Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow I am Malay, and proud of it

I am Malay, and proud of it PDF Print E-mail
Sunday, 09 November 2008 17:54

It is time the crutches are removed and the Malays learned how to walk with their heads held up high. Malays have to be made to believe that the Ketuanan Melayu and the NEP is an insult and that is suggests Malays are weak creatures.

Religious superstition and persecution never ceases to amaze me. Take the case of Aisha Ibrahim Duhulow of Mogadishu, Somalia. On 27th October 2008, 13-year old Aisha was killed. She was killed when 1,000 people stoned her to death. And she was stoned to death because three men had raped her. She was raped, so they accused of adultery.

Imagine a 13-year old girl killed in a most brutal manner because she was raped by three men. Should it not be the three men who should have instead been stoned to death? And do you not wonder why Islam suffers from a serious image problem? Muslims should take stock of what they are doing and understand the disservice they are doing to Islam.

Our religious rehabilitation by the Kamunting detention camp started on the Tuesday after Deepavali. The highlight of the sessions was the “nasi tomato” and the chicken wing in a plastic bag that they served for lunch, courtesy of JAKIM but paid for by the Malaysian taxpayers, 90% who are Chinese.

The JAKIM ustaz told us that Islam is the true religion and that all other religions are false. We were reminded not to believe in or follow other religions, which are not accepted and recognized by God. Only the Koran is the true Holy Book and was sent to us by God through the Prophet Muhammad. All other books are false and were created by man and did not come from God.

We must also not copy or ape the non-Muslims as that will lead us astray and we will become an apostate if we act like the kafir. He did not, however, give any examples on what would be considered acting like a kafir.

In the meantime, in another incident that happened outside the Kamunting detention camp, an UKM lecturer explained that Muslims should not do yoga or meditate, as the origin of this is Hinduism. Muslims who do yoga or meditate would be led astray, argued the wise man from UKM. He then asked the religious scholars to come out with a fatwa or decree banning Muslims from doing yoga or meditating.

It is ironical that the JAKIM ustaz who visited Kamunting chose that subject matter to kick off our religious rehabilitation program. The article that got me into trouble with the government and which resulted in my detention under the Internal Security Act said exactly the same thing. I pointed out that the Friday prayer sermons run down the other religions. I also argued that we are told not to ape the non-Muslims or take them as our friends as the non-Muslims are sworn enemies of Islam and can never be our friends. For that I was detained under the Internal Security Act and my first lecture happened to be the very thing I said and which got me detained.

There are in fact many things which Malays do and which originated from Hinduism. Take the stringing up of coloured lights as one example. Seven days before Hari Raya Malays would string up coloured lights around their home, sometimes even on trees like they do during Christmas. This is a throwback of the old days when they used to use kerosene or oil lamps. And this was a custom borrowed from Deepavali because the Arabs do not do this.

So, the next time you pass by a Malay house during Hari Raya and you see all those coloured lights you can smile, knowing that the occupant of that house is borrowing a Hindu ritual -- only that he or she does not know it.

If we really want to go into the long list of Hindu customs and rituals that the Malays have borrowed the list would be endless. We should not ape the kafir, the religious scholars tell us. If not we would become a kafir. Well, what about wearing a tie, coat and pants? Is this not a kafir attire?

How many Malays go about wearing a robe and turban? Even that UKM lecturer who wants a fatwa issued banning Malays from doing yoga or meditation wears kafir clothes. Look at all the Malay government officers. They all wear kafir clothes and sometimes a tie as well. The security forces all wear kafir uniforms with a kafir hat on their heads.

We count our days using a Christian calendar. I am facing various charges for crimes I committed on certain days of the Christian calendar. What was the day of the Islamic calendar, the Hijrah calendar, that I committed my crimes? The charge sheet does not say.

I am facing various charges in a kafir court. The charges I am facing are crimes according to kafir laws. I was also under detention without trial according to a kafir law. In fact, according to Islam, I have not committed any crime. And Islam does not allow for detention without trial.

For that matter not only have I not committed a crime, according to Islam, but what I have done is what Islam has actually made mandatory. Islam makes it mandatory for all Muslims to perform “Amar Makruf, Nahi Munkar”. This means to uphold good and oppose evil. All Muslims must do this without exception. Not doing it, according to Islam, makes you an extremely weak Muslim.

I, however, am now facing trial and was under detention without trial for performing my Islamic duty. And kafir laws, not Islamic laws, are being used against me. Kafir laws are being used against Muslims for doing what Islam has made mandatory.

And what is the reaction of Muslims to all this? What is the UKM lecturer doing about it? Is he up in arms about the kafir system being implemented against Islam? Is the Member of Parliament for Kulim demonstrating on the streets and screaming, “I am a Muslim first I don’t care about other people’s opinions”?

Okay, the UKM lecturer wants yoga and meditation banned and the Kulim MP wants to shut the mouths of anyone who wants to talk about Islam. But that is about it. It never goes beyond that,

Sometimes the Malays can be amazing. Okay, not sometimes, most times. Now UMNO wants Zaid Ibrahim sacked as a Malay. Can any Malay actually be sacked as a Malay? I wonder, but UMNO thinks it can be done. UMNO says that Zaid would be nobody -- he would not be a lawyer of the biggest law firm in Malaysia -- if he was not a Malay and the country did not have Ketuanan Melayu and the New Economic Policy.

Zaid thinks that that is an insult. He would like to believe he is what he is because he is Zaid and because he is smart. If he would instead be a simple fisherman in Tumpat, Kelantan, without the benefit of Ketuanan Melayu and the NEP, then this means Zaid is actually quite stupid.

I share Zaid’s view. I also would like to believe that I am “somebody” and “special” because I am Raja Petra. If it is because of Ketuanan Melayu and the NEP, and if not because of that I would be washing cars in Bangsar, then this would certainly make me very unhappy.

Yes, Zaid and people like him do not need crutches. Only losers need crutches. And that is why UMNO wants these crutches to remain, because they are all a bunch of losers. I would like to believe that I am what I am because of who I am and not because of Ketuanan Melayu and the NEP. I take pride in that. I would hate people saying, “of course Raja Petra is successful. He is a Malay and Malays have Ketuanan Melayu and the NEP to help them. Malays need crutches to get ahead.”

It is time the crutches are removed and the Malays learned how to walk with their heads held up high. Malays have to be made to believe that the Ketuanan Melayu and the NEP is an insult and that it suggests Malays are weak creatures. Malays must be proud of their achievements and not credit their achievements to the protection and special privileges they enjoy because they are Malay. The Malays used to be a proud race. Now they are no longer proud. They accept that they are weak. So they demand protection to compensate for this weakness.

Comments (198)Add Comment
written by cheekymate, November 09, 2008 18:06:32
Our dear Pete,
Your articles never fail to command my whole-hearted attention as always. Crisp and cutting to the bone, each word mesmerises and is indeed thought provoking. Keep them coming, bro!
disagree 16
agree 1009
written by Ironside, November 09, 2008 18:09:22
Welcome home,RPK.
agree 735
written by ylcc, November 09, 2008 18:10:54
Hi Pete. I am in the generation of Class 50s/60s, which I believe you were in too (we are the same age!). That was the generation where the Malays made it on their own, so your achievements are not questioned. You are proud to be a Malay - and I am proud of my Malay classmates who went on to the Uni and good careers! Then the NEP came along, and things started changing .....
agree 658
written by Motherchell, November 09, 2008 18:11:38
Dearest Pete,
We believe in the true Malay that you are and the wonderful soul that is Pete!!

So good to hear from you again ! Words cannot express my joy. I thank many who have contributed so well in words for justice to be seen, much stronger then the water cannons and tear gases. Since the penance for us ,-- these selfless souls have been relentlessly hitting the powers that be where it hurt most.
HARIS and IMTIAZ -the legal procedures for our controls and strategies-,
SJSANDTEAM -the hard hitting cluster bombs, notes , saucy pics and exposures –
DIN-SUSAN - the strings – the spread of butter on the toast
ZORO, SHIEH, MAGICRIVER the trombones – their punches -as evil begin to pick their loins, ete ,etc .
If I go on to mention-- this page will run to hundreds. Everyone’s contribution has been mammoth in bringing about today.
It was like an infinite priceless Tchaikovsky and the like, the peaks and altos of tragedy , pain, ecstasy, humility ,joy, feelings, tears and nostalgia. The notes were well written, the music must go on now, the bass and treble is serene to see justice done forcefully to our rightful fair demands!!!!
My very special gratitude to your foot soldiers who held MT so well during your absence! The effervescent MTadm!
As you destruct the injustices for all of us --- we are in it and with you in full!!
You’ve always said , God speaks in mysterious ways !!! and He does!
God Bless you , Marina and the children always!
agree 407
written by penned, November 09, 2008 18:22:11
Dearest RPK,

You are the true Malaysian of the Malaysians! You have done more good for the racial harmony here in your website in the last few years than wat they have done in 50 years. You gave us a different light on our racial differences and Islam as a religion. Keep up the good work!
agree 457
written by housewife, November 09, 2008 18:24:18
Welcome back RPK!And we are proud you came out with your fighting spirit still intact!
agree 276
written by What Nil Wisdom, November 09, 2008 18:24:46
Hypocrisy...maybe the Malays didn't invent it, but the ones who rule the country sure as heck seem to have perfected it! Don't forget kafir ways like using toothbrushes, watching flat screen TVs made in Korea or Taiwan, or flying on airplanes made by Boeing or Airbus. Aren't these all 'kafir' ways too?
agree 262
written by Alfie Mood, November 09, 2008 18:25:54
Salam Pete,Alhamdulillah u r ok.Well i m a malay too,7 of us n we got no subsidies we r successful yes,n we work hard for it.Subsidies r only for malay umnos n mamak umno too.
Welcome home Brother.Best regards to your beautiful wife n family too.I'm one of your soldiers at Phileo Building 1999.
agree 258
written by justice, November 09, 2008 18:31:41
The following is the ugly fight scene happened in UMNO division meeting held yesterday in Seremban. Are they fighting for the rights of the people or their own pockets? Open your eyes and judge it yourself if they are good Malay or not.
disagree 22
agree 665
written by zcakw07, November 09, 2008 18:35:25
Welcome back, RPK. We miss you very much. Life is tough without your article.

Our life will be tougher under the leadership of Najib.

Bodowi is not a capable politician but Najib is a capable corrupted politician.

agree 253
written by hckit, November 09, 2008 18:35:58
Pete, you can help Muslims

by helping muslims, you can make a better Malaysia as well as making our world a more peaceful planet.

Keep it up !
agree 214
written by temenggong, November 09, 2008 18:39:57
The king is back! With guns blazin'.
agree 160
written by ekt tan, November 09, 2008 18:40:15
Hi Pete,

It is great that you are back again after your unscheduled holiday. The rakyat aplogises that we have get you out from the Kamunting Holiday Resort. You mentioned that JAKIM ustaz lactured that only Islam is the only true religion and that all other religion is false is clearly disturbing.UMNO is being devisive and the true intensions to split our society is confirmed. UMNO will continue to demolish other religious faiths.
agree 179
written by Apache3, November 09, 2008 18:44:20
Wow!!! Pete blazing with all six barrels...
Welcome home Pete.
Your articles never failed to mesmerize me.

So over to you UMNOputras to counter Pete's points raised in this article.We are waiting.
agree 108
written by malsia1206, November 09, 2008 18:45:34
We had gone through this many times before. A re-write, a reminder, a refreshing note. Whatever. But there are many dumbhe*** walking in the corridors of power who just disagree. They seem to champion for the good and welfare of the common rakyat. In essence, these goons pocket the big benefits of the privileges and the NEP and leave the crumbs on the trail behind.
written by Yew Loke, November 09, 2008 18:47:08
With Najib becoming PM and Rosmah becoming (1st lady, which she wish), tougher life in Msia coming soon. Rosmah would like to get as many money in her pocket and Najib would replace our Mr.Sleeping PM to become Mr.Sex PM
written by admiral Tojo, November 09, 2008 18:48:00
Welcome back Pete,
I knew they could not break you. You are not weak as those in UMNO and those who suck up tp them. I am a Bugis, Javanese, Chinese hybrid ans gladly not call myself a Malay as per UMNO's definition. Anyway, these idiots are confused. They have been told repeatedly by their UMNO Arab wannabe masters NOT TO THINK. It is therefore not surprising to see them, near them and notice them for what idiots they are. I can not soften my langguage as it is what it is. They are HYPOCRITES as per Quran, Quran disbelievers and they will reap the fair recompense for their (UMNO) action. Let us, the people of Malaysia, stop this pillaging and robbery of the Malaysian People fast. The other day, in Seremban, even the special branch officer that I was talking to agreed that he has had enough of these robbery and abuse of power. See, the message have even gotten to the those in law enforcement. The time is near, the time of liberation from the evils of the regime of the day. I salute you Pete.

Salaam
agree 195
written by orangmsia, November 09, 2008 18:52:36

Welcome back!! Hope you come with more articles after this.

In my humble opinion it's very difficult to change the 'ketuan melayu' mindset. Even if PR take over the Govt, the Govt servants will have the same mentality everywhere.
written by cubi76, November 09, 2008 18:57:31
Exactly mate. Malays need to do away the inferiority mindset.

I wonder why many Malays cant see this, perhaps most people see what they want to see. In fact, in Malaysia, Malays need non-Malays, and non-Malays need Malays. A progressive and competitive Malays would of course benefit non-Malays, and vice versa. There's nothing as who is more superior or higher class or more ketuanan. It's all bulllshit.

Malaysia as a whole would never progress if there is no unity. Non-Malay leaders in 70s agreed to NEP mainly because they too understood that a more balanced economic distribution is the key to the country stability and better future.

But of corse we now know that the NEP has been manipulated for benefits to a few and that they have used this to instill the inferiority mindset in Malays. And it was meant for 20 years only. I suspect that the leaders at that time saw it and understood fully its weakness and its potential for manipulation hence the time frame. Heck, I even read somewhere that the original Malay rights as in Constitution which was agreed by all leaders that it was meant for only 15 years after independence. But of course our constitution has been channged so many times that one lost count about it.

NEP is clearly flawed. To promote unity and a better welfare system, it should be replaced by a need-based policy instead of race-based.
agree 169
written by mikefonz, November 09, 2008 18:59:51
Nice to see you writting again. Have and will always enjoy your opinions.
Am proud of you RPK. We see alot of hypocrites around. Many of them don't even understand shit of what they are talking about. They just want to talk to to
let others think they are smart. Actually they insult themselves by trying to embarass others. I am not a malay but I have alot of malay friends. Do they
think I am an enemy ?? Cheers and welcome home.
written by mick_err_stan, November 09, 2008 19:00:46
Some just cannot differentiate right from left. In order to be seen in the right light, one will look at the cosmetic of things and not the heart of things. Cosmetic is more important and that is why it's important to pray 5 times a day so that it's ok to stoned a 13yrs old girl to death.

I've met Muslim in Indonesia (Scuba Diving in Pulau Weh) and questioned them on the way they were attired, which may be deemed unislamic. They replied that it is up to God to judge them and no one else has that right. However the 13 yr old girl is judged by people who say they represent God.

RPK, I salute you on your piece, but than again some may not have the mental capacity to understand what you have wrote and will be taken as another posting insulting Islam.

But the way I'm using kafir invention to post.
written by BennyG, November 09, 2008 19:02:21
Never fail to amaze me that your spirit and will is so strong.

Yes, sir. You're definitely a writer and a fighter (for all Malaysians)!
written by justinlian, November 09, 2008 19:06:16
Many muslim and others dont know where our language comes from,
Most of our languages comes from Pali and that is india..
What we are using now there are originate from Pali words...
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, November 09, 2008 19:10:01
Welcome back, Pete. Refreshing to have straight talk again. Keep enlightening Malaysians. Perhaps one day, those who speak with eyes closed and brain shut may see the light as plain as day. For now, they stick their head in the sand and believe what they want to believe and do what they feel is supportive of their cause to the detriment of all others.

Bravo!

http://proud2bmalaysian.wordpress.com
written by malaysianohope, November 09, 2008 19:11:55
Greetings Abang!

Glad you have not lost all your shine after this illegal incarceration, for your weapon (keyboard) is mightier than a kris and you are a blue blooded Muslim, a Royalty to go with, but I despair for Malaysia coz you are fighting a lost cause, unless & unless the people in power is defeated wholesalely. For that to happen the Malays themselves must step up to defeat this enemy of Malaysia. No two way about it.
written by HL Ooi, November 09, 2008 19:12:18
Pete is back! What a great day!Keep on fighting Pete! You are one great Malaysian hero! smilies/grin.gif
written by cheekhiaw, November 09, 2008 19:14:41

The NEP was never meant for Malays like you. It was meant for Malay thieves, liars and murderers.

And, boy, those bastards are weak indeed...

agree 117
written by A MI, November 09, 2008 19:16:06
welcome back Raja Petra.
I watched the ABC video. Your daughter Sara is right. It is not worth it! Please just stay safe. Those in power now are incorrigible. They cannot be changed. You know what it is said Do not cast pearls before swines. This is a proverb- just in case Syed Botak doesnt understand this--read below
Do not cast your pearls before swine -Do not waste good things on people who will not appreciate them. This proverb is adapted from a saying of Jesus from the Gospels, “Cast not pearls before swine.” Jesus appears to be warning his disciples to preach only before receptive audiences.

If you or anyone else has evidence, make that available to the ICJ if the government of Mongolia takes the case to that. If not, nothing will be done here. No statutory declaration, no evidence of SMSes, No copies of letters with signatures implicating of those in power will be acted upon by the PeeDeeRAm.
written by Malaysiaputra, November 09, 2008 19:16:15

It is time the crutches are removed and the Malays learned how to walk with their he*** held up high. Malays have to be made to believe that the Ketuanan Melayu and the NEP is an insult and that is suggests Malays are weak creatures. Malays must be proud of their achievements and not credit their achievements to the protection and special privileges they enjoy because they are Malay. The Malays used to be a proud race. Now they are no longer proud. They accept they are weak. So they demand protection to compensate for this weakness.

=====

Who should the Malays thank for making them a "tongkat" race ?. TDM .

Why should TDM make the Malays into a "Tongkat" race ?. For the answer, one should look at who are the ones who really benefitted because of that and who are the ones who are fooled by his rethoric ?.

Tun Razak who original came up with the NEP , only meant to give the Malays a nudge so that they can get moving , out of the rut. However, TDM poured water on the ground (his misuse of NEP for his political ambition ) to make it muddier so that instead of getting out of the rut, the Malays got stuck deeper in the mud.

What RPK has written has lots of wisdom. Kudos to him. Time to extend "NEP" to all Malaysians based on needs and under a new name as this name has a very very negative connotation to it.
written by Ramesh, November 09, 2008 19:21:42
The NEP and Ketuanan Malayu is slavery!!! The majority of the malays are hooked to this slavery, slavery to control their mind with wealth. For eg, the majority non-malays has an average of 2 children Vs the melays 5. If you have 5 or more children, you have to get gov assistance, whitout this mana boleh hidup. So you are hooked, meaning slavery, without the gov you can't survive. This is NEP, slavery to control the majority and anyone who questions this will visit the kamungting resort. You need a "jihad minda" or a revolution of the mind to convince that NEP and KM is a form of slavery to control them. Vision 2020 and using a condom and Islam has to made clear to my brothers.
I think 90% of tax revenue is paid by the chinese, not 90% of tax payers are chinese, am I right? Welcome back Raja, hope you had a talk with DSAI on his sept 16 take over and your 56 days in the resort. We need both of you.
written by tanahairku2, November 09, 2008 19:22:38
Everyone has said what I wanted to say, but I feel I must say it anyway. Welcome home Pete. We really miss you. We prayed for divine intervention and God did intervene and set you free. I am really happy that you haven't lost your fire power,judging from this latest article. Once again, welcome home and be safe.
written by malaysianohope, November 09, 2008 19:23:46
To Umno,

Do not fight Raja Petra by putting him under ISA everytime you disagree with his views but do engage him by countering his arguments. Only losers use the ISA everytime they lost the arguments.
written by anak penang, November 09, 2008 19:25:32
Raja Petra Kamarudin also known as RPK
He writes on his portal, Malaysia Today
His articles are interesting and spicy
And many times, borders on controversy

In No Holds Barred, his heading, he exposes
On corrupted acts of deputy prime ministers
He also talks of their concubines and spouses
How they murder and use explosives

Recently they arrested him under the ISA
For supposedly offending Islam and the Malay
A threat to national security and so a crime
My foot, you bastards, I say to the BN regime

His case was subsequently brought to court
People were there, giving so much support
He was released, and cried emotionally
Many others were also crying openly

The brave judge said the arrest was illegal
It was also wrong and unconstitutional
The whole country was in a state of euphoria
The verdict, gave some hope back to Malaysia

A man so brave, courage, fearless and daring
When people can easily be sent to Kamunting
Never in the history of the country have we had
A government so corrupted, hated, vile and bad

When there are people like Maha shit, the evil one
And najis, dickhead and running dog musang
The people of this land need Raja Petra Kamarudin
To keep ignited their flames of hope, going

agree 134
written by MalaysiaBaru, November 09, 2008 19:25:37

Welcome back! It is so good to see you again. You are indeed the pride of Malays. However, I am sure that the Chinese, Indians, Kadazans, Ibans, Eurasians, Melanau, Sakai, Bajau, Penan, Bidayuh, Bisaya and Kelabit fellow Malaysians are equally proud of you!
agree 115
written by taishan, November 09, 2008 19:27:00
And here's the verse about taking friends:

"O you who believe! do not take the Jews and the Christians for friends; they are friends of each other; and whoever amongst you takes them for a friend, then surely he is one of them; surely Allah does not guide the unjust people."
Quran 5:51
disagree 99
written by panda, November 09, 2008 19:28:26
xcellant ur bac !!!! tis article like all otrs, hit e nail right between e eyes, . i know of some who refuse to admit to wat ur hav said but believe its their right (birth) to be on crutches n they not ashamed of it.!!! its sad but tat e truth, it will take alot to change those who still support n view tat crutches is e way to go, but it can be done, we jus need e right minded person to lead and there arent any in e current govt admin!!!!!
written by Ben, November 09, 2008 19:30:54
We are proud of you regardless of your skin color just as we are of Zaid, Sivarasa, Malik, Haris, LGE, LKS and many more. It looks like God has blessed Malaysia with more than just a few good men. So we shall look forward to the day we recognize each other as Malaysians who walk the talk, tall and proud of their heritage and culture, more importantly they are proud to be Malaysians. That is our destiny. We hope that it is sooner than later.
written by citizenmy, November 09, 2008 19:32:29
Welcome back Pete.
My sincere apology as I didnt give any kind of assistance other than silent prayers during the period of your detention.
written by arifabdull, November 09, 2008 19:33:42
Ketuanan Melayu = projek UMNO bagi melemahkan rakyat,

Ketuanan ISLAM = projek bersama UMNO dengan PAS untuk memperbodohkan rakyat,

Ketuanan Rakyat = Makkal Shakti, Suara Rakyat yang mampu melawan dua ketuanan di atas.

http://arifabdull.wordpress.co...aysiakini/
Wakakakaa!
written by ylcc, November 09, 2008 19:41:58
"written by taishan, November 09, 2008 19:27:00
"O you who believe! do not take the Jews and the Christians for friends; they are friends of each other; and whoever amongst you takes them for a friend, then surely he is one of them; surely Allah does not guide the unjust people."

Eh ... what do you mean? We Christians were praying very hard for RPK's release. My best friends are Malays - so are you saying that they should not mix with me, and that is the end of my "ketupat", daging rendang,etc? I don't understand?
written by LKO, November 09, 2008 19:42:49
RPK, welcome back!

Truly, the pen is mighter than the sword. It is dangerous for the UMNO/BN government to let people think for themselves too much.
written by taishan, November 09, 2008 19:49:58
And the verse that Islam is the true religion

It is He Who has sent His Messenger with guidance and the religion of truth, to make it superior over all religions even though the Mushrikun hate it.
Quran 9:33
disagree 67
written by Bloodhound, November 09, 2008 20:04:39
Hi Pete,

Welcome back. Great article.

It's always the first step that's the hardest. After taking the first few steps, most of the difficulties will slowly disappear - that's how we all start off in life and that's how it's going to be for all challenges ahead.

A child learns to walk with his/her first step. A student learns the English language with the first Alphabet "A".

Imagine if a child is so pampered that he/she gets served with everything in bed without giving him/her a chance or need to start his/her first step in life. If this situation continues for a number of years, and then, when circumstances changed and the family could no longer afford to provide for the services he/she had been enjoying for so long and now had to walk to the dinner table for meals - do you think that this child will be able to walk unassisted to the table at all??........The answer is a resounding NO! This child will be screaming for more and more of the services that he/she had been enjoying for so long - it becomes his/her birthright to the standard of services afforded to him/her all these while!.

Everyone are born equal. Some takes a bit longer to learn certain things and some takes to certain things instantly - that's what life is all about. Variety in life makes everything more interesting but in the end, everyone will arrive at their own destination on their own time according their own resourcefulness. If we don't start our journey, there is no destination to arrive at and we shall remain as we were where we are!

The NEP had made the Malays so dependent on the government that they are unable to see beyond what they have and what they can be. It's just like the case of the story above, if someone is kept under wrap long enough, they will develop a mentality that they will need what they are currently receiving to continue and because to receive it, they do not need to do anything or compete for it, their skill set and mental agility will slowly erode/degenerate/deteriorate and within a short timeframe, the pace of development will overtake their skill-set and mentality and they will feel threatened if they find that they cannot compete because of lack of required skill-set of the time. This is the time when fear will set in because if you cannot compete for lack of required skills and your livelihood is at stake with no other alternatives available, anyone in such a position will feel threatened and will fight tooth and nail for the retention of existing status quo regarding existing benefits - this is self preservation!.

To resolve this problem, we need to ween the Malays living in poverty away from the NEP. This is where the ketuanan rakyat principle comes into play. Solving the problems of poverty across racial lines will ensure that the poorer structure of society will be helped which in turn will balance up the economic development of Malaysian society. As Malays are the majority, assistance for the poor across racial divides will benefit the Malays the most while at the same time other poor members of society get helped along too. This will ensure more unity between the races.

The older generation must be assisted directly with regards to uplifting their standard of living. Proper food on the table to feed the family members would be the most important direct assistance to the poor section of society. An improvement in their way of life (health/sanitation/housing/education) would need to be looked into and actioned upon in order that they feel safe and not discarded.

For the younger generation, education would be the most important. Good education would give them an opportunity for a better life in the future. Proper assistance in this area would ensure that the children are educated properly and given hope for the future.

These measures will require time and properly managed implementations. The same principle also applies to such implementation process because, the first step is always the hardest. It's the will to succeed and the ability to carry out the required measures that determines whether the implementation is a success or a failure!
written by ibabonma, November 09, 2008 20:10:46
NEP was a fair and reasonable approach to correct the imbalances between the have-not Malays and the well to Chinese (except that they forgot that the Indians were suffering miserably too in the estates). That was then. But, there will be a time, may be, when the Chinese are down in the future and they may call upon for the assistance of NEP? Who knows?

That aside.

No matter what, NEP turn out to be a monster upon when UMNO exploited it to the brim when they responded to a suggestion, in that UMNO must create few hundred Malay millionaires to reflect Malay supremacy, the so-called ‘ketuanan’ in Malaysian corporate world. An aspiration expressed by no other than that of our former Minister of Finance, The Coolie Prince!

That resulted in thousands of innocent Melayu jumping into the corporate wagon that resulted in thousands of non-UMNO Melayu went bankrupt, except few hundred UMNO millionaires.

Then after, UMNO threw the bona fide NEP code out of the window. But this did not stop them from ransacking the our nation’s coffer, all under the disguise of the distorted version of NEP just to creating UMNO pirates (lanuns), cronyism and nepotism that become handy in UMNO elections..
written by fairnessforall, November 09, 2008 20:11:41
Welcome back RPK, it feels great to be able to read your very eye opening articles again. Hope there will be more people like you around.
written by talk2stop, November 09, 2008 20:14:03
Ketuanan Melayu & NEP is making the non Melayu work harder and more competitive. The non Melayu have some how develop a "killer instinct" with the help of NEP. The problem now is that Melayu have to hold on to Ketuanan Melayu & NEP or else they will be eaten alive. The longer Malaysia drop NEP or Ketuanan Melayu the greater the pain for the Melayu later. The payback must be paid at some stage like it or not. That's life.
written by densemy, November 09, 2008 20:14:03
Oh Cringe All Ye Faithful
written by jireh, November 09, 2008 20:18:54
RPK, good to see you writing again. Malaysians love you lots.
There are brilliant Malays who are who they are with or without 'special privileges', no doubt about that. Sadly, many more have suffered because of 'it'. Change we must - Away with the status quo.
written by ylcc, November 09, 2008 20:19:59
Taishan .. my Bible teaches me to love you (my neighbour) as I would love myself. So I want to talk to you and you don't want to talk to me - so how ah?
written by Franky, November 09, 2008 20:22:53
Sir Raja Petra Kamaruddin, I really salute you. You see, during Mahatir's time , he always warned the Malay and especially the UMNO's goons that crutches
will be removed.Honestly, he just talked nonsense, really not a person to be respected.
written by yy88, November 09, 2008 20:23:20

Welcome back to restore the 'kick' in MT. It is unimaginable you are already aiming your barrel at the thieves and murderers so soon. This show they have not break you down yet!
written by sonofmalaysia, November 09, 2008 20:32:45
DEar RPK,

The whole MAlaysia, except the UMNO lanuns and thieves, rejoice when we heard you are released !!

You are undoubtedly, a true Muslim and Malay.

Now sue the fake Muslim Shit Hamid in Syariah court, he is the one that doing all the unislamic thing and insulting Islam!!

written by arazak, November 09, 2008 20:32:46
After reading this hard-hitting article, I was wondering. . ., could it be the other way round?. . .Probably Pete was the one who rehabilitated the Ustaz at Kamunting instead!
written by Awaken64, November 09, 2008 20:35:06
Welcome back Pete!!!!

Wow looks like u had lots of sermons in there Ha!

I reflect lots of contemplation and soul searching on your part, true Malays have lost the warmth and confidence of yesteryears, to change this is only possible, when they realize it themselves. Mental cultivation is lacking and ignorance is enforced into the masses through the media, School, etc.

God Bless Malaysia n may spirituality prevail!!!
written by potblack, November 09, 2008 20:38:40
I agree 100% what what was written by you,Pete.But my is question how many other Malays really share and agree with your views? If the majority of them feel that they are happier with the NEP tongkat,what can be done to educate them?
written by kennyeu, November 09, 2008 20:39:35
I'm in the process of translating all of Raja Petra Kamaruddin writing into simple Malay which I will post to all Malay blogs, all Malay website forums, all Malay newspapers, all Malay political parties including PAS and to as many mosques and suraus as possible so ordinary Malays will have a chance to read Raja Petra Kamaruddin's thoughts...

R020998, hopefully whoever who wrote this will translate it with all its original meaning intact and not corrupt any of RPK's writing. Then may be more Malays will be able to share and appreciate the truth, logic and fairness of a reasonable and intelligent man. Even though the writer of this comment may be blind to the simple honesty in RPK's writing (obviously suffering from a severe case of denial... not unlike UMNO) I'm confident many other Malays will understand where RPK is coming from. If the writer really spre*** RPK's unedited writing out to all the Malays readers who don't have access to it, he may well do RPK a big favour by increasing his fan base. So I say, go ahead... translate all the articles and flood the public with it. RPK has had many discussions with many muslim teachers and imams and none of them have been able to successfully accuse him of being un-islamic.
written by R020998, November 09, 2008 20:41:56
I am a Malay and no supporter of the NEP. But I am always amused by the Non-Malays who post comments that the Malays should not depend on NEP to progress, for the Malays own benefit. I wonder why the Non-Malays care too much about the Malays progression.

I am not very concern about Malays' progress but rather worried with Indian. If we do not help them, they will be left very much behind in 10 years to come.
disagree 16
written by timyang, November 09, 2008 20:49:43
I reckon giving duit raya is kafir. That practice should stop. ;-)

Not to mention giving money for votes is kafir too.
written by johnT, November 09, 2008 20:51:31
Dear Pete

Now I understand why among 1000 muslim only 1 who can go to heaven. I read about this where a malay sell the poster in a shopping complex.
written by hiro, November 09, 2008 21:05:52
Zaid probably did make his bucks because he was in UMNO. And in a way, he should be grateful for NEP. But that's the past. If ZICO goes on now it is because of it's own merits. It will succeed, or fail on that alone. At least Zaid is willing to give up his crutches. And so should all other Malays.
written by superstar232006, November 09, 2008 21:10:16

Its good to see you back home. I wish you will be a true muslim as what you are now until Malaysia get rid of race based politics and race based policies. Please help to educate more malaysians on how to live in peace and respect each other.

It is a very sad day for me , when i read an article in UTUSAN MALAYSIA today morning...the article clearly trying to create another MAY 13, 1969.I dont know how the hell this utusan malaysia dare to publish such a seditious article (http://www.utusan.com.my/utusa...=re_03.htm) "JANGAN BERMAIN API !!!!!!! "which clearly create insecurity in the mind of many MALAYS in Malaysia. Please help to stop all these bloody nonsense from UTUSAN malaysia so that there will be a peace in malaysia. I sense something going to happen if these things NOT STOPPED asap....and i really disgusted to know that such a low class unintelligent corrupted MUHAMMad and ALI RUSTAM is being selected by umno goons to fight for DPM post..what joke..if these goons become DPM then our country surely move backward.
written by jivan, November 09, 2008 21:15:16
Welcome back RPK.
Now, today is the real Happy Deepavali, the triumph of good againts evil.

written by JaguhKampung, November 09, 2008 21:17:08
Welcome back RPK!

I am glad you are back. I am so glad.
written by Concerned Malaysian, November 09, 2008 21:20:36
Welcome Home Pete, Nice to see your writings. The UMNO Goons will never learn the leason still habouring ketuanan..this and that...bunch of losers. what baffles me was why are the Malays still supporting these so called malay leaders who seems to champion the malay rights but benefiting themselves? Look at the money politics in UMNO! The malays need to change their mind set first and make themselves competitive rather than talking about ketuanan melayu as it means nothing to the outside world. we will forever be a masyarakat kebajikan if we do not change!The UMNO goons are no hopers.
written by Caramel, November 09, 2008 21:24:38
Honestly, most of the Malays I know are nice people . At least they were very nice until after being brained washed by the M.A.M.A.K, Indonesian and Arabs. Wake up my Malay friends and listen to wise people like RJP, Harris Ibrahim,Zaid, admadneil and many many more.
written by ibabonma, November 09, 2008 21:28:54
R020998,

He would love for Muslims to drink beer at 12:00 noon and go the mosque at 1:30 to pray.

What about after cheating and winning illegitimately in an election, an Imam Hadhari of UMNO is called upon to 'baca doa selamat dan bersukur kepada Allah atas kejayaan UMNO/BN'?
written by gtl, November 09, 2008 21:36:22
i am glad you are back.
watch our finance minister discussing abt the economic crisis, he just makes statements without indepth understanding of the issues. the only way is to spend and spend (money which we do not have) out of the crisis.
i am concern when we are not having top brains behind our govt.
written by Jack Sparrow, November 09, 2008 21:45:23
Welcome back hero,

It is true that crutches are not required, there are many Malays, complete with tudung in Singapore holding high and responsible posts, some in high positions in financial institutions, something that we expect the Chinese to be in; and many in other very commanding positions ..... all without any assistance from any "charity" organizations. I truly respect these people who have made it on their own amid fierce competition with other races, some even new migrants supposed to the the "creme de la cream", and not so far from "home". It is the facility that have made most back home weak and over dependant. Throw off the crutches and it can be proven that there is strength within the race. Pamper and this will be lost.
written by taishan, November 09, 2008 21:48:27
ylcc:
it's the imperative of the Quran.
The Quran is the direct word of God and valid for all times - written in the present, not past tense.

And what don't you understand about the taking friends verse. It's very clear English, no? Perhaps you could ask your friends too.
disagree 46
written by apa jadi, November 09, 2008 21:48:55
And she was stoned to death because three men had raped her. She was raped, so they accused of adultery.

Where does "Amar Makruf, Nahi Munkar" fit in??? Or are we living in a reversed world??? Who is having a contorted mind??

As for the UKM prof kangkung, just ignore him. It is a simple and cheap method to get support and famous. All you have to do is to use a religion to label a bogeyman. I wonder if these prof kangkungs teach well in their subject.

Anyway, good to see you back, Sire. Your holiday in Kamunting is as good as PI Bala's. At least it give someone a month of good sleep before RB cleared himself. More to come on All tentunya, Sire?
written by RaviA, November 09, 2008 21:51:55
Hi Pete...
welcome back....
cheers... rv
written by lobster, November 09, 2008 21:52:35
Good to have you back, Pete.
written by lovemalaysiarakyat, November 09, 2008 21:56:18

Yes, RPK is my hero not because he is Malay or a Muslim but that he can write well and articulate what is wrong with the country and what is wrong not just in Islam but in other religions. If we are "religious", it is the form and not the spirit. This is what kills us all.

Yes, I know the Christians prayed for RPK, they prayed for HINDRAF and others in Kamunting and they prayed for the others elsewhere who are persecuted for wrong reasons - jailed due to the selfish and evil politicians and regimes in various countries. I know of several churches who sung the National Anthem and cried for their country. I know of those who 'puasa" for this nation. So if that is not called true love - what is it? True love is inclusive. True religion is to love justice, to walk humbly ( not in arrogance )and to love mercy. I hope Taishan is not misquoting the Quran as it doesn't seem right as Islam is submission before Allah, or it is to submit all men to Islam? Please help.

I am confused. I met a guy who appeared to be so modern and yet he refused to shake my hand and said I was "haram". He said "I don't shake your hand because you have eaten pork. You are "haram". I was taken aback. In fact insulted.
By the way, I hate pork eating and very seldom eat it. What about those who are vegans only - are they ...?

Then there was a guy I met. he looked like he was a real Islamic uztaz with a beard and all. I didn't put my hand out to shake his hand after the meeting. He put his hand out and was waiting for me to shake it... I was taken aback. I felt bad because I seemed so rude. And I apologised to him. He smiled at me but not the first guy whom I met at a business meeting.

We have the form, the religion and we have the heart. Which do we choose?

"written by taishan, November 09, 2008 19:27:00

Eh ... what do you mean? We Christians were praying very hard for RPK's release. I did not hear of any mosque praying for his release! My apolgies if I am wrong. My best friends are Malays - so are you saying that they should not mix with me, and that is the end of my "ketupat", daging rendang,etc? I don't understand?
written by truthbespoken, November 09, 2008 22:00:42
Quote: "I am Malay, and proud of it".

Yes, RPK, you are Malay b'cos your father is a Malay and Malaysians are proud of you as a Malay. You are a good Malay, a fair Malay and a progressive and visionary Malay. RPK, you are truly a righteous Malay for all Malaysia-loving-Malaysians! We salute you!!
written by apa jadi, November 09, 2008 22:01:43
By the way, who cares if the Malays want to have clutches attached to their hands. Life still goes on for those who are not given the chance to use clutches. They are just irritated by some clutches which sometimes inadvertently stand on their way. To many clutches is just a hindrance to moving fast.
written by Mirage, November 09, 2008 22:06:24
Hi Pete,

Great to have you back. NEP or no NEP, the non-Malays are contributing 90% of tax and that is a fact. Even if they are not complaining, the provocation of Ketuanan Melayu should be put to rest. How much more do the non Malays need to contribute and yet still be called the minority that can be pushed around. I think enough is enough, while the chinese have always been independent they will survive and the Malays whether they heed you advice or not the Globalise world will eat them up in a natural way.
written by roggon, November 09, 2008 22:07:22
YAM RPK, welcome home.Your writing is so precisision...like a a cold steel surgical knife...I reallly energizes me. Looking forward for your next article. and as for the UMNO goons....and the rest of the malays....they have been sleeping since the very day the NEP was launched. Keep on sleeping....
written by Namolos, November 09, 2008 22:12:04
Dear Raja Petra Kamarudin,

Welcome back Sir.
written by DreamLady, November 09, 2008 22:16:19
Raja petra, I remember my promise to you that I shall prepare your special dish when you home again.

Yes, I definitely will keep my promise..
written by Hope4all, November 09, 2008 22:27:40
Welcome back RPK!

The UMNO-led govt has been fighting for the few rich elites but never with a true intention of reducing dependency of affirmative action on a major race in Malaysia. Yes, Malaysia practice affirmative action for a major race, when in most countries affirmation action are for the minorities.
written by ylcc, November 09, 2008 22:29:03
Taishan .. the Bible is also the direct word of God to me and written in the present tense. God gave Moses the 10 commandments, and one of these is "Thou shall love thy neighbour as you would love yourself" - so I still offer you my friendship and love. It also teaches me to respect other religions, which is why my best friends are Malays, Indians, Chinese, French, English, Italians - and I am very happy to call them friends. God created the universe (meaning Malays, Westerners, Blacks, Japanese, Koreans, etc). This is the only language I understand, and so do my friends - which is why I am still going to get my ketupat, rendang, dodol, muruku, christmas puddings, etc ....
written by wisdomguy, November 09, 2008 22:29:32
Glad to hear from you again,Welcome back Sir!
written by Beautiful Mind, November 09, 2008 22:32:00
Really enjoyed reading it.

Thanks RPK. You've brighten up my Sunday morning. It's icy cold over here.

written by panca, November 09, 2008 22:48:32
We already knew many Malay 'bruders' that walk the same or even greater confidence with fellow Non-Malay citizens.

We need to hear more and more Malays that will rise and heed this call to walk on the same platform together and not abandoning but strive as one true nationality.

Proud to be MALAYSIAN, ultimately!
written by DontPlayGod, November 09, 2008 22:54:55
Stoning by 1000 men a 13-year old girl to death, after she was raped by three men...tsk...tsk. I just wonder, can any religion mete out such a punishment? Even secular non-Islamic countries the world over would deem it most barbaric, uncivilized and barbaric. Ther secular laws would not permit this type of punishment/acts. Yet, those who took part in the stoning think they are doing it on behalf of God, and their acts will be rewarded in heaven!!

Can some of the Muslim bloggers here enlighten us further on this? How can such acts happen in the present age? Maybe the "Muslim-first" MP for Kulim can venture to explain. BTW, I regard myself as Malaysian first, and all else as a distant 2nd, 3rd, etc.
written by Tokyobanker, November 09, 2008 22:55:14
We all probably wish that Barrack Obama's nomination would cast some positive lights on Malaysian politics!

Of all countries in Asia, the country with the most similarity with the USA in terms of racial and cultural diverisity is Malaysia, as most other national have more or less homogeneous population.

If and only if Malaysia can be Malaysia for all Malaysian nationals irrespective of race and cultural backgrounds, Malaysia will have the best opportunity to capitalise on the cultural crossro*** to bridge the various gaps in the Asia Pacific region.

Malaysians can bring the Japanese to the Arbs, The Indians to the Koreans, The Arabs to the Chinese, the Germans to the Chinese and many many other opportunities.

Malaysia can survive as a major trading nation. After all, Malaysia is situated in a very strategic location in Asia and in control of one of the most important sea lane in the world.

If and only if the Malaysian government deecides to capitalize on the skill sets and curltural diversity of all the Malaysians!

We can only HOPE!!

May Every God Bless Barrack Obama!
written by Tokyobanker, November 09, 2008 22:57:43
May Every God Bless Raja Petra Kamarudin!!!

The Barrack Obama of Malaysia!!

Our Beloved Truely Malaysian Hero!!!
written by bumiputeri, November 09, 2008 23:07:40
Welcome home Pete. We missed you so much!

Just to add to what you have mentioned: What Malays have borrowed from Hinduism and India(ns)! The most important two things in a Malay's life: BAHASA & AGAMA!
BAHASA= SANSKRIT
AGAMA= SANSKRIT
JIWA/RAGA= SANSKRIT
NEGARA= SANSKRIT
RAJA= SANSKRIT
DIRGAHAYU= SANKRIT
MAHLIGAI= SANKRIT
SYURGA=SANSKRIT
NERAKA= SANSKRIT
SUKA/DUKA= SANSKRIT
DOSA= SANSKRIT
(DEWAN) BAHASA & PUSTAKA= SANSKRIT
SEMBAHYANG= SANSKRIT
KAPAL= SANSKRIT
CITRA/WARNA= SANSKRIT
EKABAHASA= SANSKRIT
DWIBAHASA= SANSKRIT
TRIBAHASA= SANSKRIT
BAKTI/SAKTHI= SANSKRIT
PERTIWI=SANSKRIT
PERDANA= SANSKRIT
MENTERI= SANSKRIT
BENDAHARA= SANSKRIT
WIRA= SANSKRIT
SATRIA=SANSKRIT
ISWARA= SANSKRIT
KHAZANAH= SANSKRIT
GAJAH= SANSKRIT
Sorry...the list is just too long!
Using these words also means kafir?????
But then again, we, as true Malaysians, should rejoice with our rich cultural backgrounds and learn from each other and appreciate everyone, and not vice versa. Hope we will learn one day!

written by DXB2008, November 09, 2008 23:08:44
welcome home RPK to the fore and let us return to haunt the robbers of gang ketuanan melayu with more stings and bullets!
http://1426.blogspot.com/2008/...ma-in.html
written by Heaven8402, November 09, 2008 23:15:36
Its GRRREATTTT to have you back, SIR!
written by Kopi37, November 09, 2008 23:20:42
Howdy my dear RPK!

I just had dinner with my daughter she is doing Accounting in USM and I spent her one bloody big feast as a consolation for her bloody hardwork to study until 2-3am daily just to prepare for her 1st semester exam!

I purposely asked, "Are all your classmates study as hard ?". "Depends on the pointer we set, most of us set for 4 flat and therefore all are studying hard until late nite" - she smiled and quipped.

"Then how about most of those opposite race students? Are they studying like you?". Once again she quipped, " They looked very relax and seemed like they are holding party, very noisy to distract our concentration in the books"! This is true from both our conversations. Could this not the negative implication of the crutches that had long given the effect of over-protection to the adolescence that even they don't study, they can also pass out from the college, with lousy result and no standard of course! That's the sort of quality education system we have, another product of NEP, to groom all the lame ducks and lame chicks, they will float and drift in the market until the next round of crutches award, the lucky ones will be tugged in the public service! The rest will be still drifting!................
written by honestlypls, November 09, 2008 23:23:47
Thks RPK...great piece.Good to have you back.

My sentiments exactly....I have great friends who are of different races and religion. Good people and non judgemental. Some brothers have wrong interpretation of religious wordings and this is dangerous.

To me NEP should be for all marginalised rakyat ,however ,interpretated to mean for helping Malays only ,even worst ,it's going to help already rich Malay businessmen get richer. It embarasses me to see it hapenning.

written by Susanna, November 09, 2008 23:31:33

RPK, soo good to have you back! All of us are wonderfully made by God and all men are made equal. The Malays should thank you and Zaid for stating the obvious. Thank God for people who can see the difference and are not entrapped by those who want to put people down in order to control them. Doesn't Malaysia belong equally vto all Malaysians? Tanah tumpah darah kita? born, bred and die, bried as Malaysians?
written by willove, November 09, 2008 23:35:07
Dear dear Pete,

I become a member to the site at the time you were detained. I wrote to comment as a Malaysian reluctantly living in China with my family. Although I couldn't be there to welcome your release my heart is with you and your wisdom always. I am now writing with tears of joy in my eyes.

If you are reading this, I want you to know how much I respect you and I am doing my part as a Malaysian to lead many more people to MT. I believe BN will have to go by GE13, so preparations have to start now, from ourselves.

Long live RPK!
written by generalhonest, November 09, 2008 23:54:43
So good to have you back and your writing ,as always, is always thought provoking and mesmerizing. Your usage of simple to understand English caters for wide audience or all backgrounds, which is why people can relate to you easily. So happy to have you back. Even more happy that ISA hasn't changed you a bit.

May God always Bless You!!!
written by astina, November 09, 2008 23:56:04
welcome back YM RPK..Its so good to have back once again..

Go on and ruffle their feathers once again..

To Pn Marina..thank you for your support..cheers.. smilies/wink.gif
written by GKN, November 09, 2008 23:57:56
WELCOME HOME PETE! You are A BEST MALAY AND A MUSLIM FOR THIS SOIL.
written by roadbarra, November 10, 2008 00:00:50
I was almost choked with tears to read your article again.
written by thor, November 10, 2008 00:16:48
Welcome back Beloved Hero with the C4ME T shirt. smilies/grin.gif

GOD SAVE OUR PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES
written by Kopi37, November 10, 2008 00:20:12
The JAKIM ustaz is more like a hand tactic hard sell salesman and also a failed salesman! Good salesmanship never condemn competitor's products but only talk good about own products. To win the sales and not force the sales!

This again is life example of the arrogance of that ustaz, not Islam, I am cock sure!.............
written by Daryl, November 10, 2008 00:35:56
Religious superstition and persecution never ceases to amaze me. Take the case of Aisha Ibrahim Duhulow of Mogadishu, Somalia. On 27th October 2008, 13-year old Aisha was killed. She was killed when 1,000 people stoned her to death. And she was stoned to death because three men had raped her. She was raped, so they accused of adultery.

RPK welcome back to the free world but the above is the type of things the world and the western press highlights. I don't see any Fatwa being annouced over this type of injustice. Until there are religious Muslims leaders that dare to challenge this type of actios Islam will be look at suspiciouly.

written by The dragonheart, November 10, 2008 00:40:07
In Golf and polo, weaker players gets an advantage and they this Handicaps...
written by cheemengwong, November 10, 2008 00:40:48

Damm good article but they who do not want to improve themselves with the truth written here will desire that you be put away under ISA rather than inconvenience their life!

Pete, have a good rest, eat well and recover from your ordeal.

Felt good you are out. I was really worried they stopped the RR with a trade plate!

Write more, can keep a lamp under the blanket, it serves no purpose.

Cheers.
written by cheemengwong, November 10, 2008 00:42:42
Hai bumiputeri...

how about cekerawala?... My burmese workers says it is a burmese word. Correct me if I am wrong.

written by shepherdvoyage, November 10, 2008 00:50:02
Have we seen any able-bodied person on crutches? Only those who can't stand firm on their own feet need crutches for without which, they can hardly move a step forward.

Those clinging to the ketuanan melayu mentality are implying that his fellows are disabled people and have to rely on crutches to move around.

Ketuanan Melayu is indeed an insult instead of a privilege to the Malays.
written by akcc81, November 10, 2008 01:04:06
Truthfully asking, what's so "Tuan" or "Supreme" about the Malays when the NEP is constantly forced upon them by the UMNOputras? No "Tuan" in the entire world needs crutches like the NEP. It's not only ironical, it's also downright stupid to continue to defend "Ketuanan Melayu".

I wish the Malaysian people wake up, especially those living in the rural areas (as these are the only places that UMNO can win, and that should explain the quality of MPs voted into the parliament - P.Salak & Kinabatangan) to the fact that UMNO is merely using NEP and "ketuanan Melayu" to drug them. It's become an addiction that without which, the Malays think they will fall.

Doesn't this remind us of the Opium War in China, where the British finally got Hong Kong because the Chinese were so addicted to opium? In Malaysia, this has ultimately created a master-slave relationship. It's obvious in this case, who's the master or "Tuan" and who're the slaves.

So, what exactly is the brand of "ketuanan Melayu" that UMNO is selling here? It's none other than "ketuanan UMNO" itself! Sadly, the Malays at large, have become their slaves.
written by nocrid, November 10, 2008 01:06:47
Shall I throw my physics books away probably burn it? Galileo the Catholics and tada!!! Einstein the Jew have their name all over the physics books man....Now that's hardcore kafir to the core...Shall we close down Proton and Perodua until we can make sure the Karl Benz(1844-1929, Gottlieb Daimler (1834-1900) and Wilhelm Maybach (1846-1929) are mus***. They might not be spiritual but secularism is also kafir...no yes no...hhehehehehee....
written by Siapabohong, November 10, 2008 01:25:31
Dear YM RPK,
It is only you who can write this such article, because if others who try to do the same, they would face big problems with the authority and the majority Muslim in the country. Look at what Faris, Dr. Azly, Kickthefella and recently Zaid and many others have gone through when they wrote something which touch on the real facts and misconcepetions of the majority people in the country. I have said before your detention that what you have written is true facts that happened in this country. You tried to project the beautiful aspects of the religion that many, especially the non-Muslims who have wrong perspective about the religion. If you successfully projected the beauty of the religion and not as what being practiced now, I believe many would have taken up the religion. That's what I have said,over here Islam is not the religion for all but to particular people who manipulated it to their benefit. That's the main reason non-Muslim do not seem to want to know and undersatnd about the religion. Even if they embraced it they will still not be considered as Muslim because of their colours and being non-Malays and not an Ameno member.
Dear RPK, is it fair if God punishes those kafirs (as what been said by the many ustazs) who were given the impression that Islam is not belong to you even if you embraced it. I have the thinking that the West knows the great strength of Islam and if practiced truly and not being manipulated it will give a big threat to them but see how it was practiced that many do not bother to know and and have wrong impression about it.
Waiting to read your next atricle and more to come.
written by Steven Tan, November 10, 2008 01:45:05
Dear Bumiputri,

I heard from my friend that you missed out one of the MOST IMPORTANT word from your list.... Can you recall that particular word?

take care smilies/smiley.gif
written by Fatcat, November 10, 2008 02:01:59

Its really great to have you back. All the bestest wishes to you and your family. I saw you in Shah Alam friday and am glad you are still in one piece. =)
Malays are generally good people, I have some malay friends who are considerate, humble, hardworking.
Send those UMNO GOONS(non goons are excused)to hell. NO 2 ISA, No No NOOOOOO.

Daulat Tuanku.
written by doggone, November 10, 2008 03:39:17
written by Proarte, November 10, 2008 04:55:20
Welcome Back Raja Petra to your own Blog!

Equally, the heading of Raja Petra's illuminating article could be 'I am Welsh and proud of it' as RPK has informed us that his mother Barbara Mabel Parnell was Welsh.

I think Malays ( if there is such a monolithic entity) should focus less on race and political Islam, two very divisive factors, if they want to be successful.

Despite being hailed as America's 1st Black President, we all know that Barack Obama's mother is White.

The important point is that Obama never played up his 'Blackness'. He focused on fundamental issues like equality, opportunity, freedom, values of the US which he was proud to point out could elect a man of his background to the highest office in the land. Even at his 1st press conference after his election he talked about the choice of dog for his daughter at the White House and said his preference was for a mongrel or a Mutt and he joked "a Mutt like me' referring to his multi-ethnic background.

In Malaysia politicians on both sides of the political divide play race and religion to the hilt. The creatively interpret the Malaysian constitution to justify their discriminatory actions. These include the Sultan's as well. We remember how a Chinese lawyer could not be elected to be MB of Perak because of the racist provisions in the state constitution as well as due to Royal unwillingness to override the caveat in the constitution in the interest of equality and justice. But what is perplexing is that these same Royals in high profile addresses to the nation, exhort non-Malays to feel equal have an equal stake under the Malaysian sun.

Similarly, in the appointment of Low Siew Moi as Head of PKNS, PKR was at pains to point out that is was only a 'temporary' appointment until such time a suitably qualified Malay was found. What a terrible insult to a a brilliant Chinese lady who had served PKNS for over 33 years with such dedication.

It revealed to us despite the pre-election promises to the nation about equality,'Ketuanan Rakyat' and the abolishing of the NEP, the PKR and PAS Malay leaders were not willing to budge fundamentally from the UMNO racist and bigoted paradigm.

PAS went one step further and said it was opposed to the appointment altogether and wanted a Malay from PKNS to be appointed, failing which they were even willing to provide their own a list of Muslims whom they deemed to be suitably qualified.

What a far cry from the lofty assurances from the Pied Piper of Permatang Pauh that the 'fundametal liberties of every Malaysian would be held sacrosanct'. As is evident, there is a disconnect between rhetoric and truth in Malaysia.

The constitution in any case should never be written in a tablet of stone, as circumstances, philosophies, values etc change with time. The American Constitution has been amended a number of times. Nobody would now argue that Amendment 13 was a moral and right thing to do; it abolished Slavery. Similarly Amendment 19 gave women the right to vote.

Similarly, the Malaysian consitution must be amended to update it to reflect realities in the ground. Chinese and Indians are now Bumiputras by virtue of having being born here and this should be acknowledged. Freedom of worship should unambiguously be spelt out making apostasy a constitutional right. The list goes on, but it should always be done in the spirit of reaffirming that all humans are created equal and should be treated as such.
written by magickriver, November 10, 2008 05:29:22
"Mr Smith" put it very succinctly when he said (on Din Merican's blog, I believe):
There are two types of Malays... Umno Malays... and Good, Lovable Malays smilies/cheesy.gif
written by alfchuah, November 10, 2008 05:55:15
I dun even know why Malays eat rice - the staple that all Malays need. According to Wikipedia, rice originated from South Asia, which does not include Malaysia and Indonesia! Another Hindu influence! The way Malays live their lives now is so un-Islamic, they drive Mercedes/BMW instead of pulling a beca, they take a plane instead of flying on a giant wau-bulan, they eat KFC instead of ubi, they watch TV/movies instead of wayang kulit. All Malay Muslim should be charged by themselves for not being Malay and Islamic. All but hypocrite - because Malays are never hypocrite.

According to Ayaan Hirsi Ali, Islam advocates the relationship of master and slave, coming from the requirement of total submission. Now you wonder how "Ketuanan" started.
written by Loi Bih Siang Benjamin, November 10, 2008 06:15:05
Dear Pete:
I am so glad and excited to read your article in MT again.
We really need more "Spiritual" Muslims like you in our country to bring forth genuine Islam revival in Malaysia, we are too tired of nomimal, fake, religious and hypocritical Muslims who blatantly do what Allah forbid them from doing!

I tried to contribute an article during Ramadan while you were incarcerated under ISA, it was not published by MT (may be due to its religious sensitivity content).
Malays need to understand the will and divinity of Allah before recklessly acting on behalf of Allah.
My "Open letter to all Muslims in Malaysia" touched on the characters of Allah based on Quran.

http://benjaminloi.blogspot.com/2008/09/open-letter-to-all-muslim-friends-in.html
May Allah bless you and your family, Amin!
hope you enjoy reading my article..
written by Loi Bih Siang Benjamin, November 10, 2008 06:16:53
http://benjaminloi.blogspot.co...ds-in.html
written by Msian Idol3, November 10, 2008 07:13:14
First & foremost -- it is excellent that my hero is free to do what he is best at "FREEDOM" to motivate, invigorate & to piss the crooks etc. I don't care a hoot what race RPK belongs BUT I am very proud of his up-bringing & setting fine examples that cuts across as a human being. RPK dare to be different represents what the meek, bullied & unsured and this alone speaks volume about islam & his race. So RPK, as a Msian residing overseas -- I tell U, news of your release from Kamuting spread like wild fire here in Canada. I am sure other nations with larger concentrations of Msians are all smilling in their hearts of such good news. It really touches the heart that U represent us and mind U the Msian govt is a humongous bully to Msians at home than any one here in Canada. Overhere the Canadian govt respect everyone the same. There are severe laws here to check bigots of race, religion, gender & even discrimination in jobs/workplace.
written by billyong, November 10, 2008 07:21:59
I concur with Bumiputeri that many words used in the Malay language are actually derived from Sanskrit. So in actual fact, there is no such thing as Bahasa Melayu but Bahasa Sanskrit, and the word "Bahasa" is Sansrkit by itself. So what is Sanskrit? Simply, it it the spiritual language used by Lord Buddha to teach his followers. So every time someone utters a word in Malay, he/she is actually professing Buddhism? Maybe we should have a fatwa on this issue too.

Talking about fatwas. Since the Fatwa Council regard yoga as akin to Hinduism, then why don't they issue fatwa for the following :

1. Boy Scouts - the founder was a Christian, Robert Baden Powerll, who started the movement based on Christian beliefs to help others in need.
2. Qi Qong/Tai Chi/Karate/Tae Kwan Do - All Asian martial arts are derived from Buddhist beliefs. There are some Malays who even are Qi Qong Masters.
3. Christian names - Names such as Norman, Abby, Rose, Sheila, Julian, Clifford, Remy, Jean, Sarah, Nadia, Lisa, etc are a no-no as many of these names are derived from Christian saints and Muslims may be influenced by these holy people.
4. Ringgit - for it could have been tainted (haram) by someone in a casino, liquor shop, bar and pork stalls.
5. Rock music - no Muslim youths are supposed to listen and play rock music for it is derived from Christian gospels sung by the negros. Malays should stick to Keroncong and ghazal music.

So to the Fatwa Council, do not ban this and that on a piece meal basis. Once and for all have a blanket ban and spare my Muslim friends from all the anxieties.
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by ireneyow, November 10, 2008 08:14:48
Good Health to RPK, we need people like you to make Malaysia move on. I went to the Candle Light Vidil in Ipoh last night and I feel so proud to be there. I would say ACTION IS BETTER THAN WORDS. We support with our presence and I assure IF everyone who comments at your blog comes out to support then the BN (UMNO) will not be so arrogant.

ACT NOW FELLOW FOLKS. IF they arrest ALL of us so much the better. Just see how many arrest they can do. I am prepared to be arrested if the police come last night at Ipoh Taman DR. I would be proud to be arrested for FREEDOM OF SPEECH.
written by ROBERTNGTG, November 10, 2008 08:39:21
It is time the crutches are removed and the Malays learned how to walk with their he*** held up high. Malays have to be made to believe that the Ketuanan Melayu and the NEP is an insult and that it suggests Malays are weak creatures

ABANG, WELCOME HOME. NOW U PUT YRSELF INTO TROUBLE AGAIN. STRAWBERRY CHICK WILL BE FROTHING AT HIS MOUTH WITH THIS ARTICLE AND THE FREAK HOME MINISTER WILL FIND ANOTHER ISA LOOPHOLE TO PUT U BACK IN KAMUNTING WITH THIS ARTICLE FOR HURTING THE FEELINGS OF ALL MALAYS WHO WANT THE KETUANAN SHIT ON THEIR HE***.
written by 2edgedsword, November 10, 2008 08:42:51
Religious leaders that misinterpret Islam to further the self-interests of their political masters are heretics. Heretics are worse than kafirs.

All human beings are children of God. So did God make a mistake for every non-Muslim child that is born?
written by Thinkwisely, November 10, 2008 08:48:46
First of all, congratulation on your release from ISA detention. I truly believe this is the result of our sincere prayer to the God. I have been reading your no holds barred article and will never miss any of them. In summary all you have written is trying to send an awareness message to the people to think more openly and to bring our society maturity to a higher level. Hope that your relentless affort will be fruitful one day.

I hope to see you write something on the NEP and how we shall bring changes to the new generation.
written by foresight, November 10, 2008 08:54:57
The money in their pockets was also probably handled by the bak-kut-teh or pork seller before. So they should avoid anything that is to do with money.
written by khongja, November 10, 2008 09:22:53
Hi Pete,
Good to be back! Well the malays need to go across the causeway down south and see the change and attitudes of the Singaporean malays.They survived the earlier years but knew LKY was right in the end.Today they are'nt afraid to walk tall among the SINGAPOREANS.Here they put fear into them that s all!
written by Braino, November 10, 2008 09:53:30
RPK and Zaid are two outstanding fine examples of what the real "Towering Malay" concept is all about. Sad as it be, there are few whom we can say are like the both of them.

Yea, you cannot be a towering Malay if you are using a "tongkat" or "wheelchair" and depending on Gomen handouts! much more so, aspiring to be a supreme race!
written by ASK4u, November 10, 2008 10:02:32
Welcome back YM RPK. The news about a 13 year old girl being stoned to death by 1000 people or so is deeply troubling. In most countries, including Malaysia, sex with a girl aged under 18 is considered statutory rape, even if it's with her consent. A 13 year old girl may not even achieved puberty. Nothing shot of being Pedophiles, these bas**rds.

On NEP, I applaud and welcome a rich and prosperous Malay race. Even Badawi unmistakeably said that US must wake up from it's economic slumber and prosper. He said this should be the first task of Obama when he assumes office. A prosperous America will unmistakeably benefit other countries. Likewise, on a purely economic sense, a prosperous and "productive" Malay will benefit all races and the country by boosting its economy. Unfortunately, help and handouts are not being used effectively to jump start their carriers or businesses but have made many (though not all) complacent and lazy, ever expecting more and more "free lunches" thus further depleting government coffers. It has deviated from its original purpose; the spirit of which it was earlier envisioned by our forefathers. Yes, I'm all for a progressive and dynamic Malay race able to compete with all races or even surpass others by standing on their own feet and not by relying on handouts forever.
written by Lyon, November 10, 2008 10:06:55

It feels great to have you back; Marina, Zorro, Haris & others were holding the fort in your absence. I am proud to have attended the candle light vigils (I was prevented from attending the vigil last night by the closure of the ro***). The vigils did at least achieve one of its having you released, it does'nt matter under what circumstances your were released. The other aim of course is for the repealing the ISA where others are still languishing.

You have had written on numerous occasions on the Malays, Islam and the NEP in the past. Apparently, these people are so used to the'escalators' that they psychologically believe that they can't take the stairs just like the others. Similarly, with the brainwashing in schools and institutions of higher learning, the young look down on other races and religions with disdain.

Keep up your spirits in the fight for the righteous cause.

Cheers mate
written by samyraj, November 10, 2008 10:10:17
As Petra mentioned, the Malays should be proud themself because everything is given to the Malays. What else you are want..so yuu should proud of yourself...you are given first priority to the local university, eventhough your grade is lower then the non-malays just because you are Malay, you get discount in housing programs, you are given priority in govt jobs and more and more....so you should proud of yourself.

Nowaday everything is given to the Malays so the Malays become lazy and if this continues teh Malays will become lazy and useless to the country. So, Malays should fight for everything as the non-malays do daily. You should know the pain and then only you will realize what is real life means and what you should do for living rather then bagging the govt to feed you.
written by antiilluminati, November 10, 2008 10:11:22
I am damn proud of my very own ppl's hero RPK. You alone can stand up to defend the MALAY race as a whole.
written by ohie, November 10, 2008 10:23:24
Just to wish u best of health and keep feeding us with true facts for better muhibah malaysia future..
written by Zapper, November 10, 2008 11:04:43

Great piece of work from a Great brain. In this generation, Form is MORE importance than substance.

May the Force be with you.......
written by gorshan, November 10, 2008 11:10:28
me off topic,now that RPK is out,isnt it strange we dont hear a peep anymore from that ali cordoba character? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by adan, November 10, 2008 11:31:50
'
RPK ' I AM A MALAY AND I AM PROUD OF IT' I AM NOT A MALAY AND I AM PROUD OF YOU AND MALAYS LIKE YOU WHO STAND FOR UNIVERSAL VALUES LIKE TRUTH AND JUSTICE..AND.. WILLING TO STAND AGAINST THE CORRUPTED AND DARINGLY EXPOSE ALL THEIR FILTH AND DIRT. A TOWERING GLOBAL MAN ..VERSUS ...MEN WHO ARE POWERFUL BUT IGNORANT AND STUPID. .. IGNORANT OF THEIR OWN IGNORANCE AND STUPIDITY.
written by ylcc, November 10, 2008 11:44:51
This is an addendum to "lovemalaysiarakyat's comments" ... my sister had a stroke. A Malay doctor came in. She took out a pencil and took her pulse - my sister was haram to her.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 10, 2008 12:18:25
Bro Pete, it is indeed wonderful to read your much anticipated article once again.

UMNO is, purposely or otherwise, keeping the Malay race in diapers. Each time a Malay attempt to take the first crucial step, UMNO rushes in to carry (dukong) the Malay so that the child does not fall and get hurt. After 51 years of “protection”, that very big Malay child does not know how to stand on its own let alone to run, and, without UMNO’s help, that Malay child is quite helpless fully dependent on mother UMNO. In effect, our Malay race has become “cacat” or politely refered to as “orang kurang upayah”.
written by merlin2001, November 10, 2008 12:40:39
My Pal Pete,
No more tears for your Family and for you enjoy your return to the comfort of home and sanity.
I am 66 and you are 58. We share the same birthday 27th September. We are Libras.
The balance scale also known to be perfectionists.
Unfortunately we live in an imperfect World. Today you are a proud Malay, one day I hope to hear from you that you are a proud Malaysian.
Malaysia suffers from an uncomfortable insecurity of Islam. In many ways you are right to hit hard hoping to right the wrongs of the imperfections of those who preach Islam.
It is not wrong that you do it as your conscience demands but one must ask are the big boys ready to accept your righteous ways.
Like your daughter said, " I see no change, I only want my Daddy home".
Even in our comments some of our words are censored ESP if we were to use Religion in your Blog.
My worry is that if you persists to write about Islam ( even though you are right ) they will adulterate your words and find another way to can you. Without malice may I suggest you tone down on Islam and refocus on getting the right man to be the next PM of our beloved nation. Najib should be our most worrisome issue. If he becomes PM than we will be a laughing stock of a Nation.
Even Rib Van Winkle AAB is by my thinking is a better Hobson's Choice.
I would hate to see you incarcerated again, neither your 2 lovely girls and your ever super wife. Please do spare a thought for them. You have commented many times calmness is a virtue and I say there are many ways to skin them cats.
When we get the right PM and good Malaysians in the Cabinet then you can proceed to extol the true grace and blessings of Islam to the new Nation fearlessly.
written by myfaris, November 10, 2008 12:53:57
I think we should not allow our emotions sets-in lest our judgements or arguments will be influence by it. Please be clear minded. Islam is not equal to malay and malay is not equal to islam and the same it applies to other races too. Islam is a way of life acceptable by the Al-mighty regardless the races and other religious also have their own way of life. But you cannot compell others to follow your religion's way of life. Islam is not about the attire you wear, the language you speak and so forth. It is about what you do in life but not about who you are! You do good things, you will be liken to the angels. Vice-versa if you do evil, because you allow yourself to befriend the devil when infact, the devil themself did not compell you to do evil deeds! The only difference is with which god you have faith and that's entirely up to the individual even your own instinct cannot be an answer to others. As simple as if you want to describe the taste of sugar when sweetness only termed it not describing it. It is really in your heart and no want can tell accept the living soul who created it!!
written by EUGTAN, November 10, 2008 13:07:35
A lot of us who are not Muslims nevertheless want Muslims, as with the rest of the human family to succeed. So we hope that aged old laws that may make sense in a certian time and place may not make sense now. The poor girl was soned to death because she could not provide 4 winesses to prove her case of rape.By the same reckionong, many raoe vicrimes in pakistan go unreproted for fear by being charged of adultery, whi9ch is punishable by deat and brings shame to the fa,milt. I hope Muslims realize that if the same law were to apply, the many rapists who were justly sentenced to long imprisonment for their evil deeds at Seberinica would have gone scott free.
written by Gargamel, November 10, 2008 13:42:02
Ah, Pete returns home and returns to form! smilies/cool.gif

We missed you Pete. I suppose now that Najib has finally got a firm hold on the throne, it is ok to let you out. No worries, Pete. He (and Umno) won't last long.
written by Surrhead, November 10, 2008 13:44:38
I'm in the process of translating all of Raja Petra Kamaruddin writing into simple Malay which I will post to all Malay blogs, all Malay website forums, all Malay newspapers, all Malay political parties including PAS and to as many mosques and suraus as possible so ordinary Malays will have a chance to read Raja Petra Kamaruddin's thoughts...

R020998, in addition to kennyyeu, i would strongly want you to paste RPK original posting along your translations.....cos i seriously doubt it that you would have translated it correctly.....we don't want that, do we??? Remember,R020998 paste RPK's original posting alongside your translation

RPK, do your usual thing.....Be the MAN OF RIGHTEOUS.....and GOD will always bless you and your family......
written by 98PercentPrimate, November 10, 2008 13:59:53
Genetically, the normal human is a 98.4% chimpanzee and evolving.
It is normal for the ignorant to stick to this % and act that way. One will find a lot of similarities in the behaviours of many politicians, religionists and others with those of the chimpanzees we see in National Geography program in Astro.

I am glad RPK is writing to accelerate and reduce that percentage of chimpanzee_ness in us so as to increase our % of human_ness.
written by teo siew chin, November 10, 2008 14:15:53
Dear Yang Mulia Raja Petra

Welcome back to Malaysia-Today. Your sharp witty and to-the-gut articles were sorely missed. Please try your bestest NOT to get incarcerated again cos a lot of people hurt when you are in there. And of course it goes without saying - we are so proud of YOU cos you are a brave, decent, honourable dude championing the end of injustices and corruption at risk of life and limb! The fact that you are a Malay is secondary. smilies/wink.gif
written by chin, November 10, 2008 14:38:02
I am sorry to rain on your day of freedom.

But I am fed up with this "I am Malay" and "I am Chinese" crap.

The people that emphasizes these terms, day in and day out are the corrupt politician that want to get elected. To widen their electoral base, a Malay now cover anybody who is a Muslim and adopts the Malay culture (which can be contradictory in many ways because of their Hindu past) and to top it off a Malay must be a Muslim, talk about controlling the people is suppose to control you.

And this NEP crap, if a fair government had just made it their agenda to help all the poor instead of just the Malays (and to add weight, they increased the population of Malays by widening the definition and importing some more Bumiputras. It used to include the Babas and Nyonyas but I guess they looked too much like Chinese).

Helping the poor improve themselves would have helped the majority become more affluent, and a more affluent Malay population would have lead to more affluent Malay businessman and a stronger Malay population would have lead to a stronger economy.

Instead, the BN concentrated on building towering Malay businessman. Sound like abuse of power to me. But never mind my biased assessment, the result is a economic a third the size of Singapore (per capital)even with 100 times more resources.

RPK and Zaid would still be who they are now but Malaysia could have been so much more. And not just the economy, we would be a more civil society with a richer culture and none of these damn extremist keeping us awake at night and banning exercise. If UMNO continue on it's Islamist-political course, there will stoning of little girls here as well.

And I would like to correct the impression that the Malays, Chinese and Indians rooted for RPK. I believe only the Malaysians rooted for him.

written by PASOK, November 10, 2008 14:43:01

I am an eskimo. I am proud to be an eskimo and we also can conquer the world.
written by Amy Chan, November 10, 2008 15:08:12
RPK welcome back! I had no mood to login to MT when you were in Kemunting camp.
What a relief to have you back.
Yes, the crutches for the Malays must be removed or else they will have no GUTS to face the global challenges.Those Malays who make it on their own without help cannot even hold their he*** high because people will always think that they make it not because of their own capabilities but of help from the government or the NEP.
written by ktchye, November 10, 2008 15:52:51
The Malays often speak of "maruah". Roughly translated, it means dignity. To the Malay, "maruah" is very important. As a non-Malay, I agree absolutely. I too believe in maruah. I too believe that we must conduct our lives with maruah. I think all human beings, regardless of their race, should hold maruah in high regard.

But how can you have any maruah if you have to depend on something like the NEP to help you succeed? And long after the 20 years it was designed to last have come and gone? The shelf-life expired 18 years ago. Where is the maruah in clutching on to it and proclaiming that it is still needed and that no one shall take it away?

Where is the MARUAH in this?

Tun Dr Ismail, a Malay with maruah, warned that any policy to give the Malays a leg up must be implemented only for that purpose and not be perpetuated for a long period of time because it will bring detriment to the race. He said it was akin to a golf handicap that must eventually be discarded.

The time has come to do that. So if our leaders don't have the maruah to terminate the NEP, perhaps the people should lead the way. Perhaps "maruah" should now be part of the rallying cry of the Malays going forward. That will go a long way in reclaiming the true status and true worth of the Malay race. And it will be a shining example to all Malaysians.

Kee Thuan Chye
written by carribeanking7, November 10, 2008 15:57:39

It is indeed sad the way Aisha was stoned, even sadder is the fact that those who tried to stop the "lynching" were prevented by gun toting militias, a 15 year old boy was also reported to have been killed in the incident.
Mogadishu however is a country where there is no government where rival warlords jostle for power.

Malaysia however has a dysfunctional government where the ruling elite stay in power by suppressing the media and silence dissent
using arcane and obscurantist laws like the ISA and Seditions Act.
It is indeed sad in a country where the literacy rate is 88 % very few can think critically.

The NEP was supposed to be a temporary crutch that turned out to be a permanent appendage, the spirit of the NEP was subverted
by UMNO putras to enrich themselves.
There are about 16.8 million Malays in the country but only about 7,000 or so benefit from the NEP,
it pays for those in the ruling elite to suppress the very same people they vow to protect.
If the Malays become independent, UMNO's politics of fear will lose its potency.
As their bluff is being called they are panicking and playing racist politics to the hilt and for good measure
playing up religious sentiments as well.
This is very evident in states where BN was defeated on March 08.
UMNO is desperate to hold on to power at any cost even to the detriment of the nation as can be seen by their recent actions.
History has shown that whenever their power was challenged coupled with internal crisis within UMNO, they diverted
scrutiny away from themselves by indiscriminately invoking the ISA.

They are also setting a bad example of what a responsible citizen should do by demonizing Zaid Ibrahim at the same
time hailing Ahmad Ismail as a hero.
I wonder how hardcore BN supporters justify these actions when questioned by their impressionable but inquisitive children.

Regards

written by tcng, November 10, 2008 16:11:15
You really think UMNO leaders do not understand that long term affirmative action (Ketuanan Melayu) policy will harm the Malay? They are not stupid. I bet they know. However, in order to stay in power (so that they can continue to steal from the people), they would continue to advocate/champion NEP. The policy would keep the Malay masses happy (addicted to drug), and they will continue to support UMNO and they can continue to steal. They are harming the Malay ! If the Malay intelectuals/thinkers do not speak out, Bangsa Melayu will continue to do down-hill.....
written by jalapeno, November 10, 2008 16:27:54

First of all, I would like to express my deepest joy seeing you back in action. Your release has brought tears to my eyes...(as a man I don't shed tears often but I think it's okay for such special occasion).

I couldn't help but notice many non-muslims applauded when you whipped Islam and our Muslim brothers with the harsh truth. Many muslim brothers might get the wrong message. May I just let our Muslim brothers know that the non-muslims have no grudge against any religion especially Islam. Our biggest common enemy is UMNO...and UMNO alone (not MCA, not MIC and definitely not PAS). Many muslims have been fooled by the racial politics that UMNO orchestrated. I pray so that many Muslims may see the true color of their UMNO leaders in this coming UMNO election...let the internal conflicts explode into a ball of fury that engulf the entire corrupted party.

Please pardon my wrath Pete. May God helps us all.
written by kickdaotherfella, November 10, 2008 16:32:15
Dear Sir

Was it not Mr Mahathir who first opposed to the idea of special privileges of the Malays? It will weaken them and so on- so when he rolled out all the policies that was the plan. and he aslo wanted to have a few malays who were very rich better than having a lot who are out of poverty. The Malays are simple people with a peaceful lifestyle based on the basic needs of life. It is the UMNO who have given the bad name for all Malays.

The more intellectual Malays will slowly get what they want and find all this very offensive and even leave the country. I knwo of a few Malays who have left the country as they cant take the poor perception of Malays in Malaysia by others.
written by mymalaysia, November 10, 2008 16:34:40
Common! Even the disable who are on wheelchairs, crutches, etc. need to work hard to survive without NEP. Why those who are able-bodied cannot do it? I have so many disable friends and am proud of them as they are doing all their best to earn a living and not beg for money in order to live a life! Some of them are even professionals. And don't think that they are the disabled and we can hammer them. Remembering that we might be one of them when we are old or even due to an accident. Of course, nobody would want that to happen but reality is it might.
written by kawaafi, November 10, 2008 16:49:26
Salam RPK,
welcome back..!! very happy to see your smiling face out of Kamunting.

My comments: The different between your article and the JAKIM ustaz is you had said '...the non-Muslims are sworn enemies of Islam and can never be our friends..' I hope the Ustaz do not say that word..smilies/smiley.gif. Somebody had post a Quran verse about not taking Christian and Jews as friends... I will feedback on that later. But I would like to point out that the Muslims had gone to Ethiophia and seek refuge from a Christian king then.. and Prophet Muhammad pbuh also had allowed Christians to perform prayers inside his very own Masjid in Medina..smilies/smiley.gif

There is also a lot of confusion with regard to following the non Muslim in language, dress, etc etc. From my understanding Islam do not prohibit Muslim from following the act or dress or whatever like the non Muslim as long as it does not affect negatively to the Islamic faith or believe. For example, Muslims is prohibited/haram from wearing a dress light a Buddhist monk. But that does not mean Buddhist monk is haram or should not be respected or should be treated like enemy etc etc. If the monk is a friend to me and somebody come and want hurt him just because he is a monk, i will protect him with my life. Even if the attacker is a Muslim.

on the 13 years old girl stoning to death. I did not read the story first hand and we all did not know what had happened. But here is the historical facts that I know.
1) There was only one stoning to death during Prophet Muhammad pbuh time, and that was base on the lady own confessions.
2) Islam require 4 (good Muslim) witness who had seen the act with their own eyes for the verdict on adultery or consensual sex. In Islamic history no such case is ever recorded.
3) In a rape case; historically, Abu Bakar AsSidik, the first Caliph, had married the victim. In an effort to change the perception of the people who might have cast the victim as bad or whatever else..

Base on those facts, I can not see how the event in Moghadishu is justified as Islamic. At 13 years old, consensual sex, should be considered statutory rape..#%#%$*()**&
written by skc, November 10, 2008 16:52:56
Welcome back YM RPK
written by sueteh, November 10, 2008 17:24:35
I beg to differ sikit. It is just not about Islam or UMNO. Even among Christians, they also have camps inside the church. Why you see, there is a few super mega churches are fabously wealthy due to its members could be Tan Sris, Datuks or simple middle income or business men/women. Then, you can also see churches, not so mega types. Yes, they helped with various events/projects etc. Yes they are charitable also.

If you go those mega churches, even among regular ones, it is just touch based. Hello and Bye. Yes, go to cell group. But, the Bible says accept one another regardless status, position, wealth. Even, on their Sundays worships..NO ONE even wants to look at each other in the eye. Majority goes to church with either a sulky face, indifference face, proud face whatever. If you don't want to go on Sundays don't go la. Cannot afterwards cell group leader know you ponteng kan? Sundays are times all kinds of people may walk into the church. I even heard in one super rich church along the highway in Klang Valley, one of their ladies cell groups I heard its the spa types. These ladies are fortunate to married rich men, so spa, manicure, pedicure, facial usually they organise and go together-gather. Nothing wrong even the pastor wife also go for facial regularly. Ambik package kah??Must look good for God. Then, you have the other group from same church, adoi no time for spa, manicure, pedicure, facial. Not so kaya mah or no kaya husbands. Maybe self made lah. I even heard this MD of one mobile phone company who is rather cocky and another retired so called 'timberman' also they look at status and positions. You no rich, gua no look at you lah. How I know, because you Christians project lah. You represent your god. Another, I am really curious that is Christians who are well off (I love money ya!), they always said their God blessed they big time. But, IF REALLY God bless them (its okay, big cars, big house, fully air conditioned, tea time a Carcosa Seri Negara, dinner at Lafite, lunch at Piccolo) but they look rather smug, proud and so NARCICIST. One thing about Christians, don't ever argue with them. They have a knack of justifiying, clarifing that simple amazes you. Then, the poor Christians, horribly sulky, angry, etc. Even poor ones can be mightily proud. This goes the same to people of Buddism, Hindusm in fact anyone claims to have a faith in a god.
So why still talk about religion?? They get upset and angry and cursing (in their hearts) but those who professes a religions in other words is the Representative of their god. What do they project?? Why blame the people who does not profess same faith as they that they have misunderstood their faith??

As for racism, it is good to see Chinese trying to be like a 'malay'. It is good to seee Chinese start talking/speaking in Malay, but I can see actually they don't really like it. Don't force yourself. Many Malays also speak English. How many chinese is comfortable to go into a very Malay areas..Kampung Baru for example? Aiyah no business why go there? Mau cari bala kah?? How many Malays really want to go into a very Chinese area??

Ok..minta ampun.
disagree 18
written by kawaafi, November 10, 2008 18:46:53
Quran 5:51. Answer from omeriqbal. sorry for the copy and paste. this is his answer and totally in support of the content presented: Sori Pete, pinjam space sikit..
Before we understand the verse under discussion it is important to understand the context of this Surah and the situation under which this verse was revealed.

In the last stages of prophetic mission in Medinah, Muslims had emerged as a dominant power and had set up a society of their own. At the same time, the polytheists of Makkah as well as Jews and Christians had also established setups and in case of an armed conflict, it seemed that any of them could have emerged as victorious. In such an environment the hypocrites amongst Muslims maintained ties with Jews and Christians and supported them in secret. Their support was in order to safeguard their interests with whoever the victorious party would be. In addition, the hypocrites obviously had not accepted Islam from within their hearts and their conversion to Islam had not affected their ties with Muslims' opponents.

It is in this context that Quran revealed the following verses specifically admonishing these hypocrites amongst Muslims:

"O believers, do not take the Jews and the Christians as your friends and protectors, they are friends of each other. And whoever makes them a friend then he is from amongst them. Verily God does not guide the unjust people. And you will see that those (Muslims) in whose hearts is a disease run towards them saying 'We fear that a calamity may befall us.' So God will soon bring victory or a decision from Him, causing them regret on account of the thoughts they harbored in their hearts." (Quran 5:51-52)
The explanation above should depict the correct meaning of the verses under discussion.

In addition to the general context, it should also be noted that Quran has used the words 'the Jews' and 'the Christians' making it very clear that it is a specific group of Jews and Christians and this verse is not a general prescription. The attitude of these people has been explained further in the following verses for instance:

"O you who believe! do not take for friends and protectors those who take your religion for a mockery and a joke, from among those who were given the Book before you and the unbelievers; and be careful of (your duty to) Allah if you are believers. And when you call to prayer they make it a mockery and a joke; this is because they are a people who do not understand." (Quran 5:57-5smilies/cool.gif
As it can be clearly seen, the Jews and Christians mentioned above are those 'who take your religion for a mockery and a joke.'

In view of the above explanation, I believe these verses should not be taken to be a general directive of our relationship with Jews and Christians. Instead our relationship with the people of other faiths should only be avoided when it becomes harmful for Muslims, and otherwise we should feel free to enjoy a comfortable relationship with our Jew and Christian brothers and sisters.
written by purple, November 10, 2008 19:11:32
So glad that you are released RPK. Be safe.
written by MSIABOLEH, November 10, 2008 19:12:43
Welcome back, Pete! Thank God our prayers came true. We have missed you so much. MT is not the same without you. Best wishes and always in good health.

God bless.
written by kclim2, November 10, 2008 20:44:23
Welcome home Pete! I have been praying for your safe release! I hve not been logging into your website since you have gone away! Now I am back with you again. God Bless and once again I pray for your safety.
written by Anti Relon, November 10, 2008 21:50:25
"The stringing of coloured lights". Next year there will be no lights.
written by dassky2000, November 10, 2008 21:55:36
Wow I feel a clean cool breezz caressing me. Mmmmmmmm I breathe fresh air suddenly in this blog.. It has come to life again with the RPK penning down the good things our BN UMNO can't.

Welcome back Fren. Freind to all peace loving Malaysian. We wish luck and expect changes.......
written by bigiblue, November 10, 2008 22:16:58
Dera RPK,
I am proud to reveal that I am one of the many kafirs who prayed for your health and speedy release in my place of worship the church and so happy that our prayers have been answered. I have many Muslim, Buddist, Hindu, Christian, Atheists friends, i love and respect and who love, respect and honour me with their visits and sharing home cooked meals, comfort me in my sorrow , share my joys and help me without being asked....
There's always hope for us all with people like them and you.
God Bless You and your family
written by charcoy feng, November 10, 2008 23:01:33
Welcome back..... OUR GREAT SIFU! sorry, that's a kafir term as well.
written by Loh, November 10, 2008 23:21:46
The people in power want ordinary Malays to believe that it was the efforts of the politicians who made the days for them, and not their own efforts. For that they want ordinary Malays to vote for them come general elections. The politicians have to keep the policies that show clearly that they are able to discriminate against other communities as proof that they are there to serve the interests of Malays. While holding government positions and keeping themselves wealthy and creating dynasties to enjoy fabulous wealth for their generations to come, they have no time to consider the pride of the race. They will care not about what other Malays feel in the achievements and pride they derived in attaining their success, and they have to refute their claims so that the politicians can continue to prove their indispensability. Further, some among the UMNOputras are themselves classified openly as Malays for the benefits that the position brought, but would secretly feel that they belong to other group. Hence, the pride of the race, as felt by the late Tun Dr Ismail would not resonate with them.
written by Darth Vader, November 10, 2008 23:22:29

Your pen and thoughts are mightier than 1000 nuclear bombs put together.

Please continue to drop more nuclear bombs on these people.

Good to have you back.

By another MALAYSIAN Kafir
written by malgal, November 10, 2008 23:32:32
woo hoo welcome back pet!!! and on with the words, spew them whenever, we are thirsting for it.
written by Siapabohong, November 10, 2008 23:39:23
Dear Kee Thuan Chye,
Solid aurgement, however for a particular party or section of people, nep is their 'maruah'. To discard it means lost of dignity and must be protected vigously whislt the maruah will be lost forever. So your view of marauah are not similar from them.
written by Fuminari, November 11, 2008 00:11:02
the basic modus operand for the umno be end leaders are clear cut in its own way,they hav to be in basic create cynical fears , make belief n make sure the malay think n believe they are weak,backward n stupid!make sure the malay are brained washed to become their political slaves, then these umnogoons would be able to rip-off,rob n rape the nation at will!
written by gorshan, November 11, 2008 01:59:35
written by Anti Relon, November 10, 2008 21:50:25
"The stringing of coloured lights". Next year there will be no lights.

heh heh heh .raya tahun depan satu lampu bulb pun jangan hidupkan ok?

anyway 200 million Muslim in Hindustan strings up colored lights during ID. don't tell me they also don't know? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by LFLee, November 11, 2008 05:34:19
Apparently we Malaysia are way ahead of Myanmar:

-------------------------------------------------------------
YANGON, Myanmar: A court in military-ruled Myanmar sentenced a prominent blogger to more than 20 years in jail Monday for his Internet activities.

In another trial Monday, a court sentenced a poet to two years' imprisonment for concealing the text of an anti-government slogan in one of his works.

Blogger Nay Phone Latt, 28, was arrested in January this year and given 15 years under the country's Electronics Law, two years for "creating public alarm," and 3 1/2 years under the Video Act, said Aye Than, his mother. One of his offenses was possession of a banned video.

Source: http://www.iht.com/articles/ap...Jailed.php
---------------------------------------------------------------------

Malaysia Boleh!

BN keeps telling us not to compare Malaysia with developed countries,
instead, should compare ourselves with Thailand, Myanmar, Indonesia, etc
and 'appreciate' what we had...

-- and they do walk the talk!
written by Blackgiring, November 11, 2008 11:44:50
RPK I want to see you in court and give all the information you had pertaining the Altantuya case in court....this Jan 09 and do not give any lame excuses for not to....
written by ktchye, November 11, 2008 12:28:34
Dear Siapabohong,

I should think that giving up something that has lowered your maruah is actually a reclaiming of your maruah. Any level-headed person should be able to see that. No level-headed Malay would consider being given a handicap a dignified thing. I know Malays with maruah who refuse to accept the benefits accorded them by the NEP. They want to make it on their own. Now, that is maruah.

Kee Thuan Chye
written by Florance, November 11, 2008 12:58:56
Hi Pete,
Welcome Back. God Bless You for all your patience and tolerance.
We shall keep praying for you till you recover from the nightmare.
Lots of Love, from all you supporters.
written by cheekhiaw, November 11, 2008 13:04:47
ktchye,

Real poor folks that received help from others always say 'thank you' and remember the aid for life.

The notion of face the way you had it does not apply to thieves, liars and murderers.

written by ktchye, November 11, 2008 13:26:57
Dear cheekhiaw,

It's really the leaders who must take the lead and tell the people that it is for their betterment not to have the handicap. As Tong says (see his comment above), the UMNO leaders DO understand that the "long-term affirmative action (Ketuanan Melayu) policy will harm the Malays. They are not stupid." These leaders must put aside their quest for power to really help their people. And the country.

Kee Thuan Chye
written by Apek, November 11, 2008 14:40:59
Terima kasih Saudara RPK dan Zaid Ibrahim yang berani mencabar ideologi cacat UMNO. UMNO kini bukannya parti politik yang memperjuangkan nasib rakyat tetapi parti politik yang self serving, yang memperbodohkan rakyat Malaysia untuk kepentingan diri sendiri.

UMNO akan bekerja bersungguh-sungguh untuk memeliharakan "status quo". Dalam status quo ini saya merujuk kepada status

a) membuatkan Orang Melayu untuk membencikan warganegara lain dan warganegara lain membenci Orang Melayu sendiri dengan menggunakan media massa, institusi agama, FRU, Special Branch dan personaliti agama sebagai alat "divide and rule";

b) menakutkan Orang Melayu terhadap kononnya prospek "kehilangan" kuasa politik - yang mana adalah tidak benar;

c) menipu Orang Melayu dimana puak politik mengatakan bahawa quota adalah diperjuangkan untuk Orang Melayu tetapi tidak pernah memberikan "concession" kerajaan kepada Orang Melayu tetapi disimpan untuk ahli keluarga sendiri;

d) tidak menggalakkan discourse dan pemikiran politik di kalangan mahasiswa dan mahasiswi supaya pemikiran generasi muda terbantut, mudah dialihkan dan tidak cekap dalam isu politik dan pentadbiran supaya Puak tua UMNO boleh terus memperbodohkan Orang Melayu;

e) tidak menggalakkan sebarang dan penerbitan tulisan dan fikiran polisi dan politik yang bebas di kalangan Orang Melayu supaya lebih senang memperbodohkan
Orang Melayu;

f) tidak menggalakkan sebaran talian fibre optik kepada kawasan pendalaman, kampung halaman dan/atau "Malay Heartland" supaya Orang Melayu tidak akan didedahkan kepada isu-isu korupsi dan kegagalan pentadbiran UMNO.

g) tidak menggalakkan penggunaan komputer dan internet oleh Orang Melayu terutamanya di sekolah-sekolah yang kebanyakkan murid-murid Melayu supaya boleh terus memperbodohkan dan memperalatkan kuasa Orang Melayu terus diberikan kepada puak UMNO ini.

Jangan kita diperbodohkan lagi.

Melayu bukannya mudah lupa ataupun mundur. Orang Melayu leka disebabkan UMNO yang memperbodohkan dan memperalatkan Orang Melayu untuk tujuan kuasa dan bolot harta UMNO sendiri. Jika Melayu sebenar-benarnya leka dan mundur, sudah tentu Melayu tidak akan wujud di dunia ini lagi. Sebagaimana yang Orang Melayu masih lagi ada di dunia ini walaupun ditindas, walaupun dijajah, walaupun diseksa, Orang Melayu masih ada. Ini bermakna Melayu bukannya kaum yang leka, lumpur ataupun mundur. Undang-undang "natural selection" adalah jelas dalam hal ini dan tidak boleh disangkal oleh propoganda UMNO.

Orang Melayu adalah orang yang boleh menjayakan dirinnya di sebarang bidang tetapi hanya boleh berbuat demikian tanpa UMNO yang sengaja mengkongkong kejayaan Orang Melayu untuk tujuan kuasa dan ketamakan harta mereka sendiri.
written by Mitch Yusmar, November 11, 2008 15:54:15

Welcome back and I must say that you are spot on in your observation on the attributes of Malay.

Memang betul bila TDM kata 'Melayu mudah lupa' because that is what we are. Kita lupa budi bahasa kita, kita lupa sikap timbang rasa malah apa yang kita terapkan adalah sikap ego yang keterlaluan.

Who made Malays so perfect that noone can criticize? 'Ketuanan Melayu' konon....NEP and all those no brainers are the reasons Malays lose everything....even maruah diri. Hey...I am a Malay but I menyesal dengan sikap orang Melayu UMNO sekarang....bongkak, sombong.....it's amazing how we can be so polite to foreigners and be otherwise with our fellow Malaysian brothers.

USA made a difference....can we do it? Can we change the mentality of the Malays to instead of looking at criticism as destructive....for them to look at it constructively....for them to be able to let go and progress. Maybe Pete...it's about time you run for government. Cheers
written by sueteh, November 11, 2008 17:29:53
If ever the situation is the other way around, Malaysia more Chinese than Malay and the PMs were and are all Chinese and NEP created for the majority race say Chinese, so do you think that the majority race will still want to keep NEP? How about China? Majority is from the Han clan?? How about the other many minority Chinese races there in China?? Does the Han Chinese being the majority treated the other minority Chinese tribe equally?? What there is no corruption in China??

Can we Malaysians be SO ever truly Malaysian minus racism?? Every single country in this earth has racism element from East to West, North to South. Why?? Go figure.
written by yeebook, November 11, 2008 18:26:14
A genuine needy person must be aided with clutches without shame, regardless of his/her religion, race and color of skin. but sadly the needy people we feed in Bolehland are only the needy people in need of POWER, LUXURY CARS, BIG HOUSES..etc. How can we stop all this? smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif
written by pseudoangel, November 11, 2008 21:41:35
Now UMNO wants Zaid Ibrahim sacked as a Malay. Can any Malay actually be sacked as a Malay?
========================================

Well, which part of a person's DNA determine that if he is a Malay, Chinese or Indian? If there is, can UMNO please modified Zaid's genetic make up before sacking him?

Oh... maybe they still think that DNA can be expired and Zaid's DNA expired of being an Malay.
written by tan_eng, November 11, 2008 23:05:53
To RPK,

Please leave this country for temporary basis. I don't want to see you get arrested again by this BN morons.

Its seems from the news that BN is trying very hard to put you back in ISA.

I think enough cruelty is done to you for being a true Malaysian, its time to continue the fight from a safe distant.

Take care bro.
written by eastmalaysian, November 11, 2008 23:54:49
And yet, there are Malays who DEMAND for their clutch, unabashedly. One prime example is the Higher Education Minister Datuk Seri Mohamed Khaled Nordin, as illustrated in the article below:
http://www.themalaysianinsider...sed-a-lot

And the commenter 'Cloud 92' in that, and similar articles...

These Malays clearly had it in their mind that the non-Malays had robbed them of everything, and is only 'throwing back' crumbs of 30% to them...

Amazing indeed...
written by aisyalam, November 12, 2008 09:47:00
THE BIGGEST PROBLEMS IN MALAYSIA ARE THE MONDSET AND BRAINPOWER OF THE PEOPLE. NO ONE OWES ANYONE IN THIS WORLD FOR A LIVING EXCEPT OUR PARENTS. THIS IS THE DUMBEST NATION IN THE WORLD FOR THE MAJORITY OF THE PEOPLE KEEP CLINGING TO THE WRONG BELIEVE, IDEAS AND CAN BE EASILY MANIPULATED BY A BUNCH OF SONS OF A BITCHES LOW MORAL POLITICIANS. AND THESE KIND OF POLITICIANS ARE ABUNDANT IN S.E.A. WHAT A PITY!!!
written by Kotadamansara73, November 12, 2008 13:02:09
UMNO **** their own Malay race the hardest. You can see what they do to Anwar and RPK for challenging the convention.

And yet, UMNO wants the Malay to be held as a strong race. What the ****? UMNO can't even accept contradicting point of view and yet want Malay race to be a strong race. This is just stupid.
written by bkho, November 12, 2008 15:22:13
I call this the Samy Vellu syndrome.

http://bkho.blogspot.com
written by Solarium, November 12, 2008 16:13:23
Do we expect any justice coming on this particular case now that the world knows the whole laughable issue. Otherwise the girl's death is in vain indeed.
written by Solarium, November 12, 2008 16:38:02
NEP? Who really gets the benefits? The malay farmers? How?Their meager shares in persatuan/pertubuhan peladang say rm10,000.00 would only bring them , say at 10% dividen per year based on co-op law, rm1,000.00. That's NEP? By the time they receive their respective dividend they'd have long converted that INTO SHIT AND WOULD JUST BE REPLACING capital consumed while waiting payment for the meager annual dividend. NEP my foot.

Ok, so you might be a Malay contractor....and you want that NEP factored into your tender for projects.....I can tell you that many a Malay contractor have long ceased to be a contractor 'cos one would not get a contract even if one brought a long banner with the word NEP printed across it to the departmental officer who even might be a high ranking malay officer. It's perhaps more effective if one promised a 10% kickback with a certain amount of outfront payment. Just don't call it a kickback 'cos such is haram....call it something else...like goodwill fee....then even the officer with a crucifix hanging on his neck will give you a full briefing on the advantages of factoring the NEP in your tender costing.
written by kawaafi, November 12, 2008 19:19:51
Sueteh,

why go so far to china..? try singapore. much closer and the demographiclly quite the same like us here. But then again, the experience from other country should teach us to be wiser and better. The singapore example is quite frequently use by umnoputra to justify the NEP and KETUANAN Melayu. This is echoed more strongly by PAS to protect Islamic interest.

So far I only heard DSAI mention that PR will always protect Islam and Melayu. I have not heard anybody else from PR side who had echo the same message. Specifically I ask who is from DAP, Chinese or Indian or whatever other race who had talk about protecting Islam and Melayu.

So far what i had seen many of the people here are finger happy to ridicule or make joke or bash Islam and Melayu. I agree all of us now, who had borned here in this country deserve the same rights and should not be treated bad. the same also applies for Islam and Melayu... We simply would not not banish into thin air.

Frankly I think both sides only have DSAI to link and tied us together.

I throw tough questions so that we can quickly learn and grow out of it. We need more than just DSAI to blend together. Stronger..

written by bumiputeri, November 12, 2008 23:03:41
Dear Steven Tan,

Thanks for the question. Interesting question indeed. After cracking my head for about a week or so, I finally found the word as I was driving home from work. How remarkable. Is the word....BUMIPUTERA?????

I think it is. Malays are claiming that this is their land and all others (Chinese, Indian, Punjabi, Peranakan, Portuguese, ...etc are pendatang. But how pathetic it is that to express their claim that they are the sons of the soil, they need to borrow the language of the pendatang (Indians) that they hate so much until must kill THE INDIANS first before the snake, to express their SONS' OF THE SOIL STATUS!!!

Bumi= SANSKRIT (EARTH)
putera= SANSKRIT (SON).....in Hindi & Sanskrit, it is Putter, in Tamil it is Puttaran!
puteri= SANSKRIT (DAUGHTER)in Hindi & Sanskrit, it is Puttri, in Tamil it is Puttiri!

Thanks again Steven Tan.
written by slimbrowser, November 13, 2008 01:01:18
Actually MALAY is an exclusive club. To become a club member one must talk bahasa malaysia, wear the "malay" attire, and a muslim. If an indegenious professes christianity as faith, he is not a malay. But once he convert to Islam, he is endowed with money, promotions, positions and all the trappings of being malays.

It's a club.
written by aisyalam, November 13, 2008 08:33:01
Dear All, we the true malays are striving to be hard working, thrift and live on one's own. We need not depend on non-malays' whatever taxes to survive. Sadly, most typical malays just can't get their mind to work. Blame the education system. Since my grandfather's time until now, NO SINGLE LEadER MALAY Had EVER TOLD OTHER MALAYS THAT THEY NEED TO WORK-HARD, THRIFT AND LIVE ON ONE'S OWN! THEY ONLY MANIPULATED THAT MALAYS ARE UNDER THREAT...BUT FROM WHO??? MY ANSWER IS THE PATHETIC MALAY CORRUPTED LEadERS THEMSELVES. SHAMEFUL!
written by Rentap, November 13, 2008 10:03:59
Hai Pete,

You're malay?? I am surprised!
written by ultraman_dyna, November 13, 2008 21:47:31
KAFIR FRIENDS = HARAM

Quranic verses should not be intrepreted directly as it should be read with the proper Hadiths and Sunnah. Hadiths is the teaching of Prophet Muhammad p.b.u.h derived from the Quran and Sunnah is the way of life of the prophet e.g how he conducts himself in day to day activities. Some verses revelation were made in relation to a particular event/circumstances/time e.g 5:51.
written by ultraman_dyna, November 13, 2008 21:58:14
This is what I have learnt from the Hadiths and Sunnah:

Prophet Muhhammad p.b.uh always lend a hand to all his neighbours within 40 houses radius (that's like my whole taman) which included Jews and Christians equally.Equality is a cornerstone of Islam.It is a sin for a muslims to sleep at night if one of the neighbours/near community is starving due to poverty.Muslims must always strive for the betterment of others not just their family.Muslims will be question by God on whether they have fulfilled their responsibilities towards their neighbours/near communities in afterlife.Therefore, I strongly believe that non-muslims community should not be treated as friends but as family.We are all created by God,why treat each other differently.

Lets have good faith in each other and strive for happiness.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 14, 2008 16:00:46
40 houses radius of my neighbours?
Hoyoh! That's my whole 'kampong' and beyond lah! How to check if my neighbours are 'starving' or not as I cannot simple barge into their high walled compound; can I? smilies/grin.gif
written by kawaafi, November 14, 2008 21:23:44
40 houses radius is the guidelines..
God will not ask you for things yo do not know. But if no effort is make to know our neigbhors and if we know there are some who is poor and do nothing. then we will be asked later..
written by bakas, November 16, 2008 19:07:50
There is a long way for us to make progress on bridging the racial gap between all Malaysians. For a start, religious divide has become a formidable fortress, that no one can touch it, much lest dream of abolishing it. Funny because religions teach us how to be humble,good and respectful, and yet we have people like Zulkifli Noordin who are 'Muslims first', 'other roles' second, and who thinks that Islam needs him to defend it. Goodness me, is it even under attack here in Malaysia? As long as people like him or those who are in power (or trying to get in power) have this kind of mindset, there is little hope that this thing will go away. For in Malaysia, religion and race is like a 'rojak';they mix 'em real good.

Even the victory by Obama in the US took 200 over years of achieving. What's that you say? Malaysia is only 51 years old? Still have 150 more years to go? Reasons to believe in change, huh? Well, before we try to change the world, we need to change ourselves first. Change how you look, see and treat the people around you. Unless you see beyond YOURSELF (my race, my religion, MYSELF...), let's cut the crap and admit that this country is hopeless. RPK cannot change the whole Malaysia on his own. He is a human being after all, just like you and me. The only way things can change is for ALL of us to stand up and be counted, and make that neccesary change.

Let's just hope, that when that time actually comes, there is still a country called Malaysia that we can call home.

God bless you all Malaysians, and may God bless Malaysia.

P/S: Great to have you back, Pete...Keep those knuckles strong and handy smilies/grin.gif
written by Hirakey, November 17, 2008 18:04:49
Dear Everyone @ Malaysia Today,

Lets not waste time writing some personal comments just as a mean to ventilate your inner frustrations.

All of you are wasting too much of your energy by just merely responding to an articles' content.

Your learned attention should be directed at more important issues which can reshape the future for Malaysia.

Everyone should contribute or brainstorm in a MT Forum focusing just on "How we can create further awareness amongst more Malaysians to Propel CHANGES in Malaysia in Relation to Discrimination, Racism and Politics."

If every reader just focus on this goal only, it will snow ball to an enormous energy that will radiate across spectrum to all Malaysians that CHANGE MUST HAPPEN!!

The very same people that post many comments on various articles, it's time you start focusing your energy towards the right direction.

This is not a criticism but a constructive suggestion if we so desire CHANGE to take place!!

Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has!

We hope that this will be the start of the new frontier. Lets work together on this!
written by legallybotak, November 19, 2008 19:31:09
Is ISA kafir law?