|
By Pat Lu, Co-Founder, Pahlawan Volunteers A "United Malaysian National Organisation" with a "Malaysian Supreme Council" is the only way forward.
Dear Malaysian politicians, wannabes and concerned citizens: 
Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi told reporters last Wednesday that it was possible could have a non-Malay leader (PM), saying 'it is up to the people to decide.' Pak Lah's comment sparked a flurry of reactions from politicians and ordinary Malaysians. Some went to the extent of saying Pak Lah is still sleeping and dreaming. Hello, who is really sleeping and dreaming now? So blinded by the divisions, labels and living in the same old boxes, most didn't get it. We forgot "People are the Boss". Why bother to have elections then? Change the rules! Change the political system and electoral system. Change the rules that don't work anymore to move this nation forward. So simple. Reflect on what you have been thinking, talking and writing. Are we going to continue to rant and rave on racial issues or address issues as Malaysians head-on? Enough of the talk on "Malay, Chinese or Indian rights". Enough of the negative thinking - "it can't happen" or "it can't be done". Don't try, of course can't be done lah! Bluntly put, we are very much to be blamed for perpetuating this divide and rule mentality and system. We have to think and work out of the current boxes that are stifling and killing us. Coalitions don't work. It's just a prop – BN or PR. They don't even consult or agree with each other within each coalition. The in-fighting within each party and in-fighting within each coalition are getting us nowhere. MCA requested that a second BN deputy chairman's post be created and filled by someone from the MCA. It has also been suggested that the deputy prime minister could be decided by the component parties of the BN. These are merely window-dressing. More props. Be reminded, only 191 UMNO division heads decide who becomes UMNO President and the person automatically becomes the Prime Minister of Malaysia. The rest of the BN component parties and their members are irrelevant. And the rest of the millions of Malaysians are also irrelevant. Meaning, only 191 Malaysian rcitizens out of the millions of eligible Malaysian voters get to vote who should lead our country and only from one party i.e. UMNO. Irrelevant. That's what the rest of us Malaysians are. Are we going to remain irrelevant and continue to allow 191 UMNO division heads dictate who leads our country? We have to change the political system to a two-party system. We have to change the electoral system where all Malaysians have a right to vote who should lead our country as PM or President, by whatever name you want to call it, the highest office in the country. No matter how much we rant and rave, nothing's going to change with the current political system. UMNO, MCA, MIC, PAS should continue what they do best as cultural and religious societies or clubs. These are death-traps as political parties. None of the political parties in each coalition are willing to merge. Ordinary members are willing but not the leadership. Each want to be king in their little pond. Hang on to positions as chairpersons of branches, divisions, states and national committees in their respective parties, etc. Each fighting for media coverage on petty issues to show they are working, rather than really working or doing the right thing for the country as a whole. Worse, the government aka UMNO jails the real Malaysians such as Anwar Ibrahim, Raja Petra Kamarudin, Teresa Kok and the Hindraf 5. UMNO sabotaged The Malaysian Dream. UMNO sabotaged Zaid Ibrahim and even Pak Lah. A "Malaysian Supreme Council" would celebrate both of them and cheer them on instead. A third force must emerge for this to happen. A single political party whose agenda is ONE People ONE Nation. It's job is to steer and move the entire country forward positively and constructively in ONE direction. No two ways about it. Race and religion are irrelevant and have no place in leadership and governance. Merit matters. As long as political parties based on race and religion continues to exist we continue to drift aimlessly and ultimately die as a nation. A "United Malaysian National Organisation" with a "Malaysian Supreme Council" is the only way forward. From now on, any politician who harps on racial and religious lines should be reprimanded and sacked. In time, we will rid ourselves of politicians who can't see beyond their noses and limited mindsets. Tell your MP, ADUN and little kings in all political parties to do the right thing or resign. Champion their racial and religious causes through other avenues such as cultural and religious societies or clubs instead. I'M ASKING YOU TO BELIEVE "I'm asking you to believe. Not just in my ability to bring about real change in Washington ... I'm asking you to believe in yours." – Barack Obama. CHANGE CAN HAPPEN – Obama's campaign tagline. Change happened. Proven yet again and over and over again worldwide for ages. Read your history books. The question NOW is, what history are we going to make or repeat in our daily lives and as Malaysians? The answers are within each of us. But first, we have to change mindsets. Our own mindsets first. How do we see ourselves. And how do we see others. Think and be Malaysian first. To unite in common purpose. With a Malaysian mindset. Be the change we want to see. We have heard these sayings such as, "little drops of water make a mighty ocean" and "ordinary people can do extraordinary things". It simply means the answer to any challenge is within you and me. It is within reach. It can be done. Together, we either sink or swim in the mighty ocean we create. By our own doing. We had a "tsunami" on March 8, 2008. We just need to fine-tune by putting the right people to stand for election and do it again via a single party. Governance starts with oneself. Self-governance first. Each of us can be "Obama" or closer to home, each of us "RPK". Believe in yourself. Believe you can make a difference. Believe you can do it. Think possibility for a change. Start thinking how you can play your part in your daily lives. Check yourself. How do you view others? What are you communicating to your family and others in your thoughts, words and deeds. What are you really propagating? Is it Love, Ego or Fear talking? Stop pointing fingers. Stop the blame. Stop looking at issues from tiny peep holes in boxes called race and religion. Stand up for what is right. Stop the "close one-eye" attitude in everything. Changes start with oneself. Start thinking and be Malaysian. View and address all issues from a Malaysian mindset. Embrace and respect all as ONE. Do the right thing positively and constructively. Do this for your children and future generations. Malaysia's lifeline is in our hands NOW. Either we move forward or regress further. Time to walk the talk. Start thinking and preparing for the next General Election NOW. Change mindsets. Change the system. I pray and HOPE to hear a similar Obama Victory Speech in Malaysia in my lifetime.
NOTHING'S IMPOSSIBLE! "If we don't dream of the possible, the possible never happens." – Christopher Reeve aka Superman
------------------------------------------------------------- PAT LU, Co-Founder, Pahlawan Volunteers, a Malaysian Voluntary and Advocacy Group. Join Pahlawan Volunteers discussion group at http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=33559455073
|
Yes, we can...