Syed Hamid: Home Ministry will not dispute decision to release RPK PDF Print
Friday, 07 November 2008 19:46

KAJANG, Nov 7 - The Home Ministry will not dispute the decision of the court to release blogger Raja Petra Raja Kamarudin from detention under the Internal Security Act (ISA), said its minister, Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar.

"That is the decision of the court. So, if he is released, it's the right of the court," he told reporters after launching the Kajang Prison Mosque, Hulu Langat, here today.

Raja Petra, 58, was detained under the ISA on Sept 12 as he had consciously, deliberately and irresponsibly, through his 'Malaysia Today' website posted his articles and readers' comments that ridiculed and insulted

Muslims, the sanctity of Islam and the personality of Prophet Muhammad which had caused uneasiness and anger among Muslims in the country.

Raja Petra was released today on the order of the Shah Alam High Court which accepted the habeas corpus application filed by the blogger.

In another development, Syed Hamid asked those who had accused him of corruption to lodge a report with the Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA) to substantiate their allegations.

Commenting on the police report lodged by the Johor PAS information chief, Mazlan Aliman, who had alleged that he had bribed his supporters to secure the post of Umno vice-president, he said the parties concerned should use the right channel in seeking clarification instead of resorting to slanders.

- Bernama

Comments (52)Add Comment
written by doggone, November 07, 2008 19:52:12
agree 310
written by Agahdemo, November 07, 2008 19:54:10
Syed Botak...You go to hell..... smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
agree 180
written by boonhong, November 07, 2008 19:57:41
Of course you won't dispute.. You are in shame now! Hide yourself!
agree 162
written by biggun129, November 07, 2008 20:06:51
Syed Hamid, the Home Minister is definitely losing his Minister post when AAB reshuffle his cabinets before his retirement as PM ! Too many controversy because of Syed Hamid!!!
written by amoker, November 07, 2008 20:09:27
Never admit that he made the wrong decisions. If only we had someone else to take care of Pulau Batu Putih .

Syed Hamid should resign.
written by hanisma, November 07, 2008 20:12:05
Syed Al-Blur, of course you will not dispute the decision of the court because you've no right to do so. In other words, it only showed your folly, arrogance, mean and moronic characters which qualify you to head the Homeless Ministry. Your conscience has been flushed down into the toilet bowl when the court decides that RPK be released, hasn't it? Just you wait! Every dog has its day!!
written by mikefonz, November 07, 2008 20:14:44
Soon this Shit fella will see himself in court. What goes around comes around.
written by DXB2008, November 07, 2008 20:20:52
hey syed, yr arab brothers are cursing your for your stupidity http://1426.********.com/2008/...today.html
written by I_Luv_Manglish, November 07, 2008 20:30:35
For once, Egghead is left speechless. Miracles do happen sometimes!

Long live RPK! smilies/grin.gif
written by SamSan, November 07, 2008 20:46:02
This botak fellow will be the first to be ISAed when Che Det takes control of the Government throught the council of UMNO Elders when Najib becomes PM. Unless and until this botak faces and experiences what it means to be under ISA, he won't appreciate the hardship that not only the ISA detainee undergoes, but also their family. I am now praying hard that these hard core UMNO and BN crooks and cronies will be given ISA treatment after Pakatan Government takes over. Only after this treatment is meted out, should ISA be albolished altogether.
written by DreamLady, November 07, 2008 20:48:09
Hamid, your days are numbered! Don't you try further any of your dirty tricks, cos' it is going to backfire on you.....

The Fires of Hell are calling out your name, ready to burn and roast you real good!!!!!
written by Navigator, November 07, 2008 21:00:43
Remember this bum immediately put RPK under ISA just before his appeal as he was sure RPK would be freed. He is obnoxious.
written by PASOK, November 07, 2008 21:22:48

Syed Hamid u should resign. U cause shame to our country.
written by Motherchell, November 07, 2008 21:24:03
Syed! you seem to be so upset and stressed , in fact you should have be so when you lost our Batu Puteh!!!
any way we have lots of realnesses about about you here ! reading is believing http://sjsandteam.*********.com
written by michaelT, November 07, 2008 21:35:33
Syed Hamid.. you are a disgrace to be a Home Minister. You are not performing professionally well. The Rakyat has appraised you and strongly recomment that you should resign with immediate effect. You have make bad decisions lately like Not ISA Ahmad Ismail who cause racial unrest, ISA Miss Tan of Sin Chew, ISA Teresa Kok, RPK and the 5 Hindraff members. All these cases are very recent one after another. In spite of your Foreign Ministrial experience you have failed then and now. If ever you have some respect and dinity left please show the World Leaders that you resign immediately for all the bad decision you made. Dont be too Happy Najib may not be able to save you as he also have too much personal legal problem to solve. Nobody wants you now and you better act immediately.
written by *********, November 07, 2008 21:39:29
The Scribe is worried here that the oxymoron Syed Hamid Albar and Lucifer's Twin IGP Musa Hassan may try to get RPK rearrested under some ludicrous charge as they know a free RPK is detrimental to their evil existence and as well as that of the Evil BN/Umno regime...More http://*********.********.com
written by Kunta Kinte, November 07, 2008 21:40:34
MPs should start demanding for his resignation or get him sacked. He has been nothing but on blunder after another.Are we to remain quiet and just watch this fool fooling us?
written by oct, November 07, 2008 21:51:10
Hei Botak. Three strikes in a row and you are out.
1. Loss Pulau Puteh case
2. Abuse your power in RPK ISA case
3. Give the wrong answer to Parliament for the Police Beat Base in Raja Laut

If DSAI and our Deputy Police can be charged for abuse of power, then you can also be charged. AG please charge this Botak as he has abused his power or do we need to make a Police report.

Botak you can never do things right. Real stupid to follow instructions without thinking esp the answer to the Police Beat Base in Raja Laut. Any intelligent person will know that answer is not acceptable and you are able to say in Parliament. That shows how stupid you are!!!!
written by ylcc, November 07, 2008 21:54:52
I think Syed Hamid, Najib & Rosmah are going to have nightmares tonite - the "devil" is back to haunt them!!
written by Limau, November 07, 2008 21:56:40
When Syed Hamid made the wrong move what is he going to dispute on. Badawi please make sure that Syed Hamid leaves the cabinet for all his foolish moves.
written by SocratesI, November 07, 2008 22:11:47

Shit Hammered AllBlur ... you should emulate the Japanese and do something for your personal honour when you meet with such abject & dismal Failure ... commit "seppuku", or what some call "harakiri" !! I shall be glad to offer my services as your second ! After the 3rd cut with the short "katana", it would be my job (and my pleasure!!) to lop off your head, to put you out of your misery ...

But mongrels like you who work for the Devil have no sense of honour at all, more's the pity ...

written by mamakstail, November 07, 2008 22:16:14
Spit on you Si-bodoh!!!
written by kingelvis, November 07, 2008 22:25:34
Can't dispute the judge! Shithead
written by howiseveryone, November 07, 2008 22:49:53
u mana ada bidang kuasa to question the decision of the court. the court had already ruled that you have detained RPK UNLAWFULLY. IF ACA is cekap & independant, they should be heading to your office next for abusing your power in allowing the unlawfull detention of RPK!!!!!!.

ACA, no need to wait anymore, ACT NOW!!!. The court has already said that RPK was UNLAWFULLY detained - meaning the person responsible for the detention has done an unlawfull thing - abusing his power to detain someone. So, now, it's your job to detain those that abuse their power.
written by Kathy, November 07, 2008 23:07:04
"Syed Ahmad ruled that Raja Petra's arrest for allegedly causing racial tensions was unlawful, holding that the Home Minister had acted outside his powers."

Under the circumstances shouldn't the Home Minister do the honourable thing and fall on his sword (keris)? This is not the only blunder he has made; he has been rather cavalier with the freedom of people.
written by arazak, November 07, 2008 23:12:19
The Shah Alam High Court had proven that Botak Head is an arrogant and cruel person who uses the ISA at his whims and fancies to deatain anyone oppose to him or the UMNO regime!

I hope this arrogant and cruel person will rot in hell!!!
written by onnetline, November 07, 2008 23:14:11
Syed Botak,

Why don't you want to dispute ? Am very curious.
written by hiro, November 07, 2008 23:23:34
It is so typical of UMNO arrogance to say "this is the court's decision" or "it's a technical decision".

By the way, did any journalist bother to ask him whether the Home Ministry will review the manner in which they arrest people under ISA in the first place, and to ask Syed to spell out procedural safeguards before someone is detained for the initial 60 days or for the 2 year order? I guess not.

Look, we need the support of all right thinking members of the society to put an end to this violent piece of legislation. The press must be at the forefront to put pressure on the government officials. They must ask all the tough questions. We really need to hasten the demise of the ISA.
written by tenang, November 07, 2008 23:34:26
AAB,

This is your opportunity to show that you are the boss of the Cabinet, and fire Syed Hamid. We will cheer you, if not for other things, but certainly for a bold act to fire Syed Hamid who is the epitome of the nation disgrace. You can easily find valid reasons to fire him from MT and here: http://groups.******.com/group...ghtactions & http://malaysiacivilright.********.com/.
written by Sabahfan, November 07, 2008 23:35:58
You should also be warned that should you find another excuse to detain people under the ISA then the people now have the right to fight the detention as if it is done by criminals.
written by othman hitam, November 07, 2008 23:38:14
Syed Hamid al BAR,
As far as I am concerned, your credibility is in the NEGATIVE
written by hiro, November 07, 2008 23:39:24
For those of us who think that the court did something courageous, well, I suppose one could look at it that way, but I am rather cynical. Consider this: the ground walked by the judge is a narrow one - you cannot argue that the order to be detained for 2 years is mala fide. You can't argue that relevant ISA provision is unconstitutional. What you can argue is that the minister did not follow procedure. Perhaps what the judge meant was the Home Minister should have waited for 60 days investigation before giving the detention order. Is that sweet news to anyone? Of course not. ISA is and remains a violent piece of legislation aimed to strip away human dignity. A minister can follow procedure to the letter, and his discretion won't be reviewed no matter how politically motivated his decision is.

I'd give the judge some credit that he at least made the right decision. But that's the limit of judicial intervention in Malaysia. The judge would not step into judicial activism. That's when the civil society steps in. We must step up the attack on ISA. Strike while the iron is hot. We shouldn't concern ourselves too much if Najib is going to be another Mahathir. Times have changed. Mahathir would have had to operate differently under this climate, the shrewed politician that he is. If Najib thinks he can continue to shove the ISA down the collective throats of Malaysians, he cannot be more wrong. The sleeping giant called the electorate has awaken for a few months now and our appetite for reform grows stronger, not weaker.
written by joeawk, November 07, 2008 23:39:44
The court also said that you have abused your power and the least you can do now is to tender your resignation. It would still be better than not being appointed by the next PM, worse still would be to be charge in court for political corruption and send to jail. Corruption is not UM
written by merchant222, November 07, 2008 23:46:03
If The Home Minister does not comply to the judgment, BN itself will see that they will be disintegrated in the next general elections. If The Home Minister takes the judgment as against the government and acts in a manner against the judgment, better go HOME to hide in your Home Country like Bala Subramaniam.
Or better still, or perhaps, you should put yourself in ISA..."personal security under threat".

But well, I don't understand and can't comprehend why when a person's security is at threat, they should be put under ISA detention. It only goes to show that the flimsy excuse to put political enemies under ISA detention is the way BN operates. Obama will put you BN devils in hell...wait for the next election.

Oh, by the way; Mat Taib was in our club last Sunday in Klang, unofficially (but who then is he to be official in our domain?) in between UMNO Division meetings. I think he felt the "heat" of PKR supporters in a diplomatic manner. BN will be history. Selangor is no more BN, it is PKR. Tomorrow, Malaysia will too be under PKR God willing!
written by PRman, November 07, 2008 23:52:16
This is what happens when we elected the incompetent party and individual to run the country. If there is no change of govt anytime sooner, the next GE they will be defeated! Malaysians deserve to be governed by capable leaders who can deliver robust economy to be shared by all, and rid of the corruption, malpractise and bad acts that we know of from the current leaders and govt servants.
written by Sinewy, November 08, 2008 00:26:27
If the BN government with all the highly learned political personalities can allow such an incompetent and inhumane person to hold one of the most dangerous portfolio in the country, malaysia is really in distress and the citizens can say good bye to peace and human liberty. How can we the rakyat allow such an ordinary and unqualified person to suppress our freedom at his own irrational whim and fancy. Can't the country make a legitimate stand to demand a better person for the post from the present government? Or may be the ruling party is practising the divide-and-rule policy where every minister and political power house will only mind their own business, as has been expressed by the current home minister recently. With this policy, he is the most powerful person in the country as he can issue an order to detain anyone one he doesn't like and who goes against him.
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, November 08, 2008 00:34:24
Certainly, Syed Hamid Albar can't challenge the court's ruling lest charged with contempt of the court. In the past, the police will re-arrest with a new charge. For RPK, that is not even remotely possible. You can't simply lock up the man, or anyone else for that matter. The charges are deemed an abuse to the rights accorded. ISA encroached into RPK's life, it encroached into all our lives.

Let this be the start of all lessons to bring ISA to its demise.

http://proud2bmalaysian.******...ifference/
written by chrisyong, November 08, 2008 00:40:03
I praise and thank God for His faithfulness. We must continue to pray for Justice and Peace for Malaysia. For a very "harsh" and "unlawful" act, the Minsiter has done so much damage to innocent people's lives. Not only that, so much resources, manpower, legal cost and all the Rakyat's tax money is being spent!!!!!!!! Can Malaysia afford to have him continue to make mistakes and waste time, money and all. He must be given at least a show cause letter why he should not be dismissed!!!!!!!! Urgent.
written by thor, November 08, 2008 01:16:17
I guess he will keep saying " I offer NO APOLOGIES for my stupidity, bcos I am so stupid even to know I am that stupid" smilies/grin.gif

U sure d father is "Lion" of AMENO, me think with son like this and since the acorn does not fall too far from the tree, working backwards it might be "Chicken" instead.

GOD SAVE OUR PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES

written by teckkuan, November 08, 2008 04:28:25
Raja Petra, 58, was detained under the ISA on Sept 12 as he had consciously, deliberately and irresponsibly, through his 'Malaysia Today' website posted his articles and readers' comments that ridiculed and insulted

Muslims, the sanctity of Islam and the personality of Prophet Muhammad which had caused uneasiness and anger among Muslims in the country.

deliberately insulted muslims my foot! this wrong report is the one which is ridiculing the muslims and the people in this country!
written by magickriver, November 08, 2008 04:33:04
If Hamid Albar were my dad I'd have disowned him.
written by Sudahlah tu, November 08, 2008 07:07:57
bermula dengan yang paling muda dalam rangkaian keluarganya .. MEGAT
MEGAT , panggillah merteka mengikut awak ke sana supaya tidak sunyi sendiri di dunia neraka tu ..
MEGAT ... panggillah mereka itu ...
written by Dongra Dude, November 08, 2008 07:08:28
AAB in the next Cabinet resuffle, banish this Bozzo to MIDDLE ROCK AND PROMOTE HIM AS ITS GOVERNOR . He can survive there on crabs and kupang . smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by adan, November 08, 2008 08:03:32
VERY GOOD ONE, DOGGONE. WE HOPE MORE JUDGES IN THE NEAR FUTURE WOULD GIVE HIM MORE KNOCKS ON THE (BLOCK) HEAD AND REDUCE HIM TO SIZE
written by Stupid me, November 08, 2008 08:08:31
Forgive the poor HM. He is appointed the HM because of his thick skin. He can say what most ordinary sane people cannot, like detaining someone under ISA for her own safety and later giving written reply to say that the police beat at Chow KIt had to be closed because they feared for the safety of the personnel to be retracted now. He is actually a detainee in the mental sense making him illogical most of the time if not all the time.
written by Vince, November 08, 2008 08:34:02
Mr Alba, I am not too interested if you are corrupted or not, that you will be judged when you stand in front of god on your judgement day.

But for now, back on terra firma, your incompetence and arrogance is my concern. It is because of your incompetence, arrogance and lack of IQ, that sunk whatever respect and trust of our police force, our judiciary and most important you "big shots" to six feet under the ground!
You not only created havoc for Malaysians all over, you also gave Malaysia a BAD name!
Lastly, stop using "ketuanan" on yourself as you are only second generation born, I have friends who are 3rd and 4th generation Bumi and yet they don't gloat it all over like you and the rest of your kind! Grow up and behave like a Minister, even if you are of no substance for the post!
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 08, 2008 08:48:48
Watching Fat Head Ex-Yemenis making the remark that “..it’s the right of the court (to free Raja Petra)..”, I noticed how his face became contorted as if in pain just to say that.
And knowing that Fat Head Ex-Yemenis has a humongous “HARD ON” for our bro Pete and will screw him at every opportunity, I believe Fat Head Ex-Yemenis was quite “powerless” to detain our bro Pete further under the ISA (even though he would dearly love to and, being Home Minister and all, can come up with some idiotic reason(s) to do so) as the unseen hand of Pak Lah has stayed him from doing so.
I am further convinced that the Fat Head Ex-Yemenis is most probably heading for a political downfall due to his stupidity, arrogance, and greed.
written by Dogboy, November 08, 2008 10:18:11
Notice the bias reporting by Bernama:

written by Fart Fart Wah, November 08, 2008 16:28:18
aja Petra, 58, was detained under the ISA on Sept 12 as he had consciously, deliberately and irresponsibly, through his 'Malaysia Today' website posted his articles and readers' comments that ridiculed and insulted

CORRECTION..BERNAMA...HE WAS CRITISISING THE WAY YOUR UMNO BIGOTS WERE RUINING
ISLAM BY UNISLAMIC PRACTICES OF RASUAH, LIES AND POWER ABUSE INCLUDING A POSSIBLE MURDER COVER UP....please report objectively...check all his blogs..
he only picks on UMNO BIGOTS....and not the rest of the good Muslims in Malaysia...
written by ekt tan, November 08, 2008 19:03:32
Mr Botak,

You better start praying to your 'Maker', your end is near. You know from the start that you are guilty of putting away an innocent man because you are scared of him. You are fearful of RPK on what he can do to take you and your cronies down. Hell fire is awaiting your arrival. No one can escape death. Let us hope your 'Maker'will call up your number soon because the rakyat can do without you and your evil kind.
written by MinahManja, November 09, 2008 12:01:20
Wise decision Mr Minister, your freakin balls are on fire.