Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Govt to appeal release

Govt to appeal release PDF Print
Sunday, 09 November 2008 17:06

'I am disappointed but I respect the court decision,' Home Minister Syed Hamid Albar told the New Straits Times newspaper. -- PHOTO: AGENCE FRANCE-PRESSE

(Straits Times) - MALAYSIA is to appeal the release of leading blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin, who was detained under controversial internal security laws and freed last week, according to reports Sunday.

Raja Petra was released by the High Court on Friday after it ruled that the government had acted outside its powers by ordering Raja Petra to serve two years in detention without trial.

'I am disappointed but I respect the court decision,' Home Minister Syed Hamid Albar told the New Straits Times newspaper.

However, he said his ministry would direct the attorney-general to appeal the decision, the paper reported.

'We need to find out how the court interpreted the home minister's discretionary power' as laid out under the country's tough Internal Security Act (ISA), he added.

Raja Petra, founder of the popular Malaysia Today website, which has outraged top leaders with its stream of critical stories, was detained in September for writing articles that allegedly insulted Islam.

He is best known for his articles on politics, and has already been charged with sedition and defamation for linking Deputy Prime Minister Najib Razak and his wife to the sensational murder of a Mongolian woman.

There has been a rash of detentions in recent months under the ISA, which allows for renewable two-year periods of detention without trial.

Critics say the law has been increasingly used against political opponents rather than national security threats.

Opposition parliamentarian Lim Kit Siang criticised the decision to appeal Raja Petra's release, saying the government should instead take the opportunity to review the ISA. -- AFP

Comments (46)Add Comment
written by DreamLady, November 09, 2008 17:14:19
hamid, what are you up to now? you want to lock Raja up again based on cut and paste documents??

You are useless creature who deserves to be whipped!!!
agree 118
written by ploon, November 09, 2008 17:15:02
From The Star Online:

State Gerakan chairman Datuk Dr Teng Hock Nan said the party was happy with the High Court’s decision and in Raja Petra’s case, the country’s judicial system had shown its transparency.....

Heed the voice of the people, government (of the day) of Malaysia!
written by benny loh, November 09, 2008 17:22:23
NOT GENEROUS THIS TIME AROUND
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...given.html
written by I_Luv_Manglish, November 09, 2008 17:26:49
Boring-lah this bald uncle. Megalomaniac.
Spoil my dinner already seeing his picture here.
written by boeytahan, November 09, 2008 17:29:02
Syed Hamid,

Why don't you just apologize to Raja Petra instead of appealing to the AG?

Just stay-put or resign in your in-effciency on your job.
written by temenggong, November 09, 2008 17:30:04
Its not just about challenging 'the due process of the law', as the judge had mentioned, but its also about whether there was abuse of the law, whether the law was used to curb communist insurgencies, prevent terrorism or economic chaoas, as the Act was meant for!

This is called interpretation of the law, and about its proper application, something arbitrary, something which no Act in the world can take away from the courts!

Hamid Albar is Sisyphus!

And he wants a second opinion, a legal education from a higher Court for free, at rakyat's expense.
written by Hello Keithy, November 09, 2008 17:30:39
Botak, go and get screwed !

agree 147
written by asiseesit, November 09, 2008 17:31:09
There are always hidden words spoken by Syed Hamid

"I respect the court decision" - only if it's in our favour

"How the court intepreted the HM's power" - How to make the court look bad on their decision for defying us

RPK, as an individual, does he has followers ready to arm themselves and cause chaos in the country and threaten national security?

If the government thinks (I'm not sure if they really can think) that he insulted islam, he should be put on trial in the syariah court. Why ISA?

RPK has a following by now is cult status, all thru his writings of the corrupted government. Is the government so weak to defend themselves on any of the allegations in the court of law? unless it's all true!!!

Being in power for too loooooong have made them intolerant to criticism and making them so weeeeeak to defend themselves intellectually. Just look at the way our ruling party response to queries by the opposition party in parliament.
written by ylcc, November 09, 2008 17:31:23
'I am disappointed but I respect the court decision,'

If Syed Albar respects the court decision, then he should not appeal. You cannot say you respect and then you don't respect ... I am a bit confused here! People are tired of the whole thing!
written by arazak, November 09, 2008 17:34:46
There is two Malay words which best describes this "Botak Head" Syed. And that is “Busuk Hati”. . .. literally translate in English as “rotten heart”.

Whatever it takes, he will go all out to victimize other people . . ., and he could not withstand without envy if the people he had victimized was eventually freed. . .,no sir, he can’t stand this!

This is a real nut case of a “Busuk Hati” person!
written by Zeroed, November 09, 2008 17:35:53
"We need to find out how the court interpreted the home minister's discretionary power' as laid out under the country's tough Internal Security Act (ISA), he added."

Woi!! Botak! The court interpreted that you have no grounds to detain Uncle Pete whatsoever at the 1st place. That you have abuse your power for politically motivated reasons to detain an innocent man.

You have have sounded really stupid once the court ordered to release Uncle Pete. What?! Still want to go all out to save your pathetic miserable skin?!

All I can say is, "Go to Hell you Stupid Moron" & leave RPK alone.
written by June, November 09, 2008 17:39:47
Shit Hamid, you really pain in an ass!! You cannot accept the fact that Pete is Free. My guess is you have a lot of SKELETON in your closet which Pete knew about it...am I right?? LEAVE Pete alone!!
written by Motherchell, November 09, 2008 17:40:01
Albozo ! how can you be disappointed when you respect something????!! Do i have to teach you Speaka Engresh too?? When RPK gave you a lesson on the usage of words , you arrested him !!! You, Nazri and Najib will never appeal ever in your live if you see your children as they are here......

http://sjsandteam.*********.co...-08112008/
written by Jivathma, November 09, 2008 17:42:01
Alba the spinning wanker, hope you get run over by a shit truck!
written by Kunta Kinte, November 09, 2008 17:44:48
Lim Kit Siang ....your are wrong. The government should instead take the opportunity to review Syed Botak for the blunders he had made. Isn't there anybody held responsible for these wrongful and unjustified arrests? Are we to just sweep them under the carpet as with all other things?
written by doggone, November 09, 2008 17:48:10
written by PRman, November 09, 2008 17:53:14
botak uncle is very worried about RPK is going after his bad doings since his release. Sorry, can't help you botak. Keep worrying.
written by doggone, November 09, 2008 18:03:59
agree 110
written by michaelT, November 09, 2008 18:05:34
I respect the court decision said the Jug Head Botak and flip to make an appeal against the court decision. He only show his undicisivness. it is clear that he is vindictive and full of hatred. RPK can easily put Botak in his pocket. Dont be so kiasu after all the bad decisions you made. Please do not underestimte the learned Judge intellect unlike Botak
written by cheekymate, November 09, 2008 18:10:41
I know I should not pray for ill to befall my enemies, but please forgive me Lord, I really wish for the earth to open up and swallow this venom of Mankind.
written by Everbright, November 09, 2008 18:26:49
I cannot believe that this guy has a law degree, must have bought it from some obscure backyard Univ. It is a no brainer when you use haste to do a last-minute switch without consulting your own experts inside the AG's dept. RPK's articles are well argued and if anyone disagree, just post your opposing views lah. We readers know how to read and assess who is fair, just and truthful. No need to come up with some fictitious charge of "hurting muslims sentiments". The ISA is a draconian law and has no place in modern societies. Wake up and change before GE13.
written by Bloodhound, November 09, 2008 18:30:12
To all investigative bloggers and lawyers out there,

Could someone check and confirm if the amendments to the constitution which are not within the spirit of the general interpretation of the constitution (not narrow interpretations) are ultra vires amendments and are therefore illegal regardless whether passed by Parliament or not.

The basic spirit of the Constitution must always be adhered to otherwise, any amendments attempting to override or ignore the general interpretations should be viewed as attempts to commit treasonable actions.
written by malsia1206, November 09, 2008 18:51:43
This Menteri can express a sense of disappointment? Honestly who cares? Did you have feelings when the detainees had to go to Kamunting with just the mere stroke of your pen? You did that to Teresa Kok. And you almost do the same for the Sin Chew reporter. Just because you fouled up and someone had to take the rap for your incompetence. And we are talking about personal liberty. How much more disappointed can you get, Menteri? Prefer to call you Botak.
written by BennyG, November 09, 2008 19:10:20
So far, the Rakyat had never forced a Minister to resign.

I was never supportive of getting rid of the pawn/soldier but rather concentrate our efforts at the top.

Syed Botak is daring the Rakyat to start a campaign specifically to force his resignation. Do you as a Rakyat willing to take up this challenge?

Maybe at candlelight vigils, we should add one more objective i.e. to demand the Home Minister resignation for abusing ISA!!!
written by zandi, November 09, 2008 19:35:23
Obnoxious Peabrain BotaK! Do Malaysians a last favour! Disappear! Drop dead! We don't really care what you do! Just go evaporate somewhere. Don't pollute the air that we breathe!
written by swordfish11, November 09, 2008 20:24:39
NOTE: Comment removed for violation of posting guidelines
written by bexe, November 09, 2008 20:28:33
we have more urgent things to do u dumpkorf! Such as the economy, judicial review, corruption and u are using your office to lick your injured balls?
Go to hell
written by densemy, November 09, 2008 20:35:44
the ego simply cannot take any form of criticism or loss of face
written by kkselvam, November 09, 2008 20:45:33
Hoi shit hamid al blur al sotong!! hang balik Yemen la..atau lebih bagui hang pi mati!!
written by hiro, November 09, 2008 21:32:36
I'd be surprised if Syed Hamid did not ask the AG to appeal. He needs to ensure that what he did was not abuse of power. If the court strikes down his appeal, he will have to resign. I guess he's counting on the newly minted CJ to decide in the government's favour. For all the good that the CJ said yesterday in an interview about not hearing UMNO cases, it amounts to nothing since the self-ban probably does not extend to hearing cases involving the federal government helmed by UMNO. It's all just sweet talk folks. I'd be skeptical until the non-hearing actually happens.
written by lobster, November 09, 2008 21:43:42
What goes around comes around, Syed Hamid. Remember that.
written by Sabahfan, November 09, 2008 22:01:49
Well, I now sick and tired of writing here condemning te idiot BOTAK yemeni...

Dear MT readers, instead of just condemning and making joke pictures of this stupid Yemeni... WHY DONT WE DISCUSS SERIOUSLY THE NEXT COURSE OF ACTION that we should help RPK do??

ONE, if you MT readers were able to collect quite a sum to free RPK, why not now start another one to get us a bunch of lawyers to COUNTER APPPEAL what this stupid UMNO buggers are doing?

COUNTER APPEAL can consist of two actions... SUE THE UMNO GOVT 56 MILLION.. one million for every day RPK was detained both as compensation and PUNITIVE damage.

TWO.. crossappeal to prove that the UMNO govt has abused the ISA and prove again in court that their actions were not to protect the security of the country... BUT RATHER to protect the security of their political positions.

TO PROVE THAT this YEMENI lied and lied and lied that RPK has offended Islam..

challenge this yemeni which moslems were offended? cos if moslems were offended by RPK, how come lots of moslems and even those that looks like USTAZ to me was holding his hands on his release???

So the counterappeal must show that this YEMENI was making up stories about offending islam, and prove in court that he is the GREATEST liar.. ever produced by mankind....
written by myke, November 09, 2008 22:02:55
NOTE: Comment removed for violation of posting guidelines
written by Kopi37, November 09, 2008 22:18:43
Two wrong cannot make one good. If he insists, let the marble head once again prove his stupidity and be punished by contempt of court order! He is a disgrace to the Nation, even the mules hee-haw is much more ear suiting than his craps! Useless sap!
written by SOBA, November 09, 2008 23:20:52
I WOULD LIKE TO APPEAL TO THE COURT THAT THIS BOTAK BE ARRESTED INSTEAD FOR CREATING INSTABILITY WITH FALSE ACCUSATIONS. HE HAS SNATCHED RPK'S FREEDOM FOR 56 DAYS SO I APPEAL THAT THIS MAN BE ARRESTED AND THROWN IN JAIL. CURSE HIM AND HIS WHOLE FAMILY. CURSES WILL WORK...WATCH! BOTAK AS EVERYONE AROUND YOU THAT YOU LOVE ROT AWAY.
written by fireduck, November 09, 2008 23:56:40
Well, good people of MT. The way I see it. It is good, in fact great, that the Govt has decided to appeal the court's decision. I love it. If they go ahead with it, everything will fall into place.

Before you whack me, let me try and explain. We should welcome this stupid Home Minister's decision to appeal because, only then, can we further bring the law and his powers into review. We can rant and shout till we are hoarse, and they won't bother BUT with this appeal, it's a fantastic opportunity! I am sure Pete and his legal team will be able to see this and prepare themselves for this great opportunity to fight the system. And we must continue to show our support to Pete and the Abolish ISA spirit, so that they will know that the rakyat is making known what we want; they don't lsten at their own peril come the next GE.

And if the Govt decides not to appeal, then bro Pete gets to stay home. Win win both ways. I love it.
written by ATSaari, November 10, 2008 00:15:53
I'm appealing to MT admin to not post the picture of this Botak anymore but to replace with some apes or monkey face instead. The apes and monkeys are more decent looking than this man-ape.
written by Gargamel, November 10, 2008 02:06:25
Wah, we must be the first nation on earth where the govt appeals to the court to condemn somebody. Another first for Malaysia! smilies/cool.gif
written by LFLee, November 10, 2008 02:52:01
Couldn't resist to write down my anger... smilies/angry.gif

Botak, just shut-the-f-up and stop humiliating yourself,
just go online and see how many people hate/benci you!

I guess you vomit every time you look into the mirror!

But thanks! You are the one that make Malaysian hate
BN more, and come next election/ PR take over, you are
history (sorry, you are not even worth to include
in the history) gone to hell.
written by peace lover, November 10, 2008 06:03:14
That stupid Botak will do something to the judge, just watch him.....!!

Read his words properly: "I am disappointed but I respect the court decision". He used "I" and not "We". That tells whatever it is that comes from him on Pete's case are all done for his own personal interest. So, what should be the right words to describe his doings?

Simply "POWER ABUSE"!!!
written by lamakawan, November 10, 2008 08:45:06
Good on you, doggone, keep up your good pics. A good picture speaks a thousand words.
written by kislean, November 10, 2008 09:44:08
SOB ... no sense of shame at all. Why are Malaysian cursed with such people in the government ?
written by marbl3s, November 10, 2008 10:56:38
For god's sake, will these editors from the media STOP quoting "Malaysia is to appeal"? It is that retarded bald headed mongrel that is going to appeal and NOT the entire Malaysia.

Shit....
written by Goostee, November 10, 2008 11:50:49
Saya percaya pengorbanan ikhlas yang kita sama-sama sumbangkan untuk memertabatkan nama BBMB tak lama dulu masih menjadi kenangan manis dalam usaha kita menyumbang bakti terhadap kesejahteraan negara. Namun, hancurnya BBMB atas karenah UMNO mungkin telah memisahkan kesedaran kita kemudiannya. Malahan, bercanggahnya cara kita menghayati nasehat datuk nenek kita agar mengikut resmi padi i.e. makin tunduk makin berisi, dan agar dewasa mengikut usia, benar-benar membedzakan diantara kita, MELAYU dan YEMENI. Bila lagi kita mahu insaf ???
written by denkoh, November 10, 2008 11:53:10
'I am disappointed but I respect the court decision,' Home Minister Syed Hamid Albar told the New Straits Times newspaper

Beaver, Beaver, you faarking idiot! respect the court decision means no need to appeal. why appeal? appeal means you don't respect. ini sekolah mana belajar?
written by unomalaysia, November 10, 2008 11:53:12
By saying that he needs to find out how the judge interpret the law, did Syed Botak Alstupid insulted the learned judge and committed comptempt of court? I think the judge should order the arrest of the botak moron. Maybe Pete should also sue the bald assjerk for RM100 million for acting in bad faith and abuse of power.