Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Muslim leaders in Spore say yoga is okay

Muslim leaders in Spore say yoga is okay PDF Print
Sunday, 09 November 2008 11:36

SINGAPORE, Nov 9 - A Muslim cleric in Malaysia has called on Muslims to stop doing yoga exercises, but some religious experts in Singapore do not share that sentiment.

They are largely of the opinion that yoga is harmless as long as its spiritual aspects are not practised.

Professor Zakaria Stapa, a lecturer at University Kebangsaan Malaysia"s faculty of Islamic studies, said recently that yoga is based on Hindu elements and could affect the faith of Muslims practising it.

That sparked a nationwide debate and the Malaysian National Fatwa Council may issue a fatwa, or decree, on yoga soon.

The country seems to be alone in its concern.

Yoga centres are flourishing in more orthodox Muslim countries such as Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates.

In Iran, yoga is so popular that there are classes for children.

In Singapore, Mr Mohammad Yusri Yubhi Md Yusoff, 33, executive imam of Al-Falah mosque, said: "Yoga may have its roots in Hinduism. But if you take away the meditation and other spiritual aspects, it becomes just another form of exercise."

Veteran religious expert Pasuni Maulan, 64, agreed. The former registrar of Muslim marriages said spiritual elements in exercises are not exclusive to yoga. Silat, which has its roots in Malay culture, can sometimes involve hailing spirits, a practice not allowed in Islam.

"Those who are not sure about what is allowed may want to do other exercises," he suggested.

As a rule of thumb, avoid the spiritual forms of exercises and embrace only the physical aspects, said religious teacher and counsellor Abdul Manaf Rahmat, 50.

Teacher Hafiza Yahya, 26, who studied yoga through books five years ago, has been doing just that.

"In classes, instructors may ask you to say Hindu incantations. I simply did the exercises without all that," said the mother of two, who shed more than 30kg through yoga after each pregnancy. She now weighs a trim 46kg.

- Straits Times Singapore

Comments (84)Add Comment
written by DXB2008, November 09, 2008 11:43:51
Yoga is different matter, exercise only..what about football? No fatwa yet? Msia gomen should buy an english football club to promote truly asia...http://1426.********.com/2008/...o-buy.html
written by ylcc, November 09, 2008 11:45:45
Heh ... that is what I thought! I already have a hard time concentrating on twisting my poor body, who has the time to meditate or think of anything else!
written by Motherchell, November 09, 2008 11:49:54
Laws are all man made , God is one ! its the imbeciles on top of the glass mountain who fix us in subservience .If you have cooled seeing Nazri's children trying to teach a thing or two , see what our future PM 's children have to offer. Im sure Jakim is upset! , not to worry!! , Your Godfathers are not , they use you to cheer their lives. See more here to digest ...

http://sjsandteam.*********.com
written by Ramesh, November 09, 2008 11:57:55
FYI Datuk Sharuk Khan's wife is a hindu. Stip his Datukship and send him to kamunting. You practise Yoga and you become hindu? hahahah...what a bunch of idots!!! Are malaysian muslims so insecure of their faith or their leaders are the ones who are insecure?
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 09, 2008 11:58:07
It is a simply matter of “Holier than thou” attitude adopted by our Malaysian clerics.

As our bro Pete wrote, many of them are so afraid that they are not Islamic enough and so try to outdo themselves to their Middle East counterparts, which boils down to blatent stupidity and idiotcracy.
written by michael chick, November 09, 2008 12:00:56
NOTE: Comment removed for violation of posting guidelines
written by michael chick, November 09, 2008 12:03:33
Think of it as starting a new industry. And Fatwah is able to touch it.
Or, Malaysia will ban the Arabs from coming into Malaysia.

agree 108
written by michael chick, November 09, 2008 12:04:08
typo. I meant No Fatwah is able to touch it
written by mikefonz, November 09, 2008 12:04:41
Soon Fatwa on Chinese Martial Arts, Karate, Judo and any other form of excercise that requires meditation. We have here some over zealous cleric who go interprete the issue as could affect the faith of Muslims practising it.
What kind of a country Malaysia will become oneday? I dare not foresee the future of my next generation.
written by michael chick, November 09, 2008 12:09:37
So, anyone else wants Belly Dancing to replace the "lembik" local dances?

It must be good, and sanctined. What is Malaysia gonna do next? Reject Arabis Halal Certification? Come to think of it, they ALREADY HAVE !! Has anyone ever seen a Saudi Halal Certificate on a product in a supermarket? Is Malaysia Holier than the Arabs? Shit Al-Blur seems to think so....
written by michael chick, November 09, 2008 12:12:25
I love the gracefullness. Think the local Mat Rempit Ah Mois can pull this off?Yoga for Infidels. (so they told me)

written by michael chick, November 09, 2008 12:16:16
Even a PUSSY can Belly Dance.

written by salsabarney, November 09, 2008 12:19:05
Banning yoga? Bollywood movies are based on Hindu elements too. should ban also lah. Why stop there? Should ban Chicken Tandoori too, Hindu astrology, or anything to do with Hinduism.

What a joke! The world is already laughing at us. In bolehland, apa-apa pun boleh
written by michael chick, November 09, 2008 12:25:13
Dear salsabarney, maybe you didn't hear me. Belly Dancing is the new secret !!!

Truly Asia, Truly shakkkkkkkkkinng.....
written by Motherchell, November 09, 2008 12:26:47
Great pieces Micheal!! I heard the Jakim chief is on an official visit to Jordan. Who could resist belly-dancing?. Im sure after his return he will ban Yoga and make belly dancing official!!!! The games Najib and Nazri's children play will also be made acceptable by the holier than thous!!Great Leaders in the making!! get a feel here..

http://sjsandteam.*********.com
written by takbolehtahan, November 09, 2008 12:30:40
Aiyoo, some of our Malaysian clerics are truly a bunch of monkeys!! It just goes to show how backward Malaysia is. If the mind cannot be open, how to progress la! All the spoon feeding in our education system has brought about death to our brain cells. Better brace ourselves against the bad recession next year, since we do not have the intellectual capacity to compete globally.
written by michael chick, November 09, 2008 12:32:50
NOTE: Kindly be reminded that you are to refrain from posting comments intended to insult a religion.
written by DanielYahya, November 09, 2008 12:41:06
My wife who is a Chinese Muslim feels really sad about what is going on in the Muslim world nowadays. She embraced ISlam at the age of 31 and loves the religion for all its beauty. But what is happening embarrasses her especially among her non muslim friends. She says, are Muslims in Malaysia so weak in their own faith that anything that is not of the Islamic origin will sure change their faith. She says her non Muslim friends can eat pork in front of her. she will not feel a bit being offended at all. after all religion is personal. it is between the believer and Allah/God Himself. During the fasting month, she can casually chatting with a non muslim friend at her work place while the person is eating her/his breakfast. She asks them not to stop eating just because she is fasting. Islam is not about banning this or that. Think about it. Everything in the universe is created by Almighty Allah for a reason. Pigs are created by Allah. Knowledge is created by Allah. If you despise pigs you despise the creator as well. Think about it. She does feel our government is trying to outdo the Arabs by being more "Islamic". She says you can preach to her about anything but with Allah in her heart, she will not be influenced no matter what.
written by justinlian, November 09, 2008 12:58:08
Even all the language we speak today are all from Pali .
written by middlepath, November 09, 2008 13:15:16
Dear all malaysians, this is a free world, globalize world, we all have a choice, we all can behave as what is good for one self. the question one should ask is :
1) if you do this Yoga, is this good for you, good for others ? this is good for the instructor, he got paid, this is good for you or bad for you ? you paid, but then, what do you get out of this ? healthy ? or not healthy ? if good do it, if no, dont do it.
2) many people learn this Yoga, they either stupid or they are crazy ?
3) those comments about yoga, good or no good, did he or she experience it ?
what is it no good ? their comment what is it ? they worry about those go to Yoga will get converted to other religion ? well ?
they worry about others will influence ? they have some ulterior motive ?
this is probably the only country in the world, that ban Yoga ???

Ha Ha ha, ban yoga ? what a country ? what a view ? even Yoga, they are afraid ? even Yoga, they worry ? shit, what do you expect them to do ?
what can they do ?
then again, they said that? DPM Najib is practising the Hindu rite ?
so, if this is true, DPM Najib is global man, smart, he do what is good, and dont care whether it is other than muslim ?
then the one who suggested ban Yoga ? stupid ?
written by michael chick, November 09, 2008 13:18:23
Kindly confine your comments to the facts presented by other commentators and refrain from personalising issues discussed in MT.
written by PeacefulMalaysia, November 09, 2008 13:24:52
NOTE: Comments removed for violation of posting guidelines
written by michael chick, November 09, 2008 13:32:23
Dear PeacefulMalaysia,
All the glitter and glamour in Genting Highlands is financed by LOSERS !!!
written by Joe, November 09, 2008 13:42:59
This one is for MalaysianUnited.

There is a Religious council in Singapore that makes Halal Yoga in Singapore,
Lets say Malaysia's religious council makes Haram Yoga. Does that mean that Johorean Muslims are allowed to practise Yoga? Or are they allowed only to practise in Singapore? or not at all?

Sorry if i offend. i'm just an ignorant kafir trying to learn a little abt islam so that i dont get the wrong idea.
written by temenggong, November 09, 2008 13:47:01
I am convinced! I can see that belle dancing is definately good for my health. smilies/grin.gif

Where do I sign up?
written by educationist, November 09, 2008 14:05:19
Interesting that yoga is allowed in the saudi arabia, UAE and Iran.
Forget Singapore, our extremists here will like to denounce any good link to Singapore.
Let's see what the NFC comes up with.
written by RumahPanjai, November 09, 2008 14:12:51
So, please issue a fatwa on the malay martial arts of Silat since it involves "hailing to spirits" and is therefore unislamic. This fatwa thing is getting out of control and has lost its sting. Everything is just so negative and thats the very reason why these religious people remain medieval and primitive.
written by fairnessforall, November 09, 2008 14:16:09
written by fairnessforall, November 09, 2008 14:17:44
written by Steven Tan, November 09, 2008 14:25:13
Dear PeacefulMalaysia,

I respect you for being a True Muslim and for being Open Minded. What you've mentioned are 200 percent CORRECT. This so called Ulama (some of them) misuse the trust that given to them. Whatever is benefiting them, they will approve and whatever not in favour of them they will disapprove using the Religion as the excuse and they will hide behind the religious. Your explanation on the gamming outlets is one of the good example. Recently there was a case in Indonesia where a Ulama wanted to married a 2 under age kids with the excuse that they already reached puberty. Well there are lot of cases where this kind of situation happening daily around the world and these kind of people will hide behind the religious and try to benefit from it.

Dear Malaysia United,

Apa yang Michael Chick cuba tonjolkan adalah contoh-contoh di dunia seberang sana(Timur Tengah) di mana perkara-perkara yang lebih serius daripada amalan YOGA yang diterima oleh masyarakat Timur Tengah yang mana pegangan dan amalan mereka terhadap Islam adalah lebih tebal (pure) jika dibandingkan dengan kita di Malaysia. Itu sahaja dan bukannya Michael Chick cuba menunjukan sesuatu yang tidak wujud. Di harap anda dapat melihatnya dengan lebih terbuka lagismilies/smiley.gif.

Sekian dan terima kasih.
written by nothing less, November 09, 2008 14:25:30
See what the FAT WAH's masters can do. I work for an orginazation and during the Hari Raya and a week before Deepavali we the commitee set up for the celebration wanted to do it as Hari Raya and Deepavali celebrations together. Just 1 day before the D Day, the asked the local religous officer attached tothe department about the celebration and he came up with a mini fatwa telling that its against the Muslim akidah to celebrate Deepavali together with Hari Raya. Thus the larger Muslims / Malays just dropped the plan and it was just Hari Raya celebration. The point is nobody is celebrating the religous values of either the Muslims nor Hindus.It was just a celebration of happines and togetherness that we want to highlight and celebrate in this multi racial country as ours. Thats why the national integration plan does not work. But the funny thing it only happens with the Muslims.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 09, 2008 14:36:43
written by vineeth menon, November 09, 2008 14:39:03
Recommended to Read below link to understand the relation between Yoga & Religion .

Question: Is Yoga a religion?
Answer: No, but the question is important to consider.

Read Here http://www.swamij.com/religion.htm

written by FFT, November 09, 2008 14:40:01
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 09, 2008 14:40:02
...Nice pictures Ahmaedneil...ooppps, I mean MichaelChick! Leave a lot to the imagination!
written by sonofmalaysia, November 09, 2008 14:41:31
THe problem in Malaysia is there is too many of these narrow minded, idle minded nincopoop, who have really nothing better to do, that have to be seen to be doing something !!

written by temenggong, November 09, 2008 14:52:33
written by michael chick, November 09, 2008 14:53:00
[MT Admin VM ]Photos removed : Excessive Photos from same commentator on same topic. Help us - Do not flood the Comments section.

If same sex hugging is also very permitted. Why ban the tom-boys?
They were after all, strictly adhering to the law???
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 09, 2008 14:57:25
Hmmmm, not my scene lah!
…but your picture might get…ehhhh…. you-know-who greatly excited! Then a whole lot of “sumpah” here, “sumpah” there, and “sumpah” everywhere in Malaysia all over again! And our soon-to-be PM will be kept extremely busy consoling these “poor” boys!
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 09, 2008 14:58:58
...and those dyke pictures!...hmmmm, one of our Minister will most probably download and paste on her bedroom wall.
written by ylcc, November 09, 2008 15:03:58
Michael Chick ... you are just too much! It is just a question of perception. Anyone with an open mind, whether Muslims or non-Muslims, can take the whole affair with a pinch of salt and laugh at your pics (personally, I think they are funny) ... but can you pse be kinder to people like MalaysianUnited?
Just like Nazri's son's pictures - It is like WOW! - he certainly has got good taste, but someone else may choose to differ and think it not funny! In a few days' time, I would have forgotten about the whole incident and move on in life!
written by roadbarra, November 09, 2008 15:07:47
all this while society has been going along fine and peaceful....until some decides to sets the whole community on fire with his fiery thoughts and dislikes.
written by Darth Vader, November 09, 2008 15:08:23
Eh... How come the cleric did not proposes to the council to have a look at those places call Urut Traditional/ Urut Batin etc etc.

Also no decision made for advertisement of "Ubat Lelaki Kuat"?

in case of yoga, it teaches you peace of mind thru meditation, whereas urut, some one touches yr body!!!

on another issue "swearing"
The religious council SHOULD discuss the matter with all the learned clerics before allowing it to take place!!! not let it take place and then have debate on what is permissible or not. just imagine, we build Twin Tower without having to do soil test. After half way building, found out that twin tower is actually sitting on limestone and dangerous.
written by truthbespoken, November 09, 2008 15:14:14
Professor who? Professor of Stupidity? Real mudhead he is! A social retard in society! People with such muddled mentality are only fit for dustbins! Period!!
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 09, 2008 15:19:53
Darth Vader, as a matter of fact, during construction they actuall found out that one of the twin towers was sitting on bad ground. Took a whole lot of money to rectify that mistake.(Watch National Geographic on Petronas Twin Tower to get more info).
written by Darth Vader, November 09, 2008 15:31:39
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 09, 2008 15:19:53

Darth Vader, as a matter of fact, during construction they actuall found out that one of the twin towers was sitting on bad ground. Took a whole lot of money to rectify that mistake.(Watch National Geographic on Petronas Twin Tower to get more info).

Dear Rainbowseahorse.

Could not agree with you more. you are 1000% correct.
This is what exactly happens on the issue of swearing loh. After this happen, they want to issue fatwa on swearing as it is sitting on dangerous ground and spend a great deal of time and money trying to rectify the situation,

smilies/smiley.gif
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 09, 2008 15:40:47
That’s soooo typical of our Malaysian government, isn't it?…hantam dulu belakang kera! So is the issue with “fatwah”...fatwah something first and then see whether can retract ‘gracefully’ or not…in other words, leap without checking! The important thing is, Malaysia must be ‘first’ no matter what! First (in terms of our immediate neighbors) Malaysian Astronaut, First to the North Pole, and all those other really stupid and idiotic and total waste of public funds “First”.

Cheers!
written by miwaki, November 09, 2008 15:43:32
Yoga is not allowed but patronising prostitute dents is okay.what is happening to malaysia ? A bunch of hypocrites !
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 09, 2008 15:56:55
miwaki, like was written:

Funny concept, but in a nut shell!
written by densemy, November 09, 2008 15:57:45
What would Singaporeans know about anything???

Singapore is ALWAYS wrong!!!!... Just ask Dr M

And because Singapore is always wrong it means that Malaysia has never learnt anything from them.... much to Malaysia's loss
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 09, 2008 16:07:57
densemy wrote: "Singapore is ALWAYS wrong!!!....Just ask Dr. M"

Haiyah, Dr. M has a grudge against Singapore as he cannot get them to erase the word "Indian" on the column which he filled in all-those-many-years-ago under "Race:" on his university entrance form.
written by Abajawi, November 09, 2008 16:10:20
Yeah, for Muslims, drop the mantra part, which may have its roots in Hinduism, and my logic tells me that yoga is ok (or harus, 'mubah'), but then I am not an ulama, and may be wrong in my conclusion. Allah knows best!
written by ultraman, November 09, 2008 16:20:58
Our ulamaks third class honors ones la!!! Singapore ulamaks , sekurang-kurangnus 2nd upper from Al azhar1 So where can compare our duds with the intelligent ones in S'pore?
written by The Hammer, November 09, 2008 16:23:40
Professor Zakaria Stapa, a lecturer at University Kebangsaan Malaysia"s faculty of Islamic studies, said recently that yoga is based on Hindu elements and could affect the faith of Muslims practising it.
Hi again Fatwa boys; looks like you boys have nothing else to do but to create new controversy. Yes, Yoga is haram because of it Hinduisim aspect but then tell us what is the mantra mantra your black "silat" boys meditate upon ? Is it taken from the Koran or from the air?

NOTE: Subsequent comment removed for violation of posting guidelines
written by The Hammer, November 09, 2008 16:39:18
Are the ladies who do the belly dancing in the Arab world Christian or Muslim? If they are Christian why are Muslim men and some Muslim women watching them? What if the lady is a Muslim?
Fartwa boys here must visit the Gulf and see all these with own 2 or 4 eyse! Then decide before passing FARTWA!
written by arazak, November 09, 2008 17:03:30
How about the various techniques thought in "Kamasutra"? They are also from Hindu origin!

Gee. . ., if this Profesor Kangkung from UKM said those techniques in "Kamasutra " is haram. . ., he does not know what he is missing!!!
written by ylcc, November 09, 2008 17:28:42
Dear Michael Chick ... this has been a long and interesting blog conversation. I enjoyed the day reading thru everyone's comments and the pictures. I do hope by now MalaysianUnited and others will see the lighter side of the debate, and laugh along with us!
written by Hello Keithy, November 09, 2008 17:35:20
michael chick, too much of anything is not good. There should be a limit. You're funny but sometimes over doing it. Calm down, man.
written by doggone, November 09, 2008 17:42:52
written by Alice, November 09, 2008 17:53:05
Hahaha the pic above is real funny. By the way belly dancing is excellent form of exercise for a flat belly . smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by kclim2, November 09, 2008 18:48:08
How can they be so narrow minded! It is okay to practice incest?
written by cheekhiaw, November 09, 2008 19:17:20
Yoga is bad for certain Muslims. It does nothing to in terms of exercising their brains...

written by fairnessforall, November 09, 2008 19:43:40
Im surprised my comments were removed as it wasn't insulting anyone. Anyway why no fatwa on gambling. Look at 4D shops, 60% are malays gambling. Isn't gambling forbidden by islam
written by cheekhiaw, November 09, 2008 19:48:00
That's because that tax on stupidity means easy money for some muslim thieves, liars and murderers.

written by jonath66my, November 09, 2008 22:43:22
Oh WTF-What the Fatwa again!!!There we go again, only in BolehLand that in the midst of a looming global economic crisis to hit our shores, the National Fatwa Council (NFC) the guardian of all things 'halal' (pure) or 'haram' (prohibited, illicit) of their believers have so much time on their hands are turning their energies further 'halal-fying' (making pure) their believers by considering making a ruling on 'Yoga', that's right not yogi the bear, but the thousand year old ancient art of medication. see. www.jonathan66-my.********.com 'WTF list now?
written by Susanna, November 09, 2008 23:48:47
The Muslim clerics in Malaysia making asses out of themselves. Fatwa this, fatwa that.. and on things so trivial as if nothing better to do. How about fatwa corruption, fatwa lies... fatwa those who use positions in power for bad! Any more nonsensical fatwa will just be one ear in one ear out. Their peers in Singapore don't even agree! So what is this Fatwa when it is narrow minded personal opinions!
written by FFT, November 10, 2008 00:17:03
written by kclim2, November 09, 2008 18:48:08
How can they be so narrow minded! It is okay to practice incest?

Yes, it is OK, so long as it is not done standing up. Because that could lead to dancing, and would be haram.
written by asiana888, November 10, 2008 00:18:41
Great photo, hahahaha. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

The Imans (and the UKM Professor - whose name means "Happy DicK") in Malaysia are trying to out do one another with coming out with fatwas that will even embarrass their holy prophet.

These buggers are so narrow-minded that their heads can even slip up their own ars**s. With religious authorities like these, one can only imagine how far this religion will go? smilies/grin.gif
written by cllim123, November 10, 2008 00:49:29
Do we see suddenly all yoga practitioners having Hindu shrines in their homes? How about in yoga centres? No? Then what the F...! Why the Fuss!
written by The Hammer, November 10, 2008 00:56:24
Belly dancing course is available in Malaysia. Calling all ladies especially those who are in their 30's to 40's here is an oppertunity to captivate your 'man' eyes when you grate your plumb belly before him. Sorry due to so called violation ruling I am not encourage to give the web address nevertheless you can use Gooogle and type belly dancing Malaysia. Make use of this oppertunity before the FatWa boys decide to make this cultural dance a "haram" and pass a FARTWA for all their religious folks!
Hey Pete please take over MT ASAP, your SUPER ADMIN is so jittery (maybe bitting nails ) that he or she maybe place in ISA for all our stupid, dirty, vulgar, oxy moron comments, jokes and 'doctored' pictures. Our comments are the expression of what we think of the ESTABLISHMENT.
To Hell with those Dicks with their so called Acts! Sedition ACT, ISA Act, ..Toilet and Kitchen Act ( this one from our one and only Home Minister YAMHead ALI BABa)
written by sarawakian, November 10, 2008 01:21:40
only in Malaysia, we find morons to fill important positions in political and educational institutions. if not because of some brilliant Malaysians (malays and non-malays) with active interactions with foreigners, the world would probably think we're really this stupid.

another reason for singaporeans and indonesians to laugh at us.. how sad indeed.
written by Taufique, November 10, 2008 03:01:58
Islam Hadhari maaaa, mana bole buat yoga?!!! Buang masa laa.. jom kita lesapkan duit negara!
written by ASK4u, November 10, 2008 07:58:32
..and I thought the rosary (not beads) which is used by the Muslim's in prayers is Hindu/Buddhist/Judeo-Christian in origin. Some academicians says that the rosary was not generally adopted until after the third century of the Hegira. When a rosary was found in the possession of Abu-l-Qasim al-Junaid in 297 of the Hegira (910 AD), they attacked and killed him for using it, although he belonged to the best society. Abu Abdullah Mohammed al-Abdari, the learned author of Al-Mudkhal, who died as late as 737 AH (1337 AD), mentions the rosary as one of the "strange new practices" in Islam which should not be countenanced. So how, no fatwah ka? There are many more examples I can quote but am afraid might hurt some people's feeling. So, I'll generalize without going into details: It's very difficult to find any religion in the purest form (except the ancient ones), that is totally devoid of influence from other older religions. This is the problem you'll encounter when people harp to much on forms and neglects the substance.
written by aisyalam, November 10, 2008 08:41:56
Professor IDIOT zakaria@ HAPPYCOCK...you gaji buta tak tahu malu punya binatang. Otak udang...hanya merugikan wang cukai rakyat! Pity UKM students having this kind of so called professor teaching there! Pitiful
written by cheekhiaw, November 10, 2008 09:28:04
aisyalam,

people earned that job by way of special rights. idiocy was never part of the consideration for their jobs...

written by ylcc, November 10, 2008 09:39:03
Dear MalaysianUnited/dragonheart:
Pse excuse the non-Malays in this blog. I think it was just the yoga subject that got them pumped up. They do not mean any disrespect to you nor Islam. Just close the chapter and move on to the next blog for discussions/debate. Who knows, you may be able to "ketuk" us then - and I hope we the non-Malays will be gracious enough to accept their views too.
BTW, MalaysianUnited, I am sure your article explains a lot, but my Bahasa Malaysia is not very good - it seems well written though.
written by Solarium, November 10, 2008 10:18:51
I'm just wondering, what happened to the three rapists who raped a 14-yr old girl who got eventually stoned to death for fornication? What an outrage!!!! Must be western-influenced!!
written by businessman, November 10, 2008 11:45:52
I have been following MalaysianUnited and DragonHeart posting for some time.

Their reasoning is simple. Dont interfere or comment on any issue NO MATTER HOW SILLY OR NOT LOGIC THE ISSUE IS, because it doesnt related to non muslim.

Their concept is 'Dasar Tutup Pintu' or 'Dasar Butakan Hati'. So no matter how logic is your argument especially you are non muslim, you will always assume to be trouble maker.

Infact what they said is true. It is nothing to do with us really.

But if you are a wise Muslim people reading this comment, please help to talk to them. Only you are 'qualify' to talk to them.[
written by ylcc, November 10, 2008 12:35:01
Not true, not all, my dear businessman. I have always been respectful of people like MalaysianUnited and DragonHeart.
What Professor Zakaria Stapa preaches reflects the same sentiments of what our church pastors tell us. But our church's opinion is the same as Mr Mohammad Yusri Yubhi Md Yusoff, 33, the executive imam of Al-Falah mosque. He said: "Yoga may have its roots in Hinduism. But if you take away the meditation and other spiritual aspects, it becomes just another form of exercise." Even taichi, falungong and qigong have their roots in meditation and spiritual aspects. This teaching is not special to the Muslims only. The church came out with this when yoga was introduced to us.

Yes, I agree that if the fatwa is ever passed, it will not affect the non-Muslims, and some of the comments are uncalled for. But unless one comes into a debate with an open mind to hear the views of others, then one should spare oneself the pain by not logging into MT becos no one can stop the readers from commenting. Be more vocal, pen your opinions, but avoid personal attacks, disrespect to others - and at the end of the day, just laugh and move on with life.