Raja Petra: Abolish the ISA PDF Print
Friday, 07 November 2008 19:45

By Adib Zalkapli

SHAH ALAM, Nov 7 - Malaysia Today editor Raja Petra Kamarudin said the judge's decision to release him shows that there is no justification for his detention under the Internal Security Act.

Raja Petra, garlanded by his supporters, speaking to reporters after his release. — Picture by Choo Choy May

"I am really glad it's over, but I still got a few more cases which I have to fight over the next few weeks," said Raja Petra referring to the sedition charge he is facing for implying that Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak was involved in the murder of a Mongolian national Altantuya Shaariibuu.

Earlier, Justice Syed Ahmad Helmy Syed Ahmad ruled that the Home Minister acted outside his powers in having Raja Petra arrested on Sept 12, and the grounds given for his detention were insufficient.

The judge ordered that Raja Petra be brought to the court no later than 4pm, for him to be released.

As Raja Petra walked to the courtroom, he was greeted with shouts of 'RPK' from dozens of his supporters, who came in t-shirts with the word "I am with RPK" printed on them, to celebrate his release.

Raja Petra was brought to the court at 3.15pm and the judge praised the prison authorities for its professionalism.

Lawyer Malik Imtiaz Sarwar, who represents Raja Petra, also told the court that he is thankful to the authorities for promptly producing his client.

The Malaysian Insider understands that Raja Petra left the Kamunting detention camp in Perak around 11.30am.

At about 3.30pm Syed Ahmad Helmy ordered the release of Raja Petra, however there was no order from the judge not too re-arrest him.

Malik later told reporters there was no reason to ask the court to order the authorities not to rearrest Raja Petra as it is very unlikely for it to happen.

In 2001, the same court ordered the release of Reformasi activists N. Gobalakrishnan and Ghani Haroon, and ordered the authorities not to re-arrest the duo, as there was heavy police presence around the court.

Raja Petra's wife Marina Lee said she is happy with the court's decision but did not expect her husband to be released.

"The country is changing and I hope that this change will continue," she said while waiting for Raja Petra's arrival at the court.

She was also confident that her husband would not be rearrested.

Raja Petra who was garlanded as he walked out of the courtroom as a free man, was arrested for allegedly causing racial tension and insulting Islam through his writings.

"We have to fight all out and get the ISA abolished," said Raja Petra on the struggle to abolish the act that allows for detention without trial. He added that he would continue to write for his website.

Raja Petra was first arrested under the ISA in 2001 for his involvement in the Reformasi movement, but he was released after 53 days.

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by supplier, November 07, 2008 19:57:36
Sue the goman for wrongful detention and also botak for abuse of power!!!!!!!!!!
written by DreamLady, November 07, 2008 20:04:20
Raja petra, I am so thrilled to see you in person, and am glad you are now a free man.

I am truly honoured to have met up with alot of supporters, and we have a great time.

Angie, and leng chai, thank you for being so kind and nice to me. I appreciate the friendship you extend to me..
written by educationist, November 07, 2008 20:08:21
Until the PR federal government comes to power, it is unlikely that the ISA will be abolished by the UMNOputras.
It is such a powerful tool for them to stifle and suppress dissent lock away political opponents.
written by Fuminari, November 07, 2008 20:16:36
"the best way of triumph to the devil is for those good men sittimg there but doing nothing!"
it is great for RPK to walk as a freeman again from his unlawful detention by the devils! he is one of those good men who hav done a lot of things not for only for himself,but for the nation n the people against the devils....he is one of those good men who has been strongly refusing to let the devils mortgaging away the future of this country,the future of our children!!he deserves to be a free man jus like all of us.
written by DXB2008, November 07, 2008 20:24:26
The struggle to abolish ISA will continue as ISA is the only way to protect amnoputeras!
http://1426.********.com/2008/...today.html
written by Arum, November 07, 2008 20:37:10
Time to sue Home minister for the pain and lost suffered.
written by Navigator, November 07, 2008 21:02:25

Welcome back. We are very happy.
written by SamSan, November 07, 2008 21:20:30
RPK's and the people's real struggle has just started. RPK should with the help of his fellow royal brethren and the right minded majority malaysians continue to reveal all those underhand slimy tactics of the UMNO and BN cronies. We should never give up until we clear the country of all this corruption, rape and pillage. Don't forget, our beloved Tunku, Tun Tan Siew Sin and Tun Sambanthan are already turning in their graves seeing how their hard earned freedom has been cunningly taken over by these BN and UMNO neo colonialist whose main interest is to continue sodomising, raping and plundering our beloved country.
written by teo siew chin, November 07, 2008 21:42:33
"...but I still got a few more cases which I have to fight over the next few weeks..."
-------------------
and there we are! he wasn't just laying about in kamunting, he was exercising his fingers ready to let the keys fly the instance he is out! Welcome back YM RPK! Get those who unjustly incarcerated you first and get em good!
written by SocratesI, November 07, 2008 21:56:46

Welcome home, Pete, Son of Malaysia, a true Patriot of Malaysia ! This is indeed a home run for the good guys and civil society against the forces of Evil (Barisan Najis), and the Demon called Shit Hammered AllBlur !

Rest and eat well Pete, for wars have never been won on empty stomachs ... though having said that ... I recall in history that a general once ordered his 20,000 troops to ford a river and then destroy all cooking utnesils and the boats before charging headlong against their enemy which numbered 300,000. They ended up killing 100,000 of their enemies and with their ferocity in battle put to flight the rest !! These troops that crossed the river realized there was absolutely no chance of retreat for them and had to fight to the bitter end ... so they chose to fight to live !!

We must not give any quarter to Injustice & Inequality, nor its proponents ! Let us take heart from this battle won and forge ever forward, never looking back !!

written by sdcsrcc, November 07, 2008 22:09:33
RPK, botak has a few on his side but you have us the millions of us!

GOD bless and keep you well!

written by DreamLady, November 07, 2008 22:18:04
Socratesl, spot on!! this is a good write up, thank you..

written by cheekhiaw, November 07, 2008 23:20:39
So much good resources and effort wasted on fighting and unwinding the antics of idiotic thieves. No wonder the country loses out in the economic race...

written by Ray, November 07, 2008 23:20:48
Welcome home, our hero RPK. Goodbye Najib Rosak and Syed kepala hotak hang Hamid.
written by justinlian, November 07, 2008 23:41:28
Socratesi,
Those were the days and history that teaches us if there is nothing to worry about but RPK has a family and friends so merely the history will repeat.
Anyway, everyone is happy that RPK is release but he still have to go thru a few more cases so let's hope there is positive sign for all of us to look forward to.
God bless RPK and everyone in here and malaysia.
written by othman hitam, November 07, 2008 23:41:33
Selamat kembali saudara ku YM Raja Petra. Teruskan perjuangan mu. Rakyat Malaysia yang impikan keadilan, ketelusan & kebersihan akan tetap bersama mu
written by matdeboq, November 07, 2008 23:42:05
Alhamdullilah !! Syukur!! Syabas !! Bravo!!
Welcome back YM Raja Petra Kamarudin !!
Now the Master is back onboard...to commands and steer Malaysia Today as it meant to be..!!
May your charts and uncharted course...sail thru safely, uninterrupted in the unpredicted rough swell ahead!!
Bravo, welcome back !!
written by tenang, November 07, 2008 23:42:50
AAB,

Fire Syed Hamid and save a part of your legacy. May we remind you that you are still the boss of the Cabinet unless you choose to give up now. You enemy is after you, and firing Syed Hamid will give you a boost, however small it is.
written by Awaken64, November 07, 2008 23:50:45
RPK welcome back CHANGE and OBAMA mania brought you out of ISA !!!!

These goons that started praising OBAMA found out in their elation that they had chucked you and many others in ISA. So here SUPRISE! SUPRISE !!

U are with us once again.
written by Semut Jantan, November 08, 2008 01:34:30
Yahoooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Good to see you back YM Abang RPK!

1) Did the thugs brain wash you in Kemunting or the other ways around?

2) Would you consider relocating so that their tentacles won't reach you and you could continue your fight for justice? I could think of S'pore or London or USA?
written by u chen, November 08, 2008 06:15:32
Bravo, RPK! Truly proud of you. If only the BN politicians can command an ounce of the respect and admiration you get from the Rakyat smilies/sad.gif