Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Karpal: Nazri misled Parliament

Karpal: Nazri misled Parliament PDF Print
Saturday, 08 November 2008 23:37
(Bernama) -- Bukit Gelugor Member of Parliament Karpal Singh said Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Datuk Seri Nazri Abdul Aziz had misled Parliament when he said judges involved in the 1988 Judicial crisis were not sacked but were asked to take early retirement.

Karpal said he would move to cite Nazri under standing order 36 (12) for misleading Parliament on Monday where he would be subsequently referred to the Committee of Privileges for action to be taken.

He said Nazri must explain why he had publicly in Parliament made the statement which amounted to having cleared the judges names by the tribunal, inconsistent with the findings of the two tribunals.

On Thursday, Nazri had told the House that they were found guilty by a panel of tribunal and they were asked to take early retirement , "not sacked" when he revealed the quantum of ex-gratia payout, said Supreme Court judges the late Tan Sri Wan Suleiman Pawan Teh and George Edward Seah Kim Seng were paid RM2 million each.

Tan Sri Wan Hamzah Mohd Salleh, Tan Sri Azmi Kamaruddin and the late Tan Sri
Eusoffe Abdolcadeer were paid RM500,000 each.

"They were not sacked. They were asked to retire early. Its like optional. At
66, you can (receive) pension. Since they chose to retire, the pension was paid.
The Pension Department would not pay (pension) if they had broken any laws," Nazri had said.

Karpal referred to the Malayan Law Journal (MLJ) dated Oct 28 1988, which reported that Supreme Court Lord President Tun Salleh Abas and Supreme Court judges, the late Tan Sri Wan Suleiman Pawan Teh and Datuk George Edward Seah were dismissed from office after the tribunal found them guilty of misconduct.

They were, however, removed from office with full pension.

The other three judges, the late Tan Sri Datuk Mohd Azmi Kamaruddin, Tan Sri Eusoffe Abdoolcader and Tan Sri Wan Hamzah Mohd Salleh were suspended but
subsequently reinstated. 

Karpal told reporters at the Palace of Justice today that in order to clear the honour and dignity of the judges sacked in 1988, the Government should have set up two tribunals to absolve them from the actions taken against them instead of giving ex-gratia payment.

"What should have been done was not to pay out ex-gratia to the judges but to have another tribunal set up to clear their name. It can still be done. Paying them ex-gratia payment does not in anyway clear them from having been found guilty for misbehaviour," he said.

Karpal said the payment of ex-gratia to the judges meant that the Government felt that they (the judges) were in fact not guilty.

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by SOBA, November 08, 2008 23:45:29
YES BRING HIM TO THE BOOK
THAT STUPID LOUD MOUTH NAZRI
SENDIRI TAK TAHU MALU NAK MALUKAN ORANG LAIN
written by No nonsense, November 08, 2008 23:50:58
If anyone want to know the truth please ask Mahatir and everything will be out in the open. No need to argue about it cause only he alone will know the truth. Naziri please know your facts right before making any statement. Let Mahatir answer the question and let the matter lay at rest.
written by justinlian, November 08, 2008 23:57:25
Everyone seems to lost their minds in UMNO.
Always telling the different story.
written by DreamLady, November 09, 2008 00:03:41
The 3 judges whose reputation were badly bruised and tarnished should demand an apology from the government.

Based on monetary compensation is insufficient to undo the destructive consequence the victim has to endure..be it mentally or spiritually, the trauma itself lingers on till the last breath of his life..

No amount is enough to 'get even' with the deeds, as its treacherous intent that slashes across the innocence without mercy deserves a harsher punishement...
written by asiseesit, November 09, 2008 00:12:56
i just came from mahathir's house and he said that they were actually sacked. if you don't believe me, visit him at chedet.com to check his latest posting. don't know if he would approve my posting.
written by michael chick, November 09, 2008 00:15:31
written by Joe, November 09, 2008 00:33:44
NAzri twisting the facts ... typical UMNO tactic
written by Darth Vader, November 09, 2008 00:33:46
What do you expect from NaziNazri..... i guess from now forward, we should call him "consultant" (CON INSULT)of UMNO.

written by Wudan, November 09, 2008 00:43:41
Woit Nazri Racist! Kan dah kantoi. Dulu TUN 'boo' aje hang dah kecut. Sekarang TUN cakap hang tipu dalam Parlimen, apa nak jadi? Betul bodoh punya menteri. Kalau ada maruah, hang ngan Si Al-Blur tu tolong resign.
written by apasalahku, November 09, 2008 01:24:11
what are you peasants bitching about?
Nazri is still getting his RM50k salary from your pockets as MP and Minister and driving a RM180k Perdana with driver, sponsored by you stoopid peasants
written by Wudan, November 09, 2008 01:37:47
Woit apasalahku! Money is a means and not an end. It's your own conscience that one has to live with. One can't lie to oneself unless one is......! No matter what both of them may say, deep down they know that they have had it.
written by malsia1206, November 09, 2008 01:39:08
Nazri, if you really have a need to tell a blatant lie in Parliament, tell it convincingly. Your mouth is too big for your ego. Go back to the archives and all the newspaper reports in 1988. You must be the saviour of your stooge Government to come up with this novel version. We have heard of Menteris telling lies before. But when you try to pull a fast one with the lawyers, you are getting your arse burnt. Should he not be reported to the Parliamentary Commitee of Privileges for disciplinary action?
written by Wudan, November 09, 2008 01:44:17
Another point, apasalahku, one does not have to be RICH to be CLEVER. Nudge-nudge, wink-wink. Know what I mean?
written by chanatak, November 09, 2008 02:20:56

Listening to the statements they make, I cannot stop marvelling at the stupidity of UMNO goons, whether he is a PM or a MP or just a kaki lima member. The PM just made a stupid statement that any minority member can become a prime minister in Malaysia, just a week after the UMNO idiots declare that a Chinese lady cannot even be the acting GM of PKNS. This, coming from a PM and leader of UMNO who said nothing to rebuke those idiots who objected to the appointment of the Chinese lady. A fool is a fool.

And just earlier the fool of a bald headed home minister made a stupid UMNO statement that people are arrested under ISA for their protection. A fool is a fool is a fool!

And this Nazri incident will not be the last of UMNO's idiotic performances. And these are so called graduates, mind you.

How can UMNO members continue to elect fools to lead them? Birds of a feather flock together I guess?

UMNO is a party of fools elected by fools to serve fools.

written by cheekymate, November 09, 2008 05:28:05
Our judiciary system will remain screwed up and highly biased towards benefitting the UMNOputras and their cronies as long as we have an UMNO-led government. We have had to swallow many a bitter pill over the last five decades on their absolutely dastardedly skewered decisions.
However, we must not stop in our fight for justice. Only through our perseverance and determination, the truth will finally prevail, and only then, will we live to see a New Malaysia.
written by lakshy, November 09, 2008 06:17:14
Nazri was not his normal self when he was giving the explanation. There was an air of defeat in his demeanor.

Nazri is a smart guy, but unfortunately has to be the mouthpiece for this shameless government.

I wonder how much more he will take, before he quits.

Could be another Zaid, if the cards are played properly.
written by ylcc, November 09, 2008 06:36:12
written by apasalahku, November 09, 2008 01:24:11
"what are you peasants bitching about?
Nazri is still getting his RM50k salary from your pockets as MP and Minister and driving a RM180k Perdana with driver, sponsored by you stoopid peasants"

My dear apasalahku, firstly, the UMNO VIPs (Very Important Pigs!) steal money from the Rakyat and Nazri is not worth RM50K a month. Singapore ministers are paid much more, and they are worth every cent. 2ndly, do not glorify the Perdana ... my neighbour just bought it and he told me it is 100K. With 180K, I would prefer a Toyota Camry 2.4! By calling the RAKYAT "stoopid" peasants, are you aware you are indirectly calling yourself one too?

Why don't you go to the website "http://sjsandteam.*********.com/category/articles-latest-08112008/", and see whether the "stoopid peasants" are sponsoring this too!!
written by teohchye, November 09, 2008 07:02:25
KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 7 — Former de facto Law Minister Datuk Zaid Ibrahim has refuted his successor Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz's claim that the six Supreme Court judges who lost their jobs in the 1988 judicial crisis were not sacked.
"I have only this to say. The judges had been sacked and a miscarriage of justice of the gravest kind has been committed," he told The Malaysian Insider today of the judges who were removed in the fallout from an intense dispute in Umno which saw the party being deregistered.

PUTRAJAYA, Nov 8 – Former prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad said today the three judges involved in the 1988 judicial crisis were sacked and not asked to retire early as stated by Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Seri Mohamad Nazri Aziz.

There you have it! Straight from the horses' mouths (taken from Malaysian Insider). Mr. Karpal please do the necessary in Parliament. This is typical UMNO/BN MPs shooting their mouths off!
written by mikewang, November 09, 2008 07:28:45
By omitting facts, and relying on "Melayu mudah lupa", this is how UMNO changes history.

Like UMNO Baru, how many of you under 30 realise that the UMNO of today is not the same party which fought independence for Malaya?
written by Sudahlah tu, November 09, 2008 07:42:37
Segala yang berlaku di parlimen mahupun di mata dunia tentang sistem kerajaan Malaysia secara langsung akan mencerminkan kesusilaan, kedaulatan, ketuanan, maruah bangsa dan nilai kekeluargaan rakyat. Setiap kenyataan yang diucapkan, dibahaskan, mahupun dikeluarkan sentiasa mencerminkan Malaysia secara umum.
Haruslah kita semua beranikan diri menghadapi hari esok kita dengan cara yang lebih efektif dan rasional.
melayu umno yang hanya berpolitik kerana tamak diri dan telah mempergunakan landasan ketuanan Melayu sebagai modal mereka berpolitik, sebenarnya tidak pernah memikirkan akan kepentingan, kemurnian dan maruah ketuanan melayu.
Daripada semua yang telah memberikan pandangan mereka dalam blog-blog mereka, apakah lagi yang kita tunggu untuk mencapai perubahan pembaharuan kemerdekaan Malaysia daripada kezaliman umno.
Kebelakangan ini , memang percalonan wakil umno melibatkan politik wang yang begitu banyak dan kenyataan dibuat oleh orang dalam umno , akan tetapi pihak berkuasa tidak berani mengambil tindakan langsung. Malahan , mereka menangkap orang-orang yang 'dilabelken' , menyebahkan berita-berita sebegini.
Kalau betul lebih daripada 60% rakyat Malaysia berbangsa Melayu, maka keadaan politik serta masa depan negara semakin bahaya dan pudar bersama keesokannya.
Mengapa ? Mengapa ? Kenapa ?
Siapa yang telah menjual hak asasi ketuanan Melayu kepada umno?
Mengapa kami memilih kekayaan harta benda dunia yang hanya sementara , yang akhirnya merosakkan masa depan negara ?
Mengapa dengan sogokan wang sahaja , kami melututkan diri kepada kehendak mereka-mereka yang zalim dan tamak dan akhirnya membinasakan bangsa kami?
Kenapa , kami , sebagai umatNya , tidak berpatuh dan percayakan segala dalam ajaranNya dan masih 'mencabarNya' tentang kekayaan dunia?
Kita boleh bersuara dan menyuara ...
Kami boleh berbahas dan memberi pandangan keras tentang pendirian diri ..
walau apa pun pilihan kita dan kami , haluan kedua-dua pihak setakat ini tidak serasi dan menyakinkan pembaharuan sistem kerajaan demi rakyat.
Sebenarnya, kita dan kami telah memberi peluang keemasan kepada melayu umno mempermainkan segala keinginan serta kehendak kita dan kami dengan sogokan wang.
Siapa yang bodoh ?
written by 1351, November 09, 2008 07:58:37
YB Karpal, pls call on Dr.M(never thought the ole man would prove useful) first things Monday morning. Seems the ole man wants to settle some score and put to bed this Judiciary fiasco. No surprise since it has his hands all over it. Current admin reviewing Judicial sacking was Dollah socking it to the old man but a situation has presented itself and boy, the old man is going to ride on this mega wave.

Nail that sonofagun Taxi Boy, string him along and have some fun YB Karpal. This would prove to be a sticky situation for Dollah and Taxi Boy no matter, but having to do battle with Dr.M(who knows better than the devil himself who SACKED the whole bench) is five star entertainment for the public.
written by esac, November 09, 2008 08:33:19
Intelligent people think before they speak;
Others speak without intelligence;
This is Malaysia in August House for the larger number in Blue Justice.
written by KKchan, November 09, 2008 08:46:17
Everyone in the country knew the judges were dismissed after they were found guilty of misconduct. Some of us agreed with the findings, many don't. The current administration is close to disagreeing with the finding. Hence the ex-gratia payments. Nazri didn't mislead parliament - he just didn't understand what he was talking about.
written by goman2k3, November 09, 2008 09:09:01
Over and Over again the Ketuanan Melayu show how stupid they are. The Mamak got them sack and he said it again. Need we say more. Bodoh, Bodoh, Umno. Nazri got his brain stuck in his as...h..
written by PeacefulMalaysia, November 09, 2008 13:34:25
SACK THAT ASS HOLE NAZRI , We dont need monkeys in our system
written by pokokmangga, November 09, 2008 15:03:06
Same shit different day.
written by agadam magadam, November 09, 2008 15:06:26
Ya, this fella should be dumped.. Loud, big mouth... Don't even know what's coming out from his own mouth.
To sjs and team - you've got some nice pictures of Nazri's junior.in your blog.. I think you got to transfer some of them here- in this article...For all to see..
They raise little monkeys, who live like Lord's, on the Rakyat's monies..

Please paste those pictures here..
written by ultraman, November 09, 2008 16:14:57
Our ministers especiall Nazri has the intelligence of a donkey only. Mr Karpal.
He does not understand English.
written by Engineer, November 09, 2008 21:38:18
Nazri, please take early retirement.
written by sarawakian, November 10, 2008 02:12:35
looking back at all the statements made by BN ministers and politicians, one really wonders if they're really that stupid or not. i don't think it's possible for anyone with ears and a brain and some common sense to be so silly to contradict themselves openly like this.

a more convincing answer would be that there is truly a puppet master out there somewhere who is preparing all the scripts for these actors and he/she is the true Architect (as in the Matrix). it simply cannot be a coincidence how these ministers can play along so well and keep shooting off their mouths in harmony with each other continually to mislead the country.