without its history of atrocities. When distilled to the basic elements, our dilemma is not religious, political, or even ideological. The common denominator is humanity. We are broken and imperfect, yet full of the same inner light longing to shine in the abyss.

May America be a “city set upon a hill”, a guiding beacon piercing through the fog of prejudice and cynicism, trusting the universal principle Jefferson set before us. ”Truth is great, and will prevail if left to herself, that she is the proper and sufficient antagonist to error.”
written by ekt tan, November 10, 2008 19:02:33
Hey MCA, MIC where are you when 'Bloody Sunday'took place yesterday. Why are you guys so quiet. Are you pretending nothing important has taken place? If you are for the people then you must say something or anything. Being quiet is further confirmation that you condone the brutal actions taken your government. If you really care, then do the right thing to support the people. Only cowards keep quiet and allow your own kind to be raped.
written by oct, November 10, 2008 19:37:47
It is always the case that the opposition and the rakyat can't have any peaceful rally. However, if you are with BN, you can do it with impunity. The Police always adopt double standard. They are good at bullying the rakyat but when they are confronted with Mat Rempit, they are nowhere to be seen. Even our Botak said that the Police would rather avoid the bad areas like Chow Kit than face the terror. However, this Botak said he was given the wrong info. Looks like he doesn't have any brain else he will know that such statement is incorrect and can't be said in Parliament. Why isn't he not referred to the Parliment committee for misleading the MPs and saying incorrect info. This Botak has been giving wrong info and acted beyond his authority and yet he still remains in his job. What a joke!!!
written by SamSan, November 10, 2008 19:58:01
All malaysians can rest assured that Malaysia will truly become a democratic country that will uphold its constitution and allow freedom of speech and assembly when Zimbabwe becomes one. Until then it will be a police state under the direct rule of the Botak Gang.
written by fdqn, November 10, 2008 20:29:29
PDRM,please get your priorities right!Why are you going after a group of peaceful loving Malaysians,from all walks of life, armed only with white candles and singing the National Anthem?It shows the whole world that they are only good in the bullying tactics,Why is it that they use so much brutal force to control a peaceful crowd?They should use all those men in uniform to control those who breaks the law like mat rempits, robbers,rapist,snatch thieves,illegals,ect&ect.not after women,children or elder people.Shame on you, wasting tax payers money ! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by merchant222, November 10, 2008 22:25:06
When MAT REMPITS gather and ride dangerously intimidating others, UMNO polis doesn't think that is unlawful and a threat to peace OR even the security of the country.

Umnoputras and Ketuanan is going back to my great-grandfather's era. Another 150 years given will be another 200 years back... TRULY MALAYSIA!
written by temenggong, November 10, 2008 23:00:31
And the next Vigil will be attended by Zaid, who himself called for the ISA to be abolished. The authorities here do not seem to understand the law and regulations. The law guarantees us the freedom to assemble. The regulators can merely regulate the assembly and not usurp the rights to assemble.

Regulate means they can go through with the organisors the details of the proposed assembly, the venue, the fire hazards and preventive measures, the availability of first aid, the security measures, traffic coordination, etc. They cannot overrule the assembly but they may impose fines on the organisors for endangering the lives of the assembly participants or for not complying with good governance of assemblies.

The law requiring police permits is ultra vires the constitution, something which our courts have no guts to uphold!
written by onnetline, November 11, 2008 00:30:16
Damn right you are, Datuk Zaid !

But do you think that corrupted Barisan Najis can understand the right path of things ??
written by shepherdvoyage, November 11, 2008 00:32:01
A peaceful gathering of a small number of BERSIH members was branded illegal and had to be dispersed forcefully by the police, but a much bigger rally of 3,000-4,000 MARA students opposing Khalid’s proposal to open 10% of MARA to the non-Malays and the huge trouble-making crowd at the BAR Council forum to discuss the issues faced by the people converted to Islam were deemed legal and acceptable as no police had been summoned to disperse them.

The harder a ball is hit, the higher it bounces!

The more the people are suppressed, the more defiantly they rise.