SUHAKAM Welcomes Release Of Raja Petra Kamarudin PDF Print
Saturday, 08 November 2008 08:36

The Human Rights Commission of Malaysia (SUHAKAM) welcomes the release of blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin today from his Internal Security Act (ISA) detention, which the Shah Alam High Court ruled as illegal.

In a statement here, the commission said it respected the integrity and impartiality of the court in handling the case which also proved the court's positive view in protecting human rights.

"Based on this decision, SUHAKAM further suggests that perhaps it is most appropriate if the respective ministry could determine all cases alike and release ISA detainees," it added.

SUHAKAM also reiterated its stance that the ISA should be repealed and the detainees be released and tried in a court of law.

Raja Petra, 58, the editor of the Malaysia Today website, had named the home minister as the defendent in a habeas corpus application which sought his immediate release, and an order that his detention under the ISA was unlawful. (Bernama)

Comments (7)Add Comment
written by binarytan, November 08, 2008 08:39:24
Just wonder Suhakam is doing their work over the past.

What human right in malaysia? We only have Malay right here (more exact UMNO right)

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by ahmadneil, November 08, 2008 08:44:54
Suhakam is just paying lip service.Never have Suhakam stand up for the oppressed.
written by ahmadneil, November 08, 2008 08:46:19
What have Suhakam done for those Penans that are raped!Nothing!!!!!
written by myvoice, November 08, 2008 09:59:35

Suhakam....makan gaji buta, done nothing in protecting the rakyat rights. shame on you for those who are in at Suhakam....puiiiiiiiiiiiii.
written by justinlian, November 08, 2008 13:24:34
Suhakam doesnt have to power to do anything cos it all control by the govt even it is a human rights thing. They have malay rights, UMNO rights but not human rights.
It is just a body without a soul. What do you want them to do ?
Admadneil, next time we will vote you to be the chief...
written by Horizonline, November 08, 2008 18:42:00
As I know, SUHAKAM has only the power to complain about some human right thing. But they have no power to take any action against the person who violates the human rights. In my opinion, SUHAKAM should be given more power. Of course they must be free from politics.
written by michaelT, November 09, 2008 12:07:47
Suhakam welcome release of RPK..! I was not dreaming after all. Suhakam is resurrected.! Suhakam is better off to maintain Noble Silence thaan speak out. The judge release him and not Suhakam!