Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow The Numbers Don’t Jive Mr FM!

The Numbers Don’t Jive Mr FM! PDF Print
Sunday, 09 November 2008 09:03

In what was Najib’s maiden speech as a Finance Minister, he has cast more doubts about his alleged or perceived ‘financial prowess’ or at least spun by mainstream media as being better than the PM.

For whatever benefit of doubts many were willing to provide him, it indeed quickly evaporated midway in his delivery of what is now called a ‘stimulus package’ to bolster the economy. It has nothing to do with his refusal to allow opposition leader and MPs to interject during his delivery, an unprecedented move strangely condoned by the Speaker.

Firstly, quite unsolicited, he decided to take a pot-shot at the PR’s budget, perhaps more accurately the Opposition leader, by accusing that PR’s budget is ‘Contractionary’ as opposed to their ‘Expansionary’ one. He cunningly reminded everyone, that the nation will be in greater trouble if we were to pursue PR’s budget as alleged to have been done in the’97 financial crisis.

Najib is either clearly ignorant, which of course spells doom for this nation’s future or simply misleading the House, which is worse, as his little credibility will be further dented. If he claims to have been misled by his spin doctors that will of course be worst, as he equally betrays his ineptness, a disease he has to wage a war against, to keep the government and Umno afloat and relevant.

Defining an ‘Expansionary or Contractionary Budget’ has to do with a budget being deficit or surplus respectively. While the BN’s 2009 budget poses a projected deficit of RM28.45 billions, the PR’s budget deficit stands at RM22.10 billions. Both are equally a Deficit Budget and both are equally Expansionary! Period. A lesson in Economics 101 would be in order for our new Finance Minister.

That addresses Najib’s malicious attack on PR’s budget, accusing us of bringing us the nation to economic disaster as widely and repeatedly demononised by the mainstream media last-nite.

On 23rd October, PR presented a budget strategy in response to addressing financial uncertainties and restoring confidence in our economy. While clearly expansionary and anti-cyclical, to weather the ‘slowing down of growth with concurrent inflationary pressure on goods and services with the consequent massive unemployment’ (ie stagflation), PR’s budget addresses where and how the deficit is to be funded and sustained.

Going by the current prices of crude oil and (CO) crude palm oil (CPO), a conservative estimate of RM18 billions have been lost from BN’s budget revenue projection. CIMB’s Research House estimated that for every USD10/barrel reduction in price (Tapis crude oil), we are in to lose RM4billions a year. For every RM100/tonne of CPO, we will be robbed of RM1.7billions. An estimated loss or reduction of revenue to the tune of RM18-20 billions is to be anticipated.

PR’s budget wasn’t simply expansionary but prudently so, as to maximize the ‘multiplier effects’ in critical sectors of quality housing, healthcare and education. The budget was aimed at ensuring ‘quality deficit’ be achieved, not the like of injecting into speculative activities seen in injecting RM5billion EPF’s fund to shore-up ‘undervalued companies’, or multi-billions mega-infrastructural projects in underground cables  or double-tracking railways and worse still dubious military procurements like the Eurocopter and others.

Najib blissfully announced that there will be a saving of RM7billions as a result of reduced fuel subsidy. Totally oblivious of the anticipated loss of revenue mentioned above and grinning, he went on a ‘spending spree’ in his ‘expansionary stimulus’. I may not want to comment on that now.

On closer examination, Najib has finally admitted a diminution in income albeit, not as much as PR’s or other Research Houses’ projections. From the PM’s revenue of RM176.22billions, Najib now admitted that he’s looking at RM168.73billions. He only conceded a reduction of RM8billions in revenue. 

Presumably that must be from the reduction of revenue in CO and CPO. Even if we were willing to take a conservative estimate of RM18billions and deducting from a saving of RM7 billions for a reduction in fuel subsidy, you still have a yawning RM11billions as deficit in revenue! Though not wanting to admit this out-rightly, he has now indirectly conceded, by projecting a bigger deficit of 4.8% over the deficit of PM’s budget of 3.6%.

But behold! This FM is now weirdly and foolhardily coming out with another RM7billions, he now claims to be from the fuel subsidy again. Mind-blowing!  Now the numbers simply don’t jive, whichever ways you look at it.

Now that RM7billions have to come from borrowing and leveraging or gearing…all these ‘vulgar’ and ‘dirty’ words of the ‘overleveraged’ US economy. It would have been better for the FM to simply admit that the RM7billions to be injected are to be borrowed from whatever source (EPF etc) or that the government  is raising bonds for it.

Yes we may have a healthy national reserve of 37% of our GDP. Yes we may have a low NPLs for the time being. Yes we may have a low foreign debt currently at RM187 billion with RM70billions private debt. As of April 2008, this may be 20% of the foreign reserve.

We may grudgingly admit that our fundamentals may be strong though quite obviously not trickling down to the rakyat, thanks to inflation and the poor distributive justice.

But we also have been on a deficit budget for the last 10 years mind you. Hence even if we are to be injecting fiscal stimulus in an anti-cyclical measure, as suggested by both BN and PR, we must be prudent and doing it productively.

Our bullishness may now be totally misplaced as party time has long been over Mr. FM. The Eurocopters deal, faulty FSBB project award and other mega-projects should have been voluntarily withdrawn long before, should you have the foresight.

I now doubt whether you have any hindsight. Your recurring blindspot is extremely distressing and very worrying to say the least!

Dr Dzulkefly Ahmad
Director of Pas Research Centre and
MP for Kuala Selangor. (www.drdzul.wordpress.com )

written by cheekymate, November 09, 2008 09:15:37
Of course the numbers don't rock up. All that is on Najis' mind are how to beef up personal finances, chicks galore and the haunting of Altantuya 24/7
written by michael chick, November 09, 2008 09:31:08
written by biggun129, November 09, 2008 09:43:14
The people earns, the taxpayer paid their taxes, and the ruling regime make profits from the Governmnet Deficit Budget, we are asking the Wolfs to take care of our Sheeps!!!!
written by Hakim Joe, November 09, 2008 10:56:19
Someone needs to inform Najib that DSAI was the Finance Minister in 1997. Does this mean that he is in support of the 1997 government's budget (by DSAI) but not the opposition's budget (also by DSAI)? Either he is "misinformed" or a hypocrite.
written by onnetline, November 09, 2008 11:13:44
A Prime Minister with some common sense will not be seen stupid, I'm sure !
written by Liberace, November 09, 2008 11:20:52
We have a Finance Minister who was born with a silver spoon in his mouth and who has never worked (as in earned his pay) a day in his entire life. Now he's supposed to know what needs to be done to save this country that according to him does not need saving. How so? He looks dumb, he sounds dumb and he is dumb.
written by ROBERTNGTG, November 09, 2008 11:23:38
In what was Najib’s maiden speech as a Finance Minister, he has cast more doubts about his alleged or perceived ‘financial prowess’ or at least spun by mainstream media as being better than the PM.

HIS ONLY FINANCIAL PROWESS IS IN COUNTING HIS PRIVATE TREASURY'S $$$$$$.
OF COURSE THE OTHER PROWESS IS VIA THE BACK DOOR ENTRIES.
written by middlepath, November 09, 2008 13:55:39
Rakyat, wake up. the current government is political base, they do what is greedy, evil, corrupt, they cover up, and lack of integrity,
the only way is replace them with PR and try it out. we have no choice, they BN are taking our money to their cronies, the corrupt and greedy bunch, they commit all kind of crime to enrich themself, they do not have rakyat at their heart.

So, the only way is change the government, that really care for rakyat.
Anwar, has gone to the jail, mistreated, by the gov, he will not do that same thing to others.......

he has wake up and be wise, he has integrity. trust him. we must change, or else, we rakyat will get bully again.

lots of our $ are going in the drain. we must change n change the BN gov, to opposition, then we will have good watch dog. BN is a good watch dog. tey are good because they have expeience in corruption. so , we must choose BN as our opposition.
written by onnetline, November 09, 2008 14:46:03
Are Malaysians to have morally tainted or corrupted ' shitheads ' for leaders through all eternity ???
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, November 09, 2008 18:59:41
Very well said. It's foolhardy for anyone to believe that our FM and his team can continue to put wool over our eyes. It is better to enlist the best brains in the country to help figure this whole thing. I believe we have great minds in Malaysia but politics and ignorance continues to blind those in power.

Malaysia needs a bipartisan approach to solving the country's challenges. Not putting our head in the sand nor taking a simplistic approach to miscalculating all the assumptions. It's incredible that we have FM who can table a fantasy stimulus package in parliament when the primary budget is out of whack!

http://proud2bmalaysian.*********.com
written by cheekhiaw, November 09, 2008 19:49:32
You expect things to jive with some big time thief, liar and murderer?

written by thor, November 09, 2008 22:55:00
U mean u don't believe that the financial crisis has been isolated from Malaysia meh? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif ;

U dare doubt our PINK LIPS ah? Is yr doubt arising from the fact that he and many of his kind are educated abroad and therefore hve not undergone a robust education system that we hve here? Don't u know our education system is one of the best, matter of fact we were even honoured to give a 7 or 8 minutes talk to the world on our experience in producing the best minds (NO SPE KE LE INGRIS, comes to mind smilies/grin.gif )

It seems certain AMENO's meetings are now following the tradition of TAIWAN PARLIAMENT, smilies/grin.gif, in fact they r a bit late since some of the Insignificant Others hve already in the past adopted this manner of having meetings, ask SEMI VALUE he might not
written by lovemalaysiarakyat, November 09, 2008 23:39:13
Najib is either clearly ignorant, which of course spells doom for this nation’s future or simply misleading the House, which is worse, as his little credibility will be further dented. If he claims to have been misled by his spin doctors that will of course be worst, as he equally betrays his ineptness, a disease he has to wage a war against, to keep the government and Umno afloat and relevant.

Well said Dr Zulkefly! It is scary to know he is our FM and soon to be our PM. We want able and honest leaders - to lead not the blind leading us into the ditch. May the Almighty help us.
written by Susanna, November 09, 2008 23:57:45
Now we know why he got all the UMNO votes... FM who cannot tally figures is good news to those who can take advantage right?
written by MalaysiaBaru, November 10, 2008 00:08:49
Najis!!! You r a THIEF. Stop stealing from the rakyat smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by asiana888, November 10, 2008 00:27:30
The FM prowess is in milking the country's coffers. What economic prowess??? He is a specialist in enriching his own treasury. While economists are thinking about Oil & CPO, our FM is going for EPF. No need to drill or wait for the pal trees to mature .... just walk into EPF office and withdraw cash lah! I guarantee you that the most number of changes (or new 'investment' plans) will come from EPF once FM also become PM. The kind of liberalizations from EPF will scare the shit out of any clear thinking citizen. Bye-bye to all the hard earned savings. smilies/angry.gif
written by antiilluminati, November 10, 2008 10:29:15
This is te first time i am seeing criminal at work, daytime robbery, legalise crime, pecah amanah, pecah lubang or whatever shit you name it. This Najis have it. Superb ! Simply amazing.
Worst still, the rakyat and those lawmakers can do nothing.